London is Britain’s most important rail hub, making it your UK launching pad for train trips to destinations near and far. Day trips, multi-day tours, guided trips and independent touring – there are London rail tours to suit every holiday schedule. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was well-arranged. Great Rail trip - on-time. The tour guide was punctual and expected us to be punctual as well. As a result we were able to cover a lot in a day. It is a a day trip of course and from that perspective, we got the maximum out of it.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Virgin Rail from London to Liverpool allowed us to enjoy the beautiful English countryside. We were able to make photos and explore Liverpool, be amazed at The Beatles Story, go inside the famous Cavern Club and take a guided tour to the homes of the Beatles, Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, and more. Wonderful time!!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Evan Evans Tours met us at St Pancras Intl Railway with our tour packet. We chose the independent tour so we could see Paris at our pace. While the Hop On, Hop Off bus was part of our deal we really didn't use it except to get us from and to Gare de Nord. My son and I were dropped off at the Eifel Tower. We took a lot of photos and then made our way over the the Arch of Triumph. After spending almost and hour at the Arch we made our way to the Louvre where we spent the rest of our time in Paris. The tour guide that met us at Gare de Nord was friendly and informative. It was a great day! If you don't like the big tour bus thing the independent trips are a great way to see things at your pace. I'd highly recommend this.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We chose the independent trip and Evan Evans Tours met us at King's Cross Railway with our packet. They took great effort to explain everything. It is a long train ride but the reserved seating made the trip comfortable. While Hop On, Hope Off bus pass was included we chose to walk to Edinburgh Castle from the train station. We spent most of our time at the castle but did have enough time to walk through the city and over to Calton Hill. We weren't disappointed.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My 2 day rail trip to Paris was really great. Our guide did a phenomenal job getting into places easily and keeping us on the go all day. My only disappointment was not going onto the Eiffel Tower. The line was several hours long and we would have spent too much of our tour in line. My wife and I travelled to Versailles the second day and truly enjoyded the palace. We would not have been able to see all that we did on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Rail Trip to Paris from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was an awesome day trip! A must for any Beatles fan - from their heyday or not. The only thing I didn't realize was that there is no tour guide on this tour. I was met at the rail station and given an envelope with train tickets, a map of Liverpool and passes to get into The Beatles Story and to get on the Magical Mystery Tour bus...the rest is up to you! If I had realized that I would have done a little bit of research before going, but it's a pretty straight-forward and small city. Every part of the day was fantastic and to top it off, at the end of the bus tour, they drop you off at The Cavern Club - where we spent 2 hours listening to a brother duo who do covers of Lennon and McCartney songs. A great way to end a great day!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

We really enjoyed the trip. The rail was comfortable and trip was well organized. The Mystery Tour and Beatles live was well worth it. You may want to consider allowing some people to take an earlier train back (though we used all the time with other activities, and music in the Cavern Club.)

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is a very long day, but very worthwhile. Very well organised with pick up and return at Lakes District Railway. Train trip from London was efficient and comfortable. A great way to see a beautiful part of England in a day.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A perfect day! Timely pick up at the hotel. Efficient check in at the station, great rail trip. We had the perfect host in Paris. We were able to do see so much in one short day. This was a great tour!

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were the only people on this tour this day, so we were sent off from the rail station by the local trip staff. We were given all the tickets we needed and a map and good directions for how to get around Liverpool. The Beatles Museum and a trip to the Cavern Club makes this exciting. On the Magical Mystery Tour bus you see Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, and houses of the guys.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Although unguided - well worth it, much easier to have the day planned and coordinated than to have to do it yourself. We were met at the rail station, the days events explained to us.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The trip is worth the length of the time on the rail, we recomend it. There is a lot of things we were not able to see because it was a short time in the city, but it was a great opportunity to see some things as the castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the Liverpool Rail Day Trip! The only thing that I would change would be the bus temperature on the Magical Mystery Bus Tour. There was no AC and no windows to open and the outside temperatures were in the mid-80s. The Beatles Museum and the Cavern were great and we were pleasantly surprised at how much we liked the city of Liverpool. I would give this trip 5 stars if the Magical Mystery bus trip was not so stifling.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Pros: The booking through Viator was easy, the tour company were professional and knowledgeable, the travel from London to Dublin via rail and ferry was fun and relaxing, and the hotel in Dublin was clean and in a good location.
Cons: We expected to be traveling with other people but we were on our own; the travel time was long; once we got to the hotel we had to come up with our own itinerary on what to do in Dublin.
This is a great tour for people who only have a few days of travel, like a relaxing journey, and want to get a quick taste of Dublin. I recommend the Hop-on/Hop-off day tour in Dublin once you get there to get a overview of the city. Everyone we met in Dublin was very friendly and helpful so ask around for local adventures. We really enjoyed this tour because we were able to set our own pace and agenda while using the travel time to relax.

Doing what: London to Dublin Independent Multi-Day Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Loved the train ride and the Ferry was amazing. The only down side was the location of the hotel, next to the bus station made for a little bit of noise at night, other than that the hotel was nice.. Overall, railtours was helpful, polite and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: London to Dublin Independent Multi-Day Rail Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message