See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really Amazing tour. Adam was wonderful at giving us all the necessary information, he stopped when he spotted whales and answered our questions when we asked about the area, the sea life etc... I would recommend this tour 100%.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic.the places we have seen was really worth seeing.the tour bus was comfortable ,the driver was kind and the tour guide was very care about towards all passengers.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trip was very good because we saw many things. The hotels were very good choice, especially the Fairmont in San José. The guide was a very nice person. The driver was also very nice. The bus was quite old and not very comfortable. But there was a more serious problem. The driver did not ask anybody to fasten belts and kids were running in the bus. And the worst thing which really put our security in danger is that the driver was telephoning and looking photos on his telephone while driving !!!!!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Trip itinerary covered all the stops we were expecting; accommodations were comfortable and I felt safe during the tour. However, non- Hebrew speaking guests were not allowed to sit near the front of the bus and received less commentary. I was asked to collect tips from the other English speakers.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We were disappointed that it was not a "small group" as advertised. We did not stop at Carmel, which we were looking forward to, and rest and eat stops were poorly planned as choices were often quick and no more than a McDonald's. Tour guide was very unprofessional in his language. To sum it up, we were expecting more and that didn't happen

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip!!! Tour guide was so knowledgable and kind. Was a trip I would highly recommend to everyone and I would do again.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip!!! Tour guide was so knowledgable and kind. Was a trip I would highly recommend to everyone and I would do again.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My road trip to Santa Barbara, Solvang, and Hearst Castle was the BEST!!! I've lived in Los Angeles for the past 24 years and have not ventured up the coast. Richard, our driver and tour guide was the best. He was very knowledgable about every inch of the way there and back. He had the best attitude and patience. I would love to take another day trip if I knew I'd have him as my guide.
Aside from our guide, the locations were beautiful. Hearst Castle was breath-taking. I loved Solvang. My only complaint is that we weren't there long enough to see much. I definitely plan to re-visit Solvang.
Great Job, Viator and Richard.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I would give this trip 10 stars if I could,mi honestly could not praise it enough. Richard our guide was wonderful. He was very friendly and extremely knowledgable. We were picked up 6.30am and returned at 7.30pm. We stopped off at lovely places and had plenty of time to look around, Richard was on hand to answer any questions and knew more about the area than the locals. There was only 6 of us on the tour so it was very intimate. My favourite part was old town San Diego, very interesting and was took some amazing photos.
I do not have one bad thing to say about this trip, it inspired me to book San Diego as my next holiday.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I highly recommend this tour it was the best part of my LA holiday. The hotels were 5 star and Central , very organised and we have seen the best of California. I will defenetly book another tour with Viator

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Sarah W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

All stops were amazing, especially Hearst Castle and seals. Small tour group size a definite plus. Our driver/guide was ok. Hoping for Richard (!) but ours was bilingual for fellow tourists (felt disconnected). Drop off too late, felt unsafe at night. I second suggestion to go straight to Hearst 1st.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

A long long bus tour - loads of driving, uncomfortable bus - not what we expected. Hotel in San Francisco was terrible. We had a group of Italians on the bus who were very very noisy and always late to return to the bus - just totally unpleasant. Our tour guide Michael and bus driver Jeff, were fantasttic!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was the greatest!, and Richard, our guide/manager was absolutely tremendous! He answered all our questions honestly. He was responsive, went out of his way to show us interesting or important items, and he KNEW his trip to the smallest detail. In fact I don't think we could have had a better guide!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message