Britain's favorite period drama Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well organized trip. Easy, informative and Highclere Castle is absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Downton Abbey tour was fantastic. Our tour guide was not only a walking and talking Downton historian,he was also really a nice guy.. The only part of the trip that I think was unnecessary was the last leg, which took us to the farm . That made the day too long.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful tour and especially the tour guide. He had some insider info and was very informed on all things Downtown Abbey. Couldn't have been better. The real plus..there was an accident on the highway leading to Highclere casle. Our bus driver knew about it and took us a different way. We got to see some quaint little towns we wouldn't have seen AND saved two and a half hours of sitting in traffic waiting for them to open the highway. Other tour buses were stuck in that traffic. Great attention to detail!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a long day but thoroughly enjoyed it. The visit to Oxford and Bampton village aka Downton were very enjoyable and of course the highlight of the day was our visit to Highclere Castle aka Downton Abbey. Had plenty of time to tour the house, wander about the gardens and enjoy tea and scones. Our driver Ian did an excellent job especially after an alternate route from Bampton to Highclere was necessary due to an accident and subsequent traffic tie-up on the original plan route. Our guide Frank was very knowledgeable about all sights visited and we enjoyed listening to him.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable, tour which included a tour of Oxford Univ., Highclere Castle is unreal, everyone needs to
see this!!!! If you saw the series, this is a must, don't miss it, if you are in London, it is a must!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful tour. There were only three of us so it was as if we had a private tour guide. For Downtown Abbey fans who have already been to Highclere , it was great. We got to see several of the places from the series, and pictures of the new season being filmed--like Daisy, the Kitchenmaid with her I Phone. Blenheim was beautiful. I loved seeing Winston Churchill's baby saddle. The public rooms of the Palace are spectacular. Altogether, it was a wonderful day trip out of London.

Doing what: Best 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was excellent as was the driver. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Best 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing the possibility to live what we have only in imagination. Besides seeing everything the castle has, experience the environment and the surroundings is an experience to not miss.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Such a beautiful place! We had such a great time and the tour guide Debbie was so amazing. She was so happy and delightful! We really enjoyed this tour! The house is gorgeous and the landscape is perfect. We had such a great time!! I would recommend!!

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip from London. Well informed and entertaining guide. Blenheim Palace was beautiful. The Cotswold and the Downton Abbey village were great. My wife's only complaint is she wanted more time in the Downton Abbey village, you get about 20 mins. Overall great day trip!

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time during the tour. Lucy, our guide, was amazing, full of information and very funny!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Dr. Dolly
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed stopping at both Cogges Farm and Highclere Castle. However, we would have preferred spending a little more time at Highclere to do more gazing and shopping. It took a bit too long to eat lunch at Cogges. Perhaps they could set up several food purchase areas. There was a long wait time to even order lunch. Food was very good.

Highclere Castle was fun. Greeters were gracious and helpful. Since it was a nice day, it was wonderful to walk around the grounds a bit. Well worth the visit for Downton Abbey fans.

Tour guide was very good. It would be nice if she could have a photo from the show of every place she pointed out was in the show. She had a few, but not all.

It was great that the bus had a rest room. This was important for older people and should be conitnued for full day tours.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour! Our tour guide Lucy was amazing and she knew more about Downton than we did. Plenty of time to see everything on the tour. She gave perfect suggestions on what to see and do in Oxford! We highly recommend this tour and Lucy!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

guide was very knowledgable and was a great tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

G Bird
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our primary reason to travel to England and we were not disappointed. My husband and I look forward to watching Downtown Abbey on PBS every Sunday night.

The grounds are vast, rolling and lovely. The inside of Highclere Castle looks just like the movie. Absolutely stunning. We enjoyed afternoon tea outside along with a delicious pastry. This was a pot of tea too.

Its nice to know that my small contribution is assisting the family in trying to keep this jewel available for others to experience in the future. This is must see on your London trip.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was lovely. Our tour guide was articulate, literate and entertaining from the first moment we boarded the bus. Enough time was given for each part of the program. We saw far more of Downton Abbey than we were expecting, and we were even giving a really interesting book about the history of Highclere Castle. Stopping at the little village of Brampton, where the village scened in Downton Abbey are filmed, was particularly delightful. We are very glad that we took this tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. It included a trip to Bampton the village seen in Downton Abbey. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, and we had sufficient time to sit for tea in the Abbey. A definite must see for fans.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good trip. Plenty of time on own. Good suggestions. Tour guide great gave tips and didn't talk constantly..

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

As a fan of Downton, this was something I was looking forward to and it did not disappoint. Our guide Lucy, was wonderful. At our first stop, she lead a short tour of Oxford highlights for those interested and gave us ample time to explore Oxford. She shared historical info on the areas we were going to as well discussing Downton gossip. She was humorous and informative. We stopped on the way to Highclere Castle to explore the village filming locations - in Brampton a wonderful stop leading up to the main event. Enjoyable time.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an exceptional tour with a very informative guide. Every Downton Abbey fan should see this tour if they can - it was magnificent

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Downton Abbey Village and the Cotswolds were cute and it was nice to stop by to see them, but really Blenheim Palace was the main draw. Beautiful, beautiful palace and grounds. Worth getting out of London for the day to see the countryside. Definitely book this trip.

Doing what: Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well organized, informative, and thoroughly enjoyable.well worth the expense.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message