• USD ($)
  • English
Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Outstanding tour. Informative and fascinating. The guide was excellent, friendly and a good sense of humour was added.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The initial part of the tour was great the guide gave us a lot of details, by the time we entered the war rooms the personnel in the site didn't allow the guide to continue with his explanations, which I found very surprise, I believe if you pay for a guided tour that you should have this arrange. It was very dissapointing

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We had a knowledgeable guide and we enjoyed walking around and hearing all the history. The part of the tour was excellent. The war rooms were interesting. However the guide was called away not long after we got to the war rooms and he didn't return for at least 45 minutes. Apparently one group who were booked on the tour and did not join us at the start due to the fact that there was confusion over the meeting place had to be collected by the guide. This meant that the rest of the group were left to their own devices for a good while. The guide was in a difficult position but this tour was expensive and we missed almost a third of the guides time. Also, we were not told what was going on. Perhaps the meeting instructions could be clearer next time. Disappointing.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The reception at Victoria was chaotic tour had been cancelled the week before, we were told where to get new tickets but office was closed, took time to find a rep. lots of uncertainty. Bus was in good condition and rep excellent, however I think the museum still not being open should have been checked before hand so we could perhaps delay trip till it was open. thankfully rep thought on his feet we went to see the changing of the guard instead. Afternoon part of trip short and not so interesting .Altogether good value for money,but needs better organisation.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Wartime London tour was excellent! Russell, out tour leader, was very knowledgeable and personable. We learned a lot, were never bored and we felt that we got a great feel for what it was like to be a Londoner during the Blitz. It was an excellent experience and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide. Stacks of WW2 trivia. Museum good.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This is one of the most interesting and informative tours I've ever taken. Guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

One of the most informative tours I've ever taken. Guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very informative. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: The City and Imperial War Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The wartime London tour was absolutely fascinating-particularly for a history buff such as myself. To view sights where legendary historical figures such as Churchill, Eisenhower, DeGualle and Montgomery lived and worked was an amazing experience. And just when I thought the tour was winding down, we end at a virtual "treasure trove" in the form of the "underground cabinet" bunkers from which Churchill and Staff directed the war effort, AND the Churchill museum. I was there until they kicked me out at closing! Even rewarded myself by going back to where Churchil bought his cigars and buying myself a Romeo and Juliet. Our guide was beyond knowledgeable, very funny, and a great guy!!

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

Dianne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very informative and he was dressed for the part. We as well as many others on the tour did not realize that we had not prepaid for admission to Churchill's War Rooms. Perhaps this could be included in the cost of the tour.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

It was fun being on the 1939 bus and seeing the sites. The guide was very good.
Note that the trip ends and the Churchill War Room and entry is separate. The War Room is a Must see.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Phil our guide was absolutely outstanding, really loved his role, stayed in character the entire time and gave it 110%. His knowledge of the sites was really impressive, he went out of his way to be sure that everyone saw small details that gave life to his story of the blitz's effect on London. Phil is the guide's guide and the bus was great! We would take the tour again because of Phil.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our guide was both personable and knowledgeable and I just loved the collection of old photographs that went along with the tour. Being on that bus was really neat, too. This was both time and money well-spent.

Doing what: Wartime London Tour: Westminster and the West End

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message