London might not be blessed with a tropical climate and sandy beaches, but the British capital still knows how to make the most of the summer months. From outdoor cinemas and music festivals to swimming in the lake, here are some ideas for how to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

London Eye with Skip-the-Line is a must. We went in April, not a super congested time in London, and the line was long. I cannot imagine the lines during the summer months. Definitively worth it.

Doing what: London Eye Ticket with Skip-the-Line

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful way to see the sites initially. The information on the historical and modern day points of interest allowed us to determine the places and events that we wished to focus on within our 3 day exploration of this city. Have recommended this as an intro to fellow Canadian travelers visiting this summer.

Doing what: Big Bus London Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much! Our tour guide made long drives between locations interesting and fun. We took the tour in December so unfortunately it was too dark to really enjoy Bath our last destination but I'm sure it's not the case for spring and summer months. I'm also very thankful to our guide making it possible for many of us to go inside Roman Baths. We're late because some of the people didn't return from breaks on time and he literally ran with us from the bus to Roman Baths showing the way.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

AI S Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I made the booking just a day before the tour via Viator's app - which was a breeze! Our tour guide Monica was a gem! She spoke in English and Portuguese, with much wit and charm! She gave us a crash course on English history en route, which I find very interesting. First stop was Warwick Castle - we were given roughly 1.5 hours there. My partner and I sneaked off to its garden cafe instead, only returning to the castle proper about half an hour to meeting time. Then we went on to Stratford-on-Avon, spending another hour or so discovering Shakespeare's birthplace. Try to grab a bite at the town square, as stops were limited in frequency and duration. A drive through the Cotswolds took us to Oxford - Monica's knowledge about this university city made me wonder if she graduated from it! Lots of walking, so wear comfortable shoes! I know this tour was a sampler tour, and one mustn't expect too much from it due to time constraints. But having said that, a quick stop at the picturesque Cotswolds would've been marvelous. I had taken a trip to the Cotswolds in summer back in year 2000, so I know the area was worth at least half an hour for pics. But overall, this was a very enjoyable trip, and highly recommended for those who don't have the luxury of time and access to own transportation. Just sit back, relax and take in the scenery!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

nols

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good idea to book ahead. Saved a lot of waiting time as the queues were ridiculous on a nice summer day!

Doing what: London Eye Ticket with Skip-the-Line

Tunku Fatimah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A not-to-be missed summer event! Everything you've always wanted to know about Buckingham Palace is clearly explained. The tea spread was really good.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Afternoon Tea

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

All I can say is awesome! This was so worth the money. Not just for the view and the ride, but we did not have to wait on a queue which was up to 2 hours long!!! Even the Fast Track lines were an hour long! We cut all the lines and went on right away, only about 12 people in the pod with us, had champagne and my 8 year old daughter had delicious orange juice as we enjoyed the wheel. My husband who is deathly afraid of heights went on anxiously and nervously, but he was totally not affected by this ride. Even if you are afraid of heights, you can totally do this. Our personal guide, Ali, was a pleasure to have on board. He was an adorable university student so full of life and all smiles and so pleasant. We will definitely do this ride again the next time we are back in London next summer.

