One of LA's most distinguishing icons, the famous HOLLYWOOD sign proudly stands on the hillside of the Hollywood Hills, overlooking its namesake city and the movie industry it has come to symbolize. LA's most famous landmark first appeared on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good, comprehensive tour. The driver/guide spoke English quite understandably. Be aware that not all driver/guides are as understandable, as the one who picked us up from the hotel had quite an accent.

One negative was the signage and overall emphasis on tips (approx $15/person) from the driver/guide.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

since LA is hard to explore on your own without a car, this is one of those that gives your a basic overview of LA. tour guide average.. this tour basically takes you to the "must see areas" and lets you wander by yourself in those places. what they do is that they pick up all the participants at 8am and then bring them to the head office for registration and when all the tourists are gathered, they are assigned to their tour buses. i had to wait an hour since the tour starts at 9.30. i think this step could be eliminated so the tourists wouldnt have to wake up so early and end up waiting for the others to arrive. gratuity of 15 percent of tour price required per person though (11usd/pp). not sure if this is standard practice in usa. if it is standard, sorry for my ignorance. i think in europe it is 7usd for driver and guide total. if you give less the tour guide will collect.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour started early and should have taken us to several places. As it turns out, this tour does not take you to all the places mentioned. You drive by many of them, but you do not get the chance to check them out or take photos. The information provided by the driver was little and inaccurate. When booking this tour I had something different in mind, after all it is the GRAND tour, not a drive-by-a-few-places tour. Not worth the money. I gave a tip to the driver because they had mentioned tipping at the start of the tour and they had put up a big sign in the bus stating: "15% Gratuity is appreciated for a job well done." I guess he didn't know any better, but in my point of view this was not a job well done. I had a single day in LA and wanted to get an overview for future visits. I am afraid I wasted my time with this tour.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Trina S
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great idea if you are short on time in LA. Guide was good. The only negative I can think of, was taking us into a souvenir shop in Hollywood with a 20 minute time frame, where we could have seen something else in LA - like the big Beverley Hills sign.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I was very disappointed with the Tour. There was too much time on the Tour Bus and not enough at the various venues, we spent 15 minutes at Venice Beach, 20 minutes in old LA. We did stop for lunch at the Farmers Market which was very nice. We did not drive through the Hollywood homes and the Hollywood sign was viewed from a Car Park. We were staying near the Hollywood Walk of Fame, therefore, when we arrived there the Tour ended for us.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Very disappointed. My sister took the same tour just over 12months ago, she got closer to the Hollywood sign and also went past more celebrity houses. I feel ripped off, we had to wait for a new bus at venice beach. The tour was badly planned with road closures from the president being in LA.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Gail F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a fun tour and got to see lots of things. Walked down Hollywood and saw all the stars names. Took photos of the Hollywood sign and then did a bit of shopping. Drove down Rodeo Drive but did not stop. Stopped at the farmers market for lunch - could easily miss this as it's just like a big food court. I would of preferred to stop at Santa Monica Pier and eat there - we just drove past it frantically taking pictures of it. We did stop at Venice Beach and had 30 minutes there - really not long enough either - could only choose left or right and then not go all the way to the end. Last stop was Fisherman's Village and could of easily left that out as well - nothing to do but have an ice-cream - would of preferred to have more time at Venice beach (Fishermans Village is used as a toilet stop though, as you would not want to go at Venice)

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Jorge Babroo
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was such a nice ride to move around the city in this bus. The only thing missing was a clear sight of the Hollywood sign. Lots of history and information in the bus.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

When I booked the tour in the UK before leaving for LA. I was a bit worried what we were buying some thing we could not see off the internet. Once on the tour I did not have to worry everything was ok for us Our tour guide was Serge. He made a complimentary pick up in a mini bus which was included from the Holiday inn Hotel South Manchester Anaheim. The tour itself was a full day there were about 8 to 10 people on our bus which could have seated 12 to 15. The tour was very informative and Serge was constantly providing information on items we saw as we travelled around our route. The good thing about this tour was that it covered a very wide area of Los Angeles and their were strategic stops to allow you to walk and take photographs. Without a thorough knowledge of Los Angeles it would be impossible for an individual to visit these places in there own car as parking would be limited and it would be costly and time consuming just doing the parking for one or two areas. The tour visited some of the following places the old town. Hollywood Boulevard, Rodeo Drive, Belle Air. We also were able to see the Hollywood hill sign and take photos A dinnertime stop was made at the Farmers market allowing tourists to sample various foods as part of their lunch. In the after noon a trip to Venice beach was included along with a visit around the marina area while we took a refreshment stop. I am glad we booked this tour I believe it was value for money and should we visit other American cities. I would look out to see if similar tours were available there. Well done

