Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very informative tour with an engaging tour guide. Our whole family enjoyed the tour and learning about Churchill. The War Rooms Museum was the perfect ending and kept our interest for another hour or more.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour with a lot of interesting info. Recommended for people interested in recent history.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Michael was amazing - knew so much detail and was interesting and entertaining
Great tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was good. Funny and very enthusiastic. The tour was a little too long. We ran out of energy for the war rooms and museum. We would recommend shortening the tour to an hour or an hour and a half, and ending with energy for the war rooms, which were amazing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was very, very good and the guide we had knew a lot of history and was able to tell us a lot about London. The Churchill war rooms were amazing and I believe everyone should see them. However, at about 90 dollars, this tour was ridiculously overpriced for what we got.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was very good, very knowledgeable, and the very best thing about this tour versus others we took in Edinburgh and Dublin, were the hearing devices they give you so that you can hear the guide clearly thruout no matter where you are standing in the group. These were terrific! Its a great way to learn a lot about the Westminster area in a short time. The War Rooms are great too and we loved the audio guides for this. Well worth the time and the money. We area family of five, including three college aged kids, and were there over Christmas holidays.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! My tour guide was knowledgeable, engaging and tailored the tour around my specific interests. Would highly recommend anyone and everyone to take this tour.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I'm a big Churchill fan and thought the War Rooms were great! Even better than the actual War Rooms was the Churchill Museum which is attached to the War Rooms. Our guide, Augusta, was fabulous! She was extremely knowledgeable and I felt like she loved guiding the tour as much as we enjoyed following and listening. Thank you Augusta!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

L E. B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was really knowledgeable and could relate very well to visitors from other countries and cultures pertaining to the war years
Had also extensive historical knowledge of London which was great during the walking tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful young man who guided our tour. The information and history he gave us on this tour was excellent. We learned a lot. The plus was that it was at an easy pace that it it so enjoyable. Thank you.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster was fascinating. Being able to go below to where Churchill and his staff worked during the war was educational at the least. Appreciated everything that was presented to us while on this tour. Will remember it and the details for a long time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. The Churchill War Rooms are filled with memorabilia and interesting information about Churchill and WW II. The museum really captures the gravity faced by the leaders of Britain and the people of London during the war. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting London.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The charmig lady who was our guide, concentrated her talk purely to the historical buldings and when we arrived to the Churchill War Museum, she said good bye. The museum is such an interesting place and there are so many interesting points which are not pointed out by the information boards or tapes
Arto Palkama, Finland

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

While interesting, this tour could have been cut in half. If you come to see the Churchill war rooms, and especially if you have kids in tow, take us on the tour first, then take us on the walk around to see Parliament and the other sites. We had already seen most of the buildings we were taken to, and while all the stories our guide told us were most interesting, this should have been at the end of the tour, not the first 45 minutes.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was very exciting and informative. Guide made the difference as you could tell he was very passionate about the city and its history.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

really knowledgable guide who provided fantastic information about WWII and beyond during the tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The walking part of the tour was very nice, the guide was informative, but added humor to keep it fun. Our only note was that the walk focused more on Kings than Churchill. The new WWII Churchill Museum was a highlight of our entire trip.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The initial part of the tour was great the guide gave us a lot of details, by the time we entered the war rooms the personnel in the site didn't allow the guide to continue with his explanations, which I found very surprise, I believe if you pay for a guided tour that you should have this arrange. It was very dissapointing

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We had a knowledgeable guide and we enjoyed walking around and hearing all the history. The part of the tour was excellent. The war rooms were interesting. However the guide was called away not long after we got to the war rooms and he didn't return for at least 45 minutes. Apparently one group who were booked on the tour and did not join us at the start due to the fact that there was confusion over the meeting place had to be collected by the guide. This meant that the rest of the group were left to their own devices for a good while. The guide was in a difficult position but this tour was expensive and we missed almost a third of the guides time. Also, we were not told what was going on. Perhaps the meeting instructions could be clearer next time. Disappointing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide. Stacks of WW2 trivia. Museum good.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message