Doing what: London Eye: Champagne Experience

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The reason why I am giving this tour 5 stars is because of our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. The tour of the palace was nice, but I was not really impressed. I assumed that we would be able to see the Royal living and work quarters since the Queen was on her Scottish holiday. But, it was just the state rooms. Although, the exhibit theme was interesting as it was based on the idea that the visitor was an important foreign dignitary invited to dinner with the Queen. So, the dining ballroom was fancied up so beautifully, so formally and elegantly. NOw, going back to Kieran, he was amazing!!! Kieran knew SO much about the guard ceremony - in detail, about the Palace, about the Royal family and British history. He explained everything so specifically and was SO knowledgable. I learned so much from Kieran. Kieran was so great at relating what was going with current events and other tidbits in British history. The best part was that Kieran was entertaining!!! I wish he was my history teacher when I was still in school. The Afternoon Tea was excellent as well. Kieran gave us history about how it came about and why it started and how it became an important part of English culture. I loved Kieran so much that when we go back to London next year, we will inquire about tours that Kieran is leading at City Wonders and take those tours! That is how brilliant he is! I just hope he is still there next summer. Thank you so much, Kieran, for making our visit to London so memorable.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Churchill Bunker tour was extremely fascinating and the Museum itself is very impressive. It was definitely worth seeing. There was so much to see and learn. But, the most impressive part of our tour was our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. Kieran was just the best tour guide ever. He was so knowledgeable, so excited about the subject matter and it was very obvious that he really knew his stuff and had a strong personal interest because he did not sound like a boring guide book. The next time we go back to London, we are only taking tours that Kieran is leading. I hope Kieran is still at City Wonders next summer. Thank you again, Kieran for a wonderful London experience.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Ms Plaxey United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was awesome.Staff were brilliant from the Office,Ground and the Pilot.Very friendly,funny and curtious.Will definitely be back next Summer!!Melanie and your colleague thanks for the photos.You made my day so enjoyable being a Solo Traveller!

Doing what: Helicopter Flight in London

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The small group trip is the way to go. Our driver, mike, was excellent-really appreciated all of the historical information that he shared with us along our journey. It is a busy day, doesn't afford a lot of time in bath or Windsor, but was a great way to see three amazing sites. Have already recommended to a friend who is going to london later this summer!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Bath and Windsor from London

Liru C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Steve who works only during summer was phenomenal. He was highly efficient in making sure everything ran on time, so funny and knew so much about the British history, it really made the difference.

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bath, Including Pub Lunch in Medieval Village of Lacock

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tickets were so easy to purchase and having them in hand was perfect to avoid some very, very long lines during the busy summer tourist season. It was a great tour. I am glad that I purchased my tickets through your website.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I had been to Stonehenge and Bath before, but the beautiful weather really helped.
Did see more of Bath than I did before. Beautiful garden park below town--summer best time for flowers!
Roman bath was fascinating to my friend. Enjoyed Salisbury Cathedral.
Had a nice, knowledgeable tour guide. Given audio devices that told us of what we saw.
Given enough time to do 3 included places.

Doing what: Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath Day Trip from London

Ayala C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was just straight up fun. You get into this clear plastic pod (that's amazingly temperature controlled unlike most of everything else in London) and get to go high up in the air for fabulous views. It's not scary (I fear heights) and there's much fun to be had.

Just be prepared for the fact that there will be a bunch of strangers in there with you (unless you're with a large group) who will all be trying to take pictures of the same things you are. It can be a bit crowded, but totally worth it.

Also, I chose the option to pay more to skip the line. It didn't the skip the line completely, I still had to stand in line with everyone else who chose to skip the line, but it did make it shorter. So if you're going on a heavy traffic day (see weekends or summer) it is recommended.

Doing what: London Eye Ticket with Skip-the-Line

Daniela T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Super recommended on your first visit to London! Though in other cities is not that big help, at London makes everything easier. Traveling is easier and entrances are quicker. If you're traveling on summer you must get one.

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our driver David was a pleasure. He was accommodating, knowledgable, thoughtful, resourceful and an excellent guide. David exceeded our expectations in every regard. Would not hesitate to employ him again. The black cab though roomcommas not air conditioned which would have alleviated the sweltering heat. I would not hire an unfair conditioned cab during the hot summer again. The driver/guide was terrific and though the comfort of the car was an issue in the unseasonal heat I would still rate this a five star experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: The London of Shakespeare, the Beatles, James Bond and Sherlock Holmes by Traditional Black Cab

Toni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good to get over Summer to avoid the lines.

