Britain’s favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best part was Highclere castle with the village of Bampton a close second. I have been to Oxford before on another tour, but what our guide, Frank, showed us was from a different perspective and pointed out things I had not heard before. Oxford was a fast overview, but that was the time allowed. Since Highclere was the reason I signed up for this tour, the brief time in Oxford was appropriate. Highclere Castle is beautiful, more beautiful than on television. It was wonderful to walk through the rooms one is already acquainted with through the fictional story, and the family pictures throughout remind us of the real family attached to this home, that it is more than just a setting for a television show.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic! It was everything and more I envisaged it would be. Tour guide was charming and fun and made the journey very interesting with all his knowledge and facts. Oxford was beautiful and Downton Abbey was just superb. The grounds were magnificent to say the least. Inside Highclere Clastle was spectacular. No filming was allowed inside because people actually live there. The village at Brampton was so quaint and wonderful where Mathew's mother's house was filmed and the hospital. We met the owner of one of the houses and she gave us lots of information on the filming and how they disguise the modern bits of architecture etc. It was a glorious tour one I will never forget.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This Tour met more than our expectations.
Picked up on time at our Hotel ,Bit of congestion though at Victoria Bus Station,no one seemed to know where to go and Station to small for the amount of people going on tours.
Our Tour guide could not be faulted, he was very informative.
Would highly recommend this tour
Maureen Leach
New Zealand

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a fabulous day! Highclere Castle was as beautiful as we had imagined, being fans of Downton Abbey. The grounds were breathtaking; the scones delicious; the garden mystical and relaxing. Oxford and Bampton were also quite beautiful. And getting there was half the fun. We fully enjoyed our tour guide, Dave. He was engaging, funny, quite knowledgeable and unapologetically opinionated! How refreshing!!! We thoroughly enjoyed his stories and his humour!! The only glitch in the day was the bus itself. We didn't mind too much that the air conditioning was not working properly but the seats really lacked leg room for my 6'6" husband. We had to sit in the back row, on the right where there were the only 3 seats made to accommodate a tall person. All in all - had a ball!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The highlight of my entire trip! EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS! Frank was a lovely tour guide. I enjoyed Oxford and Bampton Village much more than I thought. They were not just quaint, they were captivating. Highclere Castle was lovely and a lot of fun; but the grounds were amazing. I had not imagined the height of the trees and the expanse of the grounds. A very delightful breeze, some cake, and sitting under old spruce trees next to huge hydrangeas... taking photos and just loving the day! Thanks Viator and Frank!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THE CASTLE WAS TOTALLY AWESOME !!!
WE DIDNT MAKE IT TO OXFORD BECAUSE OF A TRAFFIC PROBLEM
THE LITTLE VILLAGE WAS CUTE.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful places, interesting history, and with enough time to walk around by yourself

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an EXCELLENT tour. Of course, we are big Downton Abby Fans. It was very peaceful as we walked around the grounds. The flower gardens were beautiful. They have 3 different tea rooms with the biggest one being a white tent outback. It is much nicer to eat outside in the back under the trees in the open. I did find out that if you want to have your Traditional Afternoon Tea onthe 3-tiered serving plates with scones, sandwiches, and desserts, you do have to have those ordered before hand; they cannot just be ordered on the spot. I wish I had know that beforehand. It was very leisurely walking through the castle, but I think most people were there to see and relate to Downton Abby. Instead, there were pictures all over the place of the Canarvrons, who own the place. I am not sure that a lot of people cared about them; it was the Crawleys that brought us here! TAKE THIS TOUR!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took this tour with my 13-year old daughter and it was FANTASTIC! Our tour team, David and Martin, were incredible. David has a refreshingly candid style - he is wicked smart and has strong opinions, but always respectful and very focused on the comfort of his guests. We spent 9 days in London and Paris and this was the highlight of the trip. If you are fans of the show, book this tour today!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Only three of us on this tour so we were so lucky to have Andrew as our almost Private guide and his knowledge of all our stops was astounding.Our driver Jose was very friendly and made our tour very comfortable.Hotel excellent and all in all a very enjoyable interesting,informative tour .

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Only three of us on this tour so we were so lucky to have Andrew as our almost Private guide and his knowledge of all our stops was astounding.Our driver Jose was very friendly and made our tour very comfortable.Hotel excellent and all in all a very enjoyable interesting,informative tour .

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Southern England from London: Oxford, Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath Including 'Downton Abbey' Filming Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great the guide was funny and very knowledgeable! Just a lovely day.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Though the free time in Oxford was short, it allowed for a more lingering experience at Highclere. Our guide Frank was charming and patient.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour very much! Did it mostly b/c I'm a Downton Abbey fan, but loved the bonus of Oxford. Our guide, David, was terrific- while he had strong viewpoints and opinions and not all agreed with his perspectives 100% of the time, he was interesting, lively, funny, passionate and full of information. No one was bored on this tour! I dragged my 10-year old son on the tour with me and David was very inclusive and wanted him to be engaged as well. He jokingly (I think!) encouraged my son to come towards the front of the tour at Oxford, saying "Come here, you wretched beast!" My son thought that was great and we even included that line in our scrapbook under a photo I took with David and my son and the tour group- see attached. Loved the architecture and the history and getting out of London to see more of what England is all about. Downton Abbey was a thrill for any fan- only suggestion would be more "behind the scenes" tidbits or info for the fans- maybe even a Downton Abbey trivia game on the bus- that would have been great. David is not a Downton Abbey fan- totally fine- but maybe could have indulged the series fans a bit more. I give the tour 4.5 stars but since I can't do half starts above, we'll give it 5.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a wonderful tour. It appeared long on paper, but in reality the time went by too fast. Oxford was incredible! So much history. The Downton Abbey village tour made the show come to life. Of course, the Highclere Castle was the highlight of the day and it did not disappoint. It was absolutely spectacular! An amazing day all around. Paul, our guide, was great! Warm, funny, incredibly knowledgeable, and super helpful.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message