London ATTRACTIONS See all

Warwick Castle

One of England's historic medieval castles, Warwick Castle was originally built by William the Conqueror and has seen the likes of Henry of Anjou and the 16th Earl of Warwick, Richard Neville. Protected from any architectural changes as a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved this tour. Warwick castle was really interesting place - we haven't heard about it before so there was much to learn. Wish we had more time in Oxford...

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Mona Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this tour at the end of December. Beware: this time of year, these areas are rainy and cold. Bundle up and bring an umbrella! The tour itself was great. Our tour operator was very informative and even gave some history of the towns along the way. Oxford University is made up of more than 30 different colleges dispersed throughout the medieval town of Oxford. You will be passing through the Cotswolds, which is composed of several towns. Stratford-on-Avon is beautiful town. Make your way to the river where you'll find a statue of Shakespeare. Even though Warwick Castle is run by Madame Tussauds, it is very tastefully done. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Ahmad Fuad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour. Warwick castle is magnificent. Most of the items exhibit in the Grand Hall are genuine. There are two trebuchets placed outside the castle make you wonder how they were used during medieval times. A trip to Oxford passing by Cotswolds town is an unforgettable journey. The picturesque landscape is very beautiful. A visit to world renowned Oxford University complete the tour. A special thank to the guide, Ms. Monica, a Brazilian with deep knowledge in English history. Very professional.

Doing what: Warwick Castle, Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Custom Day Trip

AI S Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I made the booking just a day before the tour via Viator's app - which was a breeze! Our tour guide Monica was a gem! She spoke in English and Portuguese, with much wit and charm! She gave us a crash course on English history en route, which I find very interesting. First stop was Warwick Castle - we were given roughly 1.5 hours there. My partner and I sneaked off to its garden cafe instead, only returning to the castle proper about half an hour to meeting time. Then we went on to Stratford-on-Avon, spending another hour or so discovering Shakespeare's birthplace. Try to grab a bite at the town square, as stops were limited in frequency and duration. A drive through the Cotswolds took us to Oxford - Monica's knowledge about this university city made me wonder if she graduated from it! Lots of walking, so wear comfortable shoes! I know this tour was a sampler tour, and one mustn't expect too much from it due to time constraints. But having said that, a quick stop at the picturesque Cotswolds would've been marvelous. I had taken a trip to the Cotswolds in summer back in year 2000, so I know the area was worth at least half an hour for pics. But overall, this was a very enjoyable trip, and highly recommended for those who don't have the luxury of time and access to own transportation. Just sit back, relax and take in the scenery!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Diane K United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a lovely day touring. Our guide, Anthony was excellent. He provided commentary on the bus, ansered questioned then took us through Warwick Castle and on a walk around Oxford. Enjoyed driving through the Cotswolds.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

harithlc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best tour guide ever!! Rodney was extremely knowledgeable, very nice and quite funny. His droll humor kept us entertained throughout the otherwise tiring journey. The tour itself was wonderful and cost effective too. We felt like we could have used a little bit more time in Oxford but we understand the need for a tight schedule when covering all four places. Warwick castle was the highlight of our trip but the ride through Cotswolds was amazing as well. One of the best tours we've ever been on ! All the best to Rodney from Sri Lanka !! : :

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was excellent! Warwick Castle was a big surprise - much more than we expected and could have stayed all day.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

leslie a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

well-guided tour. lots of time in each stop. the drive thru the cotswolds was fast. it would have been nice to spend a few minutes in one of the villages. warwick castle was especially interesting.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Saurabh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trip was very good. Our tour coach was a knowledgeable person as well as very funny. Tea at Warwick castle was a cherry on top. However, timing to roam around in Oxford was very limited. Apart from it, I was also expecting to see some of the locations of Harry Potter movie scenes in this tour at Oxford but failed due to time shortage and non-inclusion of those colleges in this tour. Still, I would highly recommend this tour for 1st timer in UK.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

lizm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The unexpected highlight of this tour was Warwick Castle!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Actnj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Monica was upbeat and personal. Enjoyed her walking tour of Oxford. Wish there had been more time in Stratford Upon Avon. Warwick Castle was wonderful. Trip well worth it.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Roberto L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice tour, despite the rain. Oxford and Warwick castle are fantastic!

Doing what: Warwick Castle, Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Custom Day Trip

sandra a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is one tour you just don't want to miss. It was great and our guide was fantastic. Loved every part of the tour and we had a wonderful lunch in Stratford-on -Avon. Warwick Castle was a hundred times better than Windsor and a lot of fun. Great photo opportunities here.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Rodney M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an EXCELLENT tour from start to finish! Complimentary pick up to Victoria Bus Station was very good and saved us the hassle of leaving our accomodation extra early to get to bus depot! Everywhere we went was brilliant! Our tour guide, Monica, was fabulous and very attentive to our needs and was very personable and approachable! Oxford was beautiful, the Cotswalds gorgeous, Stratford will definitely be on our re- visit list and Warwick Castle terrific! A "taster" for all districts visited and extremely well organised! Thank you Monica and Andreas ( our driver) for the highlight tour of our holiday! Would totally recommend !