Doing what: London Eye Ticket with Skip-the-Line

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We start out at the Algerian Coffee House on Old Compton Road where we try their dark-, milk-, and white-chocolate coated coffee beans which they have been making and serving for over 50 years. Reportedly, they have the cheapest coffee in all of London. It is a no-frills whole-in-the-wall, but in-depth coffee knowledge of the whole world. It made me think that these people were true explorers. Then we cross the street to visit the Hotel Chocolat candy shop. The Hotel Choclat is the only chocolate shop in London who grows their own cocoa, in the rainforests of St. Lucia. Here we try their summer truffle – dark chocolate mojito.
Next it is the Paul A Young chocolate shop, who has won the championship for the best chocolate confection for the last 2 years and is expected to win again this year. Here we all try his award winning caramel truffle, where the caramel is a warm, buttery liquid center. Then we get to choose a second truffle of our liking. Then it is on to the East India Tea Company where we sample various hot and cold teas and any number of cookies, crackers, and jams. Afterwards, we take a detour through Soho to CovCovent Garden stopping at Freggo, an Argentinian gelato shop. Here we snake around the shop and call out the flavors we want to try. I try their signature Dolce de Leche, followed by Banana Split, and Raspberry. Then we visit the inventors of the truffle, Prestat. What an adorable little chocolate shop that has been in business for a century! It is said to be the inspiration for “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” and I can see why. Here we taste the classic truffle with cocoa powder coating. We end our tour at the Fortnum and Mason department store and a visit to their candy “counter”. Here we are treated to two more truffles including a strawberry and black pepper (I can’t even describe how well this works!!) and a passion fruit in dark chocolate.

Two hours, two miles, and six truffles later, our tour has come to an end.

Doing what: London's Chocolate Walking Tour

john_coules

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This will save you a lot of time especially in summer and busy times, Go first thing in the morning as crowds grow even in winter (I went January 19th Sunday)

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Victor V Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful time visiting these 3 attractions. The time is short, but you must go. Warwick Castle is really great and if you have time, go on summer and spend one full day there because there are some special attractions like trebutchet, just, medieval clothing, etc. You have less than two hours to visit, so need to hurry through the walls, state apartments and fields to take photos and know the history. The castle is much like Disneyland today, with shops, tickets, music, but all these elements help to dream of living in that times.
Stratford is a calm and beautiful old city. Go of course to Shakespare museum and visit his house. The shop sells some unique products for fans of good literature. We wish we could have more time in that city, many houses are about 200-700 years old! Oxford was nice, but we couldn't visit Christ Church, so you'll to be lucky, once it suddenly closes. Many historical characters had passed through this University full of richness and knowledge.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Marian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour. The only tour available for our dates that allowed us to go inside the circle was the private viewing at sunrise. We were picked up at a specific hotel about 5 am and after several more stops to pick up others on our tour, we left London for Stonehenge. The tour delivered what they promised with one exception...we did not arrive at Stonehenge until AFTER sunrise. Even though we did not see the sunrise it was a marvelous experience. We were met by the security person and escorted to the circle where our guide gave us some basic information. Only 25 people were allowed inside the circle at a time for 30 minutes. We were in the second group. As the first group viewed the stones, we walked around on the pathway around the circle. When we were allowed inside the circle, we were given more information by our guide. As it turned out, the security person had a ton of information about the background of the stones as well as some great pictures of the summer and winter solstice (I think).

Gong to Bath and Lacock were nice add ons but Stonehenge was definitely the star of the show for us

Doing what: Private Viewing of Stonehenge including Bath and Lacock

Deborah A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Amazing day out. Bath and Stonehenge were excellent. Would go back and spend a week in Bath, its gorgeous. Windsor Castle in the summer time is a basic waste of time and is very busy. Everyone on the bus agreed Windsor Castle was not worth the stop in the summer. Beautiful drive across country. P.S When the guide asks you on the way out of Bath can anyone spot anything unusual - its a white horse painted on a hill way off in the distance. You'll get a lolly for your efforts

Doing what: Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London

Bonita R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great view! Make sure you do it on a non rainy day unlike we did. We were locked into a the date we chose. Get a flex ticket instead. Unless you go in the Summer. We went in Sept. but the first two days there was no rain.

Doing what: London Eye Ticket with Skip-the-Line

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What a great tour. We took the advise of other travellers and waited for the Beefeater tour and it was well worth the wait. The only regret is that we didn't get there a little earlier. We were able to get in to see the crown jewels after the tour but didn't have enough time to see the other buildings. The cues to get in to see the crown jewels and torture chamber were very long. In the summer, if you are taking the tour..give yourself more than 3 hours to see it all.

Doing what: Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message