See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, we highly recommend it!! Our Italian tour guide, Giovanni, was excellent. He was knowledgeable, caring and courteous. He took us to all places stated plus extras. We saw elephant seals who were shedding their skin on a beach, a beautiful monastery and the beautiful Madonna Inn. His tour of San Francisco was great. We got to see allot as we were walking plus more on the Golden Gate Bay Cruise. Jeff, our driver, was very careful and caring. Giovanni was the translator for an Italian honey-moon couple. Zippy was the translator for 4 Hebrew people which was great. Also, there was a girl from Japan and there was a translator for her too.It is wonderful that you provide a translator for every nationality on your tours. We are from the east coast and we have never been to California, honestly, this tour was the highlight of our trip! Thank you! Bob and Angela C.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

mgulledg2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was wonderful! The bus driver and the tour guide were so friendly. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable about each of our tour sites. I am so thankful for our tour guide, Giovanni. I passed out for a sec. or two on the bus and Giovanni stayed right by my side. He reassured me the whole time that I would be ok. which I was. Would love to go a tour again especially if Giovanni is the tour guide. Thank you, Viator Tours, for an awesome tour. Sincerely, M. Gulledge

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

FRANCINE D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Very happy with the tour.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Thomas G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very early start but worth it. We were the only two on the tour which was great and the guide - Giovanni - was well informed, flexible and polite. Enjoyed all of it but felt that the Queen Mary was rather a let down. It appears not to have been maintained in an appropriate manner. The Ghost Tour seemed to be an attempt to entertain the tourists rather than anything special. However, glad to have seen it. Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier were the real highlights but Huntington Beach early in the morning was refreshing. A tour worth doing.

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Connie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very fun and interesting trip Giovanni was our tour guide and he was terrific

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Tatiani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this trip pretty much last minute and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Kelly was amazing, very knowledgeable and friendly. The mid size van was comfortable for the five of us and Kelly is an excellent driver, we felt safe and well taken care of. The accommodation included in the package is pretty basic so worth upgrading if you want something nicer. This trip is an easy and carefree way to experience the Californian coast and all it has to offer.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Tatiani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this trip last minute and it exceeded expectations. Kelly was amazing, very knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. The midsize van was comfortable for the five of us and Kelly is an extremely safe driver, we felt well taken care of. The accommodation included in the package is pretty basic so worth upgrading if you would like something nicer. Overall, this is an easy and carefree way to experience the Californian coast and in this context, high recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Lucille J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful views very friendly tour guide called Hal really informative..

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Lucille J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was Hal he was very nice and knowledgeable, very informative. It was so nice see all the beachs and learn some of their history.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Jakob F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

My guide was aggressive and rude and clearly had anger management issues. Hi was Italian and with bad English and several of the information gave was incorrect. Also, way to mush time spend on the bus due to the distance to Heart Castle.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Katherine J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Richard was an excellent tour guide. I'd highly recommend this tour. The day ended with an unexpected but very pleasant surprise: a visit to watch elephant seals.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Gemma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I really enjoyed this day trip to San Diego! I ended up having a private tour with Richard who was a great guide. He knew lots of interesting trivia and all of the best places around San Diego. I had a great time and I feel I got to see a lot of San Diego in a short period of time. Thanks Richard!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

susanjxu USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour is great. It ends up that I'm the only guest on the tour. I had great time in San Diego. Dorret is a wonderful woman. Thank you.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Unforgettable memories and experience!! I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Giovanni was exceptional. We felt like VIP'S his knowledge and experience of the area went far beyond. He truly loves what he does and it shows. The scenery is magnificent and me and my Mom made precious memories that we will treasure for ever. This tour is one not to be missed if you are ever in California for a few days!!!!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Ronda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Luxury transportation, beautiful weather, add in an amazing tour guide, Geovoni, to make the perfect day trip. Hearst castle is well worth the cost and time it takes to get there. We stopped every hour to explore along the way.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Beverly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was very good and there was so much to do. So happy this was a full day trip.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Richard was my tour guide. Excellent!!! Thank you Viator for sending Richard for my tour. I really enjoyed my day and company. I recommend Viator to others and I will be using Viator in New York City in June. Many thanks, Tracy Cash.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

FeLicia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. Hal was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were lucky enough to meet the owner of a historic shop on the pier, and we even caught sight of a seal or sea lion, I'm not sure. I had an extraordinary time. I plan to try another one of their tours the next time I'm in LA.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Gary M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great bus driver, great tour guide. Both very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Very much worth the 4 hour trip. Gary - Gold Coast Australia

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Scott K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

NIce small group travel. Nice tour director but not very informative... more of just a driver getting us from one place to another. Accommodations were nice.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Sharmini K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour, it was fabulous !!! Really enjoyed the drive along the Pacific Coast Highway Route 1, we even managed to see elephant seals basking in the sun along the beach, waiting for the females in January. Santa Barbara, Carmel and Monterrey was lovely too, during the trip the guides make sure we were given adequate time at each of these stops. Would have loved to be longer in Monterrey Bay, but a 3 day tour has time restrictions. San Francisco was lovely, managed to visit China Town, did a tram ride and took lovely photos of the city from Lombard. Our guides Dorrit, Giovanni and driver Yacob were exceptional, so very knowledgeable and professional. Dorrit is particular was friendly, caring and extremely patient with our constant questioning !! Love her ! The hotel rooms were all comfortable and there were many stopovers to enable us to take photographs of the beautiful scenery. I could do this tour again, it was fab !!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Jake Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had an amazing time on the 3 tours we did. Our tour guide really made the experience highly memorable. We highly recommend getting Richard as your guide if you can, he is brilliant!

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Valborg A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip - Richard was a great tour conductor and the driver was excellent!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Snooz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was sensational. Our tour guide Richard was friendly, accomodating and very informative. I highly recommend this tour. Great day out.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Laura S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour was really Good, Tour Guide and Driver were excellent but transportation was too cramped and time at one place was too limited. I would opt to spend more time in Solvang and have lunch there instead of at the Castle.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message