• USD ($)
  • English
Scotland’s capital and cultural focus, Edinburgh is a hugely popular UK destination. With its craggy hilltop castle, brooding Holyrood Palace, great shopping and dining, and lively pub and entertainment scene, it’s one of the country’s gems.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fun day. Wish we'd stayed overnight so we could have enjoyed it even more. Saw the highlights, though, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Very early start but we had no problems. The tour representative met us at the agreed place and time with all of the required information, tickets etc. She was very helpful. The hop on hop off tour in Edinburgh was great but of course the highlight was Edinburgh Castle. Brilliant. The train trip up was great, especially when you get closer to Scotland and follow the coast. Time seemed to go quickly. Be warned though, the trip home in the dark after a long day was testing. Time seemed to go so slowly. All in all though, a great experience if you can only manage a quick trip to Scotland.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This day went very quickly. The 5 hour train ride, each way, was very comfortable, and the scenery beautiful. Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and the Hop On, Hop Off tour informative.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful experience. Edinburgh was fabulous.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

So supportive! As a solo traveller, I was met at Kings Cross station where details of the trip were clearly explained to me. The lovely lady then personally escorted me to the train carriage. The train ride was a breeze, The Missoni Hotel was a real treat (though getting there is a little bit of a hike if lugging a suitcase). Kenny the bus driver was a fantastic and informative tour guide on our 11 hour day to the Loch Ness (I didn't mind your singing one bit!). Edinburgh is a beautiful city, rich with stunning architecture, history and culture. And plenty of whisky shops.

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Edinburgh was awesome!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you are just looking at spending about 4-5 hours in Edinburgh, that this will be just perfect for.
Train from London to Edinburgh is about 5hrs.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good day trip. Enjoyed tremendously.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great intro to Edinburgh. The information provided by the tour wet our appetite to return. The train rides take up most of the day so plan to do a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

after the long train ride, the few hrs that you get in the area just aren't enough. I would recommend the longer trips for sure

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Too much for one day. Train ride was good but long. Edinburgh is a very small city. Not a lot to do other then the castle. Better to take a couple of days and see more of Scotland. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great tour. Another well organized trip by Viator. Be prepared to ride the train though for 5 hours to and from Edinburgh. L-o-n-g ride.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Day trip was awesome!!! Highly recommend it! I can't wait to take another day trip to explore more cities.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. Train journey excellent and bus tour also excellent..masses of people at the castle so very hard to get around but overall a truly great experience..would love to do it again...eve

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The trip is worth the length of the time on the rail, we recomend it. There is a lot of things we were not able to see because it was a short time in the city, but it was a great opportunity to see some things as the castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message