London ATTRACTIONS See all

Houses of Parliament & Big Ben

The Palace of Westminster, more commonly known as the Houses of Parliament, is right on the River Thames. A magnificent Neo-Gothic building dating from the 1840s, it is most recognizable from the clock tower at one end known as Big Ben. (In fact, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is such a good idea. Really takes you quickly through the locations. You can just hop off and visit the site, buses seem to run about every 15-20 minutes. You get great views from the second level, especially of the Parliament/Big Ben from across the water. I definitely recommend.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hop on Hop off is a great option if you do not have a set itinerary and have not joined any formal tours. Your tickets are good for 24 hours and includes a river cruise on the Thames which gets you to Greenwich. The stops bring you to the popular landmarks and sites, and the buses come often so you'll be able to use your time efficiently. If you're on one of the lines that include a tour guide that narrates, you can ask them for suggestions on anything from food to which stops you need to get off to get to certain sites, they are very helpful and friendly. Recommendation- bring sunglasses, a warm jacket, and wear sunscreen. When you sit on the top deck, it's sunny, you can get sunburn/windburn, and it can get cold. if you want to be dropped off in front of the Tower of London, take the River Thames cruise and one of the stops is in front of the Tower of London. You can get there by bus too, but you have to walk a few blocks to get there. To take the cruise, pick it up by Westminster/Big Ben, since you get your tickets when you pick up the hop-on hop-off, you don't have to wait in the purchase ticket line, just look for the sign that says Original London Sightseeing and it will take you to the gate you need to pick up the cruise. Everything was very easy and I got to see all the sights, even take a picture of Harrods from the top deck. From the top deck you also get a different view of places because you're higher up and not fighting the crowds to get a picture of things.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Good value for money. We stayed in Kensington area (Millenium Gloucester hotel), within walking distance to Hop on Hop Off bus stop. You can board the bus and ask the driver where you can exchange your voucher for the ticket. It is a good way to visit Harrods department store, Oxford st shopping, Big Ben, London Tower, Thames River and Buckingham palace.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great way to introduce yourself to London. The tour is long but worth the time because you see all the major sites in one day. Tour takes you to a pub for lunch (not included). Ends with a river cruise back to Big Ben. We had an excellent guide who was funny and informative. Take this tour for your first day in London and then return to a favorite site using the One Day Travel Card on the tube.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very helpful and friendly. Only recommendation is to figure out where you are staying and what bus company picks up close to your hotel - saves on taxi's or walking. Plan on going to the Tower of London early then take the boat tour from there back down to the Clock Tower (Big Ben).

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a marvelous day in London. We visited London during a 1-day stop over on our way to Barcelona, Spain. This tour offered us an excellent sampling of London and all of its highlights. The reservation process and tour were great. We used the hop-on/hop-off feature of this tour to visit several sights in more detail (Tower Bridge, Globe Theatre, Big Ben/Parliament, etc). The river cruise was also a great feature as it offered a different view of the London skyline. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

To book tickets for "hop-on Hop-off" buses was the best decision at all. You get a good impression about London and sights which you can't discover in even a few days by feet. Also going by boat from "Big Ben" to Tower Bridge (it lasts 20 minutes) is an interesting little journey, because you can see parts of London from a total other view. This tour belongs to the "Hop-on Hop-off "booking without paying separately. Another fact is, that the tickets are active for 24 hours, which means you can go by boat for example just next day. I think I will go to London next year again an booking of this tour is a must be.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way to see the city and and get a lay of the land. The bus takes you by many of the landmarks and includes a river tour that takes you from the Tower of London to Big Ben. There are also some walking tours including the changing of the guard as long as it's within 24 hours from the time you board the bus.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

Vinayen C
Mauritius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was my last day in London and I had booked the tour two days back. In 5 hours, I have already visited and learned a lot about London. It was very exciting as I was free to stop and go wherever I want and to travel back by the double decker bus. During that day we started from Piccadilly circus and visited the Big Ben and Parliament, The London Eye, St Paul Cathedral, the London Bridge, The Tower Bridge, The Tower of London, The Buckingham Palace etc... I also enjoyed the free Thames River Cruise between Westminster and Tower Bridge

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Caught the bus from Marble Arch to St Paul's Church passing through Piccadilly Circus and Trfalgar Square and then walked from there to the Tower of London which was a highlight. Caught the cruise from there to Westminster for Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Walked from there to Buckingham Palace and cut through Hyde Park to get to Hotel. Managed to pack a lot in one day.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great to sit up top and see every thing. The boat ride made the trip even better. If nothing more any time traveling the hop-on hop-off is the one thing my husband and I always book. We saw alot of sites in London rode the bus the entire trip first then got off at the Tower. Took the boat down to Big Ben just to see at another angle.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a great tour and we saw a lot in a day. Most of the morning was spent in the bus seeing some of the sights like Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Whitehall, Downing Street, Trafalgar Square, Prince Albert's memorial and the Victoria and Albert museum, Harrods and more. Then we went to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guard. Our expert guide Richard told us where to stand for the best view and great pictures. After lunch it was on to St Paul's Cathedral. Amazing! The wisteria was in bloom along one wall on our way in. The stained glass, the ceilings, the dome, the crypt - all fascinating. It is a Must See. Our next stop was the Tower of London with it's gory history, the ravens and their story and of course the crown jewels. Our boat cruise on the Thames ended the day with great views of Big Ben and the London Eye.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

My son and I went on the tour, which included an inside tour of Westminster Abbey and a motor coach tour around London seeing sites such as The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, St. Paul's Cathedral, and Big Ben. We were also taken to the Changing of The Horse Guards. We enjoyed a lovely lunch at a British Pub in the center of London. We also went on a boat which cruised up the Thames River. We then received a tour of The Tower of London and the Crown Jewels. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the history of London and all the sites we visited. We highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting London!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This tour was a good overview of the City. Edward informed of us a lot of history and current politics. I was a little disappointed that we did not get off the bus at Westminster Abbey. It was not clear from the tour desciption that we would see Big Ben and Westminster through the bus windows only. Over all the tour was worth it.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

If you only have one day for sightseeing tour in London, then this is the best tour you can join. This tour would bring you to the important sights and places such as Prince Albert Memorial (opposite Royal Albert Hall), St. Paul Cathedral, Tower of London and Changing of the Guards. However, you can only view the BIg Ben and the House of Parliaments, Westminster Abbey, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square on the bus (no stops provided to go down and take photos).

