One of the last ruling monarchies in the world, the British Royal Family are the ultimate celebrities: born to rule. For centuries the Kings and Queens of England have lived in splendor and in London you can visit some of their homes, past and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Robert M
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seemed to be just the right amount of time to do a look through the palace. The changing of the guard is worth seeing but not entirely necessary to pay for it though having a guide to explain different things was nice. It was a bit of a walk overall so I wouldn't recommend it to someone who has trouble walking but it wasn't a marathon by any means. The tea afterwards was a nice ending. Claudia our guide was well informed and gave us a very good tour. She was also careful with the group as several were a bit older and were having trouble with the walk.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Phill, and he was excellent! Not only was he very friendly and knowledgeable, he made the tour very interesting with many personal antecdotes. We started out with the Horseguards Parade, which was a very cool ceremony followed by a lovely walk through the beautiful St. James Park. Buckingham Palace is gorgeous on the inside and it was an added bonus to be able to skip ahead in the line with our advanced ticket. We wrapped up our day with a delicious afternoon tea at the historic and beautiful St. Ermin's Hotel. This was an excellent tour and I'd highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Confusing where to meet our guide. He wasted our time. He did not know how to get our tickets. While we were in the stables he could have got our Buckingham tickets but instead kept us waiting outside to get the tickets. The Palace tour itself was great

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was awesome. A rare chance to see Buckingham palace. One of the best audioguides I have ever had.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and very informative and friendly. Unknown to us their is various changing of the guards that happen daily. Our guide was able to show us these different guard changes. You do a lot of walking on this tour and sometimes need to move fast to see the different changing of the guards. So would not recommend for the less mobile. The tour of Buckingham palace very interesting and my family enjoyed it. The afternoon tea was excellent and very filling. So do not eat a lot before going on the tour. Very relaxing sitting and enjoying the tea. Our guide sat and talked with us during the tea and was nice to get his perspective of London.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The reason why I am giving this tour 5 stars is because of our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. The tour of the palace was nice, but I was not really impressed. I assumed that we would be able to see the Royal living and work quarters since the Queen was on her Scottish holiday. But, it was just the state rooms. Although, the exhibit theme was interesting as it was based on the idea that the visitor was an important foreign dignitary invited to dinner with the Queen. So, the dining ballroom was fancied up so beautifully, so formally and elegantly. NOw, going back to Kieran, he was amazing!!! Kieran knew SO much about the guard ceremony - in detail, about the Palace, about the Royal family and British history. He explained everything so specifically and was SO knowledgable. I learned so much from Kieran. Kieran was so great at relating what was going with current events and other tidbits in British history. The best part was that Kieran was entertaining!!! I wish he was my history teacher when I was still in school. The Afternoon Tea was excellent as well. Kieran gave us history about how it came about and why it started and how it became an important part of English culture. I loved Kieran so much that when we go back to London next year, we will inquire about tours that Kieran is leading at City Wonders and take those tours! That is how brilliant he is! I just hope he is still there next summer. Thank you so much, Kieran, for making our visit to London so memorable.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fabulous time on this tour. Our guide Georgia was wonderful and so full of history lessons for us. The palace was breathtaking and the afternoon tea was wonderful. We really enjoyed this day.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Dr. Dolly
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Inside Palace visit was a treat! Tour guide was very helpful in ensuring that my husband who uses a walker was able to get around and find elevator. We are so happy we were there when the palace was open to visitors.

The tea service was tasty, but wish we were not stuck in a separate room with no windows. Would have prefered to sit in the main tea room which was much more tranquil and bright. I am glad we had a chance to experience English tea.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a pleasant surprise. We had a great time. Buckingham Palace was simply beautiful. We saw the changing of the horse guard and walked through St. James Garden then into the palace. We were with our guide 45 minutes before entering and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. You have audio guides inside. We also saw the Queen's garden. The tea was at a lovely hotel about 20 minutes from the end of the palace tour. It was a nice walk. The tea and sandwiches and pastries were delicious. We were ready for food by then.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing, we were so happy to have been there when the Queen was out of town so that we could go inside Buckingham Palace. Disappointed that no pictures were allowed but still enjoyed the tour. I thought we would skip the tea as my son and I don't drink it but we decided since we paid for it to go ahead and do it and we LOVED it. We both found that we love fruit infused tea and the desserts were to die for.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is really the best way to see Buckingham Palace! The guides take you to the best vantage points for the changing of the guards, explain the history and importance of what is going on outside, before getting you through the crowds which are enormous to the palace gate for a self-guided tour headphone audio tour. Our guide was terrific and absolutely correct when he explained on the onset of the tour, that the people lined up at the palace from early morning will miss the actual pomp and circumstance of the horse guards through the streets, as is happens from the guard house behind the palace - which is where you will be. Once in the palace, you can tour at your leisure.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our experience visiting Buckingham Palace and watching the changing if the guard. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable and provided us with lots of information. We enjoyed the afternoon tea. It was great to sit down with the people who had taken the tour and discuss what we had seen and to chat about ourselves and the trips we were taking.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably my 2nd best tour of the nine we took. Our guide Shabby was funny, friendly, and full of very interesting information. The inside of Buckingham Palace is so phenomenally impressive you just can't go home without seeing it. She also took us to the perfect photo spot for changing of the Queen's Horse Guard. The private dining room at a 5 Star Hotel was the perfect setting for our afternoon tea. The tea, scones, and tea sandwiches were served very elegantly and quite delicious.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide. The tour group size was small. Enjoyed learning the history of London, seeing the points of interest along the route to Buckingham Palace and the tour of the Palace. Afternoon high tea was a perfect way to end the day. Well organized tour.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour and our guide made it that much better! The highlights were definitely going inside Buckingham Palace, watching the Changing of the Guard at the Household Cavalry, and enjoying tea time with everyone on the tour. The only thing that would've made the tour better? If the Queen could've joined us for tea :P

