London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The Changing of the Guard is one of London's most famous spectacles. It is the official shift change of the Guards of the Household Regiment, who protect Buckingham Palace and the Queen. There is a lot of history here: the Household Guard was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful experience on our tour. Even the weather cooperated for the Changing of the Guard Ceremony.

Our only comment would be to just give us a little more information as to where we would actually meet the tour. We were glad that we walked the afternoon before and found where we needed to be. We first of all went to Victoria Station. Being Canadian it didn't click that coach station meant bus station and was a
different building and location. Then when we took the taxi the next morning he informed us that there were two Victoria Coach stations and which one did we want. It was a good thing that we had found the right one the day before.

Our tour guide was excellent and we had a great time. Thank You so much!
Merle and Joan Krause and Dave and Marlene Dow

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent! Our guide was very knowledgable and had her timing just right for the changing of the guards so we waited only a few minutes to see them.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide, Barry, and driver Malcolm were terrific. This was our first time in London, and taking this tour was a great way to see all the beautiful highlights and skip all the long lines. Barry was so enthusiastic and full of knowledge about this wonderful city. He made sure he perfectly positioned us for fantastic views of the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. filled us with history and knowledge at the London Tower and St Paul's Cathedral. I highly recommend anyone visiting London to take this great tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably my 2nd best tour of the nine we took. Our guide Shabby was funny, friendly, and full of very interesting information. The inside of Buckingham Palace is so phenomenally impressive you just can't go home without seeing it. She also took us to the perfect photo spot for changing of the Queen's Horse Guard. The private dining room at a 5 Star Hotel was the perfect setting for our afternoon tea. The tea, scones, and tea sandwiches were served very elegantly and quite delicious.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour and our guide made it that much better! The highlights were definitely going inside Buckingham Palace, watching the Changing of the Guard at the Household Cavalry, and enjoying tea time with everyone on the tour. The only thing that would've made the tour better? If the Queen could've joined us for tea :P

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent. The tour guide was very friendly, funny and very knowledgable of London. She took us on a tour of Westminster and we watched the Palace Guards. Although we didn't see the actual Changing of the Guards ceremony, it was enjoyable. After many visits to London and just seeing the outside of Buckingham Palace, it was thrilling to actually go inside. It was beautiful of course. The afternoon tea at The Rubens Hotel was very nice. i would have preferred not sitting in a separate room with little ambience. The food was delicious and presented very well. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was great as well as the tour guide. Only tip I would give to others is bring a drink, snack, lunch if you are on a long tour. We got prime spots on the changing of the guard and 3 other times to take pictures of the other guards around the palace. Tea time they gave PLENTY of food and even offered togo boxes for later.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the perfect tour for an overview of London. We did get to go to the Tower of London and it was amazing and we also got to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. The rest of the day was spent touring around London and seeing the sights. Our tour guide was very good, he had so much information about all of London and it's history.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and our guide was the BEST! We arrived alittle early and we were able to get on to an earlier tour. The walk was not bad at all as you do stop a few times along the way and so informative. The changing of the guards was amazing and because we went in September it was not that crowded. Love the fact that there are no waiting in lines.....buy your tickets ahead of time.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. Our guide knew exactly where to be to obtain the best views of the changing of the guards. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We liked the tour and the stops at Westminster, the Thames River cruise, St James Palace, the changing of the guards there and the walk with the guards to Buckingham Palace. Nick, our guide, was excellent, giving us the extraordinary English history in a colorful manner. The 'free lunch' was not free, as one of our party is allergic to fish, we changed one item on the menu and were charged full price, even though the non-fish choice was less expensive! Yes, we would take another tour with this company.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour and River Thames Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,i must admit I was not entirely looking towards this tour, which my wife had booked, but after receiving a warm welcome at Westminster proceeded to thoroughly enjoy the tour.
The guide(Josh) was extremely knowledge able and very friendly, in fact it was noticeable that he took time out to answer questions and converse with everyone.
The tour itself was obviously a delight, the sights , monuments, story's, etc all brought back memories of history lessons from days gone by.
we witnessed the changing of the guard, it was in essence very "English", and showed how proud we are of our heritage.
The Palace - well one would expect it to be good, it was in fact excellent.
I for one would highly recommend this tour.
All in all 10 out of 10.

Eric Todd
Tour A Group - 24 September 2014.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a 2.5 hours walking tour. But it is worthed. We're given the wireless headsets, so we can hear what the tour guide was talking about, it is a good way to check if we're still following the tour guide. Walking from Victoria station all the way to Buckingham palace, visiting Downing street (PM residence), Changing the guard and entrance into Buckingham palace. Good cafe at the back of Buckingham palace, so you can have your lunch and relax. Make sure you're ready for late lunch at around 2pm, so bring something to eat and drink during the walking tour, wear comfortable shoes

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best part was the change of the guard. That day it was the mounted guard. Just beautiful. The palace is great, and it's only open August and September. No pictures though. Be ready to walk, and walk, and walk. The tea in the afternoon was in a very nice hotel and it was really nice experience. The guide has much to do with the experience. Our guide was a girl named Shabby. She was awesome, really great, knowledgeable and funny and knew the good spots for the change of guard. She knows so much about the history of the whole area and makes the tour a must if you go to beautiful London in September. Thanks Shabby from Hector and Rita in Naples Florida.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So much better than we thought it may be! Brilliant guide Josh Jones, Helped by the good weather, lovely walk with lots of history along the way. Lovely look around the palace and saw the changing of the guards with great views. High tea after was wonderful. Thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message