• USD ($)
  • English
Afternoon tea is considered to be a tradition in England and one that both locals and visitors take great pleasure in taking – although it is now seen as more of a treat to be taken in a hotel or tea shop than part of everyday life. Afternoon tea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

very interesting ,to see and hear the history of london s older parts,downside was river trip could not hear commentory of tour guide due to crying ,screaming children,it felt like a creche!not your fault,afternoon tea was delicious,lovely surroundings and service was excellent ,great value for money

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It surpassed our expectations and we truly enjoyed the tour with afternoon tea. Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It surpassed our expectations and we truly enjoyed the tour with afternoon tea. Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Nice introduction to Afternoon tea in England.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We all enjoyed our tour T he guide was really informative and you could see that he really enjoyed taking the tour. The afternoon tea at harrods was fantastic and a great way to end the day.We found this tour great value for money and would recommend it to everyone. It was much cheaper to to book it through viator before we left for london.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent finish to a day out with all the family. Lovely tea in a nice relaxing atmosphere being looked after by very pleasant but efficient staff.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent experience for the first timer with Afternoon Tea. The staff was so kind, willing to answer questions, and guide us in the procedure. Just excellent food, very tasty and filling...all you can eat on the little cakes. Then, they offered us dessert! We highly recommend this tour. It was so easy to arrange. The only thing I would suggest is that Viator put on the voucher which restaurant to go to. We had to ask on the first floor...there are restaurants on each floor...and the staff had to call to verify.

Highly recommended tour. Will do it again when in London!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Fortnum and Mason

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Was awesome. scones and deserts were highlight as was service

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Fortnum and Mason

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The audio tour was good. The ipods worked well and it was informative. However, for the price the tea wasn't that good. I do realize that the money essentially went for upkeep of the cathedral but still...if you're looking for a good tea, just purchase the audio tour and book your tea at Grosvenor house.

Doing what: St Paul's Cathedral Entrance Ticket with Traditional Afternoon Tea

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

The Grosvenor House Hotel is supposed to be (is) one of the best hotels in London. Afternoon tea is supposed to be somewhere you can sit quietly have a nice conversation and relax.

We arrived and were seated by the window looking out onto Park Lane and everything was fine. We were served our tea - the service (all of it) was excellent as was the "Tea Spread" and everything was great.

Then all of a sudden in walked this young man who sat with two young ladies and he basically talked to them in such a loud voice that it was impossible to have a conversation ourselves - it was a third world experience where this chap didn't know how to behave, one that I am very used to but not in London at a top hotel having been charged £120 for the privilege of being talked over.
We asked to move, and we were, however the guy was so excitable or just plain loud that we ate and left spending just under an hour there because we could still hear him clearly and just got fed up.
It was so unfortunate as he ruined the whole atmosphere. The hotel didn't ask him to talk quietly, so we just upped and left.
I would recommend a different location for afternoon tea - I would imagine that what happened in terms of the volume of speech is normal at this hotel which is why the hotel didn't do anything about it.
The tea, food, piano playing, service, room etc was great, but the fact that this chap seemingly had no concern for others or just didn't realise that his entire conversation was being heard by what is a large room coupled with the Hotels ambivalence spoiled the experience completely. The hotel should have requested politely to the young man that he should talk more quietly - we were not in Starbucks or the Red Lion pub, but they didn't and this is really what was wrong.

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a lovely tour although we did take some time waiting to leave...however when we departed the experience was amazing, the tour guide was lovely very friendly and patient. we did not get our champagne tea following the tour as the restaurant was closed but we went the following day and really enjoyed our time in the restaurant...amazing value for money and would do this again.

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The weather was real bad, but our guide was,awesome with interesting facts about the city
I enjoyed the afternoon tea at Harrods

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were very impressed with this experience. The library venue with sofas and great big lounge chairs around the table were beautiful The china, the service and the food were exquisite. Looking out the window onto Park Lane and Hyde Park, we were living on a monopoly board! Lots of food. Fantastic afternoon. I recommend it!

Doing what: London Afternoon Tea at Grosvenor House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this tour, we saw a little of everything. The best part was the Harrod's Tea...beautiful room, great service, just as I pictured it to be. Loved it!

Doing what: London Vintage Bus Tour with Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message