Scotland’s capital and cultural focus, Edinburgh is a hugely popular UK destination. With its craggy hilltop castle, brooding Holyrood Palace, great shopping and dining, and lively pub and entertainment scene, it’s one of the country’s gems.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was great 1st class was worth it

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time - good value. We opted to go first class on the Train portion which was really nice.
The hotel in Edinburgh not exactly a Scottish guest house was actually much better than we had anticipated for the - it was a European hotel and perfectly located. The amt of time in Scotland was perfect and the Highland Tour was great. This is the only way that we would take a short 3-day exclusion in the future - nice job Viator !! C Taylor / USA .

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good trip, well organized. Butt freezing cold on the Virgin train airco on a cloudy day?

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great trip with a Tour Representative explaining and escorting us to our train at King's Cross Station, London. Our Hotel Thistle was near to the to the Edinburgh Train Station - less than 5 minutes walk and the accommodation was pleasant. Cardiff Castle being about 15 minutes walk from our hotel, was an opportunity to walk around a bit and see Edinburgh.
The bus tour to Loch Ness enabled one to see quite a bit of the rugged beauty of the highlands of Scotland with an efficient tour bus driver who doubled as a tour guide, he did a magnificent job.

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely loved it! Beautiful countryside. Our guide Heather was fantastic. She had some great historic stories that she talked about along the way. Very knowledgable and could make a little story seem like you were right there when it happened. Loved her! The trip was well worth it.

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

a day tour in Edinburgh is worth it. The tour representative meet us at the Kings Cross Station before 6:30am and gave us our tickets and instructed us what we need to do on this trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Edimburgh is like a medieval city today.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Edinburgh is a beautiful city to explore. The tour was very independent, meaning there was lot of options on when to visit Edinburgh Castle or take a ride on the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour. The hotel was a Holiday Inn, which was not located in the city center. You either had to cab or take local transit to get there. I was disappointed that on the day of the Highlands bus tour there was no hotel pick up or drop off. With such an early departure, it was a rush to have breakfast at the hotel which was included and then take a bus to the meeting point. Other than that, I had a great time. The Highlands were amazing, a must see for sure!

Doing what: 3-Day Rail Trip to Edinburgh, Loch Ness and the Highlands from London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The city tour was so nice. there was a little trouble finding the bus to take the hop on hop off tour..

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We absolutely loved the trip to Edinburgh. There wasn't much time but loved the time that we spent there.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful and historical buildings - so much to see in one day - enjoyed the train trip up and back - met very nice interesting people in the little group that we had.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Take the first class tour. It is well worth it. Very relaxing and scenic.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic just love Edinburgh. Train trip was great loved seeing g the country side

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Guide met us at Victoria station but other than that we were on our own once in Edinburgh

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great way too see a neighboring country.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was a really long day but totally worth it, Edinburgh is a beautiful city. Everything was easy from catching the train, to getting to the castle. I chose is because I really wanted to go to Scotland but I didn't have enough time is trip so I thought I'd do this day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We enjoyed some aspects of our trip of Edinburgh such as the recorded bus tour around Edinburgh as well as visiting the castle. However, we understood that we wouldn't have a tour guide and the direction as to what to do in Edinburgh was very confusing by the lady. We feel that maybe having tour guides would make going to Edinburgh would be more enjoyable, because we saw guided tour groups throughout Edinburgh. The train ride to and from Edinburgh was very scenic as well as very relaxing.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We met our tour guide at the train station in London, only to find out that there would be no tour guide and we were handed our train and tour tickets only to be left on our own for the day. Edinburgh Castle and the Hop on Hop Off Bus were very enjoyable once we figured out our bearings. A tour guide would have been helpful. Train trouble on the way home made for a very long day.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The English breakfast on the train was a lovely treat. Viewing the English and Scottish countrysides from the train was an excellent idea; beautiful views! The only negative about this trip to Edinburgh was we would have loved to have had more time there; very welcoming and intriguing city.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The reviews I read about the long train trip up to Edinburgh from London were right...It didn't seem that long! Outside views from the train are amusing. We had packed a lunch that we picked up right at M and S at train station and enjoyed that en route just before we arrived in Edinburgh. Very easy to go out of station and find across street all the Hop on - Hop off buses waiting. We did what most people do - took bus to Castle stop then toured castle which does take some time. Then relaxed on bus and took in rest of bus tour before heading to train station to catch train back to London. Plenty of time to see Edinborough - a good day trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent from start to finish.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well done. Our grandchildren (12 yrs old) thoroughly enjoyed the day. Bus tour was good, but the Castle is the best! Raining, but still a great day. Scones with clotted cream and preserves at the castle was the best lunch!!!

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was all I expected and more. Our tour guide Caroline Huyshe was excellent. She provided many interesting bits of information at our different stops and along the way in the coach. The stops along the route were well planned and the hotels provided a restful evening and night. Ian our driver was very proficient and drove the coach with skill. Although Ian was very quiet he was very helpful with the luggage and getting our bags to the rooms. I believe Caroline made the trip very enjoyable on all fronts. She was patient with us and answered all our questions. I enjoyed this trip from start to finish and the extras- The Scottish Show in Edinburgh and the Welsh Evening at the The Blue Anchor Inn were very welcome additions. Thank-you for a well planned and informative trip. Phyllis Umpherville,Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Edinburgh is really a neat place to see. Leaving from London the train trip is 4 hours each way and you get about 4 1/2 hours to spend viewing this lovely old city. The castle is fantastic and the people were all nice that we met on our tour. Evan Evans makes it easy by meeting their representative at the train station, they give you an envelope with all of your tickets and travel needs for the day. A great trip.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message