One of the last ruling monarchies in the world, the British Royal Family are the ultimate celebrities: born to rule. For centuries the Kings and Queens of England have lived in splendor and in London you can visit some of their homes, past and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hammondll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We arrived for vacation in London on September 25 and the next day, September 26, was my wife's birthday. We celebrated on her birthday by taking a tour of Buckingham Palace. The tour included the Changing of the Guard, an interior tour of the Buckingham Palace State Rooms and High Tea at St. Ermin's Hotel. The whole day was a wonderful experience and we have to give a lot of the credit to our guide, Augusta Harris. She kept our group well organized, got us to excellent viewing positions for the Changing of the Guards, provided us very clear information to insure that we got the most out of our tour of the staterooms and walked us to the hotel for High Tea. It was an excellent way to celebrate a birthday!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour which is only available in August/September when te Queen is at her residence in Balmoral. Our guide was womderful....she was a wealth of information and timed everything perfectly to maximize our view of the spectacular horse guards and then a stunning tour of Buckingham Palace which was truly jaw dropping! Then off toma lovely high tea at a charming hotel.... A quintessentially British day indeed!!!!! Highly recommend this itinerary!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Richard, the tour guide, was very informative. We loved seeing the Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. You should definitely take this trip if you have limited time in London. You do see some of the major sights with a little history mixed in.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Delia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my favorite part of our trip. Augusta was excellent. We saw the opening ceremony at the Tower of London, spoke to a Yeoman Warder and saw the crown jewels before the crowds. Augusta explained the sights as we took a short ferry ride to the changing of the guard. If we had tried to see the changing of the guard without a tour guide, we would have just gone to Buckingham Palace with the crowd. The best decision we could have made was to go on this tour. Augusta expertly knew where we should stand and how to time it so we had the best unobstructed view of the changing of the guard and band away from the crowd at Buckingham Palace. Her knowledge and experience was invaluable as we would have never known to go to those areas on our own. Overall, it was a great tour and my favorite part of our trip!

Doing what: Best of Royal London Walking Tour Including the Tower of London and Changing of The Guard

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent experience. Great guide.the palace was amazing and afternoon tea at St Ermins was lovely.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Janine A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is really the best way to beat the crowds and get to see the Royal Mews and the Palace but go at your own pace. Very easy access and instructions and when in London this is a must do

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

Gregw720

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent. She learned all of our names. She talked non stop with history, stories and jokes so we were all entertained and educated. We didn't really see the changing of the guard, but I didn't care. Inside the palace was the highlight for me. Afternoon tea was nice, again an entertaining education.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Experienced delightful tour guide. Buckingham Palace well worth visiting

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Marijana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Again, a superb tour. Buckingham Palace is wonderful and breathtaking to visit. The mews were fantastic but the palace more so. The tour ended with an opportunity to have morning or afternoon tea is royal style and it was a great finale to the tour. It was slow paced, not stressful and very rewarding. The grounds were superb to walk through and it was just about the best tour we went on. I would thoroughly recommend this tour as well and the all day Downton and Cotswolds tour too.

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the money and time! Augusta was our guide and she was fantastic, knowledgeable, funny and an expert at navigating the crazy crowds around Buckingham Palace. She knew exactly where to go for a view of the horse guard while avoiding the masses of people at the Palace gates. Budget more time for this tour. Felt a bit rushed leaving tea to make it to a 4pm tour of Parliament.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta was a great tour guide. She helped us to get the best position for the changing of the guards. We were able to skip the line and get into the palace before the crowd. Afterwards we had tea at a nice hotel, and though I am a man, I appreciate a relaxing afternoon with lots of sugary treats :

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

lorraine_hawkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Four of us all enjoyed the whole visit to the Royal Mews and The Palace, would definitely be going again next year.

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Marvellous experience everything was fine. The thing that surprised us most was how much access we had to the palace. The mews gave a terrific insight of the grandeur of coaches etc.

