Immortalized in prose in Geoffrey Chaucer’s 14th century tome, The Canterbury Tales, the southeast England city of Canterbury was once one of the most important pilgrimage sites in medieval Europe. Today, the city remains an important center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Karen was our guide on this tour. Leeds Castle - Stunningly beautiful and surrounding gardens too.
Canterbury Cathedral and township - just lovely.
Greenwich- had time to look at the buildings, not the tower.
Thames river cruise- free and dropped off at Embankment Pier, not Victoria Station.
Highly Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Totally worth the money. I was planning to go to Leeds and hopefully squeeze in Canterbury on my own - a train from London to Leeds round trip ALONE would have cost me about 50 GBP. I got to see far more than I intended by booking this tour. The private tour of Leeds was exceptional and got us in ahead of a crazy crowd on a holiday weekend : Our guide was a local gent with 20 years experience- funny, laid back and wonderful expert on local history. Very enjoyable - The info re Greenwich was a surprise and great close to the trip. Would have loved to spend more time in Canterbury or Dover so will need to plan another trip to this region. DEFINITELY book this.

One thing which was challenging was the meeting point at Victoria Coach station. Many tours meet at the same place and guides are not really recognized until they call out for their group about 10 minutes before departure. Make sure you arrive early and look for someone in a yellow vest station clerk for questions if you have them. Highly recommend and will definitely book with Viator again .Thank you!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was professional, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all our stops. She also made sure everyone was accounted for and headed in the right direction when the tour ended after the sunset cruise. Leeds Castle was beautiful and very interesting, Canterbury Cathedral is lovely and it was nice to have some time on our own there for lunch and a bit of shopping. Wish we could have had more time in Greenwich to actually go in to one of the museums before they closed.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed quite a lot in one day and was very enjoyable. Leeds Castle is lovely with a fascinating history, there was a bonus visit to the Battle of Britain memorial near Dover and we had plenty of time to experience the splendor of Canterbury Cathedral. The walking tour of Greenwich was a quick introduction to this interesting part of London, but really seeing the area would require another day trip. The Thames River cruiser back was a nice ending, despite a rather cold wait for it to arrive. A most enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour, we had an excellent guide, Canterbury Cathedral was amazing, Leeds Catle is very worth to be seen, would definetely recommend the tour

