Britain’s favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the tour, especially with our tour guide Tony.....he was the best. Disappointed that the Heirlcer castle was not available...but the tour covered other great sites...

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent. We really enjoyed the whole experience. It added great fun to our experience and travels.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' TV Locations and Blenheim Palace Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful,great tour guide and just a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour! Our tour guide, Paul, the self proclaimed Hobbit was great. Full of information and very amusing. The bus driver, Martin(?) was also great. Highclere Castle was beautiful and not crowded. Enjoyed Oxford and the village of Brampton. Beautiful weather even.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the accommodations, food, guide, and bus.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What made this trip special was our tour guide Andrew. He was extremely knowledgeable not only about Downton Abbey but about London and the surrounding area. We had been on a 4 day musical tour of London prior to our tour to Highclere. The difference in tour guides was striking. We learned so much more from Andrew in a very short time. His knowledge of the Downton Abbey show was nothing short of amazing. He could cite season and episode for everything we saw on our trip and much more we didn't see.
My advice: if you do the tour, ask for Andrew as tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, David, was AMAZING! I traveled for the first time to England with my mom and we both were very pleased with our tour of Bampton, Oxford, and Highclere Castle. Not only were the sights amazing to experience and photograph, but also David made the trip very memorable. He had a great sense of humor from the start to the end of the tour and was very knowledgeable of everything we saw. From our experiences on the tour, we are already planning our next trip to England and hope to have David as our tour guide again.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic. Great tour bus driver and great tour bus guide. Worth the money.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had been so looking forward to this tour ever since I booked it, and it lived up to all expectations. I wasn't expecting Oxford to be such a charming city, so it was a very pleasant surprise. And as for Highclere, to see it in person makes you appreciate the show that much more. A large part of what made it so enjoyable was our tour guide Paul. He was very knowledgeable and provided information with a great sense of humor. If only every tour guide could be as entertaining as he was.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was great in spite of a really consistent rain all day! Didn't really tour the grounds or sit under those beautiful trees but the castle interior was everything we imagined it to be and the in room hostesses were great too. We were able to peek in every bedroom and it's simply amazing at the freedom guests are given to walk in the dining room, etc. without ugly plastic runners or anything (especially so given the rainy day). Great tour; worth every penny!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We took the Downton Abbey, Highclere Castle, Bampton and Oxford Tour. Our tour guide Paul was such a huge part of this wonderful trip. As we approached Highclere, he began to play the Downton Abbey TV theme on his IPad....a great touch to a wonderful day! We also received an autographed book by The Countess of Carnarvon. The trip to Oxford was wonderful as Paul shared his vast knowledge of this wonderful City-College with us. We had a great visit at Bampton before going to Highclere Castle. All in all it was a wonderful day mostly due to Paul. I would recommend this tour to anyone, but if you are a Downton Abbey fan, this is the only tour you should consider.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide James was wonderful. He was full of information about Oxford and the areas we went through. Stopped at Brampton Village, and had a wonderful time at Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey). I was able to go inside the castle and see both upstairs and ground floor rooms. The castle is beautiful inside. Had a very nice tea in the garden. Just a great tour all the way.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message