Stand in the footprints of your favorite silver-screen legends in the courtyard of this grand movie palace, formerly known as Grauman's Chinese Theatre. The exotic pagoda theater - complete with temple bells and stone Heaven Dogs from China - has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was really good and covered everything we wanted to see, like Hollywood the walk of fame and the chinese theatre. Also Venice beach and farmers market as well as the Mexican market place.
Another good tour guide who was also a wealth of information.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

very informative to get into the Egyptian Theatre and to look at the hand and foot prints at the Chinese Theatre with some information about it, given by the guide.

Doing what: Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good way to see a bit of everything in LA if you've limited time on the ground. But be aware that this tour tries to cram as many sights in as possible, so it does feel a bit rushed. Also the majority of sights are seen via a drive-by only, with limited short 20 minute stops at a few of the main sights (e.g. Marina Del Ray, Venice Beach, Rodeo Drive, Olvera Street, Chinese Theatre etc) where you can do a quick look around by yourself. We had also had a 1 hour stop at the Farmers Markets so everyone could buy their own lunch, which was a nice place to stop. A good option for those with limited time (we were in LA for 1.5 days), but if you've got more up your sleeve, it might be worth trying one of the "hop on, hop off" services instead to give yourself a chance to take a good look around the sights.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Our guide was mediocre at best. He talked alot but said nothing. The tour was fine but started late. We were dropped off at the Chinese Theatre for dinner and were told we had 60 minutes and that we had to leave on time. All the tourists were there but we waited 20 minutes for our bus to arrive and when it did the guide and Heather (?) had enjoyed smoking on it while driving around LA. It reaked of cigarette smoke but of course no windows to open. We then stopped down on Rodeo Drive and were told that we had 5 minutes to take pictures but guess what the guide and Heather stood behind the bus smoking for 20 minutes. The PA system worked at times but not usually so it just cut in and out. Save your money.

Doing what: Night Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

After a long flight from Sydney to LA arriving early morning - thought this was a good way to spend a few hours.
It was very interesting and informative and a good snapshot of the Hollywood strip area including the theater tour.
Especially enjoyed the various stars that were pointed out as well as some of the hand and foot prints in front of the Chinese Theatre.

Doing what: Hollywood - Behind the Scenes Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The grand tour is not so grand. The 1/2 day starts with a pick up from your hotel only to spend approximately 1 hr waiting at the hub with all the other guests while they sort you all on to various small buses based on tour type. Then your off where there is no stopping until you get a 15 minute stop at Venice Beach with no chance to sample any of Santa Monica beach which is the more popular one to see. The driver, although continually providing commentary, races past the sights he refers to at speed leaving little time to absorb what he is talking about or to take a reasonable photo. However when we got to the Beverley Hills area he stopped for a short 10 minute break at a gas station for no reason, parking in their driveway. The small amount of junk food sold there being the only reason some of us got out of the bus. (Probably a money based kick back thank you passed from garage operator to driver) By the way, the vehicle is too big to navigate the streets of Beverley Hills - that is another tour to see the stars homes. Then it was off to Gruman Theatre area and The Walk of Fame but very crowded as it was peak period. Better planning could have got us there earlier to reduce crowding. Then off to a week end market area where the Mexican folk meet each week-end however they are not there to entertain tourists just talk amoumgst themselves or sell you gifts from the stores operating in the area . So my comment is that for the money the whole thing is very average and not a stimulating experience.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Didn't do quite as much as advertised (no recolection of China town or Little Tokyo). Too little time in some places (only 40mins at Walk of fame, Kodak theatre and Graumans combine) and way too long for lunch (one hour in the Farmers Market). Didnt like being told what we must tip ($12) per person. Tipping is and should be up to the individual. What we did see was good.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our driver really made this tour. Fun, guided tour and helped us to feel more at home in LA and get our bearings. Great to see the Hollywood Stars, handprints and Chinese Theatre and major sites of the city as well as some celeb homes.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Very disorganised - we met the tour at the Chinese Theatre, we were told to be there at 9.30 but didn't get on bus till 10am. Then everyone got off the bus to look at the Chinese Theatre! We stayed on the bus as we had already been there for over an hour. Tour of homes good, but didn't appreciate being constantly reminded that we had to tip the driver. Then we were sort of "dumped" at the food maket (do they get a kickback?). We were picked up by a different driver (another tip?) and dropped back at the Chinese Theatre. I felt like the last part of the tour at the food market was just a time filler. Would have been better to have more sightseeing.

Doing what: Los Angeles City Tour and Movie Stars' Homes Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Tour was interesting. We could have been given a bit more time to look around at the Chinese Theatre and walk of fame, Hollywood. Lunch and looking around the Farmers Market was also a bit rushed. All in All a good tour

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

I've used Viator while traveling in other countries before - and comparably speaking, this was horrendous. The check in process was extremely disorganized.. From the time of our arrival, we waited a good 1 hour, before our tour guide finally got on the bus and introduced himself. He started by complaining about how tired he was, having only gotten 6 hours of sleep. After his lousy, narcissistic introduction, we walked back around and looked at the Chinese Theatre (where we had been waiting all that time) again for fifteen minutes. No description, nothing. Just, "Here it is. Meet me again in 15 minutes." After that, we finally got back on the bus and began the tour. Mind you this was now about 10:05 (and we had been instructed to arrive at 8:45 am) We drove to see the Hollywood sign. Then drove by all of the stars homes. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but I couldn't help feeling that he was also completely full of crap. After seeing the stars homes, we drove down Rodeo Dr. Then, at 11:45, the driver/tour guide dropped us off at the Farmers market - again we were on our own. So, what was supposed to be a three-hour tour was actually more like an hour and forty minutes. After eating lunch on our own for 45 minutes, a different driver came to pick us up to return us to the Chinese Theatre. Again we waited on the hot bus for a good 20 minutes while this driver disappeared and came back having bought himself some lunch. My suggestion - buy yourself a good map of the stars homes and drive around to see them yourself!!! This will save you about $50 per person!

Doing what: Los Angeles City Tour and Movie Stars' Homes Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Tour was very well organised. Tour guide was a lot of fun and knew his stuff. Would have been good though to have had more time at Graumans Chinese Theatre/Walk of Fame and less time at Rodeo Drive otherwise very good.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This grand tour was GREAT and we really appreciated our guide (Johnathan, who REALLY knows his city) and our nice bus driver. One remark : why do we get into the bus, go around the block and get off to walk through the Kodak Theatre and see the Hollywood sign ? Why not do that before getting into the bus or at the end of the tour ?

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Caroline Y
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Don't think we got what it said on the page !!! Didn't see Los Angeles City at all ! Only got taken to Hollywood sign, Chinese theatre and stars' homes. Had another tour 2 days later with another company and this really showed up how bad this tour was. Tour guide was rather more interested in talking about himself. Rather got the impression that the head office had put us on the wrong bus !!

Doing what: Los Angeles City Tour and Movie Stars' Homes Tour

Jillian K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

We enjoyed the tour immensely and it covered a lot of ground in the time. The only downside was not enough time allowed for Graumman Chinese Theatre and Kodak Theatre. Several tourists and myself would have liiked to climb the steps at Kodak Theatre, but there was not enough time. Perhaps time could be cut down at Olvera Street. Otherwise, a great tour and guide.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message