In the late 16th century, an alderman’s son and aspiring writer and actor headed out from his small Warwickshire market town in search of fame in Elizabethan London. It’s the kind of journey made by many provincial artists, but none has ever enjoyed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful full day trip out of London. The London countryside is so beautiful, and the 3 areas of interest we visited were wondeful, i.e. Stonehenge, Bath and Stratford-upon-Avon.

The guide was very interesting and the bus driver superb.

Highly recommend to anyone who wants to explore a little of the countryside while they are in London.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a highlights type of tour this worked well for us as my husband had never been to any of these sites before. I would have liked to have spent more time at each venue but had been on the tour before so was ready for something more in-depth. But this tour was really for my husband so I have no complaints. The tour guide was knowledgeable and knows his business. We really appreciated his comments and views and the "extras" he brought to the tour. For example, when we got to Bath he pointed out the house that Jane Austen lived in when she was in Bath. While it wasn't necessary that he throw that in, I was very glad he did as I am a big Austen fan and so were a number of other people on the bus. We had a good safe bus driver. We very much appreciated that the bus driver brought along a couple of DVD videos for us to watch on the bus on the trip back to London from Stratford-on-Avon as it was a pretty long and boriing haul. I suggest that you always bring a movie or a couple of DVDs. All in all, we are satisfied with the tour and would not hesitate to take another through Viator.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had a wonderful time on the Heart of England Tour earlier in September (12th – 16th). Steve was an excellent tour guide and added so much to the trip. There were only a few of us on the journey and we received such personalized attention. Rabbies is to be commended for running their tours regardless of the number of people who sign up.
The tour began on Friday morning, departing from Victoria Coach Station, and we drove to Stratford upon Avon and then to the Ironbridge area on the River Severn, before driving the rest of the way to Shrewsbury where the tour spent two nights. The bed and breakfast where we were booked, The Trevellion House, was delightful. Sonia took excellent care of all of her guests, there was a cooked to order breakfast, and the single room that I stayed in had a very comfortable double bed and a spacious bathroom.
Saturday was spent in Wales. In the town of Conwy, we explored the ruins of Conwy Castle and did a tour of Plas Mawr, an Elizabethan house that was really amazing. In the afternoon we drove into the Snowden National Park and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and learned that the sheep outnumber people in Wales 10 to 1.
On Sunday morning we said goodbye to Shrewsbury and drove into the Peak District. Our first stop was at the spa town of Buxton, known as the Bath of the North. Then onto Chatsworth! The house and gardens were truly something to see, you could easily spend an entire day there. After driving to York, Steve dropped us off at our accommodations, and I had a great dinner at Jamie’s Italian restaurant.
I stayed at The Groves in York, which was a B and B style hotel. On Monday, I had a fun day seeing York Minster, the York Castle Museum, Clifford Tower, and walking around city, and had a nice late lunch at the most popular restaurant in the city, Rustique.
Tuesday was the last day of the tour, and we visited Cambridge for a few hours before returning to London. It was a great trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Everything about this tour was thoroughly enjoyable. Oz, our tour guide, was charming, knowledgeable, easy-going and fun. He juggled the itinerary a bit (because of a One Direction concert that evening in London) and got us into Stratford early, ahead of the crowds. Liked the small group and small bus, our excellent driver (whose name, sadly, we have forgotten), and all the stops. Definitely reccomend this for a day full of beautiful sites and lots of history.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I'm so glad I did this trip! I was in England (London) for only 4.5 days last week and wanted to be sure I got outside of the city. I booked this day trip after hearing it was great from my cousin. The weather was great and we really enjoyed seeing Stratford (and the scone/champagne in Shakespeare's garden), Bath (going inside of the Roman Baths is about 15 pounds) and Stonehenge. The drive through the Cotswolds was beautiful... I had a great day and would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of London :)

