Los Angeles ATTRACTIONS See all

Venice Canals and Walkways

In 1905, tobacco millionaire and real estate developer Abbot Kinney sought to simulate the romantic feel of Venice, Italy in America by creating the beach resort town of Venice just south-west of Santa Monica. Kinney wrangled the area's marshland ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was awesome. The bikes were great allowing my daughter to cruise and my son to pedal. The route was amazing seeing the scenic Santa monica and the chaos that is Venice beach. We loved every second of it!!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This bike tour was the best ever and totally changed our first impression of LA! Whitney, our guide was outstanding, set a great pace and gave us a real tour. We loved it! Lunch at Venice Beach was the icing on the cake! The bikes were awesome also!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Frank S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great trip seeing Santa Monica and Venice from the view of the electric bike. It was a lot of fun to do something different and a great way to cover a lot of ground first hand. Very happy with the service and tour. Would 'definitely' do again when in the area.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting tour along Santa Monica and Venice Beach with visit of the canals. We enjoyed it much.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica :)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great tour it was very safe easy and lots of fun. Barb did a great job as host along the Santa Monica and Venice beach pointing out the stars homes and little stories. Was also fun doing the Venice canals.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a blast!! I would recommend this for anyone who wants to see Santa Monica and Venice beach area by bike.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The LA in a Day tour was excellent. Yes, there were hills in the beginning but I enjoyed that, the lunch in Venice was yummy and the ride back to West Hollywood along the Ballona Creek Bike Path - pure straight away with hardly anyone else riding - was awesome!

Doing what: The Ultimate Los Angeles Bike Tour

Larelle J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

BEST Tour I have EVER done !!!........Barb and Stephen were awesome.
We booked the 9am tour and were so very very lucky to have Barb all to ourselves. It is the ultimate way to see Venice Beach and Santa Monica Beach.
The electric bikes were brilliant. My husband hates anything physical and absolutely adored this tour.
Pedal if you want - however you don't have to if you don't want.
We went for miles and miles on these bikes - we saw more than most extremely fit people would on a normal bike - as we were not puffed out like you would be on a normal bike. You could just keep going and going.
Barb was a wealth of information and she shared her knowledge with you along the way.
A MUST DO TOUR !!!!!...............Absolutely BEST thing we did in the USA. Thanks Barb and Stephen

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Good times! The electric bikes are just great!! With zero effort, we were able to zip up and down the Santa Monica and Venice Beach. The walk through the Venice Canals was also really beautiful. I wish it was a little longer because the 2.5 hours goes by fast, but still highly recommended.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

BLAST! The bikes were very fun and felt very safe. The sites and the history was like Discovery Channel meets TMZ. Jim Morrison's old apartment in Venice was a real highlight. Muscle Beach as well, where Arnold trained in the 70's. We took the 4:30 tour and caught the Sunset over Santa Monica Pier. I noticed nearly all the reviews are 5 stars if that's any indication. Do it!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The day started with us stuck in terrible traffic. I called to ask if they wanted to move us to a later time and Steve said that they would wait for us. We got a late start but Barbara, our guide, asked if we had time to extend the ending time since we got a late start. We were thrilled that we didn't have to miss anything. We rode through Santa Monica, along the bike path of Santa Monica Beach and then through Venice Beach and the canals. Barbara had us make several stops so that she could explain the history of sights along the way as well as some pop culture. She also took several pictures of us. The bikes were great! They were easy to handle and we loved having the option of using the electric setting to help get us up some of the steeper inclines. We had a fantastic time!

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Nicola S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The tour was an excellent and fun way to see Santa Monica and Venice. Loved the electric bikes - easy to use, heaps of fun and you really don't have to pedal if you don't want so fitness is not an issue. Barb was very knowledgeable and kept the pace so that you really could have a look around, enjoy the sights and feel the sun on your face. It was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. The office is also conveniently located near public transport and the local shopping centre so we stayed on after the tour and checked these out too.

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

ozmuzziemoo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a fantastic tour lead by Barbara. The pace was very leisurely and was an excellent way to enjoy and see the scenery etc at Santa Monica and Venice Beaches. Barbara was very informative and had excellent local knowledge. This is a must do tour if you are staying in the Santa Monica region-:)
For those that are looking for some exercise you can pedal, for those that like to do things easy the electric motors do all the hard work for you-:)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Really loved the trip. Barbara, you were fabulous and were so helpful and knowledgeable.Really loved cycling around Venice beach and the canals. Those bilkes were out of this world; so easy to navigate and switching between the pedal mode and the electric mode was a piece of cake! I pedalled as much as I wanted to then zoomed up an incline then pedalled along the flat. The only question I had at the end of the wonderful tour was "Where can you buy one ?" Hope to see both Barbara and Steven again one day; my daughter and I were treated like family!
Linda and Lauren Charley (Canada)

Doing what: Electric Bicycle Tour of Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message