London ATTRACTIONS See all

Tower of London

The Tower of London is old, very old. The central White Tower was built by William the Conqueror after his invasion of England in 1066. Since 1485, the iconic red and black-uniformed Beefeaters have been guarding the Tower. Also crucial to security ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 426 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is how you do as much as possible in a day. Tower of London before the crowds which was amazing-river cruise-st.Paul's it was all amazing. What was even better was our guide who had more knowledge in his head than most books. He had a great sense of corney humor too-which helps on a long day and answered questions which kept the day moving. Two thumbs up. His knowledge of St Pauls Cathedral was awesome, and knowing what parts of the city were most affected by the war-was a great day as I only had one day for sight seeing and this made the most of it.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was great...definitely a must do while in London. Make sure you allow plenty of time to explore because the Tower is huge! Also make sure you do the Beefeater tour. That was the best part of the visit for us as it gave us so much information on the history of the Tower of London.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

jorge c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tower of london amazing a boat cruise was great on a rainy day

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Janice P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our day trip to Tower of London was amazing! Such a great price considering all we were able to see and experience at the Tower. We were there for a full day, had access to all buildings and sights. We were even lucky enough to experience some reenactments of previous battles at the Tower. Unfortunately the group to go with the Beefeaters tour was MASSIVE, so we ended up giving ourselves our own tour and going at our own pace which was just as enjoyable

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

rglovett United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very intersting to walk around and explore the Tower of London and get a great view of the Tower Bridge. The Crown Jewels were amazing and a must see!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Jennifer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour! Lots of interesting facts and information. At first, I wasn't sure about the Beefeater tour because I had tweens in tow, but it is a definite MUST, they loved it and so did I! Tours are every half hour and lasts only an hour. We headed to Crown Jewels first as I had read a line forms to get in. So amazing! Great views of the Tower of London Bridge from inside and as you exit towards the bridge. My daughter says it was one of her favorite things that she did! Go, and go early!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

LGAB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I really wanted to pack as much as possible into our short 3-days in London, and this tour did not disappoint at all. Our guide, James was incredible. We have been on A LOT of tours throughout Europe in the last 5 years, and James is without question one of the most knowledgable and interesting guides we've ever had. Our driver, Malcolm was also wonderful - entertaining and like James, seemed like a good guy. The Tower of London was very interesting, and the Beefeater, Rob, was hilarious. Driving around, seeing sites and getting such wonderful information from James really gave us a great new understanding of the city of London.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend getting Tower of London tickets before traveling to London. You folks made it easy.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Ruth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had a super day walking round the Tower of London and the highlight was seeing the Crown Jewels. i was a bit disappointed with the Beefeater tour as they were very busy and the group was overcrowded 60 people on each tour, could be managed better!!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Love the Tower of London! Since our flight was delayed we were just able to make it there in time for the last Beefeater tour. So worth it!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this day tour and it gave us a chance to see all of the major tourist destinations in the city without having to take 4-5 taxis and pay a bunch of admissions and wait in lines. They spend plenty of time at the Tower of London and St. Paul's Cathedral and get you the opportunity to get your pictures at Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Tower Bridge and others. The guide John was informative and entertaining and we enjoyed this tour very much.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michele S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great tour to start your trip to London. Plenty of time in the a Tower of London. We couldn't have taken in all of these sites in a day of we'd gone on our own.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Delia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my favorite part of our trip. Augusta was excellent. We saw the opening ceremony at the Tower of London, spoke to a Yeoman Warder and saw the crown jewels before the crowds. Augusta explained the sights as we took a short ferry ride to the changing of the guard. If we had tried to see the changing of the guard without a tour guide, we would have just gone to Buckingham Palace with the crowd. The best decision we could have made was to go on this tour. Augusta expertly knew where we should stand and how to time it so we had the best unobstructed view of the changing of the guard and band away from the crowd at Buckingham Palace. Her knowledge and experience was invaluable as we would have never known to go to those areas on our own. Overall, it was a great tour and my favorite part of our trip!

