Stonehenge is still one of the world's great mysteries. Who built it? Why? And how? Around 3,500 years old, Stonehenge is a massive circle of standing stones and earthworks in the middle of a green field in Wiltshire. Whoever built the monument, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1907 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really loved Windsor castle, more than I thought we would. Stonehenge is unbelievable. We missed our president by one day! The walking tour of Windsor was just right in length and scope. We drove past thatched roof homes too. Great your! Vet good guide.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After my son and I traveled across the pond to England, it was well worth it to get up extra early to catch the 'Sunrise Tour'. Our tour guide was professional, well informed and very interactive. Although the arrival at Stonehenge was not exactly at sunrise, the rising sun still made an incredible effect on our photos. Best part was walking among the stones with such a small group, we got more than enough time to take pictures, many looking like no one else was there. We even took a bunch of extreme close ups of all the weathering in the stones.

Leaving Stonehenge, we saw the growing line to get in, after the stones are roped off. Incidentally, the ropes are very far away from the stones. Also, the Gift Shop is open early, contrary to prior reviews that it would be closed for the early morning tour.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely fabulous experience of being the group at Stonehenge at dawn and watching the sun rise - although a bit cloudy and with misty rain - this only added to the historic feeling as one could imagine the Druids emerging from the mists to perform a ceremony.. Stonehenge tour guides/custodians great sources of advice and information while keeping a wary eye to ensure that therules are adhered to and that Stonehenge will be there in its present state for future generations. Highlight was a successful wedding proposal between a young couple from our bus in the middle of Stonehenge.Tour guide Jason gave a very informed presentation about Stonehenge and it's history on the way there. He kept everyone informed all day about coming attractions and ensured that everyone knew time and place of pickups so we were able to keep on schedule. Fine English breakfast in the village of Lacock with time left over for a look around the village.
On to Bath and its Roman Baths - here we were given free reign and able to explore the Baths at our own pace and marvel at the engineering works that the Romans caried out.
Would have loved to had more time exploring the city of Bath but realise that time is limited.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were looking for a small-group day trip to Stonehenge and Bath that would give us the most possible time in both places. After looking at many other tours, we chose this one as it had the fewest "stops" on the tour. I can't imagine adding another destination to this itinerary as there is simply not enough time for a proper visit.

This tour was exactly as advertised. Our group was only 11 people, which made it even more enjoyable. Our guide, Chicago Mike, was outstanding. Very knowledgeable about all the places we visited. And because we were in an "executive coach" and not a big tour bus, he was able to drive down small lanes and show us a few extra sights not originally on the tour, such as Avebury and Woodhenge, which were both very interesting.

Lacock was a great first stop. The town is absolutely charming. When we arrived, I remembered I'd visited the ruins of the old abbey that is located there when I was a studying abroad almost 30 years ago. The town, despite being a setting for Harry Potter films and PBS mini-series seems basically unchanged.

Our visit to Bath included a tour of the baths, and then we were able to roam around the town on our own for about 90 minutes or so. We loved the gorgeous Georgian architecture. We had time to grab a quick lunch and have a tasting of locally produced ciders at a pub tucked away on a side street.

Stonehenge was fantastic, and exceeded our expectations. Our guide had given us a lot of information along the way so we could truly appreciate what we were seeing. Despite the fact that many other tourists were visiting at the same time, we definitely didn't feel crowded or overwhelmed. In fact, we can't believe how many of our photos look like we were the only people there.

Great tour, great guide, and great experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Bath, Lacock and Stonehenge from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are looking for a trip to see some of the sites outside of London, and have a limited time to do it in, this is a wonderful trip to do. It is a long day, over 13 hours, but well worth it. Our guide, Nick, was not only enthusiastic about what he was showing us, but was also a weath of knowledge about the subject matter. Stonehenge was not just "a bunch of rocks" as many have described them. Nick brought them to life with a real understanding of the civilization that once lived there. In Bath we had free time after our orientation and we opted to go with Nick on a walking tour of the town. Our trip to Windsor Castle was also good, with a front row view of the changing of the guard. Lunch at the Pub in Lacock was very good with a stroll afterwards to capture the essence of the village. Wonderful experience with Nick and well worth it.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was worth the extra money and worth waking up at 0400! You arrive at Stonehenge before anyone else, which was nice that you didn't have to.share it with a ton of people. And the fact that "normal tour and visitor" can not walk in/through/around stand next to the stones. They are roped off and have to keep their distance. If you have always want to go pick this tour and get a once in a lifetime opportunity to stand inside the circle!

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to see Stonehenge! Very comfortable bus ride. Nice and organized. Company even picked us up directly from our hotel.

Doing what: London to Stonehenge Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Be prepared for a long day, but very interesting one! First was Windsor castle. What a fabulous place! There is a whole town surrounding it. No photos allowed, which was disappointing. Really enjoyed the history. Amazing. There is St. George chapel there in which Henry the Eighth and Jane Seymour are buried. Again. No photos. Then off to Stonehenge...just beautiful. Spiritual and inspiring. The non to Lacock for our lunch, which took place at 3pm and we were starving by then. The pub was so adorable...a step back in time. By the time we got there the food was not too hot, but we ate and you can buy beer or wine if you choose. Then to Bath for the Roman baths which has the ticket office. Lose at 5 pm, so just made it. That is a separate admission, which I felt should hv been included. We returned to London Victoria station at 9pm. You had to make your own way home, but we had hotel pickup in the morning. A jam packed day, but you saw so many amazing things it was worth it!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great trip. A good value for the money. There was plenty of time to see Windsor Castle, Bath and Stonehenge. The lunch in Lacock was very good. I enjoyed this town and it had lots of history. We visited the Cathedral in the city of Bath. Very beautiful. The bus was clean and very comfortable.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great!! They will tell you that there is not much time to see everything since it's a lot in one day, and they will be correct. But it is just enough to see Windsor and Stonehenge without taking up so much time from your trip. Lacock was a nice little surprise!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even thought we mist out on the entry to the bath in Bath due to fact that we were running late due to the fact that at Windsor castle 2 people were left behind because they were running 15 minutes late , and at Stonehenge 3 were left behind for again running 15 minutes late again, we had a very knowledgeable tour guide which was able to answer any questions asked , and he was very considerate by taking extra time in taking us around Bath to make up for missing out on the entry to the baths to no fault of him but the tourists.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Just an overall fabulous day, due largely to our phenomenal tour guide, Russell. He was just perfect -- talkative, but not intrusive, informative, but not boring, humorous, but not sophomoric. He really seemed to be passionate about the sites we visited. Being able to walk among the stones at Stonehenge was truly inspiration. Tour bus itself was nice, clean, new. Long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Stonehenge: Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did the sunset tour of Stonehenge. The guide was great, he took time to take everyone's picture. Roman bath was great plenty of time to explore. Lacock was so cool too.This was a life experience I will never forget. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The England in One Day tour is certainly a great trip. Our tour guide, NICK, was beyond informative, personable, and helpful. The visits to Stratford, Bath, and Stonehenge were all delightful. We would strongly recommend this tour. Happy travel! -The Johnsons, Wichita, KS

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although we were fast-paced like the Amazing Race, our your guide Frazier was very informative. I am glad to have been given the audio tour at Stonehenge.

Windsor Castle is a magnificent castle like medieval times in a very cute lovely town.

My favorite was Bath. I shall return!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message