There are few places more quintessentially and unashamedly English than Oxford, a city so picturesque that even its nickname, "The City of Dreaming Spires," sounds lifted from a classic romance novel. With its medieval skyline of church ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I traveled to London over Spring break with 4 high school students. I chose this tour as it gave us a chance to see quite a bit of the countryside in one day. It exceeded my expectations! The walking tour through Oxford was leisurely and informative. The drive through the Cotswolds was great, and the kids thoroughly enjoyed seeing Shakespeare's home, and loved touring Warwick Castle! Great value for money!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a fabulous trip with a helpful informative tour guide. We were able to pick up an excellent lunch in Oxford and fabulous Cornish pastry and fudge in Stratford. The weather was sunny and beautiful for most of the day. Before we arrived in London our guide checked where we were staying and provided a map and dropped us off a brief tube ride from our accommodation.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Sunali S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide - Monica. She knew so much of the history and added a humorous twist to the whole thing. Just wish we had more time in Oxford and Windsor castle. Really wouldn't have minded if we got back to London later. Overall I really think its well worth the day trip and highly recommend it to other people.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Ellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great tour!! Our tour guide, a former Oxford graduate, was amazing in his depth and breadth of knowledge plus his ability to convey the information. This day was the highlight of our week in London.
Thanks!!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Chalsee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely great.
I didn't plan to go into Windsor Castle and at the last minute decided to give it a go and it was well worth it. Beautiful place. I do wish we had a little more time at Stonehenge to see the exhibit, but that was definitely one of the highlights in my trip to London! Oxford as well was short on time, however as it was past dark it is understandable! A great place Oxford. Really recommend this trip!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour through Warwick, the English countryside, Stratford and Oxford was amazing. One of the highlights of a 5 day trip in London. Emily, our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour to Windsor Castle, Oxford, and Sunset at Stonehenge was totally delightful. The coach driver Andy and tour guide Daniel were fun and knowledgeable! There was plenty of time at each location giving us about 2 hours and 20 minutes at each. We were able to do everything we had planned at each venue. There are food options available at Windsor and Oxford. We ate lunch at Windsor and brought food from Oxford to eat later after Stonehenge on the way back to London. Despite it being August, it was cold at Stonehenge and my jacket was needed. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning a trip to Stonehenge from London. The ability to walk among the stones inside the inner circle is definitely worth the private sunset tour. In fact this was my favorite event during my entire trip to London. Thank you Andy, and Daniel for an amazing and unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Stonehenge Inner Circle Access Day Trip from London Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

Lori N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip! We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip from London to Downtown, Bampton Village, and Oxford. The trip was well coordinated and our guide was knowledgeable about our destinations as well as London/England in general and gave lots of interesting tidbits about sites we passed en route to our destinations. We loved Oxford and Bampton Village was delightful. The tour of Highclere was just the right amount of time and allowed us to walk the beautiful gardens and have tea and scones after touring the house. It was a really lovely day! Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Lindsay E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was amazing. It was the entire reason we planned our vacation to London to begin with. Highclere castle and Bampton village were everything I had hope it would be. I felt like we had plenty of time to really enjoy it. I could have done without visiting Oxford. We spent 2 hours there, and besides seeing the University, there really wasn't much to do. I would have rather had the day trip shorter just seeing Highclere castle and the village. Overall though, it was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Cynthia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. Our tour guide was Frank. His way of speaking was so professional like someone who is a stage actor and he kept us enthralled with all the interesting tidbits about the streets of London as well as Oxford, Bampton and Highclere. Oxford was a big surprise. So interesting and he made it easy for us to understand how the schools were formed etc. We actually booked this tour as our final day in London. Fun guide, fund tour, fun day!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

James L. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable, tour which included a tour of Oxford Univ., Highclere Castle is unreal, everyone needs to
see this!!!! If you saw the series, this is a must, don't miss it, if you are in London, it is a must!!!

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour around Oxford! Our tour guide American John was very knowledgeable and fun!
We met at Paddington Station at the time we were supposed to and train was to leave at 9:15 but we actually didn't get on the train until 9:50 so was just a little disappointed about waiting that long but still plenty of time to tour Oxford. You are given your ticket back to London for the day of the tour. You may take any train back that day enabling you to stay as long as you like in Oxford when the tour commences which was around 2:30. Trains ran every 30 min. back to Paddington. John also gave us useful tips about other places in the UK that we may want to visit while we were on our vacation.

Doing what: Oxford Rail Tour from London

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

ALL OF LONDON WAS GREAT, BUT THIS TRIP MAY HAVE BEEN THE HIGHLIGHT. WARWICK CASTLE IS ASTOUNDING! ANCESTORS CAME FROM STRATFORE-ON-AVON, SO THIS WAS SPECIAL. WISH I COULD HAVE ATTENDED OXFORD! WHAT A PLACE!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Fran I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour!! The tour guide was great, very informative and seeing the countryside was awesome!! Oxford was so beautiful! If you want a taste of getting outside of London we definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

ckoeritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

All of the sites were well worth visiting, although we wish we had had more time at Windsor Castle and Oxford. Phillip was a delightful guide, who amazed us with his knowledge. He is a real pro! We felt the trip was very worthwhile, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to London!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Paul S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW...what an AMAZING experience!!! This was one of those once-in-a-lifetime events. The day started at Victoria Coach Station in central London, it was confusing based on our confirmation information where the tour was supposed to meet and we almost missed it. Viator should publish the Gate numbers along with the location. Once we got started, we had another amazing tour guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable, helpful and had an upbeat personality. The tour first stopped in Oxford which was a delightful town with friendly shop keepers and local residents. We then traveled to the Castle which was breathtaking, as a fan of the PBS series Downton Abbey, this tour was a MUST for our trip to London. Highly recommend this tour but be aware it's at least an 8 hour day but well worth it. Thank you.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

