Having survived two world wars, London is a city steeped in military history and those on the hunt for a glimpse of wartime Britain will be spoilt for choice in the capital. Here’s the lowdown on London’s most important war museums and monuments.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheri R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour for the history lover. A lot of walking, but very neat. When you do go into the bunker, you have an audio guide and no longer have the tour guide from the walking tour. The walking tour is all of the time listed in the description.. if you really want to check out the bunker and everything inside, give yourself an extra 2-3 hours. So much to see, and if you have plans for after this tour, you will not get to see it all. We went in the afternoon. Did the London Eye before meeting the guide near Big Ben and it was a great day, but definitely give yourself EXTRA time to see it all after the guide leaves you at the bunker.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was Phil and the group was very small that day 4 of us so that was a plus. The guide did a great job of explaining the difference between the City of London and the City of Westminster and then gave background info prior to walking us to the war rooms where you bypass the ticket line, of course. There we did an audio tour on our own which was quite good. Would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Jennifer V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Michael was our tour guide and he was awesome! The tour took us around the Westminster section and Michael was very knowledgeable. They gave us headphones so hearing Michael was easy (I really loved those)! The tour wasn't just about the military history or Churchill so that was great too!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

lotter

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and excellent guide.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Julia City Wonders UK met us just outside Westminster tube station across from Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. It was a rainy day and we weren't sure if the tour was going to continue but through rain or shine, it did go on. Julia was very knowledgeable about World War II information considering that her native country is Austria! We would have liked to go inside Westminster Abbey as part of this tour instead of just stopping on the outside. However, the stops to House of Parliament, Big Ben, St. Margaret's Church, Cenotaph, Women in War Memorial, 10 Downing Street,Banqueting House, Horse Guard Parade, and the highlight of the tour, Churchill War Rooms made this tour a very informative history lesson on Churchill's role in WWII. Highly recommended for history buffs!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

J Keith C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the most amazing tours and museum I have ever been to.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was wonderful. It was easy to meet up with the group, and the size of the group was just right. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny and kept the tour moving on time. He filled on the back story of London's WW II experience with important details about London's history. You don't have to have extensive knowledge of events beforehand to enjoy the tour. The only issue we had was a bit of a kink with the guide's microphone, which he fixed immediately.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Dawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

even though it was raining off and on, good walking tour. Could have spent more time in the museum but it was closing

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Edna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very knowledgeable guide great sense of humor a lot of information in a short period of time.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

jabuck

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour and very interesting. The guide was excellent and I lernt a lot about Churchill. The war rooms were fascinating

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Sarah W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very extensive 2 hour walking tour arriving at the War Rooms at 4pm. We then had until it closed at 6pm to view the rooms. They were most interesting but unfortunately we had to rush through the end due to losing track of time. Really enjoyable.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Caius P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and great guide. A bit rushed because of heavy rain. But very interesting, thank you.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Ranee T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The meeting-place instructions weren't as clear as they needed to be. The guide seemed knowledgeable but was American-peppy and not an authentic Brit. She was difficult to keep up with and did not provide photo pauses or a toilet break, turning a long walk into a physical ordeal.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was excellent - very informative. War rooms were better than expected.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Augusta was fantastic! She was an excellent guide, giving clear historical perspective to the events surrounding WWII and Winston Churchill. We took an easy stroll around the outside of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Whitehall and ended up in the war bunker used by Churchill and his staff. Augusta's personality and approach were highly entertaining and very informative. We would very much recommend this tour to those wanting to discover a more in-depth examination of London's role during WWII.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Josh was great as a guide informative, friendly and funny. Loved the miked headsets...they worked perfectly.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Churchill Bunker tour was extremely fascinating and the Museum itself is very impressive. It was definitely worth seeing. There was so much to see and learn. But, the most impressive part of our tour was our wonderful tour guide, Kieran from City Wonders. Kieran was just the best tour guide ever. He was so knowledgeable, so excited about the subject matter and it was very obvious that he really knew his stuff and had a strong personal interest because he did not sound like a boring guide book. The next time we go back to London, we are only taking tours that Kieran is leading. I hope Kieran is still at City Wonders next summer. Thank you again, Kieran for a wonderful London experience.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Deborah L D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Robert was an excellent tour guide and provided excellent information. He ably got us through the crowds on sidewalks and crossing streets! But, because of ALL the crowds, we had to wait to enter the Churchill War Rooms and it was difficult to see the exhibits. This definitely was not the fault of the tour company. London in the summer is a bit crazy!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

annad_spa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and although tired from just arriving in London - was worth it!

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

steve

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great way to walk around Whitehall with listening to some history that is little known. The war rooms were very interesting and the interactive personal devices allowed you to do this at your own pace. Well worth the 3 hours

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour around Big Ben, Westminster, Churchill War Museum and more. Augusta, our guide, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and her enthusiasm made the tour enjoyable. She gave us lots of well and also little known facts throughout the tour and was open at all times to any questions.

Doing what: WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message