Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very happy. The carpark at Highclere Castle had flooded due to bad storms and the public could not buy tickets. The viator tour was still admitted. I could have easily missed the visit I had travelled to London for. Guide was lovely. Oxford stop was longer than I expected - great place.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was wonderfull! We loved the tour! We had plenty of time in all locations.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a unique experience for a Downton Abbey fan! The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. Visits to all the filming locations, including the inside of Highclere Castle. Unforgettable and well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Steve Cahill was wonderful, friendly, knowledgable and flexible. He made it a great day! Vanessa

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Our tour guide Steve was knowledgeable, humorous, and very very personable. He got to know us and we him and we had a great 9 hours together. He took us to all the sites we wanted to see and gave us inside stories wherever he went. His black cab was immaculately clean and roomy. He left us with great memories on the last day of our British Isles vacation. We loved it. Thank you Steve!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Andrew was amazing.
He is a true scholar and incredible organizer.
Also, the country side and palace were unbelievable!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Pamela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour - gave us a taste of the Cotswolds and Blenheim palace. Now we want to go back when we can spend more time at each place. Our guide was very good and informative, and our driver was great! Coach was very nice as well. Will use Viator again!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Sharon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent, despite the rain. It was fun visiting Cogges Farm and Bamford village, then the highlight: Highclere Castle. Tony was a terrific guide and driver. He got us around in a safe and timely way and was full of knowledge about the history and fun information about Downton Abbey. So glad I did this!

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

jasper3944

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

IT WAS AGOOD TOUR , THE GUIDE WAS VERY GOOD . HOWEVER THERE SHOULD BE
BETTER INFORMATION ABOUT THE PICK UP TIME ETC . WE RANG THE COMPANY A COUPLE OF TIMES.. ABOUT IT THE 0830 TIME PICK UP AS STATED WAS FROM VICTORIA
STAION WHICH WAS NOT MENTIONED IN THE ORGINAL PAPER WORK

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day! The villages were lovely and Sheila, our tour guide, was great! Very knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

wonderful day out ! Steve our guide was determined to give us the best experience possible and did so magnificently ! not only was he informative and amusing but he also knew when to leave us to quietly take in all we were seeing we could not go to Downton as hoped but went to the village and then to Blenheim , weather was perfect and I highly recommend using Black Cab and Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Michelle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide was absolutely fabulous. I only wish we could've taken pictures inside the castle. So glad we stopped in Bampton and at Coggs Farm as well. I loved every part of the tour. A must do for any Downton Abbey fan.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Patricia A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide was extremely well informed and had loads of information and stories to tell. Plenty of time at each location to do everything I wanted to do.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Marina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Blenheim was amazing. It is hard to believe that people actually live this way. Our driver 'Chill' Jill and the tour guide, Debra, made this trip great. They are the dynamic duo for sure. What I loved about Debra was her knowledge about English history and the destinations we explored and her relaxed manner of speaking. Her guiding was very conversational which appealed to me. Both my daughter and I said that we would book a tour with the local tour operator again based on the tour guide and driver. We went on another tour with another company and it all felt rushed. Debra and Jill were on the side of the tourists they really did their best to give us as much time to look around as they were allowed to do based on their own time schedules.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We love Downton Abbey and we loved this tour. Our family of three generations enjoyed this wonderful trip to Highclere Castle, Brampton town and the drive to these locations. Though we are groupies of the show we all agreed the town of Brampton would is a quainte town to visit. So picturesque. Upon arriving at Highclere we were filled with excitement seeing the abbey in full view. Richard our driver and guide was excellent. The local tour operator did not disappoint! The self guided tour in the abbey was great seeing all the rooms and walking where Lord Granthum, Granny, Mary, Coea etc walked was so fun! We highly recommend it if you are Downton fans!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Melissa R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had the most brilliant time on this tour! The driver whose name escapes me and Debbie, the tour guide, were simply wonderful. The castle and gardens were such fun to visit as well as the related filming sites of Yew Tree Farm and Downton Village. We had such lovely weather which made the day all the more enjoyable. The Egyptian artifacts exhibition was interesting, too. I'm so, so glad that I did this and would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

donnaoyc6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My tour was fantastic. My driver and tour guide Andrew was very informative and went out of his way to make my tour the best ever. I enjoyed talking with him and learning so much about the countryside, history and just loved visiting the Downton Abbey sites. The taxi was very nice, clean and comfortable. I highly recommend taking a private tour. Viator was so helpful when I booked and the company I dealt with in London was absolutely the best. I have been on many tours in my travels but this will always be the most memorable. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Andrew wilcox was a great tour guide he thought of everything and especially enjoyed sharing my experience with Downton Abbey with him. He is the best tour guide. Loved Belheim Palace Andrew was knowledgeable about the place and guided us thorughout.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' Experience by Black Cab Including Downton Village, London Filming Locations or Highclere Castle

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic tour. Our driver was so entertaining and full of Downton anecdotes. Loved every minute. Thank you.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Mary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So happy to have booked this tour! We had a lovely day traveling to Oxford and Highclere. Tour guides were informative and really enhanced the Oxford stop. Even if you are not a Downton fan, you will enjoy the scenery offered on this tour. My husband, who has not seen an episode, actually enjoyed the tour. Great job by our driver and tour guide.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Gunter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

5 Stars are not enough. Our guide Andrew was fantastic. His knowledge, the conversational engagement outstanding. My wife being an absolute Downton Abbey nut tested Andrew's knowledge through all episodes and she could not get him to falter, specially after she throw in some 007 themes. Well done my man.

Doing what: Private Tour: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations Tour of London by Black Cab

Rocky R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The most memorable part of our holiday was this tour! Our guide was excellent and knowledgeable and of course being a Downton Abbey fan, we loved visiting Bampton and Highclere Castle. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Scott-Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I am devote DA fan so this tour caught my eye and held me in anticipation until we joined the tour coach at Great Portland Street and headed to Oxfordshire. Deb our guide was priceless - what she didn't know about DA - including behind the scenes - wasn't worth knowing.

The tour is great and we were prepared with the fact that Highclere Castle tends to downplay its role in the period drama. There are some subtle interpretation boards in the Castle about certain rooms however the focus is very much on the family home and Egyptian exhibition - don't miss that!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Highclere Castle Tour from London

Mark D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was the most wonderful part of our whole trip to London! Great tour guide, driver and coach. Stops were just the right amount of time and seeing Downton Abbey will be a memory to last forever! Worth every penny! Thank you!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great tour. I was a little nervous it would be a typical bus tour and this far surpassed that. Tour guide was great. The itinerary was good. Really an enjoyable day. Thank you!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message