The Tower of London is old, very old. The central White Tower was built by William the Conqueror after his invasion of England in 1066. Since 1485, the iconic red and black-uniformed Beefeaters have been guarding the Tower. Also crucial to security ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 373 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Getting your passes before you arrive at the palaces saves you time and hassle. Tip: go to the Tower of London early in the day before the crowds come.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Were only able to visit two of the three castles - just not enough time on our calendar. Hampton Court was beautiful and quite interesting. Tower of London was very intriguing. Take a full three days and visit each castle for an entire day. This pass makes it possible.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Tower of London is a must when visiting London, however, purchasing tickets early through Viator is not worth the extra fee. We still had to wait on line to exchange our voucher, then wait on line to enter. The tour description indicates a Beefeater tour which we assumed would be 25-30 people. Wrong, it was open to everyone and there must have been more than 80 on this tour. We could no hear a thing the Beefeater was saying and wwent off on our own. Go to the Tower of London, but go early and buy your own tickets!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Purchased only tickets and all worked smoothly. We did not have to wait in line to purchase tickets at the Tower of London and were able to get in right away. Suggestion to get there as early as possible in the morning.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had booked this incorrectly and Viator came through with no hassles and helped me easily and quickly. I am grateful to have booked it through Viator and from now on will continue to book future tours with Viator. So easy and prices are very reasonable. Just book early and correctly! The tour itself was great - glad we could take our time and not be in a rush. Easy to book and easier to get in to the Palaces and Tower of London.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was well worth the cost! We were able to see Hampton Court and the Tower of London. THe card was great in getting us past all the long lines. The Queens Jewels in the Jewel Tower were a sight not to be missed. Hampton Court was beautiful as well and the gardens were gorgeous.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of London which included all the main sights and visits to St Pauls and The Tower of London no queuing which was fantastic!!. The traffic was awful however our driver Joanne did an amazing job and our guide David kept us entertained throughout. I would like to say a special thank you to David - a charming, knowledgeable, entertaining, enthusiastic, thoughtful and amusing guide. I wish I had half his energy!!!

Lindsay, Alan and Ewan from Scotland

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

it was a super experience....booking in advance with Viator permitted us to avoid the very long lines and join a tour of the Tower with a Beefeater guide much sooner. Otherwise, we would have spent a couple of hours more than was necessary to tour the Tower of London...well worth it.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was absolutely the best tour I have ever been on, and it was all due to my excellent tour guide, Leslie. She has a passion for architecture and the history of London, and she shared so much knowledge while keeping everyone engaged and entertained. Be advised that this is a walking tour, so only the able bodied need show up.

For the price of admission, we got to be the first people who entered the Tower of London, and we were allowed to witness the ceremony of the keys before the Tower was open to the general public. We saw the crown jewels without having to wait in the long lines as well.

Then we walked to St. Paul's Cathedral, where we got a behind the scenes look at the library, lofts, and other rooms not open to the general public. From the crypts all the way to the very top of the dome, I was allowed to explore on my own for a bit between guided tours.

I can't say enough about this tour. If you do nothing else in London, go do this tour! And hope that you get Leslie from the local tour company. She was the best tour guide I've ever had.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed the Tower of London, didn't do the beefeater tour, but did do the audio tour

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy entrance to the Tower of London and it was nice to not have a set time that we had to be there which allowed us to plan our day and not wait in the long lines.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great tour loved the Tower of London and the Crown Jewels, St Pauls Cathedral tour. Excellent Easy pick and overall a really enjoyable day Thanks

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ed
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our wonderful tour guide took us to the Tower of London, on the water taxi, to the changing of the guard at Buckingham, and to a fabulous afternoon champagne and tea with awesome baked goods in sight of Big Ben.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was most interested in Hampton Court, and it did not disappoint! This pass was so easy to get, just show your voucher at the first one you go to, and away you go through the line. The Tower of London Yeoman Warders are great, so I would make sure to check into their tour times free and join in on one. We just happened to arrive as one was starting, so joined in just into the gate.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tower of London is a day's worth of fun and learning by itself! Seeing the Tower, dungeons, Fusiliers, the Crown Jewels, and everything else is spectacular. The Beefeater tour was exceptional. They are real military men in full costume and character who know so much history and present it in an entertaining day. We are so glad that we made this tour part of the trip.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Tower of London. The Beefeater Tour was fantastic, and the history, plus the Crown Jewels fascinating.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thought the Tower of London was awesome! I really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! An absolute highlight of my trip to London and well worth the money. Deborah was a great guide and her knowledge of both the Tower of London and St. Paul's Cathedral just scratched the surface of her greater knowledge of London and her history. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St Paul's Cathedral

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a very nice tour although pretty crowded. The Tower of London is an incredible place with extremely interesting history. Would love if they would allow photos to be taken of the crown jewels but being able to see them was great. Also, the Beefeater Tours are usually huge so we ended up touring on our own and had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We used the Tower of London part of this tour. It was very good. The Beefeater that guided us was entertaining, knowledgeable and friendly. We will use the rest of the pass next year.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We presented the Viator voucher at the Tower of London with no problems. The Tower itself is fantastic.

Doing what: Best Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton Court and Tower of London

Grace A
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was my first trip to London and this tour happily covered all the 'required' sites that everyone wants to see! Our tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. He was prompt with keeping us on schedule but at no point did we feel rushed. I would say we were a group of about 25-ish, lots of families and couples and I was part of the few single crowd but at no point did I feel alone. All together we saw Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace w/the changing of the guard and being in the bus gave all the view of the great London streets and sites. It was truly a pleasurable experience and the best way to see it all in one day. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tower of London is amazing. Beefeater tour was informative and fun to hear some stories mixed in with history. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Steve and Len did a great job. The information shared and places visited made for a perfect day. Just a little more time at the Tower of London was needed but that just makes us want to go back!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message