Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour around Big Ben, Westminster, Churchill War Museum and more. Augusta, our guide, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and her enthusiasm made the tour enjoyable. She gave us lots of well and also little known facts throughout the tour and was open at all times to any questions.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was like the buildings came alive through the stories behind the sites and I couldn't have asked for more. It is one thing to see the sites, it is another to have a great tour guide, James, who walked you through the significance of each site. We had a great time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was not clear where to meet, we finally saw a man holding a very small orange flag standing by a black statue. We missed part of the tour, so did another couple. The meeting location needs to be much clearer with a flag that signifies the tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is so great! I had no idea the Churchill museum was so big. I want to do this again!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was wonderful, guide was very informative. We would have preferred that he accompany us into the actual war rooms, except he left us to do that part on our own. One complaint is that the meeting directions were EXTREMELY UNCLEAR. To tourists who are travelling in an unknown city, one must be VERY clear about where to meet. We almost missed our tour because of the lack of details provided on where to meet.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

daff
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Interesting guide with lots of information and trivia about Churchill and the war. Definitely worth doing for those with an interest in WW2.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guy that walked us around outside was worthless and quite boring. Wished I would have just gone straight to the War Room and rented the audio guide and did it ourselves.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very well spoken and knowledgeable.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We only did the war room as the guideways I'll. we were refunded the difference which was very nice. The war room was fascinating for WWII buffs

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Augusta did a fine job. We wanted to view the war museum sooner though. We entered the Wad Museum at 5 pm with the walking tour starting at 2.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Time would have been better spent exploring the Churchill war rooms. Tour guide was interested in promoting her other tours and spent more time telling us about her life story than Churchill's. Had purchased this as a gift and was very disappointed.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very informative tour with an engaging tour guide. Our whole family enjoyed the tour and learning about Churchill. The War Rooms Museum was the perfect ending and kept our interest for another hour or more.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour with a lot of interesting info. Recommended for people interested in recent history.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Michael was amazing - knew so much detail and was interesting and entertaining
Great tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was good. Funny and very enthusiastic. The tour was a little too long. We ran out of energy for the war rooms and museum. We would recommend shortening the tour to an hour or an hour and a half, and ending with energy for the war rooms, which were amazing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was very, very good and the guide we had knew a lot of history and was able to tell us a lot about London. The Churchill war rooms were amazing and I believe everyone should see them. However, at about 90 dollars, this tour was ridiculously overpriced for what we got.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was very good, very knowledgeable, and the very best thing about this tour versus others we took in Edinburgh and Dublin, were the hearing devices they give you so that you can hear the guide clearly thruout no matter where you are standing in the group. These were terrific! Its a great way to learn a lot about the Westminster area in a short time. The War Rooms are great too and we loved the audio guides for this. Well worth the time and the money. We area family of five, including three college aged kids, and were there over Christmas holidays.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! My tour guide was knowledgeable, engaging and tailored the tour around my specific interests. Would highly recommend anyone and everyone to take this tour.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I'm a big Churchill fan and thought the War Rooms were great! Even better than the actual War Rooms was the Churchill Museum which is attached to the War Rooms. Our guide, Augusta, was fabulous! She was extremely knowledgeable and I felt like she loved guiding the tour as much as we enjoyed following and listening. Thank you Augusta!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

L E. B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was really knowledgeable and could relate very well to visitors from other countries and cultures pertaining to the war years
Had also extensive historical knowledge of London which was great during the walking tour

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful young man who guided our tour. The information and history he gave us on this tour was excellent. We learned a lot. The plus was that it was at an easy pace that it it so enjoyable. Thank you.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster was fascinating. Being able to go below to where Churchill and his staff worked during the war was educational at the least. Appreciated everything that was presented to us while on this tour. Will remember it and the details for a long time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. The Churchill War Rooms are filled with memorabilia and interesting information about Churchill and WW II. The museum really captures the gravity faced by the leaders of Britain and the people of London during the war. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting London.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message