London ATTRACTIONS See all

Hampton Court Palace

Hampton Court Palace is in Surrey, on the edge of London next to the River Thames. Hampton Court Palace is famous as the home of King Henry VIII (he of the eight wives and many beheadings). Henry liked to come here and shoot deer and the area is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing day out from London - Hampton Court Palace is a gorgeous estate! Loved skipping the line to -buy tickets (just went to the pre-paid desk), and the audio tour was really interesting. The ticket is all access, I had a lot of fun exploring the lovely gardens and getting lost in the hedge maze. Definitely a nice break from London.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Day bike trip was great. It was easy to find the guide, John, at Waterloo station. His directions were clear and easy to follow. The bikes were great. The pace was fine, with lots of stops for great insights into what we were bike around. Fun day trip. Hampton Court palace well worth the trip.

Doing what: Hampton Court Palace Bike Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I purchased this tour to see Hampton Court Palace and I was not disappointed! This castle is incredible, huge and impressive. I especially loved the kitchen tour and the folks dressed in Tudor style costumes wandering around. Lunch at the cafe was delicious. While the tour was self-guided, I could have used more time simply to soak up the ambiance. Maybe a longer tour of just Hampton Court.
Kensington Palace was also delightful. More of a modern palace but knowing Princess Diana lived here and William and Kate would soon live here gave it a different feel for me. Our tour guide Sheila was delightful - not too corny, very funny. Good tour!

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Note from Viator: The itinerary for this tour has changed and no longer visits Kensington Palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour started at Kensington Palace. We were given enough time to have a good look about. It was very good. My highlight was seeing some of Diana's ball gowns. Next it was off to Hampton Court Palace and it was amazing. The kitchens and the Great Hall are something special. We went in the Maze and also the Real Tennis Court. It is a very beautiful building with a lot of beautiful rooms. We were given plenty time here also, so we didn't feel rushed. Our Tour Guide didn't come in with us but we really didn't need one anyway. He was most informative on the coach going to the Palaces. The Coach Driver and Guide had a good banter together. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip, it was a good day out.

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Note from Viator: The itinerary for this tour has changed and no longer visits Kensington Palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, and the Hampton Court Palace and grounds - once we hot there. (Trains all cancelled from Waterloo Station due to stupid tropical storm St. Jude.) The self-guided tour handsets were very helpful, as were the local docents on site.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This cycling trip was awesome. cycling along River thames and having an engaging guide, John, to explain the history of Richmond and English History is just simply perfect. The cycling itself was never tough, even for my 60+ dad, who did it in a breeze.

As for Hampton Court Palace, this was truly a palace with breathtaking architecture and history. Entering the palace simply brought me, my brother and dad back to the good old King Henry VIII days. The building, artefacts truly illustrates the thinking behind and lifestyle of the English Monarchy History.

Also the garden was very scenic and beautiful with many plant varieties and colors. Not to mention the maze, where we had a good time trying to find our way out.

Points to take note:
Currently, there are some restoration works inside the main and second courtyard, so there might be some inconvenience. Also for the maze, the last entry is 45 minutes before the whole palace closes, so that in the event you cannot get out, the staff can come rescue you!! Haa..

Wonderful place!!

Doing what: Hampton Court Palace Bike Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful tour!! Our guide was very interesting and gave us a lot of info during the way. The ride is easy and suitable for all cycling abilities. Hampton Court palace is a MUST-SEE. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Hampton Court Palace Bike Tour from London

JOOLES
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

IT WAS GREAT TO VISIT HAMPTON COURT PALACE,A LIFE LONG DREAM OF MINE.SKIP THE LINE WAS A BIG HELP AS THERE WERE LOADS OF PEOPLE.LOVE HAMPTON COURT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A magical day biking from Richmond to Hampton Court Palace along the Thames, loved every second of the amazing day. Sunny weather, easy riding, and plenty of time to take photographs as well as listen to the fountain of historical information from our guide.

Doing what: Hampton Court Palace Bike Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Simply wonderful! The whole day was extremely well organised, very informative and interesting, and loads of fun. The bikes were great (helpful for a non-confident rider) and the route just lovely. Our guide was fantastic - helpful, clever, witty... We really can't imagine a better way to visit Hampton Court Palace. Great pub stop and suggestions for lunch. A definite highlight of our month long tour through Europe. Thanks to all concerned!

Doing what: Hampton Court Palace Bike Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

There wasn't much of a line when we went to Hampton Court Palace, but if you like history and are fascinated by how they built these Palaces, this is a great place to visit. We easily spent 3 hours there looking at everything. The gardens are unbelievable. Highly recommended visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

Graham Walker
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Only thirty miles up the River Thames from the Tower of London and 35 minutes by train from Waterloo station stands one of Britain’s most magnificent palaces, Hampton Court Palace. Hampton Court is not just about the palace itself but its beautiful gardens and grounds stretching down to the River Thames.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

Note from Viator: This review was written by Graham Walker, who wrote a complete summary of the Hampton Court Palace (with video!) on the Viator Travel Blog.

Fiona F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent day, the visitor experience at Hampton Court Palace is well thought out and delivered. There is so much to do that we didn't get to do everything (winter opening hours) - will definitely go back! The costumed guides had incredible knowledge, were very engaging and really helped one to understand the life story of the Palace. A fantastic experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Hampton Court Palace is amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic day trip, Hampton Court Palace is located just outside central London, approx. 25 min train ride. The tours within the palace were very interesting but make sure to leave enough time for the gardens as they are magnificent, especially in SpringSummer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message