London ATTRACTIONS See all

Kensington Palace

Kensington Palace has been a royal residence since King William III and Mary II renovated the existing house and moved there in 1689. Princesses continue to live there today, the most famous of recent times being Princess Diana. Queen Victoria was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We did a compare and contrast by seeing Versailles earlier in the same week we visited Kensington Palace - vividly clear that the French were the wealthier, more powerful nation. Kensington located in a beautiful large park amid the bustle of London. Unlike Versailles, not crowded and well curated display of royal dresses in the 20th century. Unfortunately, didn't make it to Hampton Court. Tower of London a mob scene but the crowd control and information displayed at the Crown Jewels adult level and well done.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Greg G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Hampton court was great. Ended up spending the entire day there. Tower of London was an important tour. Kensington Palace was ok, but not that great. Buying the tickets in advance, does help to allow faster access.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Danielle R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I couldn't contact anyone with questions as to where Hampton Court was located and how to get there. I was only able to use this pass for Tower of London as Kensington Palace closed before we got to it and we didn't realize Hampton Court was outside of London. That part was confusing as both of the others were inside the city. Hampton Court was also the one I wanted to see most. Make sure you have enough time to see them and for a trip outside the city.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Didn't have to queue with this pass and all venues were terrific.
Personal favourite was the Tower of London. Join a tour with a Beefeater and you'll learn some history and have a laugh at the same time.
Easy to spend half a day or more in the Tower and to roam around Kensington and Hampton Court Palaces made us feel like we were allowed into a very special and private part of England.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

had a wonderful time at the palaces
Hampton court is a full day, lots of fun for kids with many activities for them

Tower of London and Kensington is a days tour also

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Karen

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

If you get to Kensington Palace right when it opens, you probably don't need to purchase Skip the LIne Palace tickets. However, it might be nice to have if you enter later in the day. This is a self-guided tour which will take approximately 1.5 hours. Tour included the Queen's State Apartments, the King's State Apartments, Victoria Revealed, and a display of the fashions of HM The Queen in the 50's, her sister Princess Margaret in the 60's-70's, and Princess Diana in the 80's. It was raining on the day we toured, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the outdoor gardens. But we did see some floral arrangements marking the anniversary of her death left at the same gold gates that were filled with rows and rows of flowers when she passed 18 years ago.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

ETHEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We dearly loved Kensington Palace. We're Princess Diana fans so we wouldn't have missed this for any thing. Also, it is so beautiful. Well worth the price of the tour. You won't want to miss this one. We also loved the gift shop. We were able to get several beautiful things to bring home that I will treasure for a long time. Prices were a little high but you would expect that, after all, it's a tourist attraction.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Kensington Palace was a total bucket list dream come true for me so I had to give it five stars although of the two, Buckingham Palace was obviously more grand. I really liked the exhibits on Queen Victoria and fashion and I actually learned quite a bit in my excitement. I'm not sure the skip the line ticket saved me much time but it was nice to have just in case.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

Andrew S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Kensington Palace isn't the grandeur we expected, but worth a morning or afternoon if you have the time. Most of the palace is unfurnished, or being restored, but the 3 apartments on the self-guided tour offer great historical information and story telling. Queen Victoria's apartment offered a terrific perspective of her life story, family and her reign as monarch, and the Hall of Fashion has a wonderful collection of dresses from Queen Victoria, the current Queen Elizabeth, Princess Margaret and Princess Diana. The gardens are lovely, but you do not have to tour the palace to enter most of them, as it is a huge park that is accessible from many points on the street.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

Ross H United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Very disappointed that we didn't get the tour we'd booked. We booked this expecting to go to Kensington Palace orange ride for afternoon tea, but when we got on the bus we were told differently. No apology given by either Viator or the operator! Other than that it was a good tour, great way to see London

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Colby C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Quite good go to the group section to validate your passes we used for Tower of London Kensington palace and Hampton court. Go and see the Crown Jewels early in the morning if you don't want to line up. Great value for money really enjoyed this tour. Trains for Hampton court leave every half hour

