London might not be blessed with a tropical climate and sandy beaches, but the British capital still knows how to make the most of the summer months. From outdoor cinemas and music festivals to swimming in the lake, here are some ideas for how to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The small group trip is the way to go. Our driver, mike, was excellent-really appreciated all of the historical information that he shared with us along our journey. It is a busy day, doesn't afford a lot of time in bath or Windsor, but was a great way to see three amazing sites. Have already recommended to a friend who is going to london later this summer!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Bath and Windsor from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Steve who works only during summer was phenomenal. He was highly efficient in making sure everything ran on time, so funny and knew so much about the British history, it really made the difference.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had been to Stonehenge and Bath before, but the beautiful weather really helped.
Did see more of Bath than I did before. Beautiful garden park below town--summer best time for flowers!
Roman bath was fascinating to my friend. Enjoyed Salisbury Cathedral.
Had a nice, knowledgeable tour guide. Given audio devices that told us of what we saw.
Given enough time to do 3 included places.

Doing what: Salisbury, Lacock and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Super recommended on your first visit to London! Though in other cities is not that big help, at London makes everything easier. Traveling is easier and entrances are quicker. If you're traveling on summer you must get one.

Doing what: London Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver David was a pleasure. He was accommodating, knowledgable, thoughtful, resourceful and an excellent guide. David exceeded our expectations in every regard. Would not hesitate to employ him again. The black cab though roomcommas not air conditioned which would have alleviated the sweltering heat. I would not hire an unfair conditioned cab during the hot summer again. The driver/guide was terrific and though the comfort of the car was an issue in the unseasonal heat I would still rate this a five star experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: The London of Shakespeare, the Beatles, James Bond and Sherlock Holmes by Traditional Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We start out at the Algerian Coffee House on Old Compton Road where we try their dark-, milk-, and white-chocolate coated coffee beans which they have been making and serving for over 50 years. Reportedly, they have the cheapest coffee in all of London. It is a no-frills whole-in-the-wall, but in-depth coffee knowledge of the whole world. It made me think that these people were true explorers. Then we cross the street to visit the Hotel Chocolat candy shop. The Hotel Choclat is the only chocolate shop in London who grows their own cocoa, in the rainforests of St. Lucia. Here we try their summer truffle – dark chocolate mojito.
Next it is the Paul A Young chocolate shop, who has won the championship for the best chocolate confection for the last 2 years and is expected to win again this year. Here we all try his award winning caramel truffle, where the caramel is a warm, buttery liquid center. Then we get to choose a second truffle of our liking. Then it is on to the East India Tea Company where we sample various hot and cold teas and any number of cookies, crackers, and jams. Afterwards, we take a detour through Soho to CovCovent Garden stopping at Freggo, an Argentinian gelato shop. Here we snake around the shop and call out the flavors we want to try. I try their signature Dolce de Leche, followed by Banana Split, and Raspberry. Then we visit the inventors of the truffle, Prestat. What an adorable little chocolate shop that has been in business for a century! It is said to be the inspiration for “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” and I can see why. Here we taste the classic truffle with cocoa powder coating. We end our tour at the Fortnum and Mason department store and a visit to their candy “counter”. Here we are treated to two more truffles including a strawberry and black pepper (I can’t even describe how well this works!!) and a passion fruit in dark chocolate.

Two hours, two miles, and six truffles later, our tour has come to an end.

