• USD ($)
  • English
One of LA's most distinguishing icons, the famous HOLLYWOOD sign proudly stands on the hillside of the Hollywood Hills, overlooking its namesake city and the movie industry it has come to symbolize. LA's most famous landmark first appeared on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was great, very interesting facts about Hollywood, a glimpse to the Hollywood sign and a great explication of the walk of fame. We enjoyed it a lot.

Doing what: Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

While we did get to see the highlights of the LA area, by the end of the day, I was so glad that it was over. About half the stops we made were in places where I found myself asking why? For instance, at the entrance to Beverly Hills, our stop for 15 minutes was at a gas station that had a sign, "Welcome to Beverly Hills". I think that could be improved. Our last stop was in a Mexican flee market. I will say I did have the best Charo I ever had. If you are only looking for a few highlights and not much else, and enjoy spending a lot of time just riding around in a van then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Though the tour guide was good and nice, the trip was so so. We were shown the run down streets of LA and did not get close really to the Hollywood sign up on the hill. We just passed quickly the old stars' homes and that was it! It is not a GRAND TOUR really. Venice beach was not really impressive. The tour could have included Malibu beach!. Now my daughter has a bad impression of LA because of this tour. Not worth the money we spent. Sorry. We were not happy in the bus of what we saw, but pleased with the guide.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Paul S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The tour was ok. The disappointing part is we could not get a good picture of the Hollywood sign cause we are so FAR AWAY!!!

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour was great. After hotel pick ups we were assigned to tour buses back at the VIP Tour Depot and got started at 9.30 am. Despite the tour details saying it was a 6 hour tour, including hotel pick ups, it ran until 6pm when we were dropped off at our hotel. Much longer than expected.
Our tour guide, Jim, was great. He knew his LA history and was very knowledgable. He didn't just focus on the celebrity gossip part of LA but provided a much more in depth insight to LA. There was a bicycle ride on the day we took the tour that closed down Venice Blvd and greatly impacted traffic. Jim's knowledge of the roads and traffic allowed him to reverse the order of the tour and work around the bike ride and congested traffic. He was a great, friendly guide who made sure everyone got the most of their visit to LA. He was happy to go out of his way for everyone so they got to see everything they wanted to see.
I recommend this tour. Informative, responsive and good value for money.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Intense day with all the main sites but to spend over an hour at the Farmers Market for us was quite a waste of time which could have been spent somewhere else like the famous peoples homes and getting nearer the Hollywood sign (we had to make do with a view from Hollywood Boulevard which is quite a long way). One word of mention should go to our guide Munday, he was a scream and kept us all entertained with his quips and knowledge of the film industry.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I was really disappointed with LA, other than Hollywood and Beverly Hills there was nothing interesting
I was also disappointed we did not go anywhere close to the Hollywood sign :(

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

After being picked up at the hotel, you'll go to the tour operator's office near LAX to redeem the voucher for a ticket. The tour leaves within 15 minutes, and the van is roomy and comfortable.

The tour itinerary gives you time to walk around Marina del Rey, Venice Beach, the Chinese Theater, Stars' Walk of Fame and downtown L.A. and to shop at Olvera Street, Farmer's Market and The Grove. En route, you'll pass by stars' homes, TV and film studios, the Hollywood sign and famous sites used in movies or commercials.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

A tour which squeezes in the maximum places in the minimum time, specifically if you are on a very short stay. The only downer was the photo op for the Holywood sign, trying to click it all the way from Holywood Blvd, was just unrealistic.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour guide form VIP however it was a bit disappointing to not be able to walk through Rodeo Drive due to parking restrictions . Afterall that is the highlight or one of the highlights of LA. Also the Hollywood sign was not accessbile.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

VIP tours were very professional, with modern clean coaches. Our driver was very knowledgable and entertaining. Good value day trip. For us we would have liked a stop and few minutes at Santa Monica pier, where route 66 ends and is signed. Plus did not go past any stars houses.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Love the tour and our tour guide was pretty cool. Best advise he gave us "anywhere you go for the first time, take a city tour so you can get a feel for the place." I wish we could've gotten closer to the Hollywood sign and a little more time at the Walk of Fame. Over all, I enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

John B
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Tour was as described. Ticketing process at office very slow because of shortage of staff. Sign on tour bus stated staff depend on tips of 15 -20% for their salary. Not my job to pay their salary.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This grand tour was GREAT and we really appreciated our guide (Johnathan, who REALLY knows his city) and our nice bus driver. One remark : why do we get into the bus, go around the block and get off to walk through the Kodak Theatre and see the Hollywood sign ? Why not do that before getting into the bus or at the end of the tour ?

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This is a very comprehensive tour of Los Angeles, however some of the stops were very rushed, and there was no stop at which a photo could be taken of the HOLLYWOOD sign (photos of the sign had to be taken from the bus, while in motion - it would have been nice if a brief 5 minute stop was featured at this point). Otherwise, an informative (albeit long) tour.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message