London ATTRACTIONS See all

Hampton Court Palace

Set in Surrey on the edge of London, Hampton Court Palace can be found near the River Thames. Famous as the home of King Henry VIII (he of the six wives and many beheadings), the magnificent palace building is made up of two different styles: the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Didn't have to queue with this pass and all venues were terrific.
Personal favourite was the Tower of London. Join a tour with a Beefeater and you'll learn some history and have a laugh at the same time.
Easy to spend half a day or more in the Tower and to roam around Kensington and Hampton Court Palaces made us feel like we were allowed into a very special and private part of England.

Doing what: Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Only had time for Tower and Hampton Court Palace. Both are excellent! Public transit practically drop you off at entry to both locations.

Doing what: Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

GBanks191

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Hampton Court Palace should not be missed when in London. The gardens and the palace are just beautiful. It is an easy train ride and short walk from Waterloo Station. Plan on having lunch or tea in the cute village closeby.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

thepea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing day out from London - Hampton Court Palace is a gorgeous estate! Loved skipping the line to -buy tickets (just went to the pre-paid desk), and the audio tour was really interesting. The ticket is all access, I had a lot of fun exploring the lovely gardens and getting lost in the hedge maze. Definitely a nice break from London.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Eileen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Day bike trip was great. It was easy to find the guide, John, at Waterloo station. His directions were clear and easy to follow. The bikes were great. The pace was fine, with lots of stops for great insights into what we were bike around. Fun day trip. Hampton Court palace well worth the trip.

Doing what: Hampton Court Bike Tour

Marty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I purchased this tour to see Hampton Court Palace and I was not disappointed! This castle is incredible, huge and impressive. I especially loved the kitchen tour and the folks dressed in Tudor style costumes wandering around. Lunch at the cafe was delicious. While the tour was self-guided, I could have used more time simply to soak up the ambiance. Maybe a longer tour of just Hampton Court.
Kensington Palace was also delightful. More of a modern palace but knowing Princess Diana lived here and William and Kate would soon live here gave it a different feel for me. Our tour guide Sheila was delightful - not too corny, very funny. Good tour!

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Note from Viator: The itinerary for this tour has changed and no longer visits Kensington Palace.

mum in a hurry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour started at Kensington Palace. We were given enough time to have a good look about. It was very good. My highlight was seeing some of Diana's ball gowns. Next it was off to Hampton Court Palace and it was amazing. The kitchens and the Great Hall are something special. We went in the Maze and also the Real Tennis Court. It is a very beautiful building with a lot of beautiful rooms. We were given plenty time here also, so we didn't feel rushed. Our Tour Guide didn't come in with us but we really didn't need one anyway. He was most informative on the coach going to the Palaces. The Coach Driver and Guide had a good banter together. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip, it was a good day out.

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Note from Viator: The itinerary for this tour has changed and no longer visits Kensington Palace.

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, and the Hampton Court Palace and grounds - once we hot there. (Trains all cancelled from Waterloo Station due to stupid tropical storm St. Jude.) The self-guided tour handsets were very helpful, as were the local docents on site.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Chun Liang O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This cycling trip was awesome. cycling along River thames and having an engaging guide, John, to explain the history of Richmond and English History is just simply perfect. The cycling itself was never tough, even for my 60+ dad, who did it in a breeze.

As for Hampton Court Palace, this was truly a palace with breathtaking architecture and history. Entering the palace simply brought me, my brother and dad back to the good old King Henry VIII days. The building, artefacts truly illustrates the thinking behind and lifestyle of the English Monarchy History.

Also the garden was very scenic and beautiful with many plant varieties and colors. Not to mention the maze, where we had a good time trying to find our way out.

Points to take note:
Currently, there are some restoration works inside the main and second courtyard, so there might be some inconvenience. Also for the maze, the last entry is 45 minutes before the whole palace closes, so that in the event you cannot get out, the staff can come rescue you!! Haa..

Wonderful place!!

Doing what: Hampton Court Bike Tour

Dario M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful tour!! Our guide was very interesting and gave us a lot of info during the way. The ride is easy and suitable for all cycling abilities. Hampton Court palace is a MUST-SEE. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Hampton Court Bike Tour

JOOLES Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

IT WAS GREAT TO VISIT HAMPTON COURT PALACE,A LIFE LONG DREAM OF MINE.SKIP THE LINE WAS A BIG HELP AS THERE WERE LOADS OF PEOPLE.LOVE HAMPTON COURT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

D J Campbell C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A magical day biking from Richmond to Hampton Court Palace along the Thames, loved every second of the amazing day. Sunny weather, easy riding, and plenty of time to take photographs as well as listen to the fountain of historical information from our guide.

