Scotland’s capital and cultural focus, Edinburgh is a hugely popular UK destination. With its craggy hilltop castle, brooding Holyrood Palace, great shopping and dining, and lively pub and entertainment scene, it’s one of the country’s gems.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lcatwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is really great if you get the same tour director we had. It is an Insight tour with a lot of space on the bus. We saw almost all of Great Britain but don't plan to spend much time anywhere. This gave us a good overview and if we came back we would have ideas of where to spend time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

kj_bloomer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful land to see as you travel. Great experience. Tour guide was good for being new at it. Not sure Sundays are the best day to take this tour, Some of the places were closed.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Anne E B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The train trip was easy and went by quickly. Edinburgh is easy to manage and the tour operators make it simple to get on board the train, buses and in the castle. It was not a guided tour, but it's not a problem because the Edinburgh Waverly Station is central to the things you want to see. Overall, I would highly recommend taking a day and going to Scotland!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

China Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A little difficult to find the meeting point. The guide briefed us on the day, gave us our tickets and we were off to Edinburgh.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

klivesey7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I would recommend this tour-without a doubt. Like many of the reviews I read, the 4.5 hr train ride went by so quickly! Although of course it would have been nice to have more time in Edinburgh-I felt that we were able to see and do everything we wanted to within the time frame we were given about 4-5 hours. We met a tour rep at Kings Cross Station and she was great. She handed us a packet of information including maps, brochures, and ticket information. She even gave us some advice as to what to see, what streets were best for shopping etc. My husband and I are so thrilled that we decided to do this!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a long day, but it was a nice tour. Guide met us at the station and got us on our way. It would have been better if it hadn't rained :

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Laurette R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a long day, but it was a nice tour. Guide met us at the station and got us on our way. It would have been better if it hadn't rained :

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Edinburgh was more than expected.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

GLENNIS New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip well worth the money, saw everything we wanted, train trip each way great. First class the way to go, comfortable seats and food very nice

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Jean C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good. The group was kept small and the coach was spacious. The guide bringing us for the 5 days is very informative and nice. He tries to help in whatever he can. 5 days and you get to visit some of the main attractoons in Britain. A wonderful trip all in all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Laura W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We had an hour and half delay to Endinburgh and that really cut in to the time. It wasn't the tour co's fault there was a broken rail but really, you can't see Edinburgh in just a few hours- way too much there to see.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Stephen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was great 1st class was worth it

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Clayton T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time - good value. We opted to go first class on the Train portion which was really nice.
The hotel in Edinburgh not exactly a Scottish guest house was actually much better than we had anticipated for the - it was a European hotel and perfectly located. The amt of time in Scotland was perfect and the Highland Tour was great. This is the only way that we would take a short 3-day exclusion in the future - nice job Viator !! C Taylor / USA .

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

David

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good trip, well organized. Butt freezing cold on the Virgin train airco on a cloudy day?

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Bhanumati L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great trip with a Tour Representative explaining and escorting us to our train at King's Cross Station, London. Our Hotel Thistle was near to the to the Edinburgh Train Station - less than 5 minutes walk and the accommodation was pleasant. Cardiff Castle being about 15 minutes walk from our hotel, was an opportunity to walk around a bit and see Edinburgh.
The bus tour to Loch Ness enabled one to see quite a bit of the rugged beauty of the highlands of Scotland with an efficient tour bus driver who doubled as a tour guide, he did a magnificent job.

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

Matha Mejia de L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely loved it! Beautiful countryside. Our guide Heather was fantastic. She had some great historic stories that she talked about along the way. Very knowledgable and could make a little story seem like you were right there when it happened. Loved her! The trip was well worth it.

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

Ellen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

a day tour in Edinburgh is worth it. The tour representative meet us at the Kings Cross Station before 6:30am and gave us our tickets and instructed us what we need to do on this trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Alejandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Edimburgh is like a medieval city today.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Donna B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Edinburgh is a beautiful city to explore. The tour was very independent, meaning there was lot of options on when to visit Edinburgh Castle or take a ride on the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour. The hotel was a Holiday Inn, which was not located in the city center. You either had to cab or take local transit to get there. I was disappointed that on the day of the Highlands bus tour there was no hotel pick up or drop off. With such an early departure, it was a rush to have breakfast at the hotel which was included and then take a bus to the meeting point. Other than that, I had a great time. The Highlands were amazing, a must see for sure!

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

Nikki L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The city tour was so nice. there was a little trouble finding the bus to take the hop on hop off tour..

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Shirley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We absolutely loved the trip to Edinburgh. There wasn't much time but loved the time that we spent there.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Janice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful and historical buildings - so much to see in one day - enjoyed the train trip up and back - met very nice interesting people in the little group that we had.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Take the first class tour. It is well worth it. Very relaxing and scenic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message