Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

For my wife, a devoted Downton Abbey fan, this tour was the highlight of her two week UK vacation. We took more photographs here than at any other location in the UK. For me, Oxford was a delightful town to visit because of the history of the town and the university. These two locations made for a fun and exciting day tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We purchased two tours from this company, one through their site and the other, the Abbey tour, through Viator. I would recommend buying this tour or any tour for that matter through Viator because they run promotions where you can get a discounts or sales up to 10 or more. This Abbey tour was excellent. I I don't watch the show, but it didn't matter. Andrew's presentations plus the sites we saw made this an excellent tour. It was a small turnout and everyone got along so well. We had air conditioner problems but Andrew and his driver worked very hard to correct this situation. Since we sat in the front, the ride was comfortable. One tip I have if you book this tour or any tour through this particular company is to try to get to the first pick up stop early to have the opportunity to sit in the front row. On our other tour, we had no choice but to sit in the back. It was so cramped and the air conditioning was not effective, making the ride uncomfortable. Worse, we had to wait what seemed like an eternity for passengers in front of us, some of whom were very deliberate, to leave the bus. When you are at a location for a limited time, slow exiting eats into your time. Also this bus does not have two seats on each side there is two seats on one side and single seats opposite. If you're with someone, getting stuck in those single seats would be frustrating. I must say this company has excellent guides Andrew and Greg and drivers. But buy this tour through Viator and take advantage of the discounts. And remember to get to the first pickup stop early to get the more spacious, quicker exiting front row seats.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Mike was a wonderful guide, very knowledgable and went the extra mile to make the trip easy and convenient for us.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip to Highclere Castle. Coach was on time although it was very crowded at Victoria Coach station. Arrive a bit early. I would recommend calling the London tour company's phone number listed on your voucher and obtain the Gate number for your tour at the Victoria Coach station prior to arrival - it made things much easier! Our guide, Paul, was funny and informative. A great day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic, fun, knowledgeable and considerate of all on board. A very well planned day with adequate time and instruction for everything from timing at sites to food to bathroom breaks. A very pleasant and enjoyable experience. A delightful day and would highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Andrew was charming, efficient, considerate, and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed the tour except for the driver running out of gas making us an hour late returning to London. Andrew handled the situation very professionally. I was actually very surprised that the tour manager/guide was so good. Thank you for a delightful day.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Would recommend this tour to my friends, especially Blenheim Palace.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this day trip excursion. Frank, our tour guide, was wonderful. The tour delivers on everything it promises and more. Whilst in Oxford for lunch, we caught a one hour live lecture on ancient Pompeii at the Ashmolean Museum. Experiencing Bampton and Highclere Castle were once in a lifetime events. Anyone who can make this tour happen for themselves should. It is a golden opportunity never to be missed.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed it and our tour guide was super.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tony was a great guide. Super knowledgable. He's extremely easy going and a great driver too. I'm very happy we decided to take this tour. It was worth every dime. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic Guide and Friend - MIKE
Fantastic group - Peter and Jane and 2 Beautiful Ladies
Fantastic Tour and Sight excursion
Fantastic Trip... Sums it all.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hi I had a great trip, lived our guide Andy he was funny and gave us a lot of info on the cast and the locals. The bus was very clean and the driver was very good, his name was Idris I believe. The castle was fantastic and now I can check this off my bucket list. The weather was not very good but hey that's life. I would strongly recommend this tour. Will book other tours with Viatour. Thanks again for a great time.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful. Loved every bit of this tour. Our Guide Richard was absolutely the best! What a wonderful day of sights. Thank-you for offering this wonderful trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations Tour of London by Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative, humorous guide - though interesting, the farm trip was less desirable

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a nice tour and we really enjoyed all the destinations. If I had on criticism it would be the lack of organization at the Victoria Station. People didn't seem to know where to go for their tours and it was hard to find an agent to help. it was almost impossible to hear announcements.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed it. Am re watching all the episodes of downton abbey. Guide very very informative. Knew his stuff and very enthusiastic

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Andrew was great. We'll prepared with a mix of Downtown insights and London sights. Well done.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations Tour of London by Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour with a great guide. Beautiful villages and an amazing palace.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide, enjoyed going back to a time of self-suffiency. We can't even handle having no electricity for a few hours!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hello. I already filled in the review. You did get it. Thanks.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We visited the village, church, and other locations used in the series, but not the Abbey itself. Enjoyed it tremendously. Well organized, good information, interesting tidbits. Lovely pub lunch. Classic English villages. Blenheim was interesting a very grand house.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour and tour director were awesome. The problem we had was we could not get a hold of anyone at Viator to confirm the meeting place. The London contacts sent an email to meet at one place which was more convenient , but Viator sent an email to meet at a different place which was not. I sent several emails to viator with no response, finally got one and it said to go where the voucher said, which was not what the London people said. We finally called and were told the same thing. We found out later we could have met elsewhere. It would have been nice if you all got your act together and communicated better.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was fun, knowledgable, and the whole day went smoothly, and was unrushed with time to just soak in the English countryside. It was an idel day, with clear blue skies, with warm sunshine and spring flowers blooming everywhere. Getting to see how they use the farm and the houses locations in the series was interesting. I hope they use the beautiful rooster and chickens in the new season. The grounds at Highclere were extra special with the flocks of sheep and Lots of baby lambs! This tour was relaxing and made it possible to really enjoy the time spent seeing the castle , the gorgeous grounds, and gardens. Thanks

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide and fun tour of the grounds and very informative history of Highclere too!! Not to be missed as the last season of Downton is in the making...Enjoy the ride !!!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message