Doing what: Hampton Court Bike Tour

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Simply wonderful! The whole day was extremely well organised, very informative and interesting, and loads of fun. The bikes were great (helpful for a non-confident rider) and the route just lovely. Our guide was fantastic - helpful, clever, witty... We really can't imagine a better way to visit Hampton Court Palace. Great pub stop and suggestions for lunch. A definite highlight of our month long tour through Europe. Thanks to all concerned!

Doing what: Hampton Court Bike Tour

Matthew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

There wasn't much of a line when we went to Hampton Court Palace, but if you like history and are fascinated by how they built these Palaces, this is a great place to visit. We easily spent 3 hours there looking at everything. The gardens are unbelievable. Highly recommended visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Graham Walker United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Only thirty miles up the River Thames from the Tower of London and 35 minutes by train from Waterloo station stands one of Britain’s most magnificent palaces, Hampton Court Palace. Hampton Court is not just about the palace itself but its beautiful gardens and grounds stretching down to the River Thames.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Note from Viator: This review was written by Graham Walker, who wrote a complete summary of the Hampton Court Palace (with video!) on the Viator Travel Blog.

Fiona F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent day, the visitor experience at Hampton Court Palace is well thought out and delivered. There is so much to do that we didn't get to do everything (winter opening hours) - will definitely go back! The costumed guides had incredible knowledge, were very engaging and really helped one to understand the life story of the Palace. A fantastic experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Elaine Y USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Hampton Court Palace is amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic day trip, Hampton Court Palace is located just outside central London, approx. 25 min train ride. The tours within the palace were very interesting but make sure to leave enough time for the gardens as they are magnificent, especially in SpringSummer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

alicema

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Windsor Castle was terrific. Hampton Court Palace was fantastic. We had ample time at each spot--perhaps a bit more time at Windsor Castle to allow us time to get back to the coach. What wasn't good was the guide. At Windsor castle, we got taken from the coach park by Jose our guide--we walked quickly up a flight of outdoor stairs into a train station--then thru a warren of shops and restaurants and down the streets of Windsor--thru some back alleys and up the steps into the castle. We were told to make our own way back to the coach park--no maps--no explanation of how to get back--no description of helpful landmarks--nothing--and we did, indeed, get lost. This was even worse, since I asked for a map of the town to explain how to get back, since I was afraid of getting lost on the way back--out guide said No map--it's quite easy--just back tot he train station--only there are TWO train stations. This put quite a damper on an otherwise very nice day. Jose didn't keep track of us -- and our bus driver earlier in the day tried to have us take another bus--kept insisting we weren't on his bus, since we had audio boxes on--and he didn't think Jose had distributed them. All in all- quite disjointed tour, but excellent destinations. Well worth the combo tour--if you get a guide who cares about you

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Sharon O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Hampton Court Palace is an interesting tour. It is easy to get there by train. The palace tour is well-equipped once you get there with audio phones and guides. There are also little shows and musical performances by people in the clothing of the times. These are quite entertaining and add to the ambience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Leah K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Loved Hampton Court Palace! This voucher lets you get your entrance tickets at the group window instead of waiting in the regular ticket lines, but there is still a line at the group window. Not nearly as bad though. I can see how in the middle of summer and tourist times that this would probably save you time getting in. But when we went early May the lines were same for both. It passes quickly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Dominique H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Visited Hampton Court Palace, unfortunately only time enough to see the rooms unable to visit the gardens on this occasion. A very enjoyable experience and good fun to see actors dressed in period costumes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Mary M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed our day and our guide was very informative. Windsor Castle was great and we enjoyed the "Changing of the Guards".
Hampton Court Palace was truly amazing. The castle with fascinating and the gardens where just so perfect. A really lovely place to visit.

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Patricia K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A very enjoyable day overall. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and good fun. The time at Kensington Palace was longer than we felt necessary and could have been better used at Hampton Court Palace.

Doing what: Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London

Note from Viator: The itinerary for this tour has changed and no longer visits Kensington Palace.

Stephen D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed a very good day out at Hampton Court Palace. However, there were a couple of points related to the Viator aspects which were not so positive. I'd booked a 'skip the line' tour but when we arrived, there seemed to be only one window open at the ticket office so that, short of barging in, it was hard to see how we could take advantage of that. We ended up seeing an assistant in the grounds who helped us but suggested that internet tour companies often don't liaise closely with the venues. Clearly you could improve this aspect. In a similar vein, the voucher that I received said that car parking would be available in the grounds at £3.50 (by implication, for the whole day). In fact, the car parking within the grounds is £1.50 PER HOUR; a considerable difference. The figure given by Viator had helped to swing our decision towards taking the car rather than using public transport - a costly decision as it turned out. In summary, closer liaison between Viator and the venue and more accurate/up to date information is needed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Entrance Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message