Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joshua was our guide. Amazing young man. He was very knowledgeable. Josh gave us real insight into this historic area. The headsets were very helpful and allowed us to hear every word. Kudos ! The Churchill War Rooms were incredible. It was like stepping through a door into World War II. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Michael was an excellent and witty tour guide. I learned a great deal about the Houses of Parliament and the surrounding area.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Theresa T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, very comprehensive tour with lots of local anecdotes and British humor.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Craig A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Josh was an amazing an entertaining guide. He was very knowledgeable and made the tour fantastic! The Churchill War Rooms are a must see!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Philip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was fantastic. Phil was very knowledgable and kept us engaged and entertained the whole time. Fascinating tit-bits and lots of good humour. THANK YOU! I would highly recommend this walking tour followed by the Churchill War room self guided tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Mary Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was amazing. Augusta was SO knowledgable and amazingly helpful in orienting us to the area and to the history. She took great care in making sure the kids were also getting something out of it, and we all considered the afternoon a shining highlight of the trip. THANK YOU!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Kevin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic WW2 walking tour of London. We were fortunate to have just our party of four with James the tour guide. He was extremely knowledgeable and provided colorful background to all the featured sights. The Churchill War Rooms are simply amazing - the audio guide is a very satisfactory method for the tour. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

MARIA T V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, James, was unique given his military and historian background. Very knowledgeable and fun to listen to given his passion for History.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Michael United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

our guide, josh, was knowledgeable, funny, and totally terrific!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very well done. After the walking tour leave plenty of time to cover everything in the War Rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Augusta was an awesome guide. She was knowledgable and eager to share her knowledge. And she made our entry to the Churchill War Rooms easy as can be. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Cheri R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour for the history lover. A lot of walking, but very neat. When you do go into the bunker, you have an audio guide and no longer have the tour guide from the walking tour. The walking tour is all of the time listed in the description.. if you really want to check out the bunker and everything inside, give yourself an extra 2-3 hours. So much to see, and if you have plans for after this tour, you will not get to see it all. We went in the afternoon. Did the London Eye before meeting the guide near Big Ben and it was a great day, but definitely give yourself EXTRA time to see it all after the guide leaves you at the bunker.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was Phil and the group was very small that day 4 of us so that was a plus. The guide did a great job of explaining the difference between the City of London and the City of Westminster and then gave background info prior to walking us to the war rooms where you bypass the ticket line, of course. There we did an audio tour on our own which was quite good. Would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Michael was our tour guide and he was awesome! The tour took us around the Westminster section and Michael was very knowledgeable. They gave us headphones so hearing Michael was easy (I really loved those)! The tour wasn't just about the military history or Churchill so that was great too!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Julia City Wonders UK met us just outside Westminster tube station across from Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. It was a rainy day and we weren't sure if the tour was going to continue but through rain or shine, it did go on. Julia was very knowledgeable about World War II information considering that her native country is Austria! We would have liked to go inside Westminster Abbey as part of this tour instead of just stopping on the outside. However, the stops to House of Parliament, Big Ben, St. Margaret's Church, Cenotaph, Women in War Memorial, 10 Downing Street,Banqueting House, Horse Guard Parade, and the highlight of the tour, Churchill War Rooms made this tour a very informative history lesson on Churchill's role in WWII. Highly recommended for history buffs!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

J Keith C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the most amazing tours and museum I have ever been to.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was wonderful. It was easy to meet up with the group, and the size of the group was just right. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny and kept the tour moving on time. He filled on the back story of London's WW II experience with important details about London's history. You don't have to have extensive knowledge of events beforehand to enjoy the tour. The only issue we had was a bit of a kink with the guide's microphone, which he fixed immediately.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Dawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

even though it was raining off and on, good walking tour. Could have spent more time in the museum but it was closing

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Edna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very knowledgeable guide great sense of humor a lot of information in a short period of time.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

jabuck

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour and very interesting. The guide was excellent and I lernt a lot about Churchill. The war rooms were fascinating

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message