• USD ($)
  • English
The Beatles put Liverpool on the cultural map in the 1960s. Shipping and trade put Liverpool on the world map much earlier than that, from the 18th century. Once upon a time, 40% of the world’s trade passed through Liverpool’s docks, when the sun ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For a Beatles fan this is an ultimate tour. The tour guide on the Magical Mystery Tour bus was extremely knowledgeable, entertaining and easy to talk to. We were really impressed with Liverpool , great museums , being in the Cavern Club is surreal.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We loved the Beatles and Liverpool Day Trip. Loved our tour guide. He was fun and knowledgeable. We included the National Trust Tour so able to go into homes of John Lennon and Paul McCartney. My favorite thing was hanging out at the Cavern Club!!! Highly recommend this package deal.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic ! Enjoyed Liverpool, The Beatles Experiences was a must for all fans, and The Magical Mystery Tour was the topping on the cake. This tour is a great day trip outside London, great opportunity to explore by yourself, plenty places to eat and shop .

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent. Our guide was knowledgable and credible. We saw all the important items in the Beatles history. I only wish that we had stayed the night to see more of the Liverpool area.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Yeah yeah yeah I think I'm in love with Liverpool it's easy cos I know. Trains both ways ran on time and were comfortable. Beatles Story brilliant covering all aspects of the Beatles brilliant career. Broken up by the Lennon Imagine exhibit. Had time to wander around the Mersey the setting of so much of the history of these times. Magical Mystery Tour in the afternoon covered all the sites of the early Beatles history with very knowledgeable guide. Now have a greater appreciation of the lyrics of Penny Lane and how it fits into their early lives. ( also saw cabs doing similar trips and would have preferred them as an option - a bit more intimate and can get into places a bus can't) Leftedown the road from the "new" Cavern and spent a great hour down there soaking up the atmosphere of what it would have been like all those years ago.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A must see for all the Beatles Fans out there. We met the tour director at the train station at 6:30 AM to pick up our tickets. Train left around 7:00 AM and was a little over two hours to get to Liverpool. In addition to the Beatles Museum, we also visited the two beautiful Anglican and Catholic Cathedrals that are on the same street in Liverpool. The bus trip in the afternoon was lots of fun - got to see where the Beatles grew up, Penny Lane, etc., and lots of Beatles music and singing on the bus. A long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Wonderful trip - truly a magical mystery tour ! Must-do for all Beatles fans - only wish I had the option to stay at least overnight so that I could have spent more time listening to great live music at the legendary Cavern !
Makes me wanna go back to Liverpool again for another visit - this time for at least 2-3 days. Most of the tour is independent and self guided , but that just suits me fine as it allows me to decide how long I want to spend shopping for Beatles-related merchandise or otherwise, as well as how long I wanted to stay in the Cavern. The first class train ticket came with meals included, and the comfortable seating plus excellent wifi on board made the journey seem quite short. You have to find your own way when you arrive at Lime Street Station to the Beatles exhibition at Albert Dock and also your own way back from the Cavern to the station for the journey home, which was actually not too difficult especially with the help of the friendly locals.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

julio g
Chile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wondeful experience, beyond that I´m a Beatles fan.
Everything was OK, the travel by train and the Magical Mystery Tour.
Liverpool is a great city indeed.

We were 5 people visiting this port. All of them were satisfied and glad with this travel.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Virgin Rail from London to Liverpool allowed us to enjoy the beautiful English countryside. We were able to make photos and explore Liverpool, be amazed at The Beatles Story, go inside the famous Cavern Club and take a guided tour to the homes of the Beatles, Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, and more. Wonderful time!!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This trip was seamless! Make sure you go to the Liverpool Museum if you have extra time. They had a bunch of Beatles things there, too! and it was free!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was an awesome day trip! A must for any Beatles fan - from their heyday or not. The only thing I didn't realize was that there is no tour guide on this tour. I was met at the rail station and given an envelope with train tickets, a map of Liverpool and passes to get into The Beatles Story and to get on the Magical Mystery Tour bus...the rest is up to you! If I had realized that I would have done a little bit of research before going, but it's a pretty straight-forward and small city. Every part of the day was fantastic and to top it off, at the end of the bus tour, they drop you off at The Cavern Club - where we spent 2 hours listening to a brother duo who do covers of Lennon and McCartney songs. A great way to end a great day!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was probably my favorite thing we did outside of London! It is a must for Beatles fans and if you aren't a Beatles fan, book it anyway to get a taste of Liverpool. The people in Liverpool are very friendly and Liverpool has a little bit of everything. We didn't find it difficult at all to find our way around, even without a map. As soon as you step off the train, you will see signs directing you where to go, just pay attention! The Beatles museum was ok, nothing too spectacular, but interesting to say the least. The magical mystery tour was the highlight!! We had so much fun on the bus seeing all the Beatles' homes and where they grew up. Our tour guide Paul was a treat and so funny! The tour doesn't go to the Cavern Club because of the roads, but it does drop you off very close by and they will tell you how to get there. We spent several hours at the Cavern Club before the train left for London. We were able to drink some local Liverpool ale and listen to a Beatles cover band that sounded amazing! My husband and I were both in Heaven!!! I would definitely love to return to Liverpool someday because of this tour and our wonderful experience!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was the highlights of my trip! I really enjoyed the flex time and freedom in between activities to explore Liverpool. I realized that there is so much to do and see there and I hope to return someday! I felt this was well worth the money! I learned lots of fun little facts that I could never have learned from books or documentaries. To be in the Beatles home town and see the places that had meaning for them was a treat, and I have a greater scope and appreciation for their work!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The tour was amazing! I've been a Beatles fan since I was 10, and now my 11-year-old daughter is too, and our whole family enjoyed this tour. The train ride up from London was smooth, and we were able to walk through Liverpool on our way to The Beatles Story museum. The museum is great, and the audio guides were perfect for our daughter to easily learn the Beatles history without having to read everything posted. My only complaint there was that the music playing over the speakers in the museum was a bit loud, so it was sometimes hard to hear the audio guide. The Magical Mystery Tour bus ride was fantastic! We stopped on Penny Lane, at Strawberry Fields, and got out at both George and Paul's boyhood homes. The tour guide was great and told amazing stories about the Beatles. The only downside was that the day was sunny and warm and the air conditioning on the bus wasn't working well. A once in a lifetime experience well worth the money! I would absolutely recommend this tour to any Beatles fan.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was awesome. The guide did an excellent job and the fact of having The Beatles music all the way was fantastic. The organisation very well. A little critic would be to provide a better Liverpool map. It was kind of confusing. But anyway, it was a great experience.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message