• USD ($)
  • English
There are few places more quintessentially and unashamedly English than Oxford, a city so picturesque that even its nickname, ‘The City of Dreaming Spires’, sounds lifted from a classic romance novel. With its medieval skyline of church spires, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the tour very much! Did it mostly b/c I'm a Downton Abbey fan, but loved the bonus of Oxford. Our guide, David, was terrific- while he had strong viewpoints and opinions and not all agreed with his perspectives 100% of the time, he was interesting, lively, funny, passionate and full of information. No one was bored on this tour! I dragged my 10-year old son on the tour with me and David was very inclusive and wanted him to be engaged as well. He jokingly (I think!) encouraged my son to come towards the front of the tour at Oxford, saying "Come here, you wretched beast!" My son thought that was great and we even included that line in our scrapbook under a photo I took with David and my son and the tour group- see attached. Loved the architecture and the history and getting out of London to see more of what England is all about. Downton Abbey was a thrill for any fan- only suggestion would be more "behind the scenes" tidbits or info for the fans- maybe even a Downton Abbey trivia game on the bus- that would have been great. David is not a Downton Abbey fan- totally fine- but maybe could have indulged the series fans a bit more. I give the tour 4.5 stars but since I can't do half starts above, we'll give it 5.

Doing what: Downton Abbey and Oxford Tour from London Including Highclere Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Russell Nash, Russell Nash, Russell Nash……..what a great British tour guide! Despite being Russell's first guided tour into Stonehenge's inner circle at sunset - he was able to provide our group of 40 visitors with an amazing grasp of Stonehenge and local history. While touring Oxford, Windsor Castle and greater London, Russell was entertaining, and extremely knowledgable of all things British culture and history. The tour day was long, we never felt rushed, and YES - we would highly recommend signing up for this tour and maybe getting Russell Nash!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Stonehenge: Including Oxford and Windsor Castle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day to the country with David and Malcom. David was very knowledgeable about Oxford University and shared his fascination with the town with us. We also loved the Downton Abbey sites and the visit to the Cotswolds. At the end of the tour, David and Malcom made sure that they dropped us off at convenient locations in London for each passenger. We had a great time and would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see the country in England.

Doing what: 'Downton Abbey' Day Trip from London: Basildon Park, Bampton and Oxford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic trip with our tour guide, Rodney, operated by Evan Evans. During a recent 5 day family trip with our two teens to London, we wanted to get a day outside the city. This a great option. Oxford, Cotswolds, Strarford on Avon and Warwick is a lot to see in one day. But it is a good mix of experiences and you get a small taste at each place- breadth over depth. While it is a long day, there is ample down time on the bus between stops. Still, be prepared for a long high energy day. We opted to meet the tour at Victoria Station; we read that the hotel pick up was unpredictable and took a long time. When leaving the hotel en route to Victoria we ran into the tour coordinator outside of hotel picking up other guests and decided to ride along to Victoria. This was a good move. The organization at Victoria is a bit confusing, but the tour operated on the bus helped us navigate the actual tour buses. It would have been very difficult to understand without the hotel pickup and orientation. The bus was comfortable with a safe, professional driver. Rodney, our tour guide, was outstanding. He provided just enough information and didn't overwhelm us with too much. Oxford is a walking tour through the beautiful city and colleges. We missed Christ Church as it was closed that day (I think it's now closed to all tours). S on A is interesting, but quite touristy. Still, it’s a must see in England. You don't have enough time to get outside the tourist area. Warwick is not to be missed. Stunning medieval castle. Overall, a great day for adults and teens.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was perfect!
I was the only passenger and they did the tour all the same. Peter was my guide, he is really prepared for his job, we chatted all the journey about history, literature and many other topics. He recommended me what to see in each place and I learnt a lot with his comments.
The towns and villages we visited were stunningly beautiful. I can't say one was better than other, because every place has its own charm.
I would really recommend Rabbies to anyone who wants to enjoy a tour from London. This particular 2 days journey to Bath, the Costwolds and Oxford is worth doing it!

