There are few places more quintessentially and unashamedly English than Oxford, a city so picturesque that even its nickname, ‘The City of Dreaming Spires’, sounds lifted from a classic romance novel. With its medieval skyline of church spires, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour!! The tour guide was great, very informative and seeing the countryside was awesome!! Oxford was so beautiful! If you want a taste of getting outside of London we definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. David was a high energy, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable tour guide, who did his very best to give us an enjoyable experience. Oxford was quite interesting, worthwhile and beautiful. On the way to Highclere Castle we stopped in the town of Bampton, where the new season of Downton Abbey was being filmed, and we were able to watch for a while. That was quite a bonus especially since we even saw Lord Grantham preparing for a scene. The final stop, which included the castle and the gardens, was a great finish to the day. Although a long day, returning to London about 7:00 p.m., it was well worth it.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

All of the sites were well worth visiting, although we wish we had had more time at Windsor Castle and Oxford. Phillip was a delightful guide, who amazed us with his knowledge. He is a real pro! We felt the trip was very worthwhile, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to London!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

WOW...what an AMAZING experience!!! This was one of those once-in-a-lifetime events. The day started at Victoria Coach Station in central London, it was confusing based on our confirmation information where the tour was supposed to meet and we almost missed it. Viator should publish the Gate numbers along with the location. Once we got started, we had another amazing tour guide, Paul, was very knowledgeable, helpful and had an upbeat personality. The tour first stopped in Oxford which was a delightful town with friendly shop keepers and local residents. We then traveled to the Castle which was breathtaking, as a fan of the PBS series Downton Abbey, this tour was a MUST for our trip to London. Highly recommend this tour but be aware it's at least an 8 hour day but well worth it. Thank you.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour! While we could have spent an entire day in Windsor, we didn't have the time this trip and we really wanted to also see Stonehenge and Oxford. It was a wonderfully efficient tour that allowed us to hit all these highlights. What really made the tour was our guide Phil. So interesting, so full of knowledge and history. If you can, request Phil! A couple of tips: We had the London Pass which allowed us to skip the line at Windsor. This gave us almost an hour more at in the castle than our fellow tour mates. Definitely worth it. Also, if you really want to see more than the streets of Oxford you should take a tour that gets you to Oxford earlier. We arrived in Oxford at 4:30pm/5pm and everything was closed.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour very much! Did it mostly b/c I'm a Downton Abbey fan, but loved the bonus of Oxford. Our guide, David, was terrific- while he had strong viewpoints and opinions and not all agreed with his perspectives 100% of the time, he was interesting, lively, funny, passionate and full of information. No one was bored on this tour! I dragged my 10-year old son on the tour with me and David was very inclusive and wanted him to be engaged as well. He jokingly (I think!) encouraged my son to come towards the front of the tour at Oxford, saying "Come here, you wretched beast!" My son thought that was great and we even included that line in our scrapbook under a photo I took with David and my son and the tour group- see attached. Loved the architecture and the history and getting out of London to see more of what England is all about. Downton Abbey was a thrill for any fan- only suggestion would be more "behind the scenes" tidbits or info for the fans- maybe even a Downton Abbey trivia game on the bus- that would have been great. David is not a Downton Abbey fan- totally fine- but maybe could have indulged the series fans a bit more. I give the tour 4.5 stars but since I can't do half starts above, we'll give it 5.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Russell Nash, Russell Nash, Russell Nash……..what a great British tour guide! Despite being Russell's first guided tour into Stonehenge's inner circle at sunset - he was able to provide our group of 40 visitors with an amazing grasp of Stonehenge and local history. While touring Oxford, Windsor Castle and greater London, Russell was entertaining, and extremely knowledgable of all things British culture and history. The tour day was long, we never felt rushed, and YES - we would highly recommend signing up for this tour and maybe getting Russell Nash!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Stonehenge: Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip with our tour guide, Rodney, operated by Evan Evans. During a recent 5 day family trip with our two teens to London, we wanted to get a day outside the city. This a great option. Oxford, Cotswolds, Strarford on Avon and Warwick is a lot to see in one day. But it is a good mix of experiences and you get a small taste at each place- breadth over depth. While it is a long day, there is ample down time on the bus between stops. Still, be prepared for a long high energy day. We opted to meet the tour at Victoria Station; we read that the hotel pick up was unpredictable and took a long time. When leaving the hotel en route to Victoria we ran into the tour coordinator outside of hotel picking up other guests and decided to ride along to Victoria. This was a good move. The organization at Victoria is a bit confusing, but the tour operated on the bus helped us navigate the actual tour buses. It would have been very difficult to understand without the hotel pickup and orientation. The bus was comfortable with a safe, professional driver. Rodney, our tour guide, was outstanding. He provided just enough information and didn't overwhelm us with too much. Oxford is a walking tour through the beautiful city and colleges. We missed Christ Church as it was closed that day (I think it's now closed to all tours). S on A is interesting, but quite touristy. Still, it’s a must see in England. You don't have enough time to get outside the tourist area. Warwick is not to be missed. Stunning medieval castle. Overall, a great day for adults and teens.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was perfect!
I was the only passenger and they did the tour all the same. Peter was my guide, he is really prepared for his job, we chatted all the journey about history, literature and many other topics. He recommended me what to see in each place and I learnt a lot with his comments.
The towns and villages we visited were stunningly beautiful. I can't say one was better than other, because every place has its own charm.
I would really recommend Rabbies to anyone who wants to enjoy a tour from London. This particular 2 days journey to Bath, the Costwolds and Oxford is worth doing it!

