Scotland’s capital and cultural focus, Edinburgh is a hugely popular UK destination. With its craggy hilltop castle, brooding Holyrood Palace, great shopping and dining, and lively pub and entertainment scene, it’s one of the country’s gems.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Take the first class tour. It is well worth it. Very relaxing and scenic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a really long day but totally worth it, Edinburgh is a beautiful city. Everything was easy from catching the train, to getting to the castle. I chose is because I really wanted to go to Scotland but I didn't have enough time is trip so I thought I'd do this day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We met our tour guide at the train station in London, only to find out that there would be no tour guide and we were handed our train and tour tickets only to be left on our own for the day. Edinburgh Castle and the Hop on Hop Off Bus were very enjoyable once we figured out our bearings. A tour guide would have been helpful. Train trouble on the way home made for a very long day.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The English breakfast on the train was a lovely treat. Viewing the English and Scottish countrysides from the train was an excellent idea; beautiful views! The only negative about this trip to Edinburgh was we would have loved to have had more time there; very welcoming and intriguing city.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The reviews I read about the long train trip up to Edinburgh from London were right...It didn't seem that long! Outside views from the train are amusing. We had packed a lunch that we picked up right at M and S at train station and enjoyed that en route just before we arrived in Edinburgh. Very easy to go out of station and find across street all the Hop on - Hop off buses waiting. We did what most people do - took bus to Castle stop then toured castle which does take some time. Then relaxed on bus and took in rest of bus tour before heading to train station to catch train back to London. Plenty of time to see Edinborough - a good day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent from start to finish.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well done. Our grandchildren (12 yrs old) thoroughly enjoyed the day. Bus tour was good, but the Castle is the best! Raining, but still a great day. Scones with clotted cream and preserves at the castle was the best lunch!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was all I expected and more. Our tour guide Caroline Huyshe was excellent. She provided many interesting bits of information at our different stops and along the way in the coach. The stops along the route were well planned and the hotels provided a restful evening and night. Ian our driver was very proficient and drove the coach with skill. Although Ian was very quiet he was very helpful with the luggage and getting our bags to the rooms. I believe Caroline made the trip very enjoyable on all fronts. She was patient with us and answered all our questions. I enjoyed this trip from start to finish and the extras- The Scottish Show in Edinburgh and the Welsh Evening at the The Blue Anchor Inn were very welcome additions. Thank-you for a well planned and informative trip. Phyllis Umpherville,Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Edinburgh is really a neat place to see. Leaving from London the train trip is 4 hours each way and you get about 4 1/2 hours to spend viewing this lovely old city. The castle is fantastic and the people were all nice that we met on our tour. Evan Evans makes it easy by meeting their representative at the train station, they give you an envelope with all of your tickets and travel needs for the day. A great trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fun day. Wish we'd stayed overnight so we could have enjoyed it even more. Saw the highlights, though, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Very early start but we had no problems. The tour representative met us at the agreed place and time with all of the required information, tickets etc. She was very helpful. The hop on hop off tour in Edinburgh was great but of course the highlight was Edinburgh Castle. Brilliant. The train trip up was great, especially when you get closer to Scotland and follow the coast. Time seemed to go quickly. Be warned though, the trip home in the dark after a long day was testing. Time seemed to go so slowly. All in all though, a great experience if you can only manage a quick trip to Scotland.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This day went very quickly. The 5 hour train ride, each way, was very comfortable, and the scenery beautiful. Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and the Hop On, Hop Off tour informative.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message