Home to one of England’s oldest and most renowned universities, Cambridge is a city steeped in history, from its grand architecture to its long list of notable alumni. With its maze of cobblestone shopping streets dotted with traditional pubs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, especially the day in north Wales. Kevin, our guide, was terrific. Our only comment was it was not long enough. We would have loved more time in Lincoln and Cambridge. The accommodation was terrific and while we were busy, we were never stressed. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: 4-Day England and North Wales Tour: Stratford-upon-Avon, Snowdonia and Cambridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had a wonderful time on the Heart of England Tour earlier in September (12th – 16th). Steve was an excellent tour guide and added so much to the trip. There were only a few of us on the journey and we received such personalized attention. Rabbies is to be commended for running their tours regardless of the number of people who sign up.
The tour began on Friday morning, departing from Victoria Coach Station, and we drove to Stratford upon Avon and then to the Ironbridge area on the River Severn, before driving the rest of the way to Shrewsbury where the tour spent two nights. The bed and breakfast where we were booked, The Trevellion House, was delightful. Sonia took excellent care of all of her guests, there was a cooked to order breakfast, and the single room that I stayed in had a very comfortable double bed and a spacious bathroom.
Saturday was spent in Wales. In the town of Conwy, we explored the ruins of Conwy Castle and did a tour of Plas Mawr, an Elizabethan house that was really amazing. In the afternoon we drove into the Snowden National Park and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and learned that the sheep outnumber people in Wales 10 to 1.
On Sunday morning we said goodbye to Shrewsbury and drove into the Peak District. Our first stop was at the spa town of Buxton, known as the Bath of the North. Then onto Chatsworth! The house and gardens were truly something to see, you could easily spend an entire day there. After driving to York, Steve dropped us off at our accommodations, and I had a great dinner at Jamie’s Italian restaurant.
I stayed at The Groves in York, which was a B and B style hotel. On Monday, I had a fun day seeing York Minster, the York Castle Museum, Clifford Tower, and walking around city, and had a nice late lunch at the most popular restaurant in the city, Rustique.
Tuesday was the last day of the tour, and we visited Cambridge for a few hours before returning to London. It was a great trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a wonderful trip and Lesley was a fantastic tour guide who managed to share a vast amount of information about higher education in Great Britain with such clarity that people of widely varying backgrounds were engaged and excited. We saw a great deal and it made me want to return and spend a day in Cambridge and several days in Oxford.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent guide, driver great. Cambridge and Oxford great places see, worth the time.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

There is a lot of travelling on this trip, but I enjoyed it regardless. The guide was knowledgeable and pointed out sites of interest, Cambridge was picturesque and definitely worth a look. After the guided walk through there was time for a quick look in one or two of the other colleges. Oxford was also lovely but was much more structured, so less free time. Well worth seeing, and brilliant if you have limited time.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was a very interesting trip, with a great tour guide who told us all sorts of interesting information. We had just about the right amount of time to explore both Cambridge and Oxford on our own a bit, as well as to get some souvenir shopping done. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

cambridge is so lovely oxford is so busy. long day but worth it

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good tour, but very rushed, especially in Cambridge. Could have used one extra hour of free time in each location, but glad we went on the tour.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good and informative trip , time was short to cover both Cambridge and Oxford in a day .
Vivek Gupta
Dubai

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was nice to visit the two universities but the amount of driving and time it takes to get to each site was too much! It takes nearly 1.5-2 hours to get to Cambridge, 1.5 hours between Cambridge and Oxford and then nearly 1.5 hours to come back to London. The campuses were lovely and the guide was excellent! If it were closer together, it would have been better!

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

... we appreciated the personal touch as we were the only two tourists on this particular excursion. Guide was friendly. Would have liked to have seen some other notable Pink Floyd sites including Britannia Row Studios, Roger Waters' or Syd Barrett's childhood homes. We did see David Gilmour's house in Cambridge where we had sufficient time to explore on our own, we stopped by Abbey Road, we saw Battersea Power Station, and even saw Chelsea Sound Technique, the recording studio for the first Pink Floyd single, Arnold Layne!

