• USD ($)
  • English
Catalina Island is a rocky island getaway, whose 22-mile (35-kilometer) distance from the coast of LA often feels like 22,000. The ferry ride from Long Beach, Dana Point, San Pedro or Newport Beach takes about an hour, and the minute you step off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A nice and relaxing way to travel to Catalina. You have the option to sit inside or out on the deck. I suggest outside so you can take in the ocean breeze and even spot a pod of dolphins!

Doing what: Catalina Express Round-Trip Ferry Service: Long Beach or San Pedro to Avalon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a really great way to get over to Catalina Island for the day. The boat ride was smooth and relaxing and we even saw some dolphins behind us along the way. There was plenty of room to sit on the deck outside and enjoy the cool ocean breeze..

Doing what: Catalina Express Round-Trip Ferry Service: Long Beach or San Pedro to Avalon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip! On Catalina Express trip over captain stopped so we could view a whale (!!) and on trip back saw a huge pod of dolphins leaping out of the water in the boat's wake. Those two things were worth the price of admission for me! The island is beautiful...with many views reminding me of something out of the movie Jurassic Park. We rented a golf cart to explore with ($80 for 2 hours with an additional one free if wanted...we used all 3 hours.). Make sure you have CASH or TRAVELER'S CHECKS for a deposit. They accept credit cards for the actual payment but want a cash or t-check for the deposit. This immediately put a damper on the trip because I carry very little cash...until a very, very nice woman asked me how much cashe I had and accepted a much lower amount as a deposit. I wound up letting her keep it as a Christmas Gift for being so nice and helping me out.Only down side to the trip is there wasn't enough time to see and do everything I would have liked to.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very professional. On time, excellent communication, courteous drivers.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the most relaxing and wonderful time in Catlina we went and sat close with the dolfins and stayed overnite which is a must as you dont have time in one day to see and do what you want.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great side trip for something different to do in LA. The boat ride from Long Beach is about 70 minutes so sit back and relax with a drink and some snacks. We rented a golf cart at the terminal for 2 hours ($80) and got a third hour for free. Drove around the island, stopped for lunch on the beach and got the cart back just in time. Walked around the village with lots of shops to buy souvenirs and reasonably priced T-shirts. Lots more to do like zip lining, renting kayaks, glass bottom boat ride, submarine ride and hosted tours. Could have spent more time there and we'll probably go back if we are ever in the area again.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was great experience, I think nobody should miss a visit to Catalina Islands. It was very convenient as bus picked us up outside the hotel and dropped us back there. My husband and I loved it.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Lovely spot and would have liked to spend more time there. Ferry trip over and back was great and we saw dolphins on the way over. I want to go back as there was much we did not get a chance to see!

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

As with all previous bookings with this company, it was very enjoyable experience from the pick up driver to the tour to the return journey. Knowlegeable people, friendly staff and an excellent choice of tours.

Look forward to my next booking.

Thanks to everyone

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This trip was one of the best of our stay in California. Catalina is absolutely beautiful. We did snorkelling and kayaking while we were there. The shops are gorgeous also. The boat trip out is delightful and takes an hour. We came across a huge pod of dophins on the way so the cat stopped for everyone to take pictures. Fabulous place to visit. If we went again though we would find our own way to Newport Beach and get the cat out to the island and either spend a long day there or over night. Do not plan to do any activity that is long as you do not get much time on the island at all. Unfortunately the time we were able to spend on Catalina was only 3.25 hours which was no where near long enough. The boat dropped us at 11am and we had to be back at the dock at 3.15pm. The trip to the boat at Long Beach only took 45 minutes from Anaheim but going back to Anaheim was a 2 hour trip as the driver had to go to Huntington Beach to pick up a couple. I personally would not do this tour again as the time on Catalina is far too short and returning to Anaheim is far too long.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent service!!

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Catalina such a beautiful island would have liked to have stayed a bit longer next time would stay for a few days .

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Beautiful place.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

great day!after such a busy week in LA it was nice to go to catalina Island and relax and do some shopping and just enjoy the day.we were entertained by 3 young girls selling home made lemonade "best on the island" and they were right it was.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I thought I had responded to this in early August, but I don't mind submitting again. We were a group of four traveling from Anaheim to Catalina Island. Overall it was a beautiful day, and definitely worth having made the reservation. At the ferry terminal we purchased one of the bus tours to the interior of the island. It was a very good decision! Once on the island we boarded the bus and for the next two hours we bumped and bounced until we arrived at the Airport in the Sky. We even got to see some bison who didn't seem at all impressed that we were there to see them!

The only "down" part of the day was that even though I had called twice, the two days before, to reconfirm our reservation and 8:30 pick up time, we received a call at 8:10 wanting to know why were we late? We were already on our way down from our room, but it still made us feel uncomfortable to have the implication that we were late! All it would have taken was a phone call to let us know to be ready earlier, and I left my number the two times I called. But I definitely would do it again if given the opportunity to return to that part of California!

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message