Stonehenge is still one of the world's great mysteries. Who built it? Why? And how? Around 3,500 years old, Stonehenge is a massive circle of standing stones and earthworks in the middle of a green field in Wiltshire. Whoever built the monument, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2085 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely fabulous - to stand among the stones was amazing! I saw Stonehenge 25 years ago from the outer circle so to be able to go inside was a real highlight. Breakfast in Lacock was a treat and Bath was well done also!

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

wpatera
Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well-organized, my 14 year old son and me had a nice day. Nick is a great guide with an impressive voice, enthusiatic and good fun. Even calling Stonehenge a heap of stones could not make him lose his temper sorry once again, but we were a little disappointed that we could only walk around the fenced site in a distance....

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was a super fantastic day being able to get inside Stonehenge was a dream come true.Bath was awesome and a beautiful city.The guide was incredible she kept the tour moving along yet there was plenty of time to see all the sights.Lacock was a nice village and breakfast was delicious.A great day

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

1of2
The best day ever-an eleven on a scale of one to ten-life changing?

These titles may seem a bit of an exaggeration, yet I would say theyre all understatements when it comes to describing our recent trip to Stonehenge and our wonderful guide David Jordan.

The bus ride was easy with comfy seats and plenty of space, but no bathroom. One of our fellow travelers failed to plan for the two-hour ride without stops and forced all of us over for an emergency bathroom stop. The driver and guide handled this well and kept the rest of us calm saying we would still have plenty of time to enjoy the stones on our own.

David kept us entertained, informed and awake with great stories about England, history, scientific discoveries, social interactions, dos, donts and his own knowledge, enthusiasm and openness really made the day! He knew the route so well he would literally count down the seconds to a great view, a photo opportunity or chance piece of wisdom he wanted to share. His genius was magical and enriched our tour far more than any audio guide or pre-written statements.

When we arrived at Stonehenge the mist was lifting from the ground, the sun was hidden behind clouds and the place was empty. The souvenir shop was not even open, but luckily the bathrooms were. Seeing the stones for the first time as they revealed themselves on the horizon was awesome! We approached the site along a path that was roped off to protect the area. When I saw the guard lower that rope barrier to allow us access to the stones, I knew this trip was worth every extra pound we paid to be here. The uniqueness of seeing Stonehenge up close with just fifty people instead of staring from a distance in a mob of thousands was priceless. I will not spoil your visit with more descriptions expect to say that I could not stop taking photos when asked to leave because I felt I could not capture the feeling, scope, and grandness of what we just witnessed with my digital camera.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

2of2
On the bus and off to Lacock. David took breakfast orders onboard so that all fifty of us could eat a quick, yet satisfying meal. We were served tea, coffee, and our food arrived within minutes of us arriving - fantastic. We walked around this little town/village and learned about the nuns who founded it, the King who despised them and its recent history as a film/tv location.

Back on the bus to Bathe. Once again the ride was a breeze and filled with informative tidbits, humor and debates about the moral behavior of humans. The city itself is small and packed with touristy stuff like the church, the baths, the ice cream shops, etc. We could have spent a long weekend exploring this town, but only had a couple of hours. David laid the groundwork of what was realistic to see and do and let us go on our own.

The bus was late departing for the second time due to some families being a little slow to return. Our driver Richard was another amazing person who patiently waited for everyone, every time and made what accommodations his rules and guidelines allowed. We had spent too much time at Stonehenge I believe we all wanted to, and people were late getting back at every stop, so now our driver was up against the safety clock. We had to sacrifice the convenience of being dropped off at multiple hotels for a plan that worked for the most people on the bus. I was shocked to hear people complain that they werent getting door-to-door service when it was our own faults for being late, but then some people complain about the taxes when they win the lottery.

My family had the best time! We cannot recommend this tour highly enough, especially if you are lucky and blessed enough to spend your day with Farmer David. He touched our hearts and filled our heads with memories that we will cherish forever. Some people are special, some places are holy and some days are extraordinary to get all three is more than a grand slam homerunit wasa miracle.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the private viewing of Stonehenge. Going amongst the stones was absolutely the best experience. Lacock was also interesting. Bath was a bit disappointing. I must say the green water was off putting. But the rest of the tour was so great the overall tour was wonderful!

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had a WONDERFUL time seeing Stonehenge and learning about the history of the UK. I went by myself and enjoyed meeting new people.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Tour guide was very informative, making the trip fascinating and fun! Great way to see Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and the grand buildings of Oxford in one day!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour! Perfect for a one day overview of 3 great sights outside of London. Our guide, Norma, did a great job of keeping our group on track so we would have plenty of time at each stop. Our bus left on time and we were one of the 1st tour groups to reach Windsor Castle so we didn't have to wait long to enter. We were even able to catch the changing of the guard! Bath was very interesting and we enjoyed our visit to Stonehenge. We got plenty of photos and even had time to visit the gift shop at Stonehenge. However, I didn't realize that there was no bathroom on board the bus but we were able to catch a restroom at each stop. Also, if you are using the toilets at the Victoria bus station before you leave, they do charge you to use them :/.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful experience and the highlight of our stay in this area. The tour guide was knowledgeable, and seeing Stonehenge was breathtaking. We also enjoyed Windsor Castle and our time at Bath. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This bus tour was so much better than driving would have been I drove in Scotland and N. Ireland, so I know. We were able to see the changing of the guard at Windsor Castle as well as having enough time to visit the state apartments and get lunch. Then Bath was very informative and we were able to get in quickly with our group. The visit to Stonehenge, although not as long as the castle, was plenty of time to see it all. The point of departure from London was very convenient near Victoria tube station, just one block down to the Coach Station.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

By choosing only 2 places is the right decision. 1,5 hours in Stonehenge is actually not enough. We could.t have lunch before/after, so we must hold till we reach Bath. But we found we must visit Roman Bath first, so we take simple hot dog before the stomach is getting very upset. Bath is extremely beautiful city, we love it but we do not have much time to wandering around. We have late inch at Green Rocket Cafe, it was highly recommended, the ramen lime sauce is just so yummy. Our TL is also very informative.