Doing what: Small-Group Pink Floyd and Pop Culture Tour: Cambridge and London

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cambridge a little disappointing, Oxford has much more to see. If interested in feeling the atmosphere of the most important colleges, don't go there in August as I did. You will spend at least 6 hours on the bus and less than 4 hours visiting the two towns. Worth doing only if you just want to have a very quick pick of Oxbridge and tell everyone you've been there.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and gave us a good introduction to both universities. We really looked forward to seeing Oxford and Cambridge but didn't anticipate the density of the crowds in both towns. Photography was almost impossible. We are glad we took the tour but would like to spend more time in each place and at a less crowded season, if there is such a thing.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The guide, Chrissie, is professional in sharing the information of each place. She provides good background and history of the 2 colleges.

However, there was not enough time provided for exploring Cambridge and lunch. We had little time to walk around Cambridge before grabbing lunch to eat on the coach.

We were encouraged to bring non-hot food to lunch on the coach, while the guide brought hot coffee onto the coach. Talk about double standard.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The bus rides to Cambridge and between Cambridge and Oxford were quite long. Both universities are beautiful, but we didn't get much time to explore them both on our own. The parts of the universities we did see were amazing, but we also had to squeeze in lunch on our own during the "free time" we had. I think one day for each university would be better to fully appreciate both places.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Judy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Well worth doing as a day tour but as we all know a day tour just gives an overview of a place so you don't get too long in either town to see much, other than what the guide shows you. Long drive between Oxford and Cambridge and our guide and the driver were talking loudly the whole way so it was really hard to have a rest. Overall though not a bad day and good value if you don't have time to stay overnight in either town. Departure from Victoria coach could have been more prompt and they changed the gate without informing anyone.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The coach was comfortable however we felt a bit rushed for the tours. We understand that the guide and driver did not have control over the excess traffic due to the Underground strike, however it made it feel that we spent more time on the coach than we did in either Oxford or Cambridge. I'm not sure what could have been done to adjust for this, but it did take away from the tour. Our guide seemed very knowledgeable and gave us quite a bit of interesting information.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Not what I was expecting. As a fan of Oxford literature and film settings, I was hoping to get a good tour that also included some discussions of literature such as C.S Lewis and Tolkien. Sadly, the tour guide didn't even know the name of "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe." He did know his history of Cambridge and Oxford, but unless you're into who was head of this school and when, then you will be bored.

More driving is done than being in the actual cities. That's understandable because of how far they are from each other, but 2 hours in Cambridge, an hour and a half in Oxford, and nearly six hours of driving isn't worth it. You can take a train to these places and have more time to explore.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Visiting Cambridge and Oxford was worth the price of admission. At the start in London, the tour guide on the Evan Evans bus would not accept the electronic voucher on my iPhone. She would only accept a paper voucher. At the end of the trip the guide and the driver got into a shouting match over the route the driver was taking. This was after she had been badgering him most of the day, so we left the bus early and used the underground to get back into central London.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

lo escribo en mi idioma para poder ser exacto en mis palabras y ser bien comprendido.
POR PRIMERA Y UNICA VEZ DESDE QUE CONTRATO CON VIATOR Y DE ESTO HACE MUCHOS AÑOS ES MI PRIMER NO 5/5 SINO 0/5 NO LE HECHO LA CULTA A LA COMPANIA PORQUE YA HICE OTRAS 2 EXCURSIONES MAS SIN INCONVENIENTES COMO SIEMPRE PERO EN ESTA LA GUIA NOS ABANDONO EN CAMBIRGE Y TUVE QUE VOLVER A LONDRES CON LOS NERVIOS Y A MI COSTO lL 32.......

For the first and only time since I have travelled with Viator (and this has been for many years), I did not give this tour 5 out of 5 but 0 out of 5. I don't put the blame on the company because I have already done 2 other tours without any problems. However, during this tour the guide abandoned us in Cambridge and I had to return to London at the expense of my nerves and at a cost of 32...

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message