London is Britain’s most important rail hub, making it your UK launching pad for train trips to destinations near and far. Day trips, multi-day tours, guided trips and independent touring – there are London rail tours to suit every holiday schedule. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister and I both in our mid 70's took the two day tour to Paris and it was absolutely fantastic. The preparation of bookings and meeting at Railway Station was perfect. Our Tour Leader in Paris was fantastic. We had aa two day pass and really saw much of Paris. Value for our money, and will always recommend your Company. Thank you. Ariana Deller and Catherine Haumaha from Australia and New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Rail Trip to Paris from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

To be able to see the Eifel Tower with my youngest son was amazing and taking the Rail thru the Chunnel is something my youngest son can tell his kids. I highly recommend this tour, although it is a long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was well-arranged. Great Rail trip - on-time. The tour guide was punctual and expected us to be punctual as well. As a result we were able to cover a lot in a day. It is a a day trip of course and from that perspective, we got the maximum out of it.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Virgin Rail from London to Liverpool allowed us to enjoy the beautiful English countryside. We were able to make photos and explore Liverpool, be amazed at The Beatles Story, go inside the famous Cavern Club and take a guided tour to the homes of the Beatles, Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, and more. Wonderful time!!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Evan Evans Tours met us at St Pancras Intl Railway with our tour packet. We chose the independent tour so we could see Paris at our pace. While the Hop On, Hop Off bus was part of our deal we really didn't use it except to get us from and to Gare de Nord. My son and I were dropped off at the Eifel Tower. We took a lot of photos and then made our way over the the Arch of Triumph. After spending almost and hour at the Arch we made our way to the Louvre where we spent the rest of our time in Paris. The tour guide that met us at Gare de Nord was friendly and informative. It was a great day! If you don't like the big tour bus thing the independent trips are a great way to see things at your pace. I'd highly recommend this.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We chose the independent trip and Evan Evans Tours met us at King's Cross Railway with our packet. They took great effort to explain everything. It is a long train ride but the reserved seating made the trip comfortable. While Hop On, Hope Off bus pass was included we chose to walk to Edinburgh Castle from the train station. We spent most of our time at the castle but did have enough time to walk through the city and over to Calton Hill. We weren't disappointed.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My 2 day rail trip to Paris was really great. Our guide did a phenomenal job getting into places easily and keeping us on the go all day. My only disappointment was not going onto the Eiffel Tower. The line was several hours long and we would have spent too much of our tour in line. My wife and I travelled to Versailles the second day and truly enjoyded the palace. We would not have been able to see all that we did on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Rail Trip to Paris from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was an awesome day trip! A must for any Beatles fan - from their heyday or not. The only thing I didn't realize was that there is no tour guide on this tour. I was met at the rail station and given an envelope with train tickets, a map of Liverpool and passes to get into The Beatles Story and to get on the Magical Mystery Tour bus...the rest is up to you! If I had realized that I would have done a little bit of research before going, but it's a pretty straight-forward and small city. Every part of the day was fantastic and to top it off, at the end of the bus tour, they drop you off at The Cavern Club - where we spent 2 hours listening to a brother duo who do covers of Lennon and McCartney songs. A great way to end a great day!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

We really enjoyed the trip. The rail was comfortable and trip was well organized. The Mystery Tour and Beatles live was well worth it. You may want to consider allowing some people to take an earlier train back (though we used all the time with other activities, and music in the Cavern Club.)

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is a very long day, but very worthwhile. Very well organised with pick up and return at Lakes District Railway. Train trip from London was efficient and comfortable. A great way to see a beautiful part of England in a day.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A perfect day! Timely pick up at the hotel. Efficient check in at the station, great rail trip. We had the perfect host in Paris. We were able to do see so much in one short day. This was a great tour!

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The first class rail trip to Paris was the only way to be on the train that many hours. The total time for the day was 18 hours. Not the 12 to 14 hour day stated online. Having a first class reservation guaranteed that we had both breakfast and lunch on the train. Otherwise there would not have been either meal for us. The Euro-star train was a great experience, as we had never been on a high speed train before. Our guide met us at the Paris station and led us to the hop on- hop off bus. There is no doubt that we drove past most of the cities major tourist points.Lunch was on our own. The tour of the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dam and the Seine river cruise were all memorable. Especially the river cruise. Our guide did wait for one of the group, who had elected to spend the day on her own, touring the galleries, which was kind of him. This is NOT a guided tour by any stretch of the imagination. However, as stated it gets a tourist to many Paris highlights.

