See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Richard was an excellent tour guide. I'd highly recommend this tour. The day ended with an unexpected but very pleasant surprise: a visit to watch elephant seals.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Gemma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I really enjoyed this day trip to San Diego! I ended up having a private tour with Richard who was a great guide. He knew lots of interesting trivia and all of the best places around San Diego. I had a great time and I feel I got to see a lot of San Diego in a short period of time. Thanks Richard!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Beverly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was very good and there was so much to do. So happy this was a full day trip.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Richard was my tour guide. Excellent!!! Thank you Viator for sending Richard for my tour. I really enjoyed my day and company. I recommend Viator to others and I will be using Viator in New York City in June. Many thanks, Tracy Cash.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

FeLicia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. Hal was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were lucky enough to meet the owner of a historic shop on the pier, and we even caught sight of a seal or sea lion, I'm not sure. I had an extraordinary time. I plan to try another one of their tours the next time I'm in LA.

Doing what: Santa Monica and Venice Beach Tour from Los Angeles

Gary M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great bus driver, great tour guide. Both very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Very much worth the 4 hour trip. Gary - Gold Coast Australia

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Scott K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

NIce small group travel. Nice tour director but not very informative... more of just a driver getting us from one place to another. Accommodations were nice.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Sharmini K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour, it was fabulous !!! Really enjoyed the drive along the Pacific Coast Highway Route 1, we even managed to see elephant seals basking in the sun along the beach, waiting for the females in January. Santa Barbara, Carmel and Monterrey was lovely too, during the trip the guides make sure we were given adequate time at each of these stops. Would have loved to be longer in Monterrey Bay, but a 3 day tour has time restrictions. San Francisco was lovely, managed to visit China Town, did a tram ride and took lovely photos of the city from Lombard. Our guides Dorrit, Giovanni and driver Yacob were exceptional, so very knowledgeable and professional. Dorrit is particular was friendly, caring and extremely patient with our constant questioning !! Love her ! The hotel rooms were all comfortable and there were many stopovers to enable us to take photographs of the beautiful scenery. I could do this tour again, it was fab !!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

Jake Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had an amazing time on the 3 tours we did. Our tour guide really made the experience highly memorable. We highly recommend getting Richard as your guide if you can, he is brilliant!

Doing what: California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, Huntington Beach, Venice Beach and Santa Monica

Valborg A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip - Richard was a great tour conductor and the driver was excellent!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Snooz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was sensational. Our tour guide Richard was friendly, accomodating and very informative. I highly recommend this tour. Great day out.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Laura S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour was really Good, Tour Guide and Driver were excellent but transportation was too cramped and time at one place was too limited. I would opt to spend more time in Solvang and have lunch there instead of at the Castle.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

mcleanfamily

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide a great guy, very informative but I would have preferred less time at Solvang and more
time at Hearst castle

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Julie T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide and driver were very professional. Be prepared for a very long day. The highlight was definitely Hearst Castle. I would have loved a lot more time there, as the guided tour took most of the allotted time and left no time for wondering around the Castle. However well worth the experience.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Heather H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Beautiful scenery, lots of opportunities for photos, Tour guide Mark was fun, pleasant and accommodating.
Would have liked more time in Carmel and Solvang. Suggest Hearst Castle be optional. Tour somewhat pricey as no meals were included.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Maria R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Very long day and unfortunately the driver/guide wasn't very knowledgeable about the tour. He was nice but wanted to get in and out of every town and castle fast

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

World Traveler USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great day trip. While it starts early, you cover so much ground. After quickly touring Santa Barbara, you stop in the adorable town of Solvang which was perfect timing to get breakfast from one of the local pastry shops in town. Hearst Castle was so impressive and docent guides really painted a picture of what life was like there with William.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day out with the family. Even though the day was long, we saw so much!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lovely day trip and our guide Richard was amazing.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hearst Castle was amazing and definitely the highlight of the day.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

T.C.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I don't drive but I want to take a road trip from SF down to LA, so choosing this tour is a very easy decision. And it's one hell of a great decision. Adam contacted me long before the start day to confirm pick up location. And I appreciated him for that. For many wrong reasons, I ended up changing my pick up location 3 times and he was ever patient with me and it helped to easy my mind a lot. The day the tour started, he arrived early so we can have a good start. There were only 3 passengers me and a nice couple from Australia and the car was super comfortable for us. Adam is a very careful driver and knowledgeable guide, he made many stops along the way so we could take as many photos of the picturesque coastline as we wanted.
On the first day, because of good traffic and early start, we even had time to make a stop at the redwood forest. All the towns we made a stop were nice, charming and made me feel like I was travelling back to the past. The Monterey Aquarium is much more interesting than I expected. And the hotel in Monterey is just great, big room, very stylish. The wine and cheese reception is a nice surprise. On second day, the 17-mile drive is up to expectation. The fog came down heavy so we couldn't have a good view from Nepenthe cafe but we still had nice view on the road and Adam made more stops a long the way for us ladies to take pictures again and again. Hearst Castle is really something. Hotel in Cambria is nothing special but comfortable and quite charming in looking department. On the third day, we arrived at Solvang quite early, before the big bus tour arrived so we almost had the whole town for our own to take as much picture as we wanted. The train trip from Santa Barbara to Los Angeles was quite nice. I could take in the nice beach view from the train big window.
Tips: You have to try the cakes at Nepenthe cafe. If you travel as a couple, spend a bit more for the Superior Lodging and you will have a nice surprise.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

Dianne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An amazing trip with a very knowledgable guide. Loved the small group and getting to know others from around the world. Fabulous scenery at a lovely pace with plenty of time for all activities. Loved every minute of the trip

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

GARRY W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic trip which covered great places of interest in the day. really whetted our appetite to re-visit San Diego. Brilliant overview in the given time. Thanks so much for many happy memories

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First rate guide Richard provided us all with a most enjoyable day. Hearst Castle was amazing. Would have appreciated a time set aside for dinner since the day was very long. All in all, however, splended!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message