From his razor-sharp eye for forensic details to his enduring friendship with loyal sidekick Dr Watson, few fictional characters are as beloved as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s madcap detective – Sherlock Holmes. Since his first appearance in print in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Richard, was fantastic. It was our first day of a 10 day trip and was a fantastic way to be oriented to the city through the lens of a show my boys love. We took an early morning Saturday tour and avoided lots of traffc. In addition to Dr. Who sites, we also tacked on a few Sherlock-related stops. Highly recommended if you have teenage boys who require a high bar to be impressed.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A friend had recommended this tour and I'm so glad she did! It's perfect for a family, no matter the ages. Tour is completely tailored to your requests, thoughts and interests. I think our driver's name was Steve (wish I'd written it down!). He was wonderful!! We were there right at the end of July when London was absolutely crammed with people. He showed us many of the sights we would not have been able to see and he took lots of family pictures for us! It's a treat to have all three of us in the same picture. The other great thing is that he told us how to get places by a 'less crowded' route and he also gave us tips on when was best to visit some of the sights. He ended the tour by dropping us off at the Sherlock Holmes Pub for a nice 'local' lunch. A real treat!

Doing what: Private Tour: Traditional Black Cab Tour of London's Hidden Treasures

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rebecca was a terrific guide. She kept us going at a reasonable pace and was very knowledgeable about the tour. She was in fact an expert on Sherlock facts.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative and really quite funny, with some of his very witty anecdotes. I had been promising myself this tour on each of my last three trips to London and at last managed to fit it in. I found it was everything I thought it would be and a nice cold drink,in the Sherlock Holmes Pub at the end, was the icing on the cake!!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Always a fan of Sherlock Holmes, this was a well organized, entertaining Tour of Haunted London. Thank You, Viator!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our private black cab and guide picked us up at our hotel and whisked us off on an incredible tour. We stood on Abby Road, stalked Sir Paul McCartney, visited the streets Ian Fleming and Arthur Conan Doyle walked, and peeked inside Shakespeare's Globe Theater. But anyone can do that. Our guide, Jerry, took us to places we never would have found on our own. We snuck into a quirky hotel that was once a famous courthouse and jail that truly contained rock and roll royalty. We visited a ritzy hotel bar where the real Vesper martini was created, and we learned the meaning behind Lennon's repetitive Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine. The kids loved visiting the new Sherlock's 221b Baker Street address and Speedy's Cafe, but really freaked when we rolled up to St. Bart's Hospital, the site of the season two jump. They even left a message for Sherlock in the red phone booth. When we visit the city again, I'd pay to do the exact same tour. Our guide and the tour were that enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: The London of Shakespeare, the Beatles, James Bond and Sherlock Holmes by Traditional Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you've just spent seven hours in a flying tube with two teens you need to keep up so you don't waste an entire day of vacation, the private Dr. Who Tour of London is your ticket. The tour company is an impressive outfit and really know how to "wow" you. The black cab had the traditional vibe of an old school UK cab but with ac, four comfortable seats, and an intercom system. Jerry, our driver and guide was exceptional. His energy and enthusiasm engaged us the entire time. He brought us a box of Jammie Dodgers to share as he gave us the scoop on the show and introduced my family to this amazing city. That afternoon my daughters Instagram accounts where chock full of pictures of our family with the only remaining police box in London, the TARDIS, and an actual Dalek. The girls even had a little time to shop during the tour. At the end, we were dropped off at a pub near our hotel for dinner. Jerry and this tour really made our first day in the UK a delight. We enjoyed it so much we booked the London of Shakespeare, Beatles, Bond, and Sherlock tour for our last day in the UK.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I booked this tour for my teenage daughter and her friend. They loved it! It was convenient as it began at Victoria Coach station, and finished at Trafalgar Square. Both of which are easily access by public transport. The guide was very informative and held their interest for the entire time. The Sherlock Holmes pub was a great place to finish the tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I traveled to London for the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who. One of the absolute highlights of the trip was the Doctor Who Tour. Richard Liddle, who may very well be the best tour guide in the city, met us at the front door of our hotel, precisely on time, with his comfortable and spacious black taxi. Off we were then, first to a location that stands in for 10 Downing Street on many films and TV shows, including Doctor Who. A film crew was there this day, although they wouldn't disclose the name of the movie (maybe the next Bond film). Next stop was Trafalgar Square, then on to the Victoria Embankment, where Rose and the Doctor found the Nestene transmitter, aka the London Eye. We walked around Parliament Square and then drove to the last remaining police box in London at Earl's Court. I thought there would be a crowd here, since it was the actual 50th anniversary, but there were only a pair of fellow nerds from Eastern Europe. We took pictures of each other. Next stop was Kensington Gardens and the Albert Memorial, then on to the BBC. After going through security, we had an opportunity to have a photo op with the official Tardis. Since Mr. Liddle knew I was also a Sherlock Holmes fan, he took us to Wimpole Street, where Conan Doyle lived and wrote in 1891.

