London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience!
It is a good way to see the changing of guard ceremony and part of London!

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an amazing tour filled with history, city facts, and an enjoyable Tour Guide Barry who provided insight, fun and enjoyment for my family. Barry and our driver Stephen provided wonderful details of our plans, the sights and its history around us, placed us at less crowded location for the changing of the guard, and was so helpful in responding to questions throughout the day. Barry was well spoken and at each stop we were given options for the sights to see. He corralled us, kept the tour organized, and consistently made the best use of time on and off the bus. Ending the day on the London Eye was a fantastic closure to our introduction to London. We're now more comfortable getting around the town, understanding the City and its Boroughs, key locations, and appreciating all we'll enjoy for the coming week.
We highly recommend this Tour to anyone desiring to see the sights of the City and able to appreciate its history, heritage, and contribution to so many throughout the world.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour to see a lot of London in one day! Our guide was a lot of fun and got us a great location to see the changing of the guard.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus tour was fantastic. We were 40 min late got lost on the way they waited for us and said We wouldn't lead without you!
The bus was a classic double decker. The tour guide Nick was great.mhe was animated, funny and knowledgable. We weaved in and out of London traffic, saw the changing of the guard and many other interesting sites along the way.
I would recommend this to my friends and family.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

robertp5050
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

tour well done - guide excellent - english guy - wish I'd gotten his name he had 2 young daughters - stops at several of the highlights changing of the guard, st paul's cathedral - his dialogue helpful and knowledgeable, especially in st paul's - he got the group a great spot for pictures of the guard at Buckingham Palace - do the london eye at the end - well worth it

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jason was awesome! We showed us all there is to see and even had us at arms length for the changing of the guard. This is the BEST way to see all the big sights in London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ed
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our wonderful tour guide took us to the Tower of London, on the water taxi, to the changing of the guard at Buckingham, and to a fabulous afternoon champagne and tea with awesome baked goods in sight of Big Ben.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide really knew how to get us to see the best view of the changing of the guard. The commentary from her on the bus tour was entertaining. I loved going around on the bus and following along with a map so I could get a handle on London. I felt very oriented and excited to explore after the tour.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Grace A
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was my first trip to London and this tour happily covered all the 'required' sites that everyone wants to see! Our tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. He was prompt with keeping us on schedule but at no point did we feel rushed. I would say we were a group of about 25-ish, lots of families and couples and I was part of the few single crowd but at no point did I feel alone. All together we saw Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace w/the changing of the guard and being in the bus gave all the view of the great London streets and sites. It was truly a pleasurable experience and the best way to see it all in one day. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish! Our tour guide Damian, is a man passionate about his job and steeped in knowledge regarding the history of the great City of London. From the Tower of London to Westminster Abby to St. Pauls Cathedral to the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace it was a rich and rewarding experience!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great, our guide got us in the perfect position to see the changing of the guard. Everything else was to be expected from a bus tour but the bus did have wifi which was awesome

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Wonderful way to see London! The Beefeater commentary at the Tower of London was interesting and filled with theatrics. One really has to see the Crown Jewels to believe them! We were not able to see the 'changing of the guard', not because we were not there, but because it was raining and we could not see past the million umbrellas! We could hear everything, just not see it. However, it was still great to see Buckingham Palace. The rain hampered our view from the boat down the River Thames, but we could still see enough to enjoy some of the iconic buildings of London. Loved Westminster Abbey! Taking the steps to the Whispering Gallery of St. Paul's Cathedral was a great way to end the tour. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our experience visiting Buckingham Palace and watching the changing if the guard. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable and provided us with lots of information. We enjoyed the afternoon tea. It was great to sit down with the people who had taken the tour and discuss what we had seen and to chat about ourselves and the trips we were taking.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed this day very much. Excellent tour guide. Loved the Tower of London and Crown Jewels. Enjoyed the Beef Eater part of the tour. Great day! Missed the changing of the guards again.....