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were the only people on this tour this day, so we were sent off from the rail station by the local trip staff. We were given all the tickets we needed and a map and good directions for how to get around Liverpool. The Beatles Museum and a trip to the Cavern Club makes this exciting. On the Magical Mystery Tour bus you see Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, and houses of the guys.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Although unguided - well worth it, much easier to have the day planned and coordinated than to have to do it yourself. We were met at the rail station, the days events explained to us.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The trip is worth the length of the time on the rail, we recomend it. There is a lot of things we were not able to see because it was a short time in the city, but it was a great opportunity to see some things as the castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the Liverpool Rail Day Trip! The only thing that I would change would be the bus temperature on the Magical Mystery Bus Tour. There was no AC and no windows to open and the outside temperatures were in the mid-80s. The Beatles Museum and the Cavern were great and we were pleasantly surprised at how much we liked the city of Liverpool. I would give this trip 5 stars if the Magical Mystery bus trip was not so stifling.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Pros: The booking through Viator was easy, the tour company were professional and knowledgeable, the travel from London to Dublin via rail and ferry was fun and relaxing, and the hotel in Dublin was clean and in a good location.
Cons: We expected to be traveling with other people but we were on our own; the travel time was long; once we got to the hotel we had to come up with our own itinerary on what to do in Dublin.
This is a great tour for people who only have a few days of travel, like a relaxing journey, and want to get a quick taste of Dublin. I recommend the Hop-on/Hop-off day tour in Dublin once you get there to get a overview of the city. Everyone we met in Dublin was very friendly and helpful so ask around for local adventures. We really enjoyed this tour because we were able to set our own pace and agenda while using the travel time to relax.

Doing what: Best London to Dublin Independent Multi-Day Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Loved the train ride and the Ferry was amazing. The only down side was the location of the hotel, next to the bus station made for a little bit of noise at night, other than that the hotel was nice.. Overall, railtours was helpful, polite and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Best London to Dublin Independent Multi-Day Rail Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a great tour and a good deal since it included the rail ticket. I am only giving it 4 stars though because there was too much packed into one day. I would have preferred to stay longer at some of the places instead of going on the boat ride. There was no time to see the Beatrix Potter Gallery at Hawkshead and eat. And speaking of eating, there needs to be a lot more information about eating. I learned that a "Cream Tea" is a scone and tea only--nothing else. That really needed to be clarified and more information provided about places to eat, but more time provided to actually eat! But it was a small group in a small van, which is necessary since the road we were on were very, very narrow. Beautiful sites, but a lot of driving to get to them and to pick up people along the way.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Unfortunately, the visit to Paris was reduced by more than 2.5 hours due to a fatality on the rail line. Features of my package were what I expected.

Doing what: Budget Independent Rail Tour to Paris by Eurostar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

A great day trip from London. It's important to meet the tour rep at Euston Station to receive the rail, Beatles Story, and Magical Mystery Tour tickets. Their is no tour rep in Liverpool. Be prepared to navigate on your own to get to the Albert Docks. But Liverpool has many guideposts with info and directions to help you, and the people are very friendly and willing to point the way. Once you get to the Albert Docks, you can explore the shops and restaurants. The Beatles Story takes an hour and a half, so that takes up most of the morning. We went to a nearby restaurant called "Revolution" for a nice bite to eat. From there, it was on to the Magical Mystery Tour bus. The tour was a great companion attraction that takes you around the Liverpool the Beatles grew up in. It was a great fun-filled day, recommended for Beatles fans.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The day rail trip to Edinburgh is a must for a traveller who has a bit of time on their hands and want to see a bit more of the United Kingdom. The train ride itself was very relaxing but would recommend that you bring your own snacks and drinks as the train prices are a bit pricy. Remember to take a book or a game to pass the time. Edinburgh is beautiful. The whole city reminds you of medieval times with knights and dragons. Very interesting for younger travelers too.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Very comfortable fiirst class rail ride to beautiful Paris...tour guide was nice and friendly...worth every USA penny

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fine trip for the semi-independent traveler, puts the right tickets in your hand, but that's about it. If you knew your way, you could do more for less. If you really need help, you'd want a guide. For me, it was just about right: rail tickets and hop on hop off. The train back was crowded, but it worked out fine for me. Loved Edinburgh and the scenic ride.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This tour was ideal for those who wish to organise their time within a tour framework. The train trip up took us past some fabulous countryside although the trip back was slightly marred by the railways double booking our tickets.The tour bus was an excellent way to get around the 'old' city with step on/step off options to plan the day's activities.The sights of the city of Edinburgh were crowded with excitement with so many attractions and distractions that the time disappeared effortlessly. The Castle atop the massive volcanic outcrop dominated the city. Guides advise allowing about 3 hours to visit the Castle, however, I spent over 3 and a half hours and saw only those parts related to earlier than 1600AD and it was barely enough time. The place is stunning and could easily take all your time from dawn to dusk to see properly. The shops along the steep road leading to the Castle were fascinating, and to add to the excitement and colour, the Fringe Festival was in full swing. I also visited St Giles Cathedral as the High Church of Scotland and a distant part of my ancestry. I would recommend this church to all visitors as an excellent example of church architecture with particular emphasis on the glorious Thistle Chaple. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and appreciate the chance to visit Edinburgh in my short time in the UK.

Doing what: Edinburgh Rail Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message