This was a fantastic experience, thanks to the incredible London knowledge, and good humor, of our very experienced tour guide.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Celia, our tour guide, really knew her stuff. The tour was a lot of fun and I learned a lot about Sherlock and his creator. I can really recommend it!

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

I always get a London Pass and Travel Pass on my trips to London. They offer the best and cheapest way to see the city. There were fewer locations that could be entered this time, though, with the London Pass. The Sherlock Holmes Museum is no longer included. Neither is Vinopolis. If you get the London Pass, be willing to push yourself to get your money's worth. Many venues don't open until 10 am and lock entrances an hour before closing. You may have only six or seven hours to get into the venues. You need to plan your card use carefully, minimize travel time between locations. and go to the most expensive locations first to maximize your investment.

Doing what: London Pass

Note from Viator: We are so glad that you see the real benefit of the London Pass. The Pass is always being updated and at the last count included 58 different attractions. Certain attractions are removed from time to time but we strive to make the pass as exciting as possible and keep it the great value for money it has always been. Watch this space for new attractions that have been added.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great fun - very informative and relaxed. Learned a lot about Sherlock Holmes, with a few other films thrown in there. Really great to see other parts of London.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

Francine
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The guide was very entertaining. He gave lots of detail and despite many places no longer being exactly as they were when the ripper was active, he still gave us an impression of what it would have been like. I'm not sure why Sherlock Holmes is mentioned because apart from finishing the tour at the hotel named after him, it is not relevant. I was however, pleased to find out about some of the other history of London.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A very fun and informative walking tour, would definitely book another. The Sherlock Holmes pub was lovely and did very nice food.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Enjoyed the tour and learned a lot and found it fascinating. However considering it was meant to be a sherlock Holmes tour also. There was next to no information or anything to do with sherlock Holmes apart from being dropped off outside of the pub - which we found extremely disappointing.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was in no way a Sherlock Holmes tour.... It ended outside a Sherlock pub but that's about it.... Otherwise it was a great tour and very enjoyable :D

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was enjoyable and quite informative however I would caution choosing this if you are unable to walk long distances as despite being advertised as a bus tour with 2 walking stops the second stop involved over an hour of walking which some people may struggle with. I agree with some of the other reviews that this tour name is quite misleading as the main focus is Jack with the other aspects of haunted london and sherlock holmes seeming to be tacked on as an afterthought. I choose this tour because although I have an interest in Jack I am not a hardcore enthusiast and thought that a overview of haunted london would be more interesting but I was dissapointed by how much haunted london was mentioned this really should just be advertised as a Jack the Ripper tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour was nice, though mostly a walking your. The guide was interesting and knowledgable. However, it is a bit misleading to even mention Sherlock Holmes since the only Sherlock Holmes reference on the entire tour was ending at the Sherlock Holmes Pub.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Very disappointing= another tourist rip off. Guide was knowledgeable but had poor presentation, didn't wait for people to leave the double decker bus before he started talking so we missed lots of the talks, he didn't have a microphone so it was hard to gather close enough to hear the information ion such crowded streets. Tour finished at Sherlock Holmes hotel but the food area was closed therefore we had to eat nearby in a very expensive but lovely club. Poor information given in tour description. Some people on our tour didn't even catch up to the group in time to hear anything, tour guide walked too fast, and we were offended that we were asked for tips at the end, and the money was being counted before we even left the bus stop. Do not do this tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Pros -The tour guide did a good job and was quite knowledgable, and he also came around during our break to answer questions. We learned some quirky things about London that regular tours may not have told us about Cons - It was not 3-3.5 hours. After 2 hours we were dropped off at Sherlock Holmes pub but I don't think many people stayed, plus we had a half hour break during the tour where we were taken to a restaurant. I don't remember seeing a haunted house in Berkely Square. Most of the murder sites were very approximate and we were told where they were but didnt go there because it would have been to far away.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper Tour and London Ghost Walk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I don't know what I expected but it was a lark anyway. There were no ghosts, lots of speculation and some nice London scenery on the way to the walking part of the tour. Add the Sherlock Holmes Museum and it would have been perfect.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper Tour and London Ghost Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I would absolutely not recommend this bus tour. By the time we got to London, we had experienced 3 other "hop on hop off" type bus tours in Paris, Rome, and Oxford. There are technically 3 routes: the green, which is short and connects folks in one part of the city to the main routes; the red, with a live tour guide; and the blue, which is quite long. The red and blue cover essentially the same territory, with the blue being longer. I'll explain why this is a problem.

It took my wife and I over 2 hours to get to the Baker Street stop (for the zoo and Sherlock Holmes museum) from our pick up at the end of the green line / beginning of the red-blue line. That is completely unacceptable. We wasted half of the day on the bus when we wanted to be out doing things.

I will never, ever be purchasing another hop on hop off tour from this comapny. I will go with any other hop-on, hop-off tour company. The concept of the hop-on hop-off buses is absolutely golden. A really incredible way for tourists to see the sights and get around a city easily. We found them to be essential to enjoy our visits and get around -- just not this company.

Doing what: Big Bus London Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message