Britain’s favorite period drama  Downton Abbey has been taking the world by storm of late, so get your top hats and teacups at the ready, and prepare to get a taste of Edwardian-era England. The real-life Downton Abbey is set at the magnificent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My aunt, cousin and I had a wonderful trip with Viatour on 8/20. Lovely day in Oxford with our most excellent and wonderful guide Mr. Metcalfe (Peter?). He was knowledgable, informative and a great sence of humor. We all loved our time at Highclere. I highly recommand this day trip. Mr. Metcalfe taught us how to remember royalty in terms of importance: "Doris Makes Eggs Very Badly." D - Duke, M - Marquis, E - Earl, V - Viscount and B - Baron. Great guide. My second day tour with Viatour. First was in Sept. 2013....pick up in Monaco for day trip to Cannes and Nice. Great day with excellent guide. Will continue to use and recommand Viatour again and again. Thank you for great days trips. G. Reeves. Atlanta, GA.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Paul our tour guide was fantastic. I thought we would be giben a brochure about Highclere Castle but we were not. How I would love to live in the castle.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had an awesome tour guide! So much fun and knowledge abouthe area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chauffeur-Driven English Castles Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely amazing. Our tour leader Andrew was not only knowledgeable, but very entertaining and easy going. Our driver was excellent. I have no idea how she navigated those roads so easily. The scenery was exquisite. I particularly enjoyed the town of Bampton and seeing where a lot of the scenes from Downton Abbey were filmed. The history behind the buildings is really fascinating.
Highclere Castle was not a disappointment either. All the scenery on the tour was breathtaking. This tour isn't just for fans of the show. I would say anyone with an interest in history and architecture would not be disappointed.

Doing what: Small-Group 'Downton Abbey' and Highclere Castle Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This trip was outstanding. Our tour guide Paul and driver Martin made the trip so enjoyable even when we encountered shut downs on the expressway!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW...what an AMAZING experience!!! This was one of those once-in-a-lifetime events. The day started at Victoria Coach Station in central London, it was confusing based on our confirmation information where the tour was supposed to meet and we almost missed it. Viator should publish the Gate numbers along with the location. Once we got started, we had another amazing tour guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable, helpful and had an upbeat personality. The tour first stopped in Oxford which was a delightful town with friendly shop keepers and local residents. We then traveled to the Castle which was breathtaking, as a fan of the PBS series Downton Abbey, this tour was a MUST for our trip to London. Highly recommend this tour but be aware it's at least an 8 hour day but well worth it. Thank you.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent! Just too bad we couldn't take pictures in the castle!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour did exactly what it said on the tin.An excellent tour guide ,who catered for the many Americans that were on the tour.The visit to Oxford was most informative .The real purpose of the trip was to see Bampton and HighClere Castle.This did not disappoint .The only minus was the behaviour of some of the American travellers , who argued over seating arrangements on the bus.It is hard to believe that these were middle aged and even OAPs . Apart from the latter,this was a brilliant tour and for fans of Downton Abbey is well worth going on.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We absolutely Loved this tour! Our guide, Lucy was fantastic! She was extremely knowledgable telling us interesting tidbits of facts from start to finish. I really cannot say enough good things about her. She was witty, funny and everything you would want in a tour guide and more! Our bus driver Greg was great also.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour, Malcolm and Paul both brilliant as driver and tour guide. Would totally recommend. Was raining all day, but all enjoyed.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a truly enjoyable day! The guide and driver were excellent. The walk around Oxford was very informative. Unfortunately we were late arriving at Bampton due to a long delay because of roadworks. The highlight of the tour was Highclere Castle. Have wanted to go there for many years because very interested in Egyptology and it was wonderful to visit the home of Lord Carnarvon and see some of the artefacts which he collected in Egypt.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour exceeded our expectations! Paul did an excellent job making sure we saw everything that had been outlined for us in spite of traffic difficulties. Loved the trip!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide David was wonderful, it was my second tour with him and he treated me and other prior tourists like family. We were fortunate, while in Bampton, to see filming of Downton Abbey. What a thrill! As long as we were quiet, we could take as many pictures as we wanted. I am looking forward to seeing that episode as it will bring many pleasant memories of my trip. Highclere Castle was magnificent. I liked how the Carnarvon family had their personal pictures about the house as well as signage denoting which bedrooms are used for Downton Abbey characters. At both locations, there were a very limited amount of tourists, so no queues, trouble seeing things, or big crowds of people to push through. I was concerned about Oxford since it was included on a tour the previous week, but David did not disappoint and led us to different areas of interest, so I did not feel like I was doing a repeat of the previous tour. So glad I booked this tour!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

ABSOLUTELY FIRST RATE!!! We managed to be present in the village of Bampton, where the church is located, and watched the final day of 6 months of filming the series!!! Oxford was nice and OUTSTANDING!! We have used Viator for the past 2 years in Europe and this was 1 of our top 5! Thank you.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message