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip to the English Countryside. Guide gave lots of info. Castle was fantastic. Traffic caused delays out of London so we had less time at Oxford, would have liked more. Lunch as at an Inn and very expensive. Would have rather grabbed a bite in Stratford, great sandwich vendors there.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

As expected, we spent a lot of time on the bus. But the long rides were well worth it even though we only spent about 1-1.5hr at each of the 3 locations. I only have 1 full day for sight seeing in London, hence this was a very good tour that gave a flavour and overview of the various scenic locations. All 3 locations - Stonehenge, Bath, and stratford at avon are worth visiting, and each warrant a full day. Cotswold probably warrant 1-2 days. But this was the only tour I can find that cover all the major sightseeing spots, and honestly, you have to see it for yourself to judge which is your favourite for revisiting as each sight is very different. Would certainly recommend this tour for visitor with tight schedule, and want to get a flavour of each sight for future revisits.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

i only had a few days in london and wanted to maximize my time and experience. this was definitely the way to do both. my tourguide (eek, can't remember his name) was fantastic -- full of great facts and information, but didn't overdo it.

stonehenge was moving -- as you stand there, you're in awe of how it came to be. it is an exposed area, so if it's chilly or windy, you'll definitely feel it. make sure to bring a jacket...or two.

my favorite part was bath -- a really great little town if you can get away from the main tourist streets. it's definitely worth crossing the Pulteney Bridge and if you're looking for a quick lunch, I recommend the Rising Sun.

my only regret is that we couldn't spend more time in stratford-upon-avon, but there's just no way to make it work. but the time you do have there with shakespeare's birthplace is really fun.

the bus rides are long, so bring a book or prepare to nap, or enjoy the countryside.

one last note -- the pickup at victoria coach station can be a little confusing, but just be patient and listen for your tour.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My favorite tour while in London. I only wish we had not been so rushed in Burton on the Water and especially Stratford on Avon.

Doing what: Lunch in the Cotswolds from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

It was the highlight of my time in London - wonderful tour, loved Stratford, Warwick and Oxford. Wish we had more time in Stratford because it was such a charming town. Our guide David was entertaining and hilarious, made our trip even more memorable than our trip to Batch and Windsor Castle (which should have been the more memorable tour). Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This was a great trip and well worth the price we paid. Our tour guide was Paul and he was excellent! We saw so much in one day. Especially if you have limited time in London, this is a great way to see a little bit of the rest of England. I not only have visited London but can now also check Stratford, Bath and Stonehenge off my list as well. We highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!! Our tour guide and bus driver were great. They were quite the comedy act. The day of our trip there was a bad accident due to the snow, but our bus driver was able to find another route to get to Warwick Castle. If it wasn't for him, we would have missed our trip entirely due to the traffic jam. Warwick Castle was great, the wax figures really brought the castle to life. Stratford is an adorable town, with lots of shopping and restaurants. I would so go back! Would like to have spent more time in the Cotswolds, at least to stop and take a few pictures. Visiting Christ Church College was very interesting learning about the history, Lewis Carol, Alice in Wonderland, etc. The bus driver even dropped us off in the area of London where we wanted to have dinner that night. This was a great experience, I will book a tour with Viator the next time I am in London. Thanks!

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was an amazing day long trip to visit Stonehenge, the city of Bath and Stratford-on-the-Avon. The bus picked us up promptly at out hotel. The driver and tour guide were fabulous. There was humor as well as lots of information about what we were seeing. The tour was well organized throughout the day. The scenery was amazing and the day is one we will never forget. The driver went out of his way to deliver us as close to our hotel as possible on our return back into the city of London. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!!!

