Britain's favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour with a very energetic and informed guide.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such an excellent tour! I would recommend it to everyone who has a short time in England. It is a lot to see in 2 days, but was extremely fun. There were 11 people on our mini van and our guide Tony Lawless was funny, fun and just all around great. I would do this trip again.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful tour. Our tour guide Greg was a total pro and made the experience one we'll remember for years to come. Thanks!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the whole day was wonderful for a fan of Downton Abbey - we saw all the sites in the shown in the show - both the village sites as well as the castle itself and heard gossip about the cast from the tour guide who was perfect in that role - she was so informative about the places,as well as the cast.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very personalized tour. Our guide was fantastic and full of great information. I would definitely encourage anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the tour, especially with our tour guide Tony.....he was the best. Disappointed that the Heirlcer castle was not available...but the tour covered other great sites...

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent. We really enjoyed the whole experience. It added great fun to our experience and travels.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful,great tour guide and just a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour! Our tour guide, Paul, the self proclaimed Hobbit was great. Full of information and very amusing. The bus driver, Martin(?) was also great. Highclere Castle was beautiful and not crowded. Enjoyed Oxford and the village of Brampton. Beautiful weather even.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the accommodations, food, guide, and bus.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What made this trip special was our tour guide Andrew. He was extremely knowledgeable not only about Downton Abbey but about London and the surrounding area. We had been on a 4 day musical tour of London prior to our tour to Highclere. The difference in tour guides was striking. We learned so much more from Andrew in a very short time. His knowledge of the Downton Abbey show was nothing short of amazing. He could cite season and episode for everything we saw on our trip and much more we didn't see.
My advice: if you do the tour, ask for Andrew as tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message