Immortalized in prose in Geoffrey Chaucer’s 14th century tome, The Canterbury Tales, the southeast England city of Canterbury was once one of the most important pilgrimage sites in medieval Europe. Today, the city remains an important center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Leeds Castle has an unique beauty all its own. Visiting it was one of the highlights of our visit to England. Our guided tour of the rooms was excellent, and we had some time to stroll the grounds and absorb some of the beauty of the castle's wonderful setting. Our visit to Dover beach and to the new Battle of Britain memorial on top of the cliffs was memorable. Canterbury Cathedral almost defies description. The Canterbury Choral Society was rehearsing Beethoven's Missa Solemnis while were there, and the music filled the vastness of the building. You could almost see the ghosts of the past 1400 years from Chaucer to Becket to Elizabeth I to Elizabeth II. Greenwich was an entirely different sort of experience but equally memorable in its own way. Huge crowds of Londoners were out on this Sunday afternoon enjoying and celebrating the glorious June weather. The cruise back up the Thames was a nice way to finish the day. It would, however, have been nicer to have had an open deck vessel rather then the closed deck ferry.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Francine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the day out of London. Despite the weather it was an interesting tour and I enjoyed seeing the famous White Cliffs of Dover. I wish I had been able to go to Dover Castle - perhaps another tour another time. However, Canterbury Cathedral was lovely (I preferred it to Leeds Castle) and I highly recommend paying for an audio guide rather than just wandering around on your own.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get to Hotel in London. Coach was right on time. Enjoyed our guide very much. Plenty of time in Canterbury. Leeds Castle was very interesting and we enjoyed the grounds, Falconry and maize.
Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Brilliant day out! Knowledgeable guide, Highly recommend seeing Leeds Castle if you get the chance. Plenty of time to wander around after the guided tour. Canterbury Cathedral and Canterbury were also very interesting. Had time for a wander in Canterbury as well. And then on to Greenwich, which was mostly closed, but our guide took us for a walk around the town and then gave us a guided tour on the boat up the Thames. I didn't realise that most places would be closed on the final leg of these day trips, but it was a great day out and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide was full of facts that brought English history to life. Since we were a small group she went beyond the normal expectations. We had plenty of time to view and roam in Canterbury and Leeds Castle. Also the bus ride back to our Heathrow hotel was smooth.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We are very pleased with the tour. From being picked up at the cruise port to being delivered to our hotel, both the guide and bus driver were helpful and courteous. Having the guide show us around in Canterbury and Leeds then give us time to explore on our own was perfect. We would highly recommend the tour and will book with Viator In the future.

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I highly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was great. It would have been nice to have more time at each destination but it was understandable knowing that we were trying to fit in so much on the intinerary. If you dont't have much time in England it's nice to have tours like this available to get a sampling of many places condensed in one day. Canterbury is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had been to Canterbury two times before but having the guide start us out gave me something new. Loved Leeds castle especially the gardens and black swans. What a nice way to come back to the hotel after the cruise!

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was wonderful! A highlight of our whole England trip. Leeds Castle private tour was most interesting and Canterbury was unexpectedly my favorite. Would like to return. Tour guide was most knowledegable and personable. Thanks!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We booked this tour from Dover when our cruise ship arrived in port. Coach was there to collect us as we came thru customs. Had a wonderful experience. Just loved Canterbury and if we go back to England would like to stay in this charming town. At Leeds Castle there was a jolsting event on and lots of families having a great time. The castle was set on beautiful parkland and very interesting. A great way to fill in your day before checking into our London accommodation in the arvo

Doing what: Dover Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Tour to London via Canterbury and Leeds Castle

Adeline P
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Leeds Castle was very lovely, went to see the White Cliffs of Canterbury and really nice lunch at Marina Dover, we enjoyed our day very much. Our tourguide Paul was simply the best!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful all day tour. Leeds Castle, beautiful! Dover, Canterbury, and Greenwich. Very informed guide. Recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great day trip. Canterbury Cathedral is spectacular and Leeds Castle in a beautiful setting. The private tour of the Castle was very informative. We had fabulous views of the white cliffs of Dover during our lunch stop and the boat cruise from Greenwich back to London was a great way to see London from the hub of the Thames. Our guide David was very informative.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a picture pefect day for this tour and we enjoyed every stop. Leeds was just beautiful, Canterbury was amazing, lunch at Dover was very good and we really enjoyed our ride on the Thames from Grenwich, especially the muffins!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The excursion itself was great. Just the right amount of time was spent at each location, and we really enjoyed the personal tours at Leeds Castle and Canterbury Cathedral. The stopoff point at the Dover cliffs rendered an incredible view and lots of photos. It's too bad, though, that the Greenwich meridian was closed off for us due to Olympic street closings, but we understood that it wasn't your fault. The only thing I would change is the place to eat lunch in Dover. The hotel food was too pricey, and the food was not that great; I had better fish and chips in a pub in London. The Thames River tour was a nice ending to the whole tour. Overall, we really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message