Home to one of England’s oldest and most renowned universities, Cambridge is a city steeped in history, from its grand architecture to its long list of notable alumni. With its maze of cobblestone shopping streets dotted with traditional pubs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a wonderful trip and Lesley was a fantastic tour guide who managed to share a vast amount of information about higher education in Great Britain with such clarity that people of widely varying backgrounds were engaged and excited. We saw a great deal and it made me want to return and spend a day in Cambridge and several days in Oxford.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent guide, driver great. Cambridge and Oxford great places see, worth the time.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

There is a lot of travelling on this trip, but I enjoyed it regardless. The guide was knowledgeable and pointed out sites of interest, Cambridge was picturesque and definitely worth a look. After the guided walk through there was time for a quick look in one or two of the other colleges. Oxford was also lovely but was much more structured, so less free time. Well worth seeing, and brilliant if you have limited time.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was a very interesting trip, with a great tour guide who told us all sorts of interesting information. We had just about the right amount of time to explore both Cambridge and Oxford on our own a bit, as well as to get some souvenir shopping done. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

cambridge is so lovely oxford is so busy. long day but worth it

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good tour, but very rushed, especially in Cambridge. Could have used one extra hour of free time in each location, but glad we went on the tour.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good and informative trip , time was short to cover both Cambridge and Oxford in a day .
Vivek Gupta
Dubai

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was nice to visit the two universities but the amount of driving and time it takes to get to each site was too much! It takes nearly 1.5-2 hours to get to Cambridge, 1.5 hours between Cambridge and Oxford and then nearly 1.5 hours to come back to London. The campuses were lovely and the guide was excellent! If it were closer together, it would have been better!

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cambridge a little disappointing, Oxford has much more to see. If interested in feeling the atmosphere of the most important colleges, don't go there in August as I did. You will spend at least 6 hours on the bus and less than 4 hours visiting the two towns. Worth doing only if you just want to have a very quick pick of Oxbridge and tell everyone you've been there.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and gave us a good introduction to both universities. We really looked forward to seeing Oxford and Cambridge but didn't anticipate the density of the crowds in both towns. Photography was almost impossible. We are glad we took the tour but would like to spend more time in each place and at a less crowded season, if there is such a thing.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The guide, Chrissie, is professional in sharing the information of each place. She provides good background and history of the 2 colleges.

However, there was not enough time provided for exploring Cambridge and lunch. We had little time to walk around Cambridge before grabbing lunch to eat on the coach.

We were encouraged to bring non-hot food to lunch on the coach, while the guide brought hot coffee onto the coach. Talk about double standard.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The bus rides to Cambridge and between Cambridge and Oxford were quite long. Both universities are beautiful, but we didn't get much time to explore them both on our own. The parts of the universities we did see were amazing, but we also had to squeeze in lunch on our own during the "free time" we had. I think one day for each university would be better to fully appreciate both places.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Judy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Well worth doing as a day tour but as we all know a day tour just gives an overview of a place so you don't get too long in either town to see much, other than what the guide shows you. Long drive between Oxford and Cambridge and our guide and the driver were talking loudly the whole way so it was really hard to have a rest. Overall though not a bad day and good value if you don't have time to stay overnight in either town. Departure from Victoria coach could have been more prompt and they changed the gate without informing anyone.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Judy
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Well worth doing as a day tour but as we all know a day tour just gives an overview of a place so you don't get too long in either town to see much, other than what the guide shows you. Long drive between Oxford and Cambridge and our guide and the driver were talking loudly the whole way so so it was really hard to have a rest. Overall though not a bad day and good value if you don't have time to stay overnight in either town. Departure from Victoria coach could have been more prompt and they changed the gate without informing anyone.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The coach was comfortable however we felt a bit rushed for the tours. We understand that the guide and driver did not have control over the excess traffic due to the Underground strike, however it made it feel that we spent more time on the coach than we did in either Oxford or Cambridge. I'm not sure what could have been done to adjust for this, but it did take away from the tour. Our guide seemed very knowledgeable and gave us quite a bit of interesting information.

Doing what: Cambridge and Oxford Historic Colleges of Britain Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message