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Leeds Castle has an unique beauty all its own. Visiting it was one of the highlights of our visit to England. Our guided tour of the rooms was excellent, and we had some time to stroll the grounds and absorb some of the beauty of the castle's wonderful setting. Our visit to Dover beach and to the new Battle of Britain memorial on top of the cliffs was memorable. Canterbury Cathedral almost defies description. The Canterbury Choral Society was rehearsing Beethoven's Missa Solemnis while were there, and the music filled the vastness of the building. You could almost see the ghosts of the past 1400 years from Chaucer to Becket to Elizabeth I to Elizabeth II. Greenwich was an entirely different sort of experience but equally memorable in its own way. Huge crowds of Londoners were out on this Sunday afternoon enjoying and celebrating the glorious June weather. The cruise back up the Thames was a nice way to finish the day. It would, however, have been nicer to have had an open deck vessel rather then the closed deck ferry.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Francine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the day out of London. Despite the weather it was an interesting tour and I enjoyed seeing the famous White Cliffs of Dover. I wish I had been able to go to Dover Castle - perhaps another tour another time. However, Canterbury Cathedral was lovely (I preferred it to Leeds Castle) and I highly recommend paying for an audio guide rather than just wandering around on your own.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Brilliant day out! Knowledgeable guide, Highly recommend seeing Leeds Castle if you get the chance. Plenty of time to wander around after the guided tour. Canterbury Cathedral and Canterbury were also very interesting. Had time for a wander in Canterbury as well. And then on to Greenwich, which was mostly closed, but our guide took us for a walk around the town and then gave us a guided tour on the boat up the Thames. I didn't realise that most places would be closed on the final leg of these day trips, but it was a great day out and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I highly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was great. It would have been nice to have more time at each destination but it was understandable knowing that we were trying to fit in so much on the intinerary. If you dont't have much time in England it's nice to have tours like this available to get a sampling of many places condensed in one day. Canterbury is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was wonderful! A highlight of our whole England trip. Leeds Castle private tour was most interesting and Canterbury was unexpectedly my favorite. Would like to return. Tour guide was most knowledegable and personable. Thanks!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Adeline P
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Leeds Castle was very lovely, went to see the White Cliffs of Canterbury and really nice lunch at Marina Dover, we enjoyed our day very much. Our tourguide Paul was simply the best!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful all day tour. Leeds Castle, beautiful! Dover, Canterbury, and Greenwich. Very informed guide. Recommend it!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great day trip. Canterbury Cathedral is spectacular and Leeds Castle in a beautiful setting. The private tour of the Castle was very informative. We had fabulous views of the white cliffs of Dover during our lunch stop and the boat cruise from Greenwich back to London was a great way to see London from the hub of the Thames. Our guide David was very informative.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a picture pefect day for this tour and we enjoyed every stop. Leeds was just beautiful, Canterbury was amazing, lunch at Dover was very good and we really enjoyed our ride on the Thames from Grenwich, especially the muffins!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The excursion itself was great. Just the right amount of time was spent at each location, and we really enjoyed the personal tours at Leeds Castle and Canterbury Cathedral. The stopoff point at the Dover cliffs rendered an incredible view and lots of photos. It's too bad, though, that the Greenwich meridian was closed off for us due to Olympic street closings, but we understood that it wasn't your fault. The only thing I would change is the place to eat lunch in Dover. The hotel food was too pricey, and the food was not that great; I had better fish and chips in a pub in London. The Thames River tour was a nice ending to the whole tour. Overall, we really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an excellent day trip from London! Our guide gave us a running history of London as we made our way out of town and was very knowledgable about every place we visited. We had plenty of time to explore Leeds Castle (the private tour was great!) and the grounds. Lunch in Dover near the port was tasty and we had plenty of time in Canterbury to visit the cathedral, shops, etc. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone wanting to get see a few sites away from the hustle and bustle of London!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Leeds castle was great and easy to understand why it is rated the prettiest castle in England.Lunch at Dover was included and enjoyed the "Spitfire" beer (extra cost but reasonable). Canterbury cathedral was maginificent. Everything was closed by the time we arrived in Greenwich so no value in going there other than to catch the boat back down the river to London. Mark the guide was excellent

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Tour guide Paul was top notch. So was the driver. Very friendly and knowledgeable. So glad I booked the tour. They both went out of their way to make sure we saw all the pertinent things, especially the Battle of Britain Memorial and Dover and the Canterbury Cathedral. Great, great tour. Definitely 5 stars!!!!!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Very nice trip, it was a long day with the Itinerary. Leeds castle and Canterbury was the best. The tour guide was awesome.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Another great tour. Again, the tour guide was fantastic. Very busy day seeing all the sights and sometimes wanted to stay a bit longer - especially in Canterbury. There they have a town to do shopping and such. Tour ran very smoothly and organized. Could not have done it without the professional guidance. Cheers!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Really enjoyed this tour! David was our tour guide and he knew everything about everything we saw, I learned so much from him and you can tell he really loved what he does. I didn't feel rushed at all on this tour except in Canterbury, but that was our fault for trying to squeeze in a nice dinner when we only had an hour to spare, so I recommend only getting a quick bite. All of the sites were absolutely gorgeous and very memorable. I highly recommend booking this tour!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Lucy S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Had a great time. Leeds Castle was so beautiful and really enjoyed walking around and exploring Canterbury.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was a great trip and I highly recommend it to those who have a limited amount of time to see just as much as possible of that part of England. Leeds Castle is beautiful even in the rain!. Our lunch was very nice. Canterbury Cathedral is a must for anyone interested in British history andor literature. The short visit to Greenwich was long enough, and the sunset cruise back to London was nice however, the scones turned into blueberry muffins somehow. All in all--good trip!!!

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

David was a great tour guide. Leeds Castle was interesting as was the White Cliffs of Dover. Canterbury was wonderful and I learned so much at Greenwich. Fantastic tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was a very nice tour. The private tour of Leeds Castle was great! Canterbury is a lovely town, but could have used more time in Greenwich. The tour guide was friendly and also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and Greenwich Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message