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Shelley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Oxford walking tour was informative.
Stratford on Avon was picturesque. Tour was nice.
Warwick Castle was a great adventure (just ignore the schmaltzy stuff outside the grounds.)
The Cotswolds are really just drive-by. But the Tour Guide on the bus was great.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Ranjana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour ! Oxford was charming -- to walk the hallowed grounds where scientists such as Sir Isaac Newton, literary giants such as J.R.R.Tolkien, C.S.Lewis and countless other scholars and Nobel Laureates walked was a surreal experience. The Bodleian Library where scenes from the Harry Potter movie were shot was unique and a must-see. The town of Oxford was beautiful with its lovely flowers and quaint shops. The Cotswolds was spectacular -- the cottages had thatched roofs that were hundreds of years old yet beautifully preserved. The homes had immaculately manicured gardens and the village pubs were simply breathtaking with their unique architecture and colorful flower baskets. Stratford-on-Avon was gorgeous -- Shakespeare's home is beautifully preserved and the highlight of the tour. The souvenir shop there had a beautiful selection of unique Shakespearean gifts with all proceeds benefitting the Shakespearean Society. The village of Stratford-on-Avon was so picturesque -- pretty flowers and quaint shops everywhere that would make you want to browse but time was a constraint as we had much to cover. Warwick Castle, built in the 11th century, is beautifully preserved. The rooms have fascinating, antique furniture and the paintings on the walls are masterpieces. The palace grounds are beautiful with majestic peacocks strutting about ! Madame Tussaud's exhibitions were very informative and transported us to a bygone era. I highly recommend this tour !

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Sherri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour!! Highly recommend. Monica, our guide, was fantastic and thorough. The cities and villages were amazing and Warwick Castle is my favorite castle in England!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a very full day of touring, but a great way to cover these iconic locations. Our tour guide was cleverly informative, weaving facts into humorous scenarios and human interest stories. He used travel time to share this information, but was understanding of those who suffered jet lag and needed to rest. The bus was comfortable; the driver made good time, safely. Fortunately, everyone in our group returned to the bus on time, so we stayed on schedule. I recommend taking a lunch if you want to see everything in Stratford, as that has the tightest time constraint if you try to work in the birthplace, school, church and a sit-down lunch. On the way back, our guide very considerately asked everyone where they were staying, and arranged to have a few drop-off points as we went through the city so we did not all have to go back to Victoria Station. Last but maybe most important was our guide's handling of a traumatic event. One of the tourists left her purse (with phone, credit cards, etc.) in the bathroom at Warwick Castle. She realized it before we left and went back, but it was already gone. Our guide went with her to check Lost and Found, and left the agency's contact information, reassuring her that he was almost certain it would be found. Also, he'd contacted his friend who would lead the tour to Warwick the next day, and arranged to have him check again. As luck would have it, I saw this same guide leading another tour at Stonehenge the next day, and was able to ask about the purse. It had indeed been turned in, and his friend would take it back to the Victoria Station office that evening for her to pick up. A happy ending, due in large part to the compassionate action of our guide.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My friends and I had such a blast! The bus ride was comfortable and our tour guide (Rodney) was very entertaining and informative. The only thing I would say is that I wished that we had more time in Stratford/Oxford and less at Warwick Castle. Other then that, it was a very enjoyable day and would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Margaret P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent all day tour .. loved Warwick Castle; thought the Madame Tuassad's wax figures brought a certain "reality" to life in the heyday of the castle; Stratford-on'Avon was a delightful English village - wish we had had more time there; Oxford University and the city were a wonderful history lesson. Monica, our tour guide, was fabulous and may the day very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Susan A South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really loved this full day tour and would highly recommend it.
After a very prompt pick up from The Ritz by an amazing guide, Phil...he was fantastic... for the short trip to Victoria Station we joined the coach and our wonderful guide for the day, Richard Cunliffe.
An hours drive in real comfort in a luxury coach and with great information along the way from Richard ,took us to Oxford where we enjoyed a fabulous walking tour, and then time on our own to shop and meander. Through the picturesque Cotswolds we then drove, past Blenheim Palace, arriving at Stratford upon Avon where we did a tour of Shakespeares Birth house and then had further time to explore and shop.Our final stop was at Warwick Castle, an enjoyable 90 minutes spent exploring and seeing the Madame Tussauds models

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Haya M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were lucky; it was a beautiful day. The tour started on time and the guide was very knowledgeable; she kept speaking to us throughout the tour to let us know the places we were passing through as well as showing us around so we didnt miss anything.
Stratford on Avon and Oxford were both lovely and Warwick castle was great fun! Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a stirring speech by Winston Churchill while we were driving to Warwick Castle. We would have liked to spend more time at Oxford, but would definitely recommend this tour. It was nice to be out of London and able to see some of the English countryside.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Karan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide. She was knowledgable and very funny. Oxford was nice. Warwick castle is small and fun to explore.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We left Victoria Coach Station for Warwick Castle. This castle was bought by Madamn Tussaud Group and has costumed period actors and many old antiques, knights armor, and paintings of lords / kings of England. There were many medieval activities, but only 80 minutes to enjoy it. Next stop was Shakespeare's birth home in Stratford-on-Avon. Decent history on author and time for lunch. We then drove through Cotswold area enroute to Oxford. Our tour guide (Mel) was able to give us a detailed tour of the multiple campuses including many comments on architecture and history. The key to this tour was the quality of the guide. He has a history degree and 20 years as a guide. On the outbound trip, he gave significant information on English history as it relates to where we were visiting. That made the trip.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message