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

Gisele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We loved our Buckingham Palace Tour with Viator. Our guide was amazing and made the experience
delightful. Looking forward to booking other tours.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Trenee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Since Buckingham is only open for 2 months a year we scheduled our trip to do this tour. It was well worth it!! Georgia was our guide and was entertaining as well as knowledgeable. The afternoon tea at Rubens topped off the afternoon. My only advice is to request Georgia as your guide and please Viator add enough time at the end of the tour for a few minutes at the Palace gift shop.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Sherry T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was great. He was very funny and charming, which made the tour enjoyable. Also, it was great to be able to visit inside the palace due to the Queen being on holiday.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Homer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Got to visit the palace and mews, not to be missed!

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

Martin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was great! We saw the Changing of the Guard up close and he took us to the beginning, middle and end of the ceremony. Loved the Palace tour and the tea and sandwiches at the end were wonderful. The hotel was very nice and historic.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great way to spend our last day in London. We had a lovely leisurely stroll through St James Park stopping to watch the changing of the Horse Guards. Our guide was very mindful of the older people in the group and those who had trouble walking fast and kept to a comfortable pace. He certainly knew all about his city and kept us entertained while on the walk. The tour through Buckingham Palace was amazing and although the guide wasn't able to take us through you are supplied with an audio guide which has heaps of information and is easy to use. After a short stroll through the palace back garden we then went to The Ruebens, only a short walk around the corner, for a lovely High Tea.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Robert M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seemed to be just the right amount of time to do a look through the palace. The changing of the guard is worth seeing but not entirely necessary to pay for it though having a guide to explain different things was nice. It was a bit of a walk overall so I wouldn't recommend it to someone who has trouble walking but it wasn't a marathon by any means. The tea afterwards was a nice ending. Claudia our guide was well informed and gave us a very good tour. She was also careful with the group as several were a bit older and were having trouble with the walk.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Phill, and he was excellent! Not only was he very friendly and knowledgeable, he made the tour very interesting with many personal antecdotes. We started out with the Horseguards Parade, which was a very cool ceremony followed by a lovely walk through the beautiful St. James Park. Buckingham Palace is gorgeous on the inside and it was an added bonus to be able to skip ahead in the line with our advanced ticket. We wrapped up our day with a delicious afternoon tea at the historic and beautiful St. Ermin's Hotel. This was an excellent tour and I'd highly recommend it!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Gail R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Confusing where to meet our guide. He wasted our time. He did not know how to get our tickets. While we were in the stables he could have got our Buckingham tickets but instead kept us waiting outside to get the tickets. The Palace tour itself was great

Doing what: The Royal London Tour including Buckingham Palace

Teresa f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was awesome. A rare chance to see Buckingham palace. One of the best audioguides I have ever had.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

jerryruedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide and very informative and friendly. Unknown to us their is various changing of the guards that happen daily. Our guide was able to show us these different guard changes. You do a lot of walking on this tour and sometimes need to move fast to see the different changing of the guards. So would not recommend for the less mobile. The tour of Buckingham palace very interesting and my family enjoyed it. The afternoon tea was excellent and very filling. So do not eat a lot before going on the tour. Very relaxing sitting and enjoying the tea. Our guide sat and talked with us during the tea and was nice to get his perspective of London.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The reason why I am giving this tour 5 stars is because of our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. The tour of the palace was nice, but I was not really impressed. I assumed that we would be able to see the Royal living and work quarters since the Queen was on her Scottish holiday. But, it was just the state rooms. Although, the exhibit theme was interesting as it was based on the idea that the visitor was an important foreign dignitary invited to dinner with the Queen. So, the dining ballroom was fancied up so beautifully, so formally and elegantly. NOw, going back to Kieran, he was amazing!!! Kieran knew SO much about the guard ceremony - in detail, about the Palace, about the Royal family and British history. He explained everything so specifically and was SO knowledgable. I learned so much from Kieran. Kieran was so great at relating what was going with current events and other tidbits in British history. The best part was that Kieran was entertaining!!! I wish he was my history teacher when I was still in school. The Afternoon Tea was excellent as well. Kieran gave us history about how it came about and why it started and how it became an important part of English culture. I loved Kieran so much that when we go back to London next year, we will inquire about tours that Kieran is leading at City Wonders and take those tours! That is how brilliant he is! I just hope he is still there next summer. Thank you so much, Kieran, for making our visit to London so memorable.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message