Doing what: London's Chocolate Walking Tour

Victor V
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful time visiting these 3 attractions. The time is short, but you must go. Warwick Castle is really great and if you have time, go on summer and spend one full day there because there are some special attractions like trebutchet, just, medieval clothing, etc. You have less than two hours to visit, so need to hurry through the walls, state apartments and fields to take photos and know the history. The castle is much like Disneyland today, with shops, tickets, music, but all these elements help to dream of living in that times.
Stratford is a calm and beautiful old city. Go of course to Shakespare museum and visit his house. The shop sells some unique products for fans of good literature. We wish we could have more time in that city, many houses are about 200-700 years old! Oxford was nice, but we couldn't visit Christ Church, so you'll to be lucky, once it suddenly closes. Many historical characters had passed through this University full of richness and knowledge.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour. The only tour available for our dates that allowed us to go inside the circle was the private viewing at sunrise. We were picked up at a specific hotel about 5 am and after several more stops to pick up others on our tour, we left London for Stonehenge. The tour delivered what they promised with one exception...we did not arrive at Stonehenge until AFTER sunrise. Even though we did not see the sunrise it was a marvelous experience. We were met by the security person and escorted to the circle where our guide gave us some basic information. Only 25 people were allowed inside the circle at a time for 30 minutes. We were in the second group. As the first group viewed the stones, we walked around on the pathway around the circle. When we were allowed inside the circle, we were given more information by our guide. As it turned out, the security person had a ton of information about the background of the stones as well as some great pictures of the summer and winter solstice (I think).

Gong to Bath and Lacock were nice add ons but Stonehenge was definitely the star of the show for us

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

Deborah A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Amazing day out. Bath and Stonehenge were excellent. Would go back and spend a week in Bath, its gorgeous. Windsor Castle in the summer time is a basic waste of time and is very busy. Everyone on the bus agreed Windsor Castle was not worth the stop in the summer. Beautiful drive across country. P.S When the guide asks you on the way out of Bath can anyone spot anything unusual - its a white horse painted on a hill way off in the distance. You'll get a lolly for your efforts

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We did a day trip to Paris and had --SAMI --- BEST TOUR GUIDE EVER--- he is worth his weight in gold.
If you only have one day in paris or if you have more make sure you get SAMI as your tour guide.
He made sure we had NO WAIT at any tourist attraction, whether it was the eiffel tower , Notre Dam, The Louvre, or even no wait at lunch, and he took us this great bistro with the best food, we went in the middle of summer and there were lines for hours everywhere we went. He will recommend things and he is right to do so. He is very friendly with everyone in Paris. He knows Paris and its history, he knows everyone that works at all the places that we go. I have no doubt he could get anything in a hurry.
He is very kind and energetic, he is also very kind to others needing help that are not in our tour, my husband and I saw it first hand. He is a huge asset for Viator. I would use Viator again and especially ask only for Sami when in Paris again. Thanks SAMI --- The Haag's from northern california

Doing what: Paris Rail Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Booked through Viator, tour conducted by Evan Evans Tours. Incredible Tour!! David our tour guide was the best tour guide I have ever had. He is funny, smart, knowledgable and answers any questions you may have. Carlos our bus driver was Great also!

Windsor Castle is excellent! You get to go inside to see all the rooms and interior. Amazingly beautiful. This is where the Queen summers. David our tour guide tells you all the highlight spots to hit! If you have never been to Bath, you will fall in love with this city. The Roman Baths are great but the city is very small and beautiful. It feels like you are in England! Coming from the United States this is what I imagined England to be. I will be coming back to Bath for a multi day stay in the future. Stonehenge is Stonehenge! surreal being there! A site that everyone must see in person. You get chills walking up to it. Just magical. David does a great job telling you about everything plus more along the bus ride all day. Anything fun and interesting we drive by he comments on. David was born to give tours! He is incredible. I booked this towards the end of my trip. I would recommend booking this at the beginning of your trip. David and others give great restaurant, interesting spots, fun ideas to do while staying in London. Don't miss this tour, you will regret!

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic tour, well organised and timely. Windsor Castle is a must, the dolls house was very beautiful about half hour line to get it but worth it; Oxford loved the history and shopping, our guide was very knowledgeable about all the sites. Stonehenge, amazing and cold, even in early summer take a jacket :)

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

If you are going here during the summer these skip the line tickets are the only way to do it, and even then you need to get there at opening time. We arrived about 9:30 AM and there was already a short line for priority entrance, when we came out, the lines were, oh my goodness, so so long, I've never seen lines that long for an attraction like this, it was staggering, they went on and on forever, the lines were so long, people had set up little puppet shows to entertain the people waiting in line! Inside, it is very crowded but we still had a lot of fun with it. The 4D Marvel show was great and my 10 yr old grandson thought it was the best thing ever! We have never been to a wax museum before so this was really fun, new and exciting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Madame Tussauds London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved it! The extended time was great as it allowed you time to get all your photos and really get a feel for it. We went the 4.30pm time slot and given summer it was still light when we got out and we were within the last tour groups which meant less people! This is a great tour - make sure you book in advance.

