London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour and our guide made it that much better! The highlights were definitely going inside Buckingham Palace, watching the Changing of the Guard at the Household Cavalry, and enjoying tea time with everyone on the tour. The only thing that would've made the tour better? If the Queen could've joined us for tea :P

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent. The tour guide was very friendly, funny and very knowledgable of London. She took us on a tour of Westminster and we watched the Palace Guards. Although we didn't see the actual Changing of the Guards ceremony, it was enjoyable. After many visits to London and just seeing the outside of Buckingham Palace, it was thrilling to actually go inside. It was beautiful of course. The afternoon tea at The Rubens Hotel was very nice. i would have preferred not sitting in a separate room with little ambience. The food was delicious and presented very well. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was great as well as the tour guide. Only tip I would give to others is bring a drink, snack, lunch if you are on a long tour. We got prime spots on the changing of the guard and 3 other times to take pictures of the other guards around the palace. Tea time they gave PLENTY of food and even offered togo boxes for later.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the perfect tour for an overview of London. We did get to go to the Tower of London and it was amazing and we also got to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. The rest of the day was spent touring around London and seeing the sights. Our tour guide was very good, he had so much information about all of London and it's history.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and our guide was the BEST! We arrived alittle early and we were able to get on to an earlier tour. The walk was not bad at all as you do stop a few times along the way and so informative. The changing of the guards was amazing and because we went in September it was not that crowded. Love the fact that there are no waiting in lines.....buy your tickets ahead of time.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Our guide knew exactly where to be to obtain the best views of the changing of the guards. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We liked the tour and the stops at Westminster, the Thames River cruise, St James Palace, the changing of the guards there and the walk with the guards to Buckingham Palace. Nick, our guide, was excellent, giving us the extraordinary English history in a colorful manner. The 'free lunch' was not free, as one of our party is allergic to fish, we changed one item on the menu and were charged full price, even though the non-fish choice was less expensive! Yes, we would take another tour with this company.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,i must admit I was not entirely looking towards this tour, which my wife had booked, but after receiving a warm welcome at Westminster proceeded to thoroughly enjoy the tour.
The guide(Josh) was extremely knowledge able and very friendly, in fact it was noticeable that he took time out to answer questions and converse with everyone.
The tour itself was obviously a delight, the sights , monuments, story's, etc all brought back memories of history lessons from days gone by.
we witnessed the changing of the guard, it was in essence very "English", and showed how proud we are of our heritage.
The Palace - well one would expect it to be good, it was in fact excellent.
I for one would highly recommend this tour.
All in all 10 out of 10.

Eric Todd
Tour A Group - 24 September 2014.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a 2.5 hours walking tour. But it is worthed. We're given the wireless headsets, so we can hear what the tour guide was talking about, it is a good way to check if we're still following the tour guide. Walking from Victoria station all the way to Buckingham palace, visiting Downing street (PM residence), Changing the guard and entrance into Buckingham palace. Good cafe at the back of Buckingham palace, so you can have your lunch and relax. Make sure you're ready for late lunch at around 2pm, so bring something to eat and drink during the walking tour, wear comfortable shoes

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best part was the change of the guard. That day it was the mounted guard. Just beautiful. The palace is great, and it's only open August and September. No pictures though. Be ready to walk, and walk, and walk. The tea in the afternoon was in a very nice hotel and it was really nice experience. The guide has much to do with the experience. Our guide was a girl named Shabby. She was awesome, really great, knowledgeable and funny and knew the good spots for the change of guard. She knows so much about the history of the whole area and makes the tour a must if you go to beautiful London in September. Thanks Shabby from Hector and Rita in Naples Florida.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So much better than we thought it may be! Brilliant guide Josh Jones, Helped by the good weather, lovely walk with lots of history along the way. Lovely look around the palace and saw the changing of the guards with great views. High tea after was wonderful. Thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Kieran, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and very personable. The anecdotes about the history of the various points along the route really added to our enjoyment of the tour. We had actually covered the entire route ourselves on previous trips, but knowing the stories and the history made it much more interesting. And he knew exactly where to stand for the best views of the Changing of the Guard.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. Changing of the guards was very interesting and loved visiting Buckingham Palace. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was experienced and moved the tour group in a timely manner for the best viewing positions of Changing of the Guard preparations. His commentary was entertaining, informative and interesting, and he was responsive to questions.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A really great day in London. Our guide was excellent and very informative. He knew just where to go to get good views of the Changing of the Guards and the Horseguards. He was able to give us insights into what we were seeing. The tour of Buckingham Palace was enjoyable and our tea at the end was a great way to finish. The tour packs a great deal into a relatively short amount of time.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message