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Frances T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Our trip to Warwick Castle, Stratford, Oxford & the Cotswolds from London was the highlight of our time in London. We were picked up from our hotel even though our hotel was not on the list, the staff were warm & friendly. We enjoyed our lunch at the White Hart Pub. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was a really fantastic trip that gave a little taste of the landscape and character of England beyond the city of London. There was just enough time to explore Warwick Castle. In Stratford, there was a bit of time to stroll around town after seeing Shakespeare's birthplace. In Oxford, our tour guide gave us a really nice walking tour with lots of neat information. She was charming and engaging throughout the day. The stop for lunch at a pub in the Cotswolds called White Hart was nice, and the apple pie was superb. All in all, it was a busy but value-packed day trip.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a good tour, however the itinerary differed significantly from the actual tour. The different towns were visited and lunch was at a different location entirely. Having said that, the tour was well worth it. Our first stop was in Bibury and our second stop and lunch was in Burford. The lunch was quite good. After lunch we headed to Stratford-Upon-Avon, winding through the different villages of the Cotswolds. In Stratford, we had the opportunity to tour the home of Shakespear's granddaughter before having tea and scones at a little tea shop. The drive back to London was fairly long.

Doing what: Lunch in the Cotswolds from London

Francine A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our guide was excellent. He knew so much about the places we were visiting and passing through and I can't praise him highly enough. I would have preferred to spend less time at Stonehenge because it was rather late when we got to Stratford which meant that most things were closing within about half an hour or so of us arriving. The performance in the garden of Shakespeare's birthplace was very enjoyable. I would have liked a little more time at Bath too but we did cover a lot of ground in one day. If you don't have long in London this is a good tour to pick.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The tour operator did such a great job on this trip that we took up a collection for the tour guide as we drove home. We hit Stratford on Avon on market day, so we were able to do some wonderful shopping after touring Shakespeare's birthplace. The tents were practically outside his house on the street. Warwick Castle went well and there was even time to walk in the topiary garden. The Oxford portion of the trip was probably the best. We not only toured the main hall at Christ Church College but spent a good bit of time in the chapel and had the opportunity to pick up some reasonably priced items from the college shop. That was followed by a night walking tour around the town visiting various other colleges and noting the cross in the middle of the road where Bishop Cranmer and his two friends were burned at the stake. We also saw the gargoyles of the lion, the fawn, and further along the lamp post which were possible inspirations for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. If only the guide had her commentary recorded in a booklet we could have taken with us when the tour was over. She was brilliant and presented us with far more history than we would ever be able to remember. The day before I had been on a trip to Paris on my own in which I encountered numerous transportation problems, so this expertly guided tour to Oxford was just what I needed. Next time I come to London I'd like to do it again with my wife, who was unable to make the trip this time.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Unfortunately, we were unable to visit these sites as the tour was canceled. As an alternative, we were given the option of visiting Stonehenge, Bath, and Stratford on Avon. Although the tour was quite interesting, we were really looking forward to the original tour. As we probably will not be returning to London in the near future, and we felt a little "empty" in not being able to take the original tour. The accommodations were quite satisfactory, and our driver and guide kept us well entertained and informed on various points of interest along the route. The guide was quite friendly and knowledgeable, and I would have to give him a very high "grade".

