• USD ($)
  • English
See more of California on these day trips from Los Angeles. Leave the city for a day to discover coastal towns and attractions like Venice Beach, Hearst Castle, San Diego and more! California Beach Cities Day Trip from Los Angeles: Long Beach, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip!!! Tour guide was so knowledgable and kind. Was a trip I would highly recommend to everyone and I would do again.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip!!! Tour guide was so knowledgable and kind. Was a trip I would highly recommend to everyone and I would do again.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My road trip to Santa Barbara, Solvang, and Hearst Castle was the BEST!!! I've lived in Los Angeles for the past 24 years and have not ventured up the coast. Richard, our driver and tour guide was the best. He was very knowledgable about every inch of the way there and back. He had the best attitude and patience. I would love to take another day trip if I knew I'd have him as my guide.
Aside from our guide, the locations were beautiful. Hearst Castle was breath-taking. I loved Solvang. My only complaint is that we weren't there long enough to see much. I definitely plan to re-visit Solvang.
Great Job, Viator and Richard.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Kay Auld
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I would give this trip 10 stars if I could,mi honestly could not praise it enough. Richard our guide was wonderful. He was very friendly and extremely knowledgable. We were picked up 6.30am and returned at 7.30pm. We stopped off at lovely places and had plenty of time to look around, Richard was on hand to answer any questions and knew more about the area than the locals. There was only 6 of us on the tour so it was very intimate. My favourite part was old town San Diego, very interesting and was took some amazing photos.
I do not have one bad thing to say about this trip, it inspired me to book San Diego as my next holiday.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Sarah W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

All stops were amazing, especially Hearst Castle and seals. Small tour group size a definite plus. Our driver/guide was ok. Hoping for Richard (!) but ours was bilingual for fellow tourists (felt disconnected). Drop off too late, felt unsafe at night. I second suggestion to go straight to Hearst 1st.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

A long long bus tour - loads of driving, uncomfortable bus - not what we expected. Hotel in San Francisco was terrible. We had a group of Italians on the bus who were very very noisy and always late to return to the bus - just totally unpleasant. Our tour guide Michael and bus driver Jeff, were fantasttic!

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was the greatest!, and Richard, our guide/manager was absolutely tremendous! He answered all our questions honestly. He was responsive, went out of his way to show us interesting or important items, and he KNEW his trip to the smallest detail. In fact I don't think we could have had a better guide!

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thanks for the fantastic day
Very well organised and run
Highly recommend
Yelena ,
Adelaide

Australia

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Despite the long trip this was an excellent opportunity to see some of the Californian coastline, the wine regions around Santa Barbara and Hearst castle. The weather helped - it was a perfect day, sunny and warm and even the journey through the outskirts of LA was interesting. Our guide/driver; Richard, was informative, amusing and went out of his way to be helpful and make the trip worthwhile for my wife and I.
(a short side trip to see some elephant seals; pointing out the role Solvang and its region played in the film Sideways etc.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our driver and guide , Kelly , was informative and helpful and with varied aspects gave our group of 5 a personalised tour drawing from her own knowledge and experience in California. It was really great and the accommodation was comfortable while our hosts were friendly and hospitable. The Mission in Santa Barbara could be added to the comprehensive itinerary .

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: San Francisco to Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was the best day of the week. Loved Santa Barbara and Solvang. Best danish pastry and Richard the tour guide fantastic.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful time visiting San Diego.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was everything I was hoping for and more. Our tour guide Eli was excellent, warm, funny and knew details about every little town and place we stopped. We had a good experience and we were very comfortable in the bus. They picked all the right stops to stop and take pictures.

Doing what: 3-Day California Coast Tour: Santa Barbara, San Francisco and Carmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed our tour. Richard was great! He was informative and a lot of fun. He also went out of his way to be helpful.

Doing what: Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message