• USD ($)
  • English
Britain’s favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Debbie was "brilliant" and bubbly and full of just the sort of details that made the trip come alive. She timed the tour very well so that we had enough time to tour each stop. Paul, our driver, was outstanding - even backing up a small street in a brief rainstorm so that we could see Churchhill's burial site. It was a wonderful day!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Gillian, was absolutely fantastic. I can't say enough good things about her. We loved being with her as much as the cool things we saw! Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chauffeur-Driven English Castles Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

loved the tour
everything I expected and more
tour guide was very informative

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour and the tour guide was fantastic

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a terrific tour guide who gave us a lot of inside perspective on the area, Highclere Castle and the nearby village where filming takes place. It helped that the weather was fantastic but the tour was definitely a pleasure and I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey’ Film Locations Tour by Private Chauffeur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour. Our driver was an excellent guide. We were very pleased to discover we got to go into the castle. The gardens there are beautiful. For lunch we had the opportunity to go to a pottery which was wonderful. There were more spectacular gardens there. Then we went on to Bampton. It was so nice to see the English countryside and quaint villages. Thanks for making our day a good one!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey’ Film Locations Tour by Private Chauffeur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour with an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide. I took my mom and my three kids and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day. There is no bathroom on the bus so plan ahead!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

David was our tour guide and he made the trip very fun! Oxford was beautfiul and since we are huge Downtown Abbey fans, seeing Highclere Castle in person was surreal! A great trip and good amount of time in both Oxford and Highclere.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour completed our vacation stay in England and it was the capstone event. We were so excited to get to Highclare Castle that we were almost looking past the morning in Oxford. David, our tour guide, gave us a gold star tour of Christ Church College and almost made us forget about Downton Abbey. What a wonderful place of learning and tradition that is observed to this day. Downton Abbey was everything we thought it would be with the added benefit of being blessed with great weather and the chance to explore the beautiful Castle gardens. The bus service and all the touring activity was of the highest standard offering a wonderful experience and lifetime memory.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This by far was the best tour we took while we were in London. This tour was the reason we came to London. My daughter and son came with me, we are all Downton fans.
Our guide Julian was very well informed on all the going on's at Highclere Castle. The only thing that would have improved our castle tour was for our guide to go in with us. She knew all the little details.
We had lunch at a pottery, which was great. On our driving time she gave us great details on the surrounding areas.
Once again thank you for our tour Juliian, you were great.
The Wallace Family USA 9-10-2013

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey’ Film Locations Tour by Private Chauffeur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a lovely time on the downtown abbey tour, I would highly recommend it. It was awesome such a beautiful place...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our visit to the castle was a great experience , it is like a dream to us that we got there,
The interior of the castle but mostly the gardens left us speachless
and we thank Viator for the tour. The tour leader was a very interesting-educated person
and so we learnt from him about English history and about the history
of several old buildings to all the way from London to the castle
as well as the history of the Highclere Castle and all its Earls.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We visited the town of Bampton and Highclere Castle as noted in the tour description. The ride to Highclere was filled with interesting conversation about the TV show, Downton Abbey, and was peppered with little unknown facts about the actors and behind the scene stories. Our guide shared photos she took during the tv filming and showed us how the TV staging had revised the town buildings a bit. We lunched at a lovely pottery studio where we sat among the flowers and trees. It was a perfect day that did not disappoint.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey’ Film Locations Tour by Private Chauffeur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The guide had excellent knowledge and was able to entertain with his stories and information.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide (David) was great and very informative. Visiting Oxford and Downton Abbey was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message