London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A really great day in London. Our guide was excellent and very informative. He knew just where to go to get good views of the Changing of the Guards and the Horseguards. He was able to give us insights into what we were seeing. The tour of Buckingham Palace was enjoyable and our tea at the end was a great way to finish. The tour packs a great deal into a relatively short amount of time.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour packed a lot into one day. We loved the Tower of London, we even went back on our own. The tour got us to the changing of the Guards at the perfect time. Very informative guide.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Excellent guide. Nice pace. Learned lots of little tidbits I didn't know. The walk there and tea after were as fun as the horse guard and tour of buckingham palace. Highly recommend .

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the most amazing tour ever. The guide we used (Steve...only knew his first name) is actually a history lecturer at London University, and was extremely knowledgeable. We learned more about London and its history in the 8 hours that we were with him than we ever imagined we would. One thing of note when taking this tour...If you are interested in seeing the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, they do not do it every day....rather every OTHER day. We missed it as it was the day prior, but still had an absolutely amazing time. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great experience to actually be inside Buckingham Palace. Prior to our visit, our excellent guide, Shabby, narrated history along the way to the Palace and managed to get us to a great viewpoint to see the parade to the changing of the guard. The afternoon tea at St. Ermins Hotel was fantastic. Job well done.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What an amazing experience! We were able to get the best views and photos of the Changing of the Guard. Our tour guide made sure of that! She was very professional, friendly, and knowledgable. She made sure we were standing in the right place at the right time to get the best pictures! The bus tour overall was relaxing and informative. I would definitely recommend this tour. Even my children had a great time (ages 6 and 10).

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An awesome tour. Had the opportunity to see the Tower of London, take a ride down the Thames, have a lovely tea, see the changing of the guard up close, take photos in front of Buckingham Palace, and get a wonderful tour of St. Paul's Cathedral. Steve, our tour guide, was probably what made the tour and it was probably one of the best days I had in London. He was hilarious and kept us organized and entertained all day. Thanks for a wonderful day, Steve.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were there on Thursday, August 7th. Great meet up location, and walk up The Mall to the Palace where we saw the changing of the guard. Very impressive. And inside the Palace? Awesome, not to be missed, it's open for just a couple of months during the year so be sure to book in advance. The gift shop is well stocked too. This is a must see if you're there when it's open to the public.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cossette was an excellent tour guide! She is very knowledgeable, informative, and entertaining. She positioned us perfectly for a view of the changing of the guard, got us in sites quickly and efficiently, and made sure we had the best experience possible!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide for this tour was very good. He was knowledgeable and funny. From the Tower of London and the Crown Jewels, to the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, to Westminster Abbey to the London Eye. What a fantastic day. We highly recommend this tour. You see just enough to know you've been in London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour really gave us a great "one day" intense tour of all of the best sightseeing spots in London. You won;t get right up close to the gate for the changing of the guards at Buckingham, but if your guide knows where to stand you get a great view of the guards marching away at the end. The London Eye was a nice way to end to tour. It would be impossible to try to see all of these things in one day on your own and would likely be more costly, due to taxi/subway fare and entrance fees.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth doing.Saw changing of the guards at Buckingham palace - guide told us the best places to see this. Saw all the sights and was well worth doing.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I took this tour with my 12 year old daughter, a friend from Italy and her son who is 11 years old. I was only
planning to be in London one and a half days out of our Paris trip. It truly was a great quick view of the city. Enough to make me want to go back for more. One tour gentleman David picked us up at our hotel (which was fabulous since I had been running all over with other Viator tours in Paris) at 7:30 a.m. and then deposited us in the very capable hands of Steve our actual tour guide for the day. The tour started on the bus as Steve gave detailed descriptions of points of interest throughout London on our way to the Tower of London. We met with a Beefeater (who I believe was another Dave) and he was just marvelous - absolutely funny and a joy to be listening to (I hope he gets the message that we loved him) - on to the Crown Jewels which were of course as gorgeous and spectacular as one would expect, after the Tower on to the River Thames for a boat ride to see the changing of the guards and pictures by Buckingham Palace then on over to lunch and after lunch a very well explained tour of Saint Peters. All in all a fabulous day that makes me want to go back to London soon and see more. It gave us a good taste of the city and our tour guide was extremely good. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was great to start the day at the Tower before the crowds. Actually saw the opening of the gates procession. Neat to watch. The Beefeaters do a super job on the history, and there is so much. They give you plenty of time to tour. The jewels are a must see, but there is so much more. Buckingham changing of the guard was wonderful to watch. Our guide took care of us, and kept giving us valuable knowledge. Last stop ran into a snag, as St Paul had private function and was closed. Our tour guide saved the day with an impromptu walk tour to see some of London's other secrets. Cannot say enough about being able to skip the lines and the personal attention you get in these tours.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide, Cozette, was phenomenal. She was very personable, knowledgeable, and conveyed the information in an interesting manner. Everything from St. Paul's cathedral, to the changing of the guards ceremony was worth it. I would highly recommend this for anyone with minimal time in London and big plans to see as much as possible. Thanks, Cozette!!!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message