See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant guide, small group, wonderful sights and comfortable hotels

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

J'écris en français Nous un couple australien, ma petite-fille Janine et moi, nous avons eu l'occasion de faire ce voyage avec Mark. Mark était un guide très expérimenté, il nous a montré tout ce qu'il fallait montrer et beaucoup davantage. En route,, nous avons eu de longues discussions très inéressantes sur les Etats Unis aiinsi que, des problèmes écologiques. Mark est très sensible à ces questions, ce qui me plaisait beaucoup! c'est rare pour les Américains ! Il nous a trouvé deux hôtels délicieux où nousd avons passé la nuit.
C'était un voyage 100 réussi, grâce à Mark. MERCI!!! Regula de la Suisse

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It ended up being just myself, my son and the tour guide. It was a pleasant trip and the tour guide Armin was great.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide is very good and we enjoyed the trip thoroughly..

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome and the tour guide was excellent and very knowledgable

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tour Guide Emanuel an Italian and our driver Sam Russian were terrific, courteous thoughtful and full of helpful info. We were a group of 4 adults Aussies we had a great time and would highly recommend this tour. Outstanding value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was beautiful. I had never heard of Hearst Castle and I believe visiting this castle is a must for really getting a feel for Hollywood culture.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The whole team was amazing. Not only was our pilot very friendly and knowledgeable about the sights we saw, but was extremely helpful in my effort to pull off an epic surprise proposal.

Doing what: Helicopter Tour over California's Coastline with Private Landing from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the best tips ever. Our tour guide was great. Great deal too.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was a lot of fun. The tour guide was very knowledgeble.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful day, Hearst Castle well worth visiting. Guide Richard is just the most informative and helpful guide you could ask for. We were the only two people booked on this day, but still operated for us, and went out of his way to make it all happen. A definite must do while in L.A.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Time on Navy vessel in my opinion was too long, surely we could have visited other places of interest

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The title of the tour is deceiving as you see very little of San Diego, and only visit a few stops along the way from Los Angeles. The time spent at The Midway Navy Ship took about 1/2 the duration of the actual tour, and unless you're a U.S. Navy fan, it's almost a complete waste of time. The island tour and hotel was nice, but seeing an old wooden elegant hotel, is ok, but nothing special unless you check in there and hang out for a few days. Old Town San Diego is nothing but a fake old town, and resembles a movie set. You only see San Diego city as a quick drive through and the tour guide points to a few neighbourhoods and tells you a bit about them. Our driver: Richard Salem was a maniac driver and we actually thought we'd be killed as his driving skills were awful !! Don't waste your money on this overly expensive waste of time.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This day tour from Los Angeles to Hearst Castle surpassed all expectations and we had a most enjoyable day. Richard, our tour guide, was excellent, very knowledgeable on the area and the places visited, etc. He drove perfectly, and described the fruit growing, vine growing, vegetable growing areas as we passed through. Robert and Shirley Holding parents of Jan Jackson who gave us the trip as a gift

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tour guide we have ever had. She made the trip so enjoyable, very caring person.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Laksmi H
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was amazing. A lady who is the guide and the driver was very patient, understanding, gave me very interesting information about all the places we passed and went. Sorry I forgot her name nut I remember that she was born in Brazil. I was the only person in the tour but it was not cancelled.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Richard was a great driver/tour guide. Unforgettable day!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day! Richard the tour guide was excellent. Solvang was great but Hearst castle was amazing, a real highlight of my holiday. The tour was expertly organised. Thank you again Richard

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Amazing Tour! Loved the history and views from Hearst were beautiful.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Touring down Highway 1 is a must do! Mark was a relaxed, well-organised tour guide and our small group managed to fit quite a lot of sights in, as well as having time to relax. Recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour to San Diego from Los Angeles was great! Our tour guide was very good
and the group consisted of only six people. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Toni Y G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

My San Diego trip was great. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out lots of extras. The only disappointment of the tour was 'San Diego Old Town'. It's very much a 'tourist trap' and I think, with all there is to see in San Diego, you could substitute a visit to somewhere else of interest rather than the old town. This is my reason for giving 4 stars rather than 5. I would recommend the tour to anyone wanting to see San Diego highlights.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Richard was a wonderful tour guide, very knowledgable and engaging. We were lucky in that there were only 3 of us on the tour so it was very personalised. Hearst Castle was by far the highlight of the trip for me but we also went to see Elephant Seals nearby before the drive home which was amazing.
Highly recommend this day trip out of LA.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Long day with stops that should have been brief, but were not. No need to stop at pier or Mission in Santa Barbara, you aren't touring the Mission and there is nothing to do at the pier except stretch your legs but that stop is one hour into the trip at the start of the day, so a drive thru would have been sufficient...the Solvang stop 10am, not really lunch time isn't long enough for lunch, if that was its intention...No designated lunch time was given or stop for lunch...

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message