Los Angeles ATTRACTIONS See all

Santa Monica Beach & Pier

You'll instantly recognize it from film and TV: the neon-lit arch of the Santa Monica Pier. Feel the ocean breeze as you stroll past snack shacks, a game arcade, lively entertainers, and anglers to the far tip where the entire arc of the Santa ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AMANDA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour would recommend. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the LuxBus depot to meet the tour bus although I would have preferred to be picked up from our hotel a little later as we ended up having to wait over an hour for the tour to start. Our driver Kenneth was excellent very imformative and a great sense of humour. We travelled to the coast first and you could choose to either visit Venice Beach or travel onto Santa Monica. From there the tour went onto Hollywood via Beverley Hills a short stop here would have been nice for photo opportunities. There was a three hour stop in Hollywood for sightseeing shopping etc and a chance to go to the Farmers Market if desired. On the return journey the tour dropped all passengers at their individual hotels rather than having to go via the Lux Bus depot which was much better.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Jason

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely amazing tour, a certain level of fitness is required but truly worth it. Thank you.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Geoff R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I cannot recommend this tour enough, couldn't fault the experience in any way!!!!!!!
DO IT!! Fantastic way to see LA and so much more than you'll get sitting on a bus tour of the manor awesome!.
DOOOOOOOO IIIIIIIIIIIIIT!!!!!!
Awesome day!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Sorosh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just as I expected, great guide Jason, very happy customer.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

R B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

The tour operator Lux Bus didn't go to the interiors of Beverly Hills - which I believe is because of the size of the bus. It encouraged us during the journey to take another tour - STARLINE TOURS to see movie star's home in Beverly Hills and HOLLYWOOD sign. It was 131 dollars for 2 adults and 1 child. The tour was a complete waste of money to say the least. It did not stop at the Vista point to take photographs of HOLLYWOOD sign. I think these sort of arrangements should be mentioned in your website beforehand.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Alan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Alex our driver was very knowledgeable about LA, Hollywood and Beverley Hills.
Enjoyed our time at Santa Monica beach even had time to have a turn on the big wheel on the pier. Only improvement we would suggest would be some more time at the Farmers market stop.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Gregory R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful relaxed day outing. Highly informative - I learned a lot about LA that I would never have known otherwise, and saw some magical sites.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Jake Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had an amazing time on the 3 tours we did. Our tour guide really made the experience highly memorable. We highly recommend getting Richard as your guide if you can, he is brilliant!

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Layne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great tour. Our driver, Kenneth, was very entertaining.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was an amazing day. Saw everything that needs to be seen from LA and Hollywood. Alex, our driver was incredible. Very knowledgable. Very friendly, enthusiastic and funny. I definitely recommend this tour for everyone who has not seen LA. I will definitely return and visit more of California.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

JaneMM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun! This was our best day in LA! Loved our guide.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Segway Tour

Ana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took my daughter and 5 of her friends to Pacific Park. She does not like extremely fast rides. This place hit the mark on fun and was amazing. Small enough to keep an eye on everyone and the unlimited wrist band was money well spent. I suggest spending the extra 10 on the food package. The portions were large enough that everyone was full. We took time to walk on the boardwalk to let our food settle before hitting the rides again. It also helps that it was a beautiful November day. Recommend for all ages.

Doing what: Ticket to Pacific Park on the Santa Monica Pier

Julie A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would highly recommend the Ultimate Bike Tour as a brilliant way to see Los Angeles.
It was well organised by the company and our guide was knowlegable and entertaining.
A very pleasant way to spend a day!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour is so much fun, you don't need to be fit to do this, you can pedal if you want, but its more fun if you don't. If its hot, make sure you take sun lotion, the breeze from going fast can mask how hot it actually is. I would definitely recommend this, I would love to do it again!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Dmitriy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

That was interesting

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Paul K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Was a great tour and an awesome bus driver made it even better.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Kimberly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Barb was a wonderful tour guide. Lots of stories. My cousin and I had such a wonderful time. Thank you so much for a great day!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

VICTOR M R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience!! Our tour guide Erick was an expert and kept us safe everytime. I recommend this tour 100, it is the best way to visit LA.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

KAREN H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was just great, had a brilliant time walked on hollywood boulevard, went to madame tussards, and santa monica pier was the best ever, we just loved this tour and would definitely recommend A

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Steve I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic Tour

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This a great addition to a trip to Santa Monica. Steven, our guide, has a historical knowledge of SM and Venice which added to the fun and exploration of the area. The bikes are easy to ride and one can always use the electric option. Overall, a very fun event with a pro!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Robin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour. Brian was the perfect guide, knowledgeable he grew up in LA and good company. He made sure we all got round safely too, which was nice considering the unfamiliar to us Brits rules of the road. Would definitely recommend it as a way to get to know LA, and you cover a surprising amount of it on the tour.

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Brian.P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Its all about which guide you get. If you like Segway its worth doing as you can enjoy the views and get into the spirit of the experience.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Segway Tour

sjdeakins

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Hollywood sign is no where near as clear as the picture on the tour information here. If you want a closer shot from the mall in Hollywood, make sure you bring a long lens. Our driver was Kenneth - very nice, funny, made sure we were all accounted for I was concerned about this as I was traveling alone. The bus was freezing in the morning, but he adjusted the temperature by the afternoon. You are picked up, taken to the tour location to check in, then get back on the bus for the drive into LA. We had 33 people on our tour. Our first official stop was around 11 a.m. The Farmer's Market is worth the hour or so for a nice lunch, no need to be in Hollywood that whole time. The problem is, you drive to Hollywood and 1 person got off the bus after he had to maneuver through closed streets and such, just to drive us all back there after the Farmer's Market. Why not just go to the Farmer's Market? The American Girl shop is right by the Farmer's Market too. Hollywood has a bunch of souvenir shops, but not somewhere I'd recommend spending 3 hours now that I've been there. The driver recommended Santa Monica Pier, which was great, I wish we had more than 2 hours there. The walk to the beach and pier is a ways down, plus there are lots of shops close to where the bus drops you off. Make sure you stop at the JapDog cart for a seaweed hotdog - an interesting treat! I had time to stop back by the shops for a gelato before heading to the bus. The trivia / facts shared about celebrities, movies, shows is a bit outdated - more for people in their 60's, I'd say. For example, the movie Grease came up a few times. You spend a lot of the day on the bus, driving through areas that are pointed out. I wouldn't have driven a rental car all the way from Anaheim, so for the cost of this tour, it was worth it to have someone drive you there and back.

Doing what: Best of Los Angeles Tour from Anaheim

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message