Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was excellent - very informative. War rooms were better than expected.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Augusta was fantastic! She was an excellent guide, giving clear historical perspective to the events surrounding WWII and Winston Churchill. We took an easy stroll around the outside of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Whitehall and ended up in the war bunker used by Churchill and his staff. Augusta's personality and approach were highly entertaining and very informative. We would very much recommend this tour to those wanting to discover a more in-depth examination of London's role during WWII.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Josh was great as a guide informative, friendly and funny. Loved the miked headsets...they worked perfectly.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Churchill Bunker tour was extremely fascinating and the Museum itself is very impressive. It was definitely worth seeing. There was so much to see and learn. But, the most impressive part of our tour was our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. Kieran was just the best tour guide ever. He was so knowledgeable, so excited about the subject matter and it was very obvious that he really knew his stuff and had a strong personal interest because he did not sound like a boring guide book. The next time we go back to London, we are only taking tours that Kieran is leading. I hope Kieran is still at City Wonders next summer. Thank you again, Kieran for a wonderful London experience.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Robert was an excellent tour guide and provided excellent information. He ably got us through the crowds on sidewalks and crossing streets! But, because of ALL the crowds, we had to wait to enter the Churchill War Rooms and it was difficult to see the exhibits. This definitely was not the fault of the tour company. London in the summer is a bit crazy!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and although tired from just arriving in London - was worth it!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great way to walk around Whitehall with listening to some history that is little known. The war rooms were very interesting and the interactive personal devices allowed you to do this at your own pace. Well worth the 3 hours

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour around Big Ben, Westminster, Churchill War Museum and more. Augusta, our guide, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and her enthusiasm made the tour enjoyable. She gave us lots of well and also little known facts throughout the tour and was open at all times to any questions.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Augusta was most helpful and very well informed. She's a mine of information.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and really good tour guide. Unfortunately we had to wait to get in for almost 30 minutes due to a fire alarm.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was like the buildings came alive through the stories behind the sites and I couldn't have asked for more. It is one thing to see the sites, it is another to have a great tour guide, James, who walked you through the significance of each site. We had a great time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was not clear where to meet, we finally saw a man holding a very small orange flag standing by a black statue. We missed part of the tour, so did another couple. The meeting location needs to be much clearer with a flag that signifies the tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is so great! I had no idea the Churchill museum was so big. I want to do this again!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was wonderful, guide was very informative. We would have preferred that he accompany us into the actual war rooms, except he left us to do that part on our own. One complaint is that the meeting directions were EXTREMELY UNCLEAR. To tourists who are travelling in an unknown city, one must be VERY clear about where to meet. We almost missed our tour because of the lack of details provided on where to meet.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

daff
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Interesting guide with lots of information and trivia about Churchill and the war. Definitely worth doing for those with an interest in WW2.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guy that walked us around outside was worthless and quite boring. Wished I would have just gone straight to the War Room and rented the audio guide and did it ourselves.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very well spoken and knowledgeable.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We only did the war room as the guideways I'll. we were refunded the difference which was very nice. The war room was fascinating for WWII buffs

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Augusta did a fine job. We wanted to view the war museum sooner though. We entered the Wad Museum at 5 pm with the walking tour starting at 2.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Time would have been better spent exploring the Churchill war rooms. Tour guide was interested in promoting her other tours and spent more time telling us about her life story than Churchill's. Had purchased this as a gift and was very disappointed.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very informative tour with an engaging tour guide. Our whole family enjoyed the tour and learning about Churchill. The War Rooms Museum was the perfect ending and kept our interest for another hour or more.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message