Doing what: Stonehenge and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Emily, our tour guide, made Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath come alive. She was excellent.
The bus was comfortable, and Steve, our driver, pleasant, patient and friendly. We had enough time to see all the sights.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All three sights were very interesting. Our tour guide had very helpful tips about where go do first and how to best spend our time. I would not have gone out of my way to see Stonehenge but it was on the tour and I'm glad we saw it. Bath is beautiful and I wish we had more time there. Windsor Castle is just spectacular. Very worthwhile tour. Wish the wi fi had been working on the bus

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

robertp5050
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Phil and Augusta excellent guides - good tour - the attitude of these guides is 5 star - they put you first and want to make sure the day is a good use of your time - attractions first rate - the cotswolds and castle combe worth seeing - England is not London - lots of beautiful places outside the city - Phil's explanation of stonehenge well done

Doing what: Stonehenge, Bath and the Cotswolds Day Trip from London Including Lunch

Vanessa M B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Loved seeing Stonehenge, Windsor and Oxford. The tour guide was nice and it was great to see the English countryside! Wish there was a little more time to have a proper lunch at one of the destinations but the sandwiches from E.A.T were good :

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic day out. With Stonehenge being the big highlight as we had always wanted to go. Trip was well organised. The guide, Jose, was great and kept everybody entertained between destinations. Big thank you to him and the driver, Barry, for dropping us off at Marble Arch due to the tube strike. Will use Evans again.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had the best experience touring Stonehenge with this company! There was a hiccup in my last minute booking so when I arrived they could not locate my name on the list to board the bus. The tour company worked quickly to make arrangements for me to still be able to attend the tour. The bus driver was excellent in getting us to and from London during high traffic times and was beyond helpful in making sure each one of her passenger knew which stop to get off on to get home. The driver was even kind enough to give 2 stray tourists a ride back to London after they missed their bus.

Doing what: London to Stonehenge Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed this tour so much! Our tour guide Rob and driver Antonio were fantastic! Rob was very knowledgeable and very funny, told great stories and gave lots of history on those long drives between stops. Windsor Castle was a nice stop, as was Bath. We were a bit rushed for time at Stonehenge but that was probably because of the bad London traffic leaving the city and the lines at Windsor it was closed the day prior and the Royal Ascot was going on. Driving through the English countryside was also enjoyable. I highly recommend this tour, especially with Rob and Antonio at the helm!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a lovely tour - its a bit more expensive than some of the other Stonehenge, etc., options, but its worth it to have the private and inner access to the stone circle. The hotel pickup was easy and on-time we had a short 10 minute walk from our hotel to one of the designated pick-up spots our guide, Frank, and our coach driver, Malcolm, were perfect gentlemen and a joy to be around all day. They truly enjoy what they're doing, and both gentlemen did their best to share as much information as possible, particularly when we were divided into two smaller groups for entering the stone circle. The stop in Lacock was a treat - this little village is a gem, and I promise that you'll get more out of that than you expect. Our final stop in Bath was lovely - while it would be wonderful to spend more time in this charming town, the time we had was fine - enough to tour the Roman Baths, stroll the town, and enjoy a quick drink at a pub. It is a long day, but it is also a terrific way to get a taste of each of these three beautiful places. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I cannot say enough about this tour. Great, comfortable bus. Our tour guide was excellent.
Structured well with time at each location.

Windsor Castle is a beautiful place. In addition, it was great to visit Oxford and learn more about Oxford University. Quite a bit of walking, so wear sensible shoes.

However, without a doubt, the highlight of the trip was Stonehenge. It was a once in a lifetime experience to be able to have a private tour with only our group and go into the middle of the stones. I've never heard of anyone else ever being able to do this. It was superb. And everything we could have imagined it to be. I recommend 200. Well worth the investment. This was my favorite tour. I loved it.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Stonehenge: Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Long bus ride but well worth getting to see Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath. The guide on our bus made the trip not seem as long, he was very entertaining.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A most enjoyable journey with our host/guide/driver Tony Lawless of International Friends. He was at the meeting place promptly as scheduled, jovial, informative and accessible to all his clients. The visit to Stonehenge was the zenith of the trip for me and we were able to spend satisfactory time.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Bath, Lacock and Stonehenge from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking to see this structure. It is amazing to think how they came to be there. Lovely trip out to see Stonehenge, bucket list ticked off.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well it wasn't the whole of England- but about as much as you could expect to see in one day. David, our guide was great- interesting, informative, maybe a bit opinionated but loved that, lots of insider knowledge and benefits, made all the sights so much more interesting than going it alone- especially Stonehenge. Loved it.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message