Doing what: 2-Day Cotswolds, Bath and Oxford Small-Group Tour from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave a stirring speech by Winston Churchill while we were driving to Warwick Castle. We would have liked to spend more time at Oxford, but would definitely recommend this tour. It was nice to be out of London and able to see some of the English countryside.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our whole family really enjoyed this trip. First stop out of London was Stonehenge, which was the most anticipated stop by those on our bus prior to departure, and the least memorable upon our return (really, it's just a big, curious pile of rocks). On this tour, we had to pay extra upon arrival to get close to Stonehenge and get the audio guide. Next stop was Windsor Castle. We took this tour rather than a similar one in which entrance to the castle is included because we had the London Pass, which included free entrance. Highly recommend you do the same, if you are planning to buy London Passes. We actually got into the castle 30 minutes before the rest of our tour group since they had to wait in a long line of tour groups while we went through the single-person entrance. The castle was amazing, both inside and out. Everything you'd expect to see in a caslte: massive walls and fortifications, huge banquet halls, lavishly decorated rooms. Last stop was Oxford. Our guide conducted a walking tour of the town and small section of the university, then set us free for exploration or shopping. Recommend visiting one of the colleges--for a couple of pounds we were able to walk through their courtyards, gardens, chapel, etc. Should note that this tour does not go to Christ Church College, so if you're looking for Harry Potter's dining hall, you won't see it.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a wonderful experience, covering places of interest such as Warwick Castle, Shakespeare's birthplace at Stratford-on-avon, the Cotswolds and Christ Church College in Oxford. Our guide, Claudia was fantastic, caring about everyone, making the whole tour very interesting, and very knowledgeable about the tour, London, about everything.

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip to the English Countryside. Guide gave lots of info. Castle was fantastic. Traffic caused delays out of London so we had less time at Oxford, would have liked more. Lunch as at an Inn and very expensive. Would have rather grabbed a bite in Stratford, great sandwich vendors there.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Tanja G
Croatia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour eas very, very sucessful. Our guide was so kind young guy, with so many patientce with us older visitor. He had very great knowledge about the visiting places. The bus was very comfortable , and the driver was very useful. All the visited places were worth of visiting. The Windsor castle is very near London, an is really very impressive castle, we have opportunity to see exchange of the soldiers at 11 ocklock.
On our way we were able to see Ascot, an to hear about horse raceses. Stonehenge on other way is really some extraordinarly, someone most feel this extra positive energy on this place. But for me most beautiful was Oxford . This is town as from tale. The collegess looked so old, with the spirit of history, beautfully constructed like castles. Our guide told us very interesting facts about Oxford library, press center and the manner of studens , who inhabited this town. This tour was one of the most beautifull tour experienced in my life.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

M C E
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a wonderful day out. We were collected at our hotel in London ahead of the tour start time and shuttled to Victoria Coach Station to board the luxury tour bus. The guide was very amenable and knowlegeable, and imparted information than one could not get doing it on one's own. It's a lot to do in one day, in terms of distances covered, but we felt that we had sufficient time at each site. Times were strictly adherred to, which definitely helped to ensure that everything was covered in the time available. All ticket prices were included in the tour price, so good value in all. Our favorite feature was Christ Church College in Oxford. This tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

It was the highlight of my time in London - wonderful tour, loved Stratford, Warwick and Oxford. Wish we had more time in Stratford because it was such a charming town. Our guide David was entertaining and hilarious, made our trip even more memorable than our trip to Batch and Windsor Castle (which should have been the more memorable tour). Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Short Version: Awesome day, saw A LOT, and GREAT tour guide.
The details: First of all it was wonderfully convenient to get picked up right from our hotel in the morning, giving us time to eat breakfast in the hotel first. This tour was a whirlwind. We went to Oxford first. Our tour guide was just fantastic and full of information. We walked the magnificent campus for about an hour and a half. Next we drove through the breathtaking Cotswold hills region with our tour guide giving wonderful and interesting tidbits the whole drive to Stratford-on-Avon. We again had around an hour and half or so to see Shakespeare's cottage and grad a quick lunch at a local restaurant. The last stop was Warwick castle. This was the one place I wish we had more time at, but again not the fault of the tour guide. If you go on a all day trip with this many stops, you have to understand some places will get short changed. However, this was a great way to get all these great experiences in one day and leave my wife and I more time in London to explore the city!

Doing what: Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We all had a great day out on this trip, and would recommend to everyone, not just holidaymakers! We live in London, and thought this a good trip at a very reasonable price! The tour guide was very good, an excellent host, very informative and great at keeping us entertained! The only slight downside of the trip is the timings, definitely not enough time to see Windsor Castle, nor explore the beautiful city of Oxford! Would suggest to reduce to two stops with perhaps a break for lunch instead. However I will definitely book more of these trips from this organisation in future!

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide William and the driver Paul were, first of all, some of the friendliest people I've met in my travels. Funny, too. The tours were spectacular. Windsor contained many hidden gems such as the grave of Henry VIII and the current Queen's parents in the Chapel of St George. Oxford included enough free time to visit The Eagle and Child Pub, where Tolkien and C. S. Lewis met with their writer's club. The stop at Stonehenge lasts only half an hour and make sure you bring an umbrella, but unless you book a private tour of Stonehenge, half an hour is all you need. My only complaint was we had to pay extra admission to get into Windsor and Stonehenge upon getting on the bus, an extra 60€ altogether. I was miffed when I paid, but after taking this day long tour, I felt much richer! Have used viator in Egypt, Rome, Paris, and now London, and will certainly use this service again.

Doing what: Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford Custom Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message