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Gloria E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice tour. Disappointed that we didn't have tea as Kensington Palace as originally booked. Didn't really like the hotel tea, although it was a delicious spread and gluten free as requested, I would have preferred something more homely and cosy like the Palace.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

NELL J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I was disappointed with this tour mainly as we did not go to Kensington Palace which was the highlight for me. You can take the Clippers for £5 and walk around the city for free to see the other sights, Not really worth the price without the Kensington Palace visit. The found the guide was somewhat abrasive too.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Billinda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great value and easy to use with a two year expiry! Hampton Court was fantastic and although located out near Wimbledon was a fantastic and easy/ quick trip via the underground. Wimbledon itself was well worth a look around with great shopping. Hampton Court was awesome! The Tower was also fantastic and as a Tudor history fan both visits were a highlight of our trip to London. Unfortunately we ran out of time for Kensington Palace however with a two year expiry it will be on the agenda for our next visit.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

june w

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

we had a wonderful time and an excellent guide, well worth the money, wouldnt do the kensington afternoon tea again unless we were in the main room, I think they forgot we were coming, we were in a side annex come conservetory with no atmosphere atall, the staff were very nice but very basic tea, still we cant moan about it we didnt pay alot.loved the bus tour and the trip up the canal, would do it again, brilliant.june swindon

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Nhiggins54

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Just be prepared for a whirl wind tour if you only have a short time. But worth it. Afternoon tea at Kensington Palace Orangery was a nice way to finish the day. Only draw back was the tour ended here and you had to find your own way home.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Robyn C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did this tour on our First day in London, excellent Tour Guide Allen kept us entertained through out the trip and was up to date on the happenings in London, we were dropped off almost at the Palace and were able to get some good picture. Excellent value for money with a Cruise on the Thames included and then the excellent high tea at Kensington Palace.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Dorothy L V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

One could spend an entire day touring the Tower of London alone. It is a fantastic place better done with a tour guide. Kensington Palace was less than I expected and with London's road closings, demonstrations, and a taxi strike, it was difficult to get to. We never did make it to Hampton Court.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My sister and I took this tour and we both LOVED it! We rode through Kensington and Hyde parks, and past Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Westminster Abbey, and The Houses of Parliament. A lot of ground is covered, but it is flat ride, and 90% off the roads. We saw so much more than we expected. The guide was very knowledgable, and fun. It was a great way to wind down our fabulous time in London.

Doing what: London Royal Parks Bike Tour including Hyde Park

Dianne Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We enjoyed this tour and were impressed by well preserved Kensington Palace is. I especially appreciated the display of royal dresses over the years.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

kapat12724

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Well worth visiting Kensington Palace!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

W. Michael M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a great bargain, which gives you the advantage of going to the front of the line and a visit to all three of these attractions. The Tower of London was very entertaining and the exhibits were really interesting and full of history. Hampton Court was fantastic! Henry VIII really knew how to live, but of course what Monarch doesn't? Admittedly, he had his foibles! Out of the three Kensington Palace was the least interesting, but worth a visit as it should be seen if you are going to London.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

M Packard Z USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Made the mistake of booking this tour after making the trans Atlantic overnight flight from the U.S. Even after a power nap in the early afternoon the walk from the hotel through the park to Kensington Palace was arduous. The tour of the palace would have been more enjoyable had it had headsets with a recording to explain what we were looking at. Being exhausted we were not up to reading the small, not very informative brochure we were given. The palace seems to be undergoing some construction in the public rooms (which it needs badly) but doesn't make for a very attractive setting. The gardens are however exceptional as is the tea room and gift shop.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

Neville K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very good, it is always worth having your tours booked, we saw Kensington palace and Tower of London, but unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we missed Hampton court, but still worth doing this.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Aoife M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Kensington Palace was not at all worth seeing, waste of money. Hampton Court and Tower of London were excellent.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message