• USD ($)
  • English
Britain’s favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a wonderful tour. It appeared long on paper, but in reality the time went by too fast. Oxford was incredible! So much history. The Downton Abbey village tour made the show come to life. Of course, the Highclere Castle was the highlight of the day and it did not disappoint. It was absolutely spectacular! An amazing day all around. Paul, our guide, was great! Warm, funny, incredibly knowledgeable, and super helpful.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fantastic tour! I had thought the gentlemen traveling with us would be bored as they don't watch the tv show. Luckily, while there were some parts that referenced the show, the tour wasn't all about it. The Palace and its gardens was breathtaking. The fact that it was the boyhood home of Sir Winston Churchill appealed to us all. After we explored the Palace, we sat by the cafe and just enjoyed sitting by the garden in the sunshine. The trip to the countryside along with the very interesting stops made it a thoroughly enjoyable day. Our tour guide, Tony, was marvelous as was his colleague who helped us find just a wonderful place for lunch.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT TOUR TO OXFORD AND BASILDON PARK, AS WELL AS A LOVELY
OVERVIEW OF THE COTSWOLDS.. OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS EXCELLENT AS HAVE THE GUIDES
ON OUR OTHER TOURS. I WILL CERTAINLY RECOMMEND VIATOR TO
ANYONE WHO IS TRAVELLING OVERSEAS. THANKS FOR ORGANISING A GREAT DAY.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' Day Trip from London: Basildon Park, Bampton and Oxford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour an our guide, Tony, was the best.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend this tour for those with limited time in UK. By starting and finishing in London it gives a taste of big city, and during the tour you get to taste rural and village life too. Andrew was a tremendous guide. Very knowledgeable on the local sites, geography and history. His presentation was professional, while being relaxed and friendly. The small coach meant a close intimate experience for all, and everyone had a window seat.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide was knowledgeable, engaging, and passionate. The tour of the Cotswalds and lunch was fantastic.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day to the country with David and Malcom. David was very knowledgeable about Oxford University and shared his fascination with the town with us. We also loved the Downton Abbey sites and the visit to the Cotswolds. At the end of the tour, David and Malcom made sure that they dropped us off at convenient locations in London for each passenger. We had a great time and would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see the country in England.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' Day Trip from London: Basildon Park, Bampton and Oxford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had an amazing trip due to our guide Andrew. He had so much information
about all our stops and was a pleasure to interact with. Thankyou

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Andrew was fabulous - incredibly knowledgeable.Tour proceeded like clockwork. Very well organized.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our Downton Abbey tour was amazing. Tony our guide was perfect for the job, very informative. It was a lovely day

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

loved the tour to the small town they shot the extra DA scenes in and the tour guide...Frank I think.. was funny and very entertaining.. gave us a lot of info along the way...thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A wonderful day made even better by our great tour chauffeur, Gillian Harker. Gillian is an actress who was extremely well versed in Downton Abbey lore and local history. Having her tour the castle with us really made it an even better tour, as she shared more than the docents in each room are willing to talk about.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey’ Film Locations Tour by Private Chauffeur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Best tour ever! Our tour guide was Tony and he was awesome. His knowledge and wit were unsurpassed in both current and historical events. Tony was also very good with juggling those who were "ready to go" with those who needed a bit more time without holding the whole group back. It was really fun to see the area where Downton was filmed and Blenheim Palace was amazing both inside the palace and the surrounding gardens. The tour bus had great big windows, air conditioning and Tony used the microphone so a person could both see and hear what the guide was talking about. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very knowledgeable guide, learned a lot about the history and geography of the Cotswolds region. We were given enough time to wander around at our leisure and top marks to the driver as well. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message