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful experience on our tour. Even the weather cooperated for the Changing of the Guard Ceremony.

Our only comment would be to just give us a little more information as to where we would actually meet the tour. We were glad that we walked the afternoon before and found where we needed to be. We first of all went to Victoria Station. Being Canadian it didn't click that coach station meant bus station and was a
different building and location. Then when we took the taxi the next morning he informed us that there were two Victoria Coach stations and which one did we want. It was a good thing that we had found the right one the day before.

Our tour guide was excellent and we had a great time. Thank You so much!
Merle and Joan Krause and Dave and Marlene Dow

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide, Barry, and driver Malcolm were terrific. This was our first time in London, and taking this tour was a great way to see all the beautiful highlights and skip all the long lines. Barry was so enthusiastic and full of knowledge about this wonderful city. He made sure he perfectly positioned us for fantastic views of the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. filled us with history and knowledge at the London Tower and St Paul's Cathedral. I highly recommend anyone visiting London to take this great tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably my 2nd best tour of the nine we took. Our guide Shabby was funny, friendly, and full of very interesting information. The inside of Buckingham Palace is so phenomenally impressive you just can't go home without seeing it. She also took us to the perfect photo spot for changing of the Queen's Horse Guard. The private dining room at a 5 Star Hotel was the perfect setting for our afternoon tea. The tea, scones, and tea sandwiches were served very elegantly and quite delicious.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour and our guide made it that much better! The highlights were definitely going inside Buckingham Palace, watching the Changing of the Guard at the Household Cavalry, and enjoying tea time with everyone on the tour. The only thing that would've made the tour better? If the Queen could've joined us for tea :P

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent. The tour guide was very friendly, funny and very knowledgable of London. She took us on a tour of Westminster and we watched the Palace Guards. Although we didn't see the actual Changing of the Guards ceremony, it was enjoyable. After many visits to London and just seeing the outside of Buckingham Palace, it was thrilling to actually go inside. It was beautiful of course. The afternoon tea at The Rubens Hotel was very nice. i would have preferred not sitting in a separate room with little ambience. The food was delicious and presented very well. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was great as well as the tour guide. Only tip I would give to others is bring a drink, snack, lunch if you are on a long tour. We got prime spots on the changing of the guard and 3 other times to take pictures of the other guards around the palace. Tea time they gave PLENTY of food and even offered togo boxes for later.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the perfect tour for an overview of London. We did get to go to the Tower of London and it was amazing and we also got to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. The rest of the day was spent touring around London and seeing the sights. Our tour guide was very good, he had so much information about all of London and it's history.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and our guide was the BEST! We arrived alittle early and we were able to get on to an earlier tour. The walk was not bad at all as you do stop a few times along the way and so informative. The changing of the guards was amazing and because we went in September it was not that crowded. Love the fact that there are no waiting in lines.....buy your tickets ahead of time.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Our guide knew exactly where to be to obtain the best views of the changing of the guards. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We liked the tour and the stops at Westminster, the Thames River cruise, St James Palace, the changing of the guards there and the walk with the guards to Buckingham Palace. Nick, our guide, was excellent, giving us the extraordinary English history in a colorful manner. The 'free lunch' was not free, as one of our party is allergic to fish, we changed one item on the menu and were charged full price, even though the non-fish choice was less expensive! Yes, we would take another tour with this company.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,i must admit I was not entirely looking towards this tour, which my wife had booked, but after receiving a warm welcome at Westminster proceeded to thoroughly enjoy the tour.
The guide(Josh) was extremely knowledge able and very friendly, in fact it was noticeable that he took time out to answer questions and converse with everyone.
The tour itself was obviously a delight, the sights , monuments, story's, etc all brought back memories of history lessons from days gone by.
we witnessed the changing of the guard, it was in essence very "English", and showed how proud we are of our heritage.
The Palace - well one would expect it to be good, it was in fact excellent.
I for one would highly recommend this tour.
All in all 10 out of 10.

Eric Todd
Tour A Group - 24 September 2014.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message