Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Engelberg Monastery

This Benedictine Monastery lies in the heart of Engelberg. It is dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels and, to this day, there are still roughly 30 monks living and working in the Engelberg monastery. Engelberg's culture dates back to the 12th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Just ok, too much time wasted picking up ppl as there were lotsa stops before you were actually transferred to the designated place since they combined with the group for Pilatus and Titlist, and due to that, too short time at Lucerne. Not very well organized.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Both destinations are beautiful and amazing and among the best excursions from Zurich. The tour guide is fantastic. However, keep in mind that in Engelberg you gonna spend time alone (no guide). So it is better if you are accompanied by some1.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Though it was a long day out this tour was worthwhile. We were the only tourists who chose to stay on the bus and visit Engelberg. All the other tourists decided to get off to visit Mt Pilatus or Mt Titlis. The tour guide was informative and also met the group on time when we had visited Lucerne which was beautiful. Though Engelberg was a small village we were able to spend time at the Monastery and also have lunch while enjoying the views of Mt Titlis.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day trip to Lucerne and Engelberg was the best day tour that I ever had. the Tour Guide Robert was very professional and had complete knowledge of the sites that we visited. The views are spectacular, the Swiss landscape has no equal. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We spend only one hour in luzern which was not enough in beutiful luzern and four hourse and a half in englberg which was smaller and dosent have enough activities to keep us entertain.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely stunning! Lucerne is a gorgeous small town, and I would've loved to have spent a day or two there. We drove into the town centre which made seeing the main sights a lot easier. Engelberg was absolutely amazing as was the breathtaking drive up there. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good trip. If you don't like walking though, Engelberg wouldn't be for you. Some lovely walks and scenery, but nothing else. Lucerne was also beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Lucerne was nice, and so was the trip to Engleberg. However, There's nothing much to do in Engelberg, unless you are willing to tale a lengthy stroll of three hours on your own. Monastry is closed, and Cheese Factory is only an eye wash. Scenery is very beautiful. Guide was quite knowledgeable, but the crowd (full of bus load) was too much to handle! That made the driver temperamental.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Liked the scenic beauty and the tour guide who was very helpful and energetic. Probably due to a cloudy day, we could not enjoy too much but overall it was OK.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

There was confusion over the booking of this trip so we ended up going on the chocolate cheese and mountain trip to Appenzell. This trip was excellent and the guide was brilliant. She knew so much about the local area which made it extremely interesting and enjoyable. I would highly reccommend this trip to anyone visiting Switzerland.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Beautiful places and excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a beautiful day trip with the most amazing scenery i have ever seen. It was a shame that it was spoilt by rude people that can't get back to the bus at the time that the guide had told us. A lot of the day was wasted sitting on the bus waiting for people that cant tell the time. The tour guide was really lovely but i think she could have been a little tougher on the people that continually got back to the bus late

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best trip ever....Lucerne is very nice, we stayed only 45 min. However, when you arrive to Engelberg, it is just heaven...

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The bus depot is right behind the main train station easy to find and well organize. The bus was in excellent condition and the tour guide spoke English and Spanish although he was very youing but very prodessional, polite with very good overaall knowledge. Lucerne is a beautiful city with many things to see the time allowed was