Doing what: 2-Day Cotswolds, Bath and Oxford Small-Group Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a stirring speech by Winston Churchill while we were driving to Warwick Castle. We would have liked to spend more time at Oxford, but would definitely recommend this tour. It was nice to be out of London and able to see some of the English countryside.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our whole family really enjoyed this trip. First stop out of London was Stonehenge, which was the most anticipated stop by those on our bus prior to departure, and the least memorable upon our return (really, it's just a big, curious pile of rocks). On this tour, we had to pay extra upon arrival to get close to Stonehenge and get the audio guide. Next stop was Windsor Castle. We took this tour rather than a similar one in which entrance to the castle is included because we had the London Pass, which included free entrance. Highly recommend you do the same, if you are planning to buy London Passes. We actually got into the castle 30 minutes before the rest of our tour group since they had to wait in a long line of tour groups while we went through the single-person entrance. The castle was amazing, both inside and out. Everything you'd expect to see in a caslte: massive walls and fortifications, huge banquet halls, lavishly decorated rooms. Last stop was Oxford. Our guide conducted a walking tour of the town and small section of the university, then set us free for exploration or shopping. Recommend visiting one of the colleges--for a couple of pounds we were able to walk through their courtyards, gardens, chapel, etc. Should note that this tour does not go to Christ Church College, so if you're looking for Harry Potter's dining hall, you won't see it.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a wonderful experience, covering places of interest such as Warwick Castle, Shakespeare's birthplace at Stratford-on-avon, the Cotswolds and Christ Church College in Oxford. Our guide, Claudia was fantastic, caring about everyone, making the whole tour very interesting, and very knowledgeable about the tour, London, about everything.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip to the English Countryside. Guide gave lots of info. Castle was fantastic. Traffic caused delays out of London so we had less time at Oxford, would have liked more. Lunch as at an Inn and very expensive. Would have rather grabbed a bite in Stratford, great sandwich vendors there.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Tanja G
Croatia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour eas very, very sucessful. Our guide was so kind young guy, with so many patientce with us older visitor. He had very great knowledge about the visiting places. The bus was very comfortable , and the driver was very useful. All the visited places were worth of visiting. The Windsor castle is very near London, an is really very impressive castle, we have opportunity to see exchange of the soldiers at 11 ocklock.
On our way we were able to see Ascot, an to hear about horse raceses. Stonehenge on other way is really some extraordinarly, someone most feel this extra positive energy on this place. But for me most beautiful was Oxford . This is town as from tale. The collegess looked so old, with the spirit of history, beautfully constructed like castles. Our guide told us very interesting facts about Oxford library, press center and the manner of studens , who inhabited this town. This tour was one of the most beautifull tour experienced in my life.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

M C E
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a wonderful day out. We were collected at our hotel in London ahead of the tour start time and shuttled to Victoria Coach Station to board the luxury tour bus. The guide was very amenable and knowlegeable, and imparted information than one could not get doing it on one's own. It's a lot to do in one day, in terms of distances covered, but we felt that we had sufficient time at each site. Times were strictly adherred to, which definitely helped to ensure that everything was covered in the time available. All ticket prices were included in the tour price, so good value in all. Our favorite feature was Christ Church College in Oxford. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message