Irene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour! While we could have spent an entire day in Windsor, we didn't have the time this trip and we really wanted to also see Stonehenge and Oxford. It was a wonderfully efficient tour that allowed us to hit all these highlights. What really made the tour was our guide Phil. So interesting, so full of knowledge and history. If you can, request Phil! A couple of tips: We had the London Pass which allowed us to skip the line at Windsor. This gave us almost an hour more at in the castle than our fellow tour mates. Definitely worth it. Also, if you really want to see more than the streets of Oxford you should take a tour that gets you to Oxford earlier. We arrived in Oxford at 4:30pm/5pm and everything was closed.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Lisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour very much! Did it mostly b/c I'm a Downton Abbey fan, but loved the bonus of Oxford. Our guide, David, was terrific- while he had strong viewpoints and opinions and not all agreed with his perspectives 100% of the time, he was interesting, lively, funny, passionate and full of information. No one was bored on this tour! I dragged my 10-year old son on the tour with me and David was very inclusive and wanted him to be engaged as well. He jokingly (I think!) encouraged my son to come towards the front of the tour at Oxford, saying "Come here, you wretched beast!" My son thought that was great and we even included that line in our scrapbook under a photo I took with David and my son and the tour group- see attached. Loved the architecture and the history and getting out of London to see more of what England is all about. Downton Abbey was a thrill for any fan- only suggestion would be more "behind the scenes" tidbits or info for the fans- maybe even a Downton Abbey trivia game on the bus- that would have been great. David is not a Downton Abbey fan- totally fine- but maybe could have indulged the series fans a bit more. I give the tour 4.5 stars but since I can't do half starts above, we'll give it 5.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

cllouie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Russell Nash, Russell Nash, Russell Nash……..what a great British tour guide! Despite being Russell's first guided tour into Stonehenge's inner circle at sunset - he was able to provide our group of 40 visitors with an amazing grasp of Stonehenge and local history. While touring Oxford, Windsor Castle and greater London, Russell was entertaining, and extremely knowledgable of all things British culture and history. The tour day was long, we never felt rushed, and YES - we would highly recommend signing up for this tour and maybe getting Russell Nash!

Doing what: Stonehenge Inner Circle Access Day Trip from London Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip with our tour guide, Rodney, operated by Evan Evans. During a recent 5 day family trip with our two teens to London, we wanted to get a day outside the city. This a great option. Oxford, Cotswolds, Strarford on Avon and Warwick is a lot to see in one day. But it is a good mix of experiences and you get a small taste at each place- breadth over depth. While it is a long day, there is ample down time on the bus between stops. Still, be prepared for a long high energy day. We opted to meet the tour at Victoria Station; we read that the hotel pick up was unpredictable and took a long time. When leaving the hotel en route to Victoria we ran into the tour coordinator outside of hotel picking up other guests and decided to ride along to Victoria. This was a good move. The organization at Victoria is a bit confusing, but the tour operated on the bus helped us navigate the actual tour buses. It would have been very difficult to understand without the hotel pickup and orientation. The bus was comfortable with a safe, professional driver. Rodney, our tour guide, was outstanding. He provided just enough information and didn't overwhelm us with too much. Oxford is a walking tour through the beautiful city and colleges. We missed Christ Church as it was closed that day (I think it's now closed to all tours). S on A is interesting, but quite touristy. Still, it’s a must see in England. You don't have enough time to get outside the tourist area. Warwick is not to be missed. Stunning medieval castle. Overall, a great day for adults and teens.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Marisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was perfect!
I was the only passenger and they did the tour all the same. Peter was my guide, he is really prepared for his job, we chatted all the journey about history, literature and many other topics. He recommended me what to see in each place and I learnt a lot with his comments.
The towns and villages we visited were stunningly beautiful. I can't say one was better than other, because every place has its own charm.
I would really recommend Rabbies to anyone who wants to enjoy a tour from London. This particular 2 days journey to Bath, the Costwolds and Oxford is worth doing it!

Doing what: 2-Day Cotswolds, Bath and Oxford Small-Group Tour from London

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a stirring speech by Winston Churchill while we were driving to Warwick Castle. We would have liked to spend more time at Oxford, but would definitely recommend this tour. It was nice to be out of London and able to see some of the English countryside.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

schaublj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our whole family really enjoyed this trip. First stop out of London was Stonehenge, which was the most anticipated stop by those on our bus prior to departure, and the least memorable upon our return (really, it's just a big, curious pile of rocks). On this tour, we had to pay extra upon arrival to get close to Stonehenge and get the audio guide. Next stop was Windsor Castle. We took this tour rather than a similar one in which entrance to the castle is included because we had the London Pass, which included free entrance. Highly recommend you do the same, if you are planning to buy London Passes. We actually got into the castle 30 minutes before the rest of our tour group since they had to wait in a long line of tour groups while we went through the single-person entrance. The castle was amazing, both inside and out. Everything you'd expect to see in a caslte: massive walls and fortifications, huge banquet halls, lavishly decorated rooms. Last stop was Oxford. Our guide conducted a walking tour of the town and small section of the university, then set us free for exploration or shopping. Recommend visiting one of the colleges--for a couple of pounds we were able to walk through their courtyards, gardens, chapel, etc. Should note that this tour does not go to Christ Church College, so if you're looking for Harry Potter's dining hall, you won't see it.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Mirta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a wonderful experience, covering places of interest such as Warwick Castle, Shakespeare's birthplace at Stratford-on-avon, the Cotswolds and Christ Church College in Oxford. Our guide, Claudia was fantastic, caring about everyone, making the whole tour very interesting, and very knowledgeable about the tour, London, about everything.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message