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

If you have a limited time in London and want to see any of these places, I would absolutely recommend this tour. While we had only an hour and a half or so in each place, it was the only tour I could find that included all of them, and since we had only three total nights in London it was worth it. Our tour guide and coach driver were very friendly and helpful. The guide talked the whole tour about each place we were visiting, giving us history and facts and interesting tidbits about the areas and culture and people. It was wonderful! I know so much more about those areas than I ever would've learned on my own. She also recommended a great, affordable place to eat in Bath where we could try traditional Cornish pasties and they were excellent. And we got a surprise once in Stratford on Avon, all in all I would say this was the best tour I've been on and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was great, I wish we had done another tour while in London. Our guide was so full of information and fun. Not only did he tell us about the each of the places but he narrated a lot along the way. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed Stratford upon Avon. When we got there we went into a classroom style room where they had champagne, juice and scones for us. The scones were very good! Then two actors dressed in period costumes stood in the front of the room and performed some excerpts of Shakespeare. After that we went into his home, where there was a woman who gave us a little introduction to what we would be seeing. During the tour, there were two other guides in different rooms who told us more. It was excellent! The drive through the Cotswolds was beautiful and we learned a lot. There was a large open market that day, apparently every Tuesday there is. My family and I wished so much we could stop and spend some time there, but that wasn't part of the tour. Another thing I'll do if I ever come back! The town of Bath was very cool and we defineitly did not have enough time there. Right where the Bath's are in a square, is also a cathedral. We got there just as a couple emerged after just getting married! The tour of the baths was additional cost and we were hungry, so we opted to eat instead. There's a bakery/sandwich/coffee shop diagonal to the Baths and it was wonderful food! Stonehenge was breathtaking and the weather was perfect. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that there wasn't enough time at each place to do everything and look around and shop.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We did read the cautionary reviews before embarking on this tour. Yes, it is a long day...but what better way to spend it? Our time in England was limited and this tour got us out of London and experiencing a bit of the English countryside. After an early hotel pick up, we and seemingly hundreds of others, got sorted out onto the right bus at Victoria Coach Station - it seemed like chaos but all went well. First stop was Stratford on Avon, where we were able to jump the queue and enjoy champagne (or orange juice or both) while listening to a Shakespearean actor in full regalia. Followed a stroll through Shakespeare's birth place and indeed his home village. Feeling warm and fuzzy, we drove through the idyllic Cotswolds en route to Bath - a world heritage site. Lots of time to wander Bath (and, yes, the tour of the Roman Bath was not included...so much else to see anyway or just pay your own entrance as many on our tour did.) heading back towards London, we stopped at Stonehenge - they've got it timed perfectly for you to listen to the full audio guide, or the shorter version with more time in the gift shop. We didn't get back to London until 8:30 pm, but the bus dropped us very close to our hotel. I'd like to add that our group of nearly 50 we're always back at the bus on time, no stragglers and no complainers. We enjoyed the commentary from our guide, Nigel, including his impressions of famous people, and also appreciated the quiet times on some of the longer stretches. All in all, an enjoyable day in England!

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had an excellent guide but it was a very long trip. Very lucky with the weather. Unfortunately the traffic was busy heading out of London which meant the stop off in Stratford upon Avon was a little rushed. An enjoyable day though.

Doing what: England in One Day: Stonehenge, Bath, the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This was not our first visit to the Cotswolds which we love.
Technically the coach and its driver and guide were excellent.
The problem is that the big coaches cannot get onto the narrower lanes so one is left with very commercialized places..We could not find a minibus tour leaving from London on the date we needed so we chose the easy way which in this case was not the best way..
In Burford we had adequate time mainly to glance at the high street and a few shops
The afternoon stop in the Cotswolds was way too short to walk more than a block or two and yet would another hour have added anything to the quality of the day.
The lunch was the best part, in delightful surroundings sitting at large round tables where we could chat with other travellers or just listen. The whole trout was delicious but for non fish eaters there was a nice pasta substitute
The visit to Shakespeare's birth place Stratford on Avon was a total waste of time. The entry to the exhibition/museum site with one of his homes was an extra 25 pound sterling as far as I remember.. One might say, well having come all this way I should see it all. But there was not enough time so it really was not an option.

I compare this tour with Viator's Rabie Tours in Scotland which were in a minibus and the difference is striking.The tours of Scotland were wonderful.
For a first timer this is probably a nice introduction to the Cotswolds. It would try to the skip the Stratford part..


.

Doing what: Lunch in the Cotswolds from London

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Great tour! Saw so many different spots in one day. A great option if you only have a short amount of time and want to go outside of London. The Cotswolds area is beautiful and it makes me want to go back there one day for a longer stay. Warwick Castle was a lot of fun. Stratford was beautiful and Oxford is a great little college town. The weather was not on our side as it rained toward the tail end of our tour but we made the best of it.

Doing what: Oxford, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon Day Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message