London ATTRACTIONS See all

Churchill War Rooms

Part of London’s famous series of Imperial War Museums, the original Churchill War Rooms, set in the Prime Minister’s secret underground headquarters, offer a fascinating insight into the workings of the WWII-era government. The maze of rooms in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I'm a big Churchill fan and thought the War Rooms were great! Even better than the actual War Rooms was the Churchill Museum which is attached to the War Rooms. Our guide, Augusta, was fabulous! She was extremely knowledgeable and I felt like she loved guiding the tour as much as we enjoyed following and listening. Thank you Augusta!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. The Churchill War Rooms are filled with memorabilia and interesting information about Churchill and WW II. The museum really captures the gravity faced by the leaders of Britain and the people of London during the war. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting London.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster was fascinating. Being able to go below to where Churchill and his staff worked during the war was educational at the least. Appreciated everything that was presented to us while on this tour. Will remember it and the details for a long time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great pass! MAde things much easier. Be sure to check out the booklet they give you. We found some true gems in there that you wouldnt think of otherwise. e.g. Churchill's war rooms and the church where William Penn was baptized..( cool for us being from Pennsylvania)

Doing what: London Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a great way to access the many and varied attractions London has to offer. We purchased a 3 day pass but had to use this pass for 3 consecutive days. It would be of more benefit, less tiring and more flexible if the 3 days could be spread over 5 days as other overseas passes offer. Maybe also 5 days over 7 days etc. This would make the pass more useful in inclement weather. Despite this, the huge number of attractions offered are still more than one could possibly visit and do. In most instances, apart from the London Zoo, the quality of the attractions were outstanding, eg Tower of London, Churchill War Rooms, Kew Gardens, St Pauls Cathedral. The ease of use of the pass - easily recognized and accepted without question. We will certainly buy this pass again on our return visit.
We would like to commend the organizers of this Pass as the selection of attractions were first class.

Doing what: London Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I would absolutely recommend this - in fact it's nearly a must if you are planning to see all the major sights. It was handy b/c we came across a few other attractions we weren't aware of i.e. the WWII Churchill War Rooms museum - and were able to get in free with the pass.

Definitely get the travel card too - it's extremely convenient in London. Things are definitely more spread out in London than they are in Paris (we literally walked all over paris and didn't use public transportation once) so we used the bus system extensively. The London Underground is a bit cramped - so we didn't use it - but the bus system is nice and very well done.

Doing what: London Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

London Pass briilliant, no big queues. Windsor castle beautiful, The Royal Mews, Churchill War Rooms, Westminster Abbey, Eton College, British Museum all very interesting and well worth a visit. We also had travel on our pass and that makes life so much easier in London for getting about. This is the second time I have purchased the pass while staying in London and I would certainly do it again.

Doing what: London Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Really enjoyed this pass and felt we got our monies worth. Probably saved about $50 each based on what we saw. Even though some of the reviews say the museums are all free, that's not the case. For example, the Churchill War Rooms and Britain Guard Museum both charged, and I think many others do as well. The only thing we saw that I didn't care for was the London Bridge Experience, waste of time. Everything else was great!

Doing what: London Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The initial part of the tour was great the guide gave us a lot of details, by the time we entered the war rooms the personnel in the site didn't allow the guide to continue with his explanations, which I found very surprise, I believe if you pay for a guided tour that you should have this arrange. It was very dissapointing

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This pass includes walking tours from traffalgar and a cruise on the thaimes. We also enjoyed the Churchill war rooms. You may have to run to make it worthwhile.

Doing what: London Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

While interesting, this tour could have been cut in half. If you come to see the Churchill war rooms, and especially if you have kids in tow, take us on the tour first, then take us on the walk around to see Parliament and the other sites. We had already seen most of the buildings we were taken to, and while all the stories our guide told us were most interesting, this should have been at the end of the tour, not the first 45 minutes.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We had a knowledgeable guide and we enjoyed walking around and hearing all the history. The part of the tour was excellent. The war rooms were interesting. However the guide was called away not long after we got to the war rooms and he didn't return for at least 45 minutes. Apparently one group who were booked on the tour and did not join us at the start due to the fact that there was confusion over the meeting place had to be collected by the guide. This meant that the rest of the group were left to their own devices for a good while. The guide was in a difficult position but this tour was expensive and we missed almost a third of the guides time. Also, we were not told what was going on. Perhaps the meeting instructions could be clearer next time. Disappointing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

A worthwhile pass. Coupled with a London hop on hop off bus this pass allowed us to get to and enter many interesting places - Westminster Cathedral, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, River tour, Churchill War Rooms, St Paul's Cathedral and others.

Doing what: London Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message