• USD ($)
  • English
Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This is one of the most interesting and informative tours I've ever taken. Guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

One of the most informative tours I've ever taken. Guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very informative. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The wartime London tour was absolutely fascinating-particularly for a history buff such as myself. To view sights where legendary historical figures such as Churchill, Eisenhower, DeGualle and Montgomery lived and worked was an amazing experience. And just when I thought the tour was winding down, we end at a virtual "treasure trove" in the form of the "underground cabinet" bunkers from which Churchill and Staff directed the war effort, AND the Churchill museum. I was there until they kicked me out at closing! Even rewarded myself by going back to where Churchil bought his cigars and buying myself a Romeo and Juliet. Our guide was beyond knowledgeable, very funny, and a great guy!!

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

Dianne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very informative and he was dressed for the part. We as well as many others on the tour did not realize that we had not prepaid for admission to Churchill's War Rooms. Perhaps this could be included in the cost of the tour.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

It was fun being on the 1939 bus and seeing the sites. The guide was very good.
Note that the trip ends and the Churchill War Room and entry is separate. The War Room is a Must see.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Phil our guide was absolutely outstanding, really loved his role, stayed in character the entire time and gave it 110%. His knowledge of the sites was really impressive, he went out of his way to be sure that everyone saw small details that gave life to his story of the blitz's effect on London. Phil is the guide's guide and the bus was great! We would take the tour again because of Phil.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide was both personable and knowledgeable and I just loved the collection of old photographs that went along with the tour. Being on that bus was really neat, too. This was both time and money well-spent.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Arrived to bedlam at Victoria Station so please allow ample time to find your tour if you are on an early one. Our tour guide eventually materialised out of the crowd dressed beautifully in a suit and hat of the period. He directed us to our bus that had been meticulously restored. It certainly attracted the attention where ever we went. The recorded speeches and news broadcasts we heard on our tour were interesting and added to the atmosphere. We were a little disappointed that we did not get to see actual sites. Being driven past in traffic makes it hard to spot were you are supposed to look. The booklet provided was a useful tool. Unfortunately, our tour was caught in traffic and so we missed most of our allocated time at the war museum so we were left unfulfilled.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Totally a bus tour and, with the guide sitting on the first level, and all the tourists up on the second, you couldn't ask him questions. No stops to get off and visit sights. Disappointing.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was interesting and we saw parts of London we hadn't seen before.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of our favorite parts of our trip to London. Our guide was amazing, the 1939 red bus, big band music, and radio announcements from the war made it an unforgettable experience. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was fabulous! Our guide was very informative and engaging. We had a 7 and a 9 year old with us and they were kept just as engaged as the adults. The tour covered so many interesting aspects of London and WWII, it was a wonderful learning experience as well as a very leisurely way to see the sights of London. Loved the old bus, and the driver was very skillful in getting around some small streets!

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a great Tour by Evan Evans. Our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

Dasha
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tip around The London Westminster areas in a restored War time bus was very enlightening . The live commentary also was well presented and to finish off with a tour of Churchill War rooms made the day.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message