Doing what: Harry Potter Tour of Warner Bros. Studio in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The morning was cold and wet as we set of on our tour...and...it was suppose to be *summer*. Totally enjoyed the tour, Stonehenge was all that l have read about and more. It is so incredible, amazing, mysterious, even the cold icy wind chilling us to the bone and the misty rain falling added to the whole experience of the trip. We had the best guide for this trip, he was amazing. l would go again.......

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, and Medieval Village of Lacock Including Traditional Pub Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very nice, although a bit windy on the night we went, but still nice...prepare for changing weather. During summer go later so you can enjoy the lights.

Doing what: London Night Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic production of a show that I have seen 8 or so times, my only tip would be to dress lightly because the theatre was so hot as it was a cold day and naturally we were dressed to keep warm for walking, catching tube home etc. just forgot to wear that sleeveless summer dress under our layers!!!

Doing what: Les Miserables Theater Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

There's nothing like watching a Shakespearian play in THE theatre it was written for - albeit a rehearsal of Midsummer Night's Dream. Our guide was a wealth of knowledge and there were lots of interactive materials to add to the experience. After the tour, we were free to wander back with the audio sets and continue our self-tour. Certainly a highlight of my life :-)

Doing what: Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful! You have to go. It was a huge production with incredible sets, costumes and voices. They do sell half priced tickets in the West End, but know that every show sells out. If you're going to London in the summer you'd be wise to purchase your ticket here.

Doing what: Wicked the Musical Theater Show

Helen707
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Being blessed with perfect weather we had a wondeful visit. Grounds fantastic, Palm house lovely and even more interesting is the temperate house as it is being prepared to move plants and close for a 5yr refurb, so hurry up and go before the summer. Saved over £10 on tickets for 2 using Vitor!

Doing what: Kew Gardens Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Another beautiful place to visit, just a shame the tribute to DIana will not open until summer. However we spent a lovely few hours there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kensington Palace Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The tour guide from Evan Evans was very Knowledgeable and kept the group well informed. I have already instructed friends to book through viator on their trips this summer. Incredible tour, great price. Way to go Viator

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fabulous tour!!!
Our guide knew EVERYTHING about the London of the sixties, when I rocked out to the Beatles, Stones . . . and then Queen . . . it was so much fun! Took us off the beaten track to see Freddie Mercury's home and more obscure sites that suited our 'summer of love' interests! He also recommended a visit to 'Trident Studios' - and we thank him for this suggestion. Wish we could remember our guide's name . . . he was the best!!

Doing what: London Rock Music Bohemian Soho and North London Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This trip met my expectations. I was pleased that it was a small group of only 21 people. The tour left on time and the bus was clean and comfortable. The Tour Director, David, was sensational. His enthusiasm about the tour and his knowledge of the sites we visited deepened our experience. He was educational as well as personable. And, he made it FUN. There was a never a dull moment! We were so grateful to be able to enter the circle of Stonehenge. It was an experience of a lifetime for us. And, the guards at Stonehenge were also helpful answering many of our questions about this mysterious site. Truly a mystical experience for us. We enjoyed seeing Lacock in all it's simplicity. It was such a sweet place. The staff at The George Inn where we had breakfast were efficient and friendly. Bath was amazing too though very crowded with tourists. We thought the tour was great and I have already recommended it to friends going to England this summer.

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We had the best time on this boat trip! We went for my husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to go fast on the Thames. We are planning to go again this summer when the weather is warmer.

Doing what: River Thames High-Speed Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message