London ATTRACTIONS See all

Trafalgar Square

Dating from the 1820s and named after Admiral Nelson's last great victory, Trafalgar Square is a hub of London life. With the National Gallery on one side, beautiful church St Martin in the Fields just across the road and the famous Nelson's Column ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were helped by a fantastic day of weather which allowed us to use to open top to the fullest extent. The ticket pick up at Trafalgar was easy and friendly. The the divers and tour guides were great and we even had an inspector board the bus who got on with his job efficiently. The bus route was superb and we had river trip tickets thrown in which we did not expect, but it was excellent. Overall a great value and well worth while experience.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent bike tour around the London Parks to Trafalgar Square with a lunch stop beside the square. Went very well. Thanks

Doing what: London Royal Parks Bike Tour including Hyde Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I booked this tour for my teenage daughter and her friend. They loved it! It was convenient as it began at Victoria Coach station, and finished at Trafalgar Square. Both of which are easily access by public transport. The guide was very informative and held their interest for the entire time. The Sherlock Holmes pub was a great place to finish the tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I traveled to London for the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who. One of the absolute highlights of the trip was the Doctor Who Tour. Richard Liddle, who may very well be the best tour guide in the city, met us at the front door of our hotel, precisely on time, with his comfortable and spacious black taxi. Off we were then, first to a location that stands in for 10 Downing Street on many films and TV shows, including Doctor Who. A film crew was there this day, although they wouldn't disclose the name of the movie (maybe the next Bond film). Next stop was Trafalgar Square, then on to the Victoria Embankment, where Rose and the Doctor found the Nestene transmitter, aka the London Eye. We walked around Parliament Square and then drove to the last remaining police box in London at Earl's Court. I thought there would be a crowd here, since it was the actual 50th anniversary, but there were only a pair of fellow nerds from Eastern Europe. We took pictures of each other. Next stop was Kensington Gardens and the Albert Memorial, then on to the BBC. After going through security, we had an opportunity to have a photo op with the official Tardis. Since Mr. Liddle knew I was also a Sherlock Holmes fan, he took us to Wimpole Street, where Conan Doyle lived and wrote in 1891.

This was a fantastic experience, thanks to the incredible London knowledge, and good humor, of our very experienced tour guide.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Outstanding day spent touring London, including the boat ride and ending with a ride on the London Eye in the late afternoon. It was a Sunday so couldn't go into Westminster Abbey, but we saw so many interesting places -- visiting the Tower of London and seeing the crown jewels, walking in front of Buckingham Palace and down the Mall, and driving through Trafalgar Square, seeing Big Ben Tower and the Houses of Parliament, etc., that we certainly didn't feel we missed out on much. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My sister and I took this tour and we both LOVED it! We rode through Kensington and Hyde parks, and past Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Westminster Abbey, and The Houses of Parliament. A lot of ground is covered, but it is flat ride, and 90% off the roads. We saw so much more than we expected. The guide was very knowledgable, and fun. It was a great way to wind down our fabulous time in London.

Doing what: London Royal Parks Bike Tour including Hyde Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a full day of touring, starting at 7, and going until the late afternoon. Were picked up at our hotel, going to the central meeting point for our tour. We saw the band come out of their area, and walked near them to the changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace, so saw more than just the "changing". That was neat! We toured St Pauls, even the catacombs, saw Nelsons Tomb. We then went to Trafalgar Square, and had lunch on our own at an Italian restaurant. We then went to the Tower, and I walked up to the top of the tower. Next, we then took a river boat ride back to the Westminster Pier. Was a very informative tour, very tiring, but well worth the money.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour is perfect to get to feel the city, see some very interesting things and have a good start for your London days.
We stayed in London 4 days, and we thought it would be nice if we started with a tour to understand what's what and to have a general idea the following days. The tour is extensive, we reached all the points indicated, and we felt that we got what we paid for.
We had complimentary pickup from the hotel (it's one hour BEFORE the tour's starting hour, and you are taken to Victoria station where you board another bus with your guide for the day).
Everything went smooth, even though we knew it was going to be in a rush with so many things to see in a few hours.
DO NOT EAT AT THE TRAFALGAR SQUARE PUB, it's a dump, the food is horrible (fish and chips especially had a very, very fishy taste - disgusting, really) and the toilet stinks ! It's not mandatory to eat there, so if you think you can manage to eat somewhere else, you can (and I STRONGLY advise you to) do it. Plenty of options nearby, even a McDonalds if that is ok with you.
If you want it all in one day, to have free independent wandering the next days, this is it !

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This trip was fabulous! Our guide was very knowledgeable about Oxford and the Cotswolds. Highly recommend this trip if you want to actually stop in the Cotswolds. Lovely villages and beautiful countryside. Drop off was at our hotel in Trafalgar Square. Overall, a great trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The only problem we got was to find the starting point at Trafalgar Square. You should indicate an address to go in front of instead of a vague indication ("North side of the square", etc.). For the rest, the trip was grreat !

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

Pattos
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wow what a day! We only had 2 days in London and decided to book this tour to ensure we did see the 'big items'. Worth every penny. Our guide, Maryanne, was fantastic. So enthuastic. Yes it's a long day but it flies past. We didn't bother with the pub lunch and instead went to St Martins in the Field (you spot right near Trafalgar Sq and this church is on the corner, ask the guide for directions) and so glad we did. Excellent food and good value. Maryanne also managed to get us a great spot to view the Changing of the Guard. We chose the London Eye to end the day and there was quite a wait to get on (about an hour) but definitely worth the wait. If you don't have much time in London this is a very efficient and well spent way to see as much as possible.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was a fantastic way to start our trip in London. As soon as we checked into the Trafalgar Hilton we went one block away to the Visitor Center and we able to get right on the yellow tour bus. We decided to just ride the entire tour and then the nest day we were able to take advantage of the wonderful boat ride on the Thames River. Went to Greenwich and returned at the Tower of London stop. The tour guides were very knowledgeable, entertaining and courteous. A great introduction to London.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a great tour and we saw a lot in a day. Most of the morning was spent in the bus seeing some of the sights like Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Whitehall, Downing Street, Trafalgar Square, Prince Albert's memorial and the Victoria and Albert museum, Harrods and more. Then we went to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guard. Our expert guide Richard told us where to stand for the best view and great pictures. After lunch it was on to St Paul's Cathedral. Amazing! The wisteria was in bloom along one wall on our way in. The stained glass, the ceilings, the dome, the crypt - all fascinating. It is a Must See. Our next stop was the Tower of London with it's gory history, the ravens and their story and of course the crown jewels. Our boat cruise on the Thames ended the day with great views of Big Ben and the London Eye.

Doing what: London in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

excellent guide and great day spent seeing the sites in London. Everything as advertised. We ate lunch on our own and were glad we did as others on the tour said the lunch was just so-so. We grabbed sanwiches and sat in Trafalgar square and met up with the group at an appointed time

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Margaret D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent way to gain overview of several sights in limited time. Joined bus at Marble Arch & travelled to The Tower where we proceeded back to Westminster Bridge on the Thames. After going on the London Eye rejoined the Hop on Hop-off bus to Trafalgar Square & St Paul's. So even with jet lag after a 23 hour flight from Australia we had a wonderful day.

Doing what: The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message