Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster was fascinating. Being able to go below to where Churchill and his staff worked during the war was educational at the least. Appreciated everything that was presented to us while on this tour. Will remember it and the details for a long time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I might be in the minority but I love history and being able to see (and hear) it in person was terrific. The opportunity to learn and really experience war-time London was memorable.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. The Churchill War Rooms are filled with memorabilia and interesting information about Churchill and WW II. The museum really captures the gravity faced by the leaders of Britain and the people of London during the war. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting London.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

While interesting, this tour could have been cut in half. If you come to see the Churchill war rooms, and especially if you have kids in tow, take us on the tour first, then take us on the walk around to see Parliament and the other sites. We had already seen most of the buildings we were taken to, and while all the stories our guide told us were most interesting, this should have been at the end of the tour, not the first 45 minutes.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was very exciting and informative. Guide made the difference as you could tell he was very passionate about the city and its history.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting tour. Tour guide was impressive and very knowledgeable. Due to a mass protest in Central London the tour had to be amended but, for me, it was better as we got to see things that we might not have otherwise seen.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour for history especially Sir Winston Churchill

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

really knowledgable guide who provided fantastic information about WWII and beyond during the tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The walking part of the tour was very nice, the guide was informative, but added humor to keep it fun. Our only note was that the walk focused more on Kings than Churchill. The new WWII Churchill Museum was a highlight of our entire trip.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Outstanding tour. Informative and fascinating. The guide was excellent, friendly and a good sense of humour was added.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The initial part of the tour was great the guide gave us a lot of details, by the time we entered the war rooms the personnel in the site didn't allow the guide to continue with his explanations, which I found very surprise, I believe if you pay for a guided tour that you should have this arrange. It was very dissapointing

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We had a knowledgeable guide and we enjoyed walking around and hearing all the history. The part of the tour was excellent. The war rooms were interesting. However the guide was called away not long after we got to the war rooms and he didn't return for at least 45 minutes. Apparently one group who were booked on the tour and did not join us at the start due to the fact that there was confusion over the meeting place had to be collected by the guide. This meant that the rest of the group were left to their own devices for a good while. The guide was in a difficult position but this tour was expensive and we missed almost a third of the guides time. Also, we were not told what was going on. Perhaps the meeting instructions could be clearer next time. Disappointing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was shorter than advertised. The guide was entertaining and informative. Overall I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message