Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! It was so fun to go to Oxford and the place where they film the town and the house it self!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, one of the only to stay more time at Blenheim

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Yvonne Rosalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A lovely tour, so glad I went on it, I really felt like it was a home, not just a large mansion,

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wifen my son, and I recently took this tour. When we booked our tour my wife was a bit disappointed because Highclere castle wasn't open so we decided on this tour with Blenheim on it. We were not disappointed at all. The tour guide, Tony, was fantastic. The stops were very nice and you were given the appropriate time at each. We never felt rushed all day. There are other tours a little cheaper that travel by bus. I would without a doubt spend a little more and get on this tour and travel in a small group van. Well worth it.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Justin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, great tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide, Leslie, and driver were competent and helpful. The tour and its various destinations were well planned and completed within the allotted time frame. Leslie gave us some fascinating background on the Cotswolds, and on Blenheim, and the time in the villages and the Blenheim building and grounds were enriched by her preparatory commentary. We would recommend this tour as informative, comprehensive, and a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was great. We had a lively, entertaining guide, Lucy, that had a cold but, was still bubbly. We went to Oxford and had enough time to go on her walking tour and go to Christ Church on our own. We grabbed a quick sandwich at Pret Manger. Did not have enough time to eat a leisurely lunch though which was fine with us. Then to Bampton, an adorable little town for the village scenes. Then to Downton. It looks just like it does in the show. This tour was well planned and not rushed. Lucy was informative and entertaining. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Jane M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and it was fun and informative. We had a small group so we had great attention to detail. I liked seeing the behind the scenes of Downton Abbey and Blenheim Palace is a tour of its own. I would recommend this tour to others, as I am a fan of Downton Abbey and Winston Churchill also stopped at his burial spot and I was interested in everything covered in the tour.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Donna L J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful time! Our guide was amazing and lots of fun!!! We will definitely us Viator again!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Marijana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Magical, fantastic, bus great, tour guide was great and scenery superb. The guide was just right. Gave interesting information but not too much. Was very happy to drop us off at out hotels on the way home.
Gave us clear time limits each time we stopped in an area. Blenheim Palace was fantastic and the Dowton Abbey part was good too. I really loved seeing those things. The Cotswolds were superb and the whole day was fantastic. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

flemingr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved it. Even if not a Downton fan, you would enjoy this day trip from London. Our tour guide was fabulous and gave us the perfect mix of Downton Abbey tidbits and historical information about the areas we visited.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

skydeedee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My friends and I loved this tour. The stop at Oxford was an added bonus. The town of Bampton was so quaint and wonderful to walk the streets and buildings where some of the scenes were filmed. Highclere Castle was beautiful. Transportation was perfect. Picked up and dropped off at our hotel. We will be looking to tour with Viator in the future. Thanks for the memories.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

elliefbrown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful. Our guide knew everything about downtown. She was great. On stop in village tell guests little shop doesn't take credit cards. Our guide lent me the money till we got back to London. Very nice thing to do. Be sure to tell her. Ellie Brown

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was everything I expected. Wow what a great day. We had a great driver and the best tour guide. She was so informative, funny. Both driver and guide went out of the way to make it a great day.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Idis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beyond my expectations! I was so wonderfully surprised by Oxford and the little village of Bamford. Those were great bonuses I wasn't expecting. At Highclere, we got to see more of the inside than I ever dreamed we would get to. The guide was wonderful, giving us the history of all the places, who lives where, etc. Also, the bus that took us was top notch, first class! We did a lot of bus tours on this trip, and this bus was, by far, the classiest and most comfortable of them all. Thank you, Viator!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Gay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Had a great time! Loved getting the signed books as souvenirs!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Kathy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide! You get to see a lot in one day, but it's a comfortable pace.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day was the best!!! We enjoyed our visit to Oxford and then ... to Highclere Castle! It was delightful!! Everything we had hoped for - more extensive visit of the home than we had anticipated, and the docents are so full of information!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lori N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip! We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip from London to Downtown, Bampton Village, and Oxford. The trip was well coordinated and our guide was knowledgeable about our destinations as well as London/England in general and gave lots of interesting tidbits about sites we passed en route to our destinations. We loved Oxford and Bampton Village was delightful. The tour of Highclere was just the right amount of time and allowed us to walk the beautiful gardens and have tea and scones after touring the house. It was a really lovely day! Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lindsay E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was amazing. It was the entire reason we planned our vacation to London to begin with. Highclere castle and Bampton village were everything I had hope it would be. I felt like we had plenty of time to really enjoy it. I could have done without visiting Oxford. We spent 2 hours there, and besides seeing the University, there really wasn't much to do. I would have rather had the day trip shorter just seeing Highclere castle and the village. Overall though, it was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Homer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very pleasant afternoon, plenty of time to see the castle and grounds. Visit to Bampton was a great treat.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Virginia S G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My daughter and I really enjoyed this trip. I'm sure part of the reason for that was the excellent tour guide we had. This is certainly a beautiful place to visit even tho it was raining and it will make watching the show Downton Abbey so much more fun.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

javiandre60

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Every thing was so well coordinated. The tour guide very helpful and knowledgeable of all details.
Thanks for your help. We will keep you in mind for future trips Javier and Ruby Valverde USA.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. Our tour guide was Frank. His way of speaking was so professional like someone who is a stage actor and he kept us enthralled with all the interesting tidbits about the streets of London as well as Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Oxford was a big surprise. So interesting and he made it easy for us to understand how the schools were formed etc. We actually booked this tour as our final day in London. Fun guide, fund tour, fun day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Deborah N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great! Loved every minute of it. Our guide did a great job and knew all about Downton Abbey and all the characters and the places we stopped at.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message