From his razor-sharp eye for forensic details to his enduring friendship with loyal sidekick Dr Watson, few fictional characters are as beloved as Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s madcap detective – Sherlock Holmes. Since his first appearance in print in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Rebecca was a terrific guide. She kept us going at a reasonable pace and was very knowledgeable about the tour. She was in fact an expert on Sherlock facts.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative and really quite funny, with some of his very witty anecdotes. I had been promising myself this tour on each of my last three trips to London and at last managed to fit it in. I found it was everything I thought it would be and a nice cold drink,in the Sherlock Holmes Pub at the end, was the icing on the cake!!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Always a fan of Sherlock Holmes, this was a well organized, entertaining Tour of Haunted London. Thank You, Viator!

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our private black cab and guide picked us up at our hotel and whisked us off on an incredible tour. We stood on Abby Road, stalked Sir Paul McCartney, visited the streets Ian Fleming and Arthur Conan Doyle walked, and peeked inside Shakespeare's Globe Theater. But anyone can do that. Our guide, Jerry, took us to places we never would have found on our own. We snuck into a quirky hotel that was once a famous courthouse and jail that truly contained rock and roll royalty. We visited a ritzy hotel bar where the real Vesper martini was created, and we learned the meaning behind Lennon's repetitive Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine. The kids loved visiting the new Sherlock's 221b Baker Street address and Speedy's Cafe, but really freaked when we rolled up to St. Bart's Hospital, the site of the season two jump. They even left a message for Sherlock in the red phone booth. When we visit the city again, I'd pay to do the exact same tour. Our guide and the tour were that enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: The London of Shakespeare, the Beatles, James Bond and Sherlock Holmes by Traditional Black Cab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you've just spent seven hours in a flying tube with two teens you need to keep up so you don't waste an entire day of vacation, the private Dr. Who Tour of London is your ticket. The tour company is an impressive outfit and really know how to "wow" you. The black cab had the traditional vibe of an old school UK cab but with ac, four comfortable seats, and an intercom system. Jerry, our driver and guide was exceptional. His energy and enthusiasm engaged us the entire time. He brought us a box of Jammie Dodgers to share as he gave us the scoop on the show and introduced my family to this amazing city. That afternoon my daughters Instagram accounts where chock full of pictures of our family with the only remaining police box in London, the TARDIS, and an actual Dalek. The girls even had a little time to shop during the tour. At the end, we were dropped off at a pub near our hotel for dinner. Jerry and this tour really made our first day in the UK a delight. We enjoyed it so much we booked the London of Shakespeare, Beatles, Bond, and Sherlock tour for our last day in the UK.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I booked this tour for my teenage daughter and her friend. They loved it! It was convenient as it began at Victoria Coach station, and finished at Trafalgar Square. Both of which are easily access by public transport. The guide was very informative and held their interest for the entire time. The Sherlock Holmes pub was a great place to finish the tour.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I traveled to London for the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who. One of the absolute highlights of the trip was the Doctor Who Tour. Richard Liddle, who may very well be the best tour guide in the city, met us at the front door of our hotel, precisely on time, with his comfortable and spacious black taxi. Off we were then, first to a location that stands in for 10 Downing Street on many films and TV shows, including Doctor Who. A film crew was there this day, although they wouldn't disclose the name of the movie (maybe the next Bond film). Next stop was Trafalgar Square, then on to the Victoria Embankment, where Rose and the Doctor found the Nestene transmitter, aka the London Eye. We walked around Parliament Square and then drove to the last remaining police box in London at Earl's Court. I thought there would be a crowd here, since it was the actual 50th anniversary, but there were only a pair of fellow nerds from Eastern Europe. We took pictures of each other. Next stop was Kensington Gardens and the Albert Memorial, then on to the BBC. After going through security, we had an opportunity to have a photo op with the official Tardis. Since Mr. Liddle knew I was also a Sherlock Holmes fan, he took us to Wimpole Street, where Conan Doyle lived and wrote in 1891.

This was a fantastic experience, thanks to the incredible London knowledge, and good humor, of our very experienced tour guide.

Doing what: Doctor Who Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Celia, our tour guide, really knew her stuff. The tour was a lot of fun and I learned a lot about Sherlock and his creator. I can really recommend it!

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This Tour was taken on my last day in London. We mert in front of Sherlock Holmes Museum which is a great find because it is directly next to the London Beatle Store and across the street from Its only rock and Roll- The convienence of having three must sees and then a tour so close together was an awesome quality of this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and witty. She was a university student working on her PHD in political science. We walked for all of the 2 hours and while we did, she was filling us with information about the city and the places we were passing. There were only two others on this tour and that made it quiet intimate and enjoyable! We saw places regarding Princess Diana, Beatles(more than a few), Jimi Hendrix, Madonna, headline news events, places we could only read about before and now actually see and not at 30 mph as you pass them. We walked through Soho, quite different than NY SoHo and around parks and embassies, the US embassy had a quiet protest in the park across the street, very different- Highly recommend if you want to see London up close and personal, remember it is only 2.5 hours, wear comfortable shoes and bring your camera!

Doing what: Celebrity Tour of London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

I always get a London Pass and Travel Pass on my trips to London. They offer the best and cheapest way to see the city. There were fewer locations that could be entered this time, though, with the London Pass. The Sherlock Holmes Museum is no longer included. Neither is Vinopolis. If you get the London Pass, be willing to push yourself to get your money's worth. Many venues don't open until 10 am and lock entrances an hour before closing. You may have only six or seven hours to get into the venues. You need to plan your card use carefully, minimize travel time between locations. and go to the most expensive locations first to maximize your investment.

Doing what: London Pass

Note from Viator: We are so glad that you see the real benefit of the London Pass. The Pass is always being updated and at the last count included 58 different attractions. Certain attractions are removed from time to time but we strive to make the pass as exciting as possible and keep it the great value for money it has always been. Watch this space for new attractions that have been added.

Francine
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The guide was very entertaining. He gave lots of detail and despite many places no longer being exactly as they were when the ripper was active, he still gave us an impression of what it would have been like. I'm not sure why Sherlock Holmes is mentioned because apart from finishing the tour at the hotel named after him, it is not relevant. I was however, pleased to find out about some of the other history of London.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes Tour of Haunted London

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A very fun and informative walking tour, would definitely book another. The Sherlock Holmes pub was lovely and did very nice food.

Doing what: Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Pros -The tour guide did a good job and was quite knowledgable, and he also came around during our break to answer questions. We learned some quirky things about London that regular tours may not have told us about Cons - It was not 3-3.5 hours. After 2 hours we were dropped off at Sherlock Holmes pub but I don't think many people stayed, plus we had a half hour break during the tour where we were taken to a restaurant. I don't remember seeing a haunted house in Berkely Square. Most of the murder sites were very approximate and we were told where they were but didnt go there because it would have been to far away.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper Tour and London Ghost Walk

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I don't know what I expected but it was a lark anyway. There were no ghosts, lots of speculation and some nice London scenery on the way to the walking part of the tour. Add the Sherlock Holmes Museum and it would have been perfect.

Doing what: Jack the Ripper Tour and London Ghost Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message