See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This day tour from Los Angeles to Hearst Castle surpassed all expectations and we had a most enjoyable day. Richard, our tour guide, was excellent, very knowledgeable on the area and the places visited, etc. He drove perfectly, and described the fruit growing, vine growing, vegetable growing areas as we passed through. Robert and Shirley Holding parents of Jan Jackson who gave us the trip as a gift

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tour guide we have ever had. She made the trip so enjoyable, very caring person.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Laksmi H
Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip was amazing. A lady who is the guide and the driver was very patient, understanding, gave me very interesting information about all the places we passed and went. Sorry I forgot her name nut I remember that she was born in Brazil. I was the only person in the tour but it was not cancelled.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day! Richard the tour guide was excellent. Solvang was great but Hearst castle was amazing, a real highlight of my holiday. The tour was expertly organised. Thank you again Richard

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Amazing Tour! Loved the history and views from Hearst were beautiful.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Touring down Highway 1 is a must do! Mark was a relaxed, well-organised tour guide and our small group managed to fit quite a lot of sights in, as well as having time to relax. Recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour to San Diego from Los Angeles was great! Our tour guide was very good
and the group consisted of only six people. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Richard was a wonderful tour guide, very knowledgable and engaging. We were lucky in that there were only 3 of us on the tour so it was very personalised. Hearst Castle was by far the highlight of the trip for me but we also went to see Elephant Seals nearby before the drive home which was amazing.
Highly recommend this day trip out of LA.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Long day with stops that should have been brief, but were not. No need to stop at pier or Mission in Santa Barbara, you aren't touring the Mission and there is nothing to do at the pier except stretch your legs but that stop is one hour into the trip at the start of the day, so a drive thru would have been sufficient...the Solvang stop 10am, not really lunch time isn't long enough for lunch, if that was its intention...No designated lunch time was given or stop for lunch...

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved this trip. Mark our guide/driver was excellent. The scenery is stunning and we missed nothing. I really wanted to see "The Lonesome Pine" and it was on our itinerary. There were 3 of us and I guess this is the minimum number for the tour. It made it special and even better than driving independently. Mark said he had driven this route a few years ago with his Father and they "missed almost all the sights". Originally I was going to hire a car with a friend to do this journey. However my plans changed so I booked this trip and it was a great success .

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was expertly organized and since there were only 4 of us, we had what seemed like a private guided VIP tour experience! The driver/tour guide was excellent and friendly and courteous. He was well experienced and knowledgeable, making this trip a breeze and very enjoyable without any stress. I would definitely do this again! The added bonus of stopping over at the Sea Lions Beach after Hearst Castle right before sunset was absolutely the icing on the cake!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful trip. There was a tour guide, Ingrid, and 3 passengers so it was a very personal experience and was lots of fun. Ingrid was really knowledgeable, especially about Hearst Castle and has obviously done her research well. She went above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was absolutely fantastic.Santa Barbara and Solvang were very pretty towns. Hearst Castle is absolutely amazing. Richard our tour guide was very knowledgable, friendly and a very good driver. I can throughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

tour was nice, to much time spent at naval museum in my opinion , just seemed like such a waste to be inside when there were so many other things to do outside in San Diego.
tour guides were very friendly ,overall a enjoyable day.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although this was a really good trip and our two tour guides were excellent, it was spoiled by the bus driver, Jakob, who did not know the route to San Diego so the tour guide, Ingrid, had to sit next to him explaining directions. He complained a lot, blamed her if he took a wrong turn and also said some inappropriate things to her. This was a small bus with 9 passengers and I could hear everything. Also, which was nobody's fault, the traffic coming home was really bad and took hours longer than the estimated time. However, the actual tour was well worth it.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The guide and bus driver were very informative and pleasant. I walk with a cane and am not able to walk that far, but they made sure I could see everything possible and also allowed me to stay on the bus when needed.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had an amazing trip with Ingrid as my guide.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Ingrid was amazing. Two people pulled out before the tour even started because they called her a 'housewife'. Boy did they miss out. It was so personalised, enjoyable and insightful. I wish there was more time in Solvang but that was not due to any fault on Ingrid's behalf. Thank you so much!!!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall this was a good tour. However, we reached the Pickwick Hotel very late and it was exhausting. The breakfast next day was disappointing. It was not at the Pickwick Hotel but next door where we given some scrambled eggs and bread. Dorit was a wonderful tour director. We stopped at some of the best spots and the weather was lovely. On the last day we reached very late in the evening and were dropped off at our hotel in LA. It was tiring but still and enjoyable trip. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Magnifico tour. Guia muy profesional.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I enjoyed every minute of this trip. Met some lovely people from all over the world. Our tour guide was friendly helpful and very knowledgeable. The places we stayed were of high standard and the tour its self amazingly adventurous.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is an amazing tour! We had the wonderful guide named Dorit. She is a lot of fun and communicates well with everyone!! We travelled from NZ for a trip of a lifetime and thanks to this tour we have! Definitely recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! Our wonderful escort, Richard, was an added delight!

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the scenic drive along the California coasts. Richard narrated some very interesting facts and history of the towns we visited. Santa Barbara is a charming town, while Solvang gives a fun, tasty, and small town feel. The drive to the Hearst Castle and the views from atop are astounding! Moreover, the sights of the coast as you go up and down the winding road to and from the castle is so beautiful!

Since we were timely on arrival and departure, Richard had time to surprise us with a stop at one of California's coastal trails in San Simeon to see the elephant seals. They're huge at 5000 lbs., but cute creatures. He also stopped the car for us to view closer the "zebras" roaming in the Hearst property.

Overall, the tour was fantastic and Richard is outstanding!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it! Fantastic day! Your guide was very helpful, informative and fun! Would
Highly recommend doing this tour if wanting to do San Diego in one day!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message