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Prior to LA, I travelled toVegas and NY and booked a Viator organized tour for each location. Of all tours, this one was the one I liked the least. The title "Grand Tour" indeed points at the fact you will be shown a number of things, but they should have added "most of the time from the window of a speeding car so obsessed with time that traumatized guests ended returning to the car ahead of schedule the only 3 times they were given a window to get off it". There were threats about being left behind, who was the black sheep coming 1 min late etc... Then even those few stops were questionable: why stop at Venice Beach so early in the morning when the place, deserted at that time, has no vibe, when gorgeous Santa Monica Pier is within minutes? Why spend over an hour at the farmers market FOR LUNCH, after racing through beautiful Beverly Hills (I could hardly get a clear picture of the Beverly Hills sign, let alone appreciate the surroundings!)? In other tours I have attended, whenever there were such time pressures, people were asked to pick up light sandwiches to eat in the car so as to spend more time visiting actual sites. The last stop in downtown LA was misplaced. Hard to pick any decent picture of Chinatown / the opera / the court house on the way etc.., yet we ended up parking near a little church for 30min to do some souvenir shopping in a dull market when parking elsewhere downtown would have allowed to actually appreciate more of the city highlights.

The tour description should be more clear about what ACTUAL STOPS are vs. mere drive-through. And the tour guide (not so good in my opinion comparing with other guides I had over my holiday) should refrain from trashing customers when they are not tipping. I was the last one to be dropped off and the driver trashed the couple who got off before me for not tipping him. I did not tip him either so I can only imagine what dirt he may have spread on my back.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I was not pleased with this tour. You spend about half the time on the bus driving past the landmarks and town. The Venice Beach stop was way too long (unless you are in the market for touristy souvenirs). I felt that the place had a dirty and unsafe vibe. There were hippies, starving artists, and homeless people along the boardwalk. I had the impression after reading the other reviews and tour description that you would have the chance to get out and explore the landmarks and areas listed, however several of them are "drive by's". For instance you pull over on the side of the highway to take a picture of the Hollywood sign. You have less than a minute to take a picture of the sign through the bus window. When you go to Rodeo Drive you literally drive down about three blocks and leave. If you have mobility issues or just want to get a taste of whats available in the area then this tour might be appropriate for you. We only had one full day in LA and this tour left me feeling as though I didn't really get to "see"/explore much of anything. My recommendation would be to do half the stops and allow people to get out and enjoy the surroundings. Of course if you have several days to spend in LA then this tour would enable you to get a glimpse into what places you'd like to come back to.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best part of our trip! Elsa was our guide and we were fortunate to be the only two in the group (Mother/Daughter.) We felt extremely comfortable with her and relaxed and never rushed. She explained in great detail the history of Colonel Griffith, the park, the Observatory, the Hollywood Sign, and LA and the surrounding areas in general. She talked to my daughter (16 years old) like they were friends about college and life in LA. We didn't want the tour to end! The hike was a "real" hike, not a "touristy" type at all. It was exactly what we were looking for. Bikes and Hikes was awesome by staying in touch with me until we met up with Elsa, despite poor cell phone coverage. She was very helpful getting a ride after the tour and recommending local places to eat for dinner. We are so glad we met Elsa!

Doing what: Hollywood Hills Hiking Tour in Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was great, very interesting facts about Hollywood, a glimpse to the Hollywood sign and a great explication of the walk of fame. We enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Hotel pick up driver very unfriendly. The tour guide was also the driver which made it very difficult because he had to concentrate on the traffic and tried to do the commentating so you missed half the important cites.everything was so fast he had no time to stop and only once you passed he would say - that was so and so no time for pictures. The most import sign "Hollywood" you could only see in the distance of about 40km away. At the end of the tour he made sure that you knew you had to
give him $10 per person as a tip if you enjoyed his tour or not. So my rating for this tour will be 3

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

While we did get to see the highlights of the LA area, by the end of the day, I was so glad that it was over. About half the stops we made were in places where I found myself asking why? For instance, at the entrance to Beverly Hills, our stop for 15 minutes was at a gas station that had a sign, "Welcome to Beverly Hills". I think that could be improved. Our last stop was in a Mexican flee market. I will say I did have the best Charo I ever had. If you are only looking for a few highlights and not much else, and enjoy spending a lot of time just riding around in a van then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message