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour was great. we started from the hotel change buses and was on our way. The tour guide was upbeat and friendly. The sights was amazing. From the Crown jewels to the Thames river to the river boat ride loved it, we saw the queen castle, and a guards demonstration. Touture chimbers and big ben

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Susan U
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Loved this tour. The weather was perfect. Hopped off just in time to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace then hopped back on for Big Ben, Westminster, Tower Bridgem, etc. The cruise down the Thames was very enjoyable and we decided to continue on past the Tower of London and see Greenwich instead. The acres of 18th Centrury buildings at the Old Royal Naval College was jaw dropping and in particular the Great Painted Hall. We only had one day in London this was the perfect tour.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I attended the London in One Day tour 05/21/12. I had a very short stay in London and this Bob Evans tour seemed to be the best deal. I enjoyed seeing the major sites and icons of the city- Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, St. Paul's, the Tower of London, etc. The tour was as described with the exception of having not having a Beefeater guide at the Tower of London. The cruise on the river involved a huge boat that left off tourists to the London Brige area (not a small boat ride as I had envisioned but still ok). Did not do the pub lunch since it was quite high in price compared to other pub lunches. I really wish Picadilly Circus could have been added. I would recommend getting the Hop On-Hop Off all day bus pass for those who plan to stay awhile longer. The guide was very professional and had extensive knowledge of the city. He ended up leaving five people from the Philippines behind since they were late to return to the bus. Whatever you do- BE ON TIME!!!!!!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great tour to see the priceless Crown Jewels, Tower of London, London Bridge and take a ride on the river to Big Ben. Great overview of the main attractions.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Really a great value for a FIRST DAY bus tour of London when we were 'jet lagged' and needed to get aquainted with the City. The various drivers and tour guides were very helpful and seemed knowledgeable and added humour with facts to stimulate our quest for more information about many of the main attractions in London. The River Thames cruise was an exceptional added bonus. As luck would have it, we managed to leave the Westminster Pier about noon and go to hear Big Ben chime, then make it to Greenwich to witness the ball drop at the Royal Observatory... Fantastic. experience overall and would highly recommend both of these trips for first timers to London.... Lots of knowlegeable commentary with humour. Yellow line had lots of buses coming regularly. We booked another day to use the blue line and found the buses appeared to travel less frequently and with some traffic diversions found ourselves walking further than we might have liked to get to the next stop, only to wait for what was a last bus that could only take us to the next stop for another wait nearing the end of the working day (1730). Because we didn't get to do as much that day we didn't even take advantage of the river tour. So the second day we booked was of less value for us. We might have better used the local bus service which was far more frequent and less time consuming for the Blue line attractions.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

This was a really great tour! Perfect as I was in London a short time. Thanks to the tour guide and Thomas our driver. Unfortunately, the tour started off late, as the driver was late getting to the terminal apparently cause of biker protests Not good enough excuse really, since we paid a nice bit of money for the tour. Overall it was a great tour and even the rain held off until the very end!We were taken around to all the big tourist sites like Big Ben, Tower of London, St. Paul's Cathedral no photies allowed inside & more. We ate at a lovely pub called The Silver Cross. If you only have a couple days in London or even just one day this tour is for you!

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We did this tour on a Saturday - very busy in London. The bus was quite crowded and traffic slow. We caught the bus from Trafalgar Square and got off at Buckingham Palace. We then walked to Big Ben and Westminster. This suited us better than to catch the bus as the lines were long plus we had two children, one with a stroller. At Westminster Bridge we got on the river cruise to Tower Bridge that was included in the ticket - this was the best part of the tour. After this we did not use the bus again so was a bit of a waste for us, other than the river cruise, which our girls loved.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This is a great way to see London but you really need to watch the clock as the busses all stop running around 5-6 in the evening. We found ourselves stuck by Big Ben and had to take the tube home. This is really a poor aspect of this service, especially in the summer when the sun is out until 10 pm and people want to go out and about and use the bus.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

First part very slow due to traffic and roadworks. At times commentary out of time with driving. A little confusing as there is more than one hop on hop off tour unlike Paris with just the one route. Delay of 10 min for driver changeover mid tour a little annoying as the driver's seemed to be chatting on the footpath while we waited. We did the red triangle tour and although commentary very informative there was a lot of doubling back on the route particularly up until Big Ben.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This is what is says on the Viator site when you sign up:

Full-day London tour including Tower of London visit
See top London attractions like Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and St Pauls Cathedral, on a coach tour
Watch the Changing of the Guard ceremony at Buckingham Palace
Explore the Tower of London with a Beefeater guide

Now granted, there was an Underground strike that day so the traffic was bad.

We did not go to Westminster Abbey. We did not go to Big Ben. We got time on our own at the Tower of London but it was not guided.

Nor did they tell us that the changing of the guard is only every other day in August and today was not our day.

The guide was informative about the history of the royal family.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message