Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour and tour director were awesome. The problem we had was we could not get a hold of anyone at Viator to confirm the meeting place. The London contacts sent an email to meet at one place which was more convenient , but Viator sent an email to meet at a different place which was not. I sent several emails to viator with no response, finally got one and it said to go where the voucher said, which was not what the London people said. We finally called and were told the same thing. We found out later we could have met elsewhere. It would have been nice if you all got your act together and communicated better.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was fun, knowledgable, and the whole day went smoothly, and was unrushed with time to just soak in the English countryside. It was an idel day, with clear blue skies, with warm sunshine and spring flowers blooming everywhere. Getting to see how they use the farm and the houses locations in the series was interesting. I hope they use the beautiful rooster and chickens in the new season. The grounds at Highclere were extra special with the flocks of sheep and Lots of baby lambs! This tour was relaxing and made it possible to really enjoy the time spent seeing the castle , the gorgeous grounds, and gardens. Thanks

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide and fun tour of the grounds and very informative history of Highclere too!! Not to be missed as the last season of Downton is in the making...Enjoy the ride !!!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was very interesting and informative. The guide was excellent!!! His command of history and historic events were remarkable. He explained what we were to do and he was efficient with the tour. I would love for him to be my guide on future tours.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. Our guide was fantastic. I can't remember his name, maybe Andrew? He did a great job. The weather was spectacular...couldn't have asked for a nicer day.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide Andrew was excellent full of facts and very approachable

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! Our guide Andrew was very knowledgable and friendly. In addition to sharing his extensive Downton Abbey knowledge about the London filming locations, he also shared historical and topical information about London. We highly recommend this tour and kudos to Andrew for a fabulous job!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations Tour of London by Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What can I say, loved this tour !

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such an excellent tour! I would recommend it to everyone who has a short time in England. It is a lot to see in 2 days, but was extremely fun. There were 11 people on our mini van and our guide Tony Lawless was funny, fun and just all around great. I would do this trip again.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful tour. Our tour guide Greg was a total pro and made the experience one we'll remember for years to come. Thanks!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very personalized tour. Our guide was fantastic and full of great information. I would definitely encourage anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the tour, especially with our tour guide Tony.....he was the best. Disappointed that the Heirlcer castle was not available...but the tour covered other great sites...

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent. We really enjoyed the whole experience. It added great fun to our experience and travels.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour! Our tour guide, Paul, the self proclaimed Hobbit was great. Full of information and very amusing. The bus driver, Martin(?) was also great. Highclere Castle was beautiful and not crowded. Enjoyed Oxford and the village of Brampton. Beautiful weather even.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the accommodations, food, guide, and bus.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, David, was AMAZING! I traveled for the first time to England with my mom and we both were very pleased with our tour of Bampton, Oxford, and Highclere Castle. Not only were the sights amazing to experience and photograph, but also David made the trip very memorable. He had a great sense of humor from the start to the end of the tour and was very knowledgeable of everything we saw. From our experiences on the tour, we are already planning our next trip to England and hope to have David as our tour guide again.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic. Great tour bus driver and great tour bus guide. Worth the money.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had been so looking forward to this tour ever since I booked it, and it lived up to all expectations. I wasn't expecting Oxford to be such a charming city, so it was a very pleasant surprise. And as for Highclere, to see it in person makes you appreciate the show that much more. A large part of what made it so enjoyable was our tour guide Paul. He was very knowledgeable and provided information with a great sense of humor. If only every tour guide could be as entertaining as he was.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was great in spite of a really consistent rain all day! Didn't really tour the grounds or sit under those beautiful trees but the castle interior was everything we imagined it to be and the in room hostesses were great too. We were able to peek in every bedroom and it's simply amazing at the freedom guests are given to walk in the dining room, etc. without ugly plastic runners or anything (especially so given the rainy day). Great tour; worth every penny!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide James was wonderful. He was full of information about Oxford and the areas we went through. Stopped at Brampton Village, and had a wonderful time at Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey). I was able to go inside the castle and see both upstairs and ground floor rooms. The castle is beautiful inside. Had a very nice tea in the garden. Just a great tour all the way.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great and well worth the money. Paul was a superb tour guide and Martin did a great job getting us around safely. The morning at Victoria station was a little chaotic and it would help the participants if this was a little more organized. Also, there is no bathroom on the bus and few breaks with long drives in between, so just prepare for that! Highclere Castle was beautiful and so fun to see as a big fan of Downton Abbey. Oxford was a quaint and beautiful city with an incredible history. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message