Doing what: Best of Royal London Walking Tour Including the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day! Our tour guide was incredible, as was our bus driver. Both knew the city inside and out. It was a great way to see some very popular sites - we did not have to worry about lines at the Tower of London and we had a great spot at the Changing of the Guard ceremony. My only recommendation to Viator: change the location of the post-tour Tea. The service was sub-par, especially compared with the service that had been provided so far as stated above, rather excellent.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Suzanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Tower of London is a must see stop for any London visit. The Crown Jewels are well arranged to get an excellent view of these magnificent gems. There is so much to see here and it is fun and interesting to be transported back in time seeing the weaponry and incredible armor. I recommend the Beefeater tour it was entertaining as well as informative, our tour was randomly with Billy the Beefeater who made us all laugh. I appreciated the ability to skip the line and the 7 day window of this ticket. I would recommend the Tour and getting the tickets ahead of time.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Caius P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tower of London is absolutely impressive. Well kept and preserved. We want to go back!

Doing what: Best of Royal London Walking Tour Including the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing tour with more than an adequate time at each stop. The Tower of London was incredible and since we were among the first groups there were no crowds to deal with. Access to the Crown Jewels was almost private. We enjoyed the cruise on the Thames even in the rain. St. Paul's Cathedral was beautiful. Only advice to give is to book on an even number day if going after September 1 as there is no changing of the guards on odd days. Easy hotel pick up and drop off on the South Bank gave us time to explore that area and have dinner before going back to the hotel.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Katherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Tower of London Tour was excellent. We used the audio guides and listened to some of the guides on site. Very interesting! I thought I had booked the London Eye and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise. Was very happy I had not once we toured the Tower of London. A must if you are in London!

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

grc5555

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great!! The boat trip was a good way to get an up close look at the bridges as well as some of the more interesting sites. The Tower of London tour was the best. Our guide was excellent. He made history sound like fun and engaged the group all the way through.

Doing what: Tower of London and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise

Allan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful guide made a rainy day enjoyable..High tea was wonderfulEarly visit to the Tower of London was an excellent move..

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Del Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Entry to the Tower of London was so easy. Presented our voucher to the Group Ticket ticket office and we went straight in. The tour was excellent. Need about 4 hours here. It was beneficial to us to have prepaid on line.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

had a wonderful time at the palaces
Hampton court is a full day, lots of fun for kids with many activities for them

Tower of London and Kensington is a days tour also

Doing what: Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Didn't have to queue with this pass and all venues were terrific.
Personal favourite was the Tower of London. Join a tour with a Beefeater and you'll learn some history and have a laugh at the same time.
Easy to spend half a day or more in the Tower and to roam around Kensington and Hampton Court Palaces made us feel like we were allowed into a very special and private part of England.

Doing what: Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Leah USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best way to see London. It was a bit challenge to find the bus terminal, but once one figures out how the coach terminal works, then the rest is easy. Our tour guide and bus driver were great and we really enjoyed the Tower of London and Steve-the Beefeater that escorted us around.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of the highlights of my recent trip to London! Our guide for the day was Debbie- she is an outstanding guide! The tour was very well organized, Debbie was very friendly, personable, and had great background knowledge having grown up in London. I loved visiting the Tower of London prior to the opening! It was so cool to watch the Opening Ceremonies with the Yeoman Warders and the Royal Guards in addition, it was calm and peaceful there so early in the morning. I am grateful that I wore comfortable walking shoes- the walk to St. Paul's was long, but Debbie made it interesting! The earphones were a great feature on this tour it was very easy to listen to Debbie all along the way. Our behind the scenes tour at St. Paul's was outstanding! We had a rare tour of the library, we were able to see Wren's Great Model which was amazing!, and we saw many other parts of St. Paul's which I hadn't seen on previous visits. Overall, this was an excellent tour and Debbie is one of the best guides I've ever had the pleasure of touring with! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour and I'd definitely book a trip with Viator again!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message