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent. The tour guide was very friendly, funny and very knowledgable of London. She took us on a tour of Westminster and we watched the Palace Guards. Although we didn't see the actual Changing of the Guards ceremony, it was enjoyable. After many visits to London and just seeing the outside of Buckingham Palace, it was thrilling to actually go inside. It was beautiful of course. The afternoon tea at The Rubens Hotel was very nice. i would have preferred not sitting in a separate room with little ambience. The food was delicious and presented very well. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was great as well as the tour guide. Only tip I would give to others is bring a drink, snack, lunch if you are on a long tour. We got prime spots on the changing of the guard and 3 other times to take pictures of the other guards around the palace. Tea time they gave PLENTY of food and even offered togo boxes for later.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,i must admit I was not entirely looking towards this tour, which my wife had booked, but after receiving a warm welcome at Westminster proceeded to thoroughly enjoy the tour.
The guide(Josh) was extremely knowledge able and very friendly, in fact it was noticeable that he took time out to answer questions and converse with everyone.
The tour itself was obviously a delight, the sights , monuments, story's, etc all brought back memories of history lessons from days gone by.
we witnessed the changing of the guard, it was in essence very "English", and showed how proud we are of our heritage.
The Palace - well one would expect it to be good, it was in fact excellent.
I for one would highly recommend this tour.
All in all 10 out of 10.

Eric Todd
Tour A Group - 24 September 2014.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a 2.5 hours walking tour. But it is worthed. We're given the wireless headsets, so we can hear what the tour guide was talking about, it is a good way to check if we're still following the tour guide. Walking from Victoria station all the way to Buckingham palace, visiting Downing street (PM residence), Changing the guard and entrance into Buckingham palace. Good cafe at the back of Buckingham palace, so you can have your lunch and relax. Make sure you're ready for late lunch at around 2pm, so bring something to eat and drink during the walking tour, wear comfortable shoes

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ahhh what a great experience to tour this great piece of history and luckily we happen to in London at the right time to experience the palace. Just great. afternoon tea was the best. I definately recommend this tour

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best part was the change of the guard. That day it was the mounted guard. Just beautiful. The palace is great, and it's only open August and September. No pictures though. Be ready to walk, and walk, and walk. The tea in the afternoon was in a very nice hotel and it was really nice experience. The guide has much to do with the experience. Our guide was a girl named Shabby. She was awesome, really great, knowledgeable and funny and knew the good spots for the change of guard. She knows so much about the history of the whole area and makes the tour a must if you go to beautiful London in September. Thanks Shabby from Hector and Rita in Naples Florida.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour! Ask for Shabby, the tour guide. When I first saw I would be following a flag, I thought, oh no! But Shabby made the trip fabulous. Extremely enthusiastic, full of personality, and so much information, all delivered with such vigour. The Palace itself was awe inspiring. Such architecture, design, to tread those halls, see the grand rooms, I will never forget. The art collections, to be so close to Rembranbts, Rubin etc, literally jaw dropping moments. I loved it. And then to finish it all off with a delightful afternoon tea.
Was an absolute highlight of my stay in London, Thanks Shabby! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

On a wet and windy day in London we were very lucky to have Shabby from CityWonders as our tour guide. Shabby has the best personality and was just terrific!! Would not do another tour in London without her!! Shabby makes history come alive - she has a very special talent! Absolutely loved this tour and would recommend it to anyone going over to London. Buckingham Palace is a must do tour at this time of year!

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide met us on time at the Royal Mews and let us wandered around the Royal Mews at our own pace for an hour. He then met us to a short walk to the Buckingham Palace. After going through security, we took our time to look through the splendor of the interior of the Palace. It was awesome and well worth it!

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and truly enjoyed sharing his enthusiasm for British culture made this tour very informative and memorable. A definite 'must' if you're in London when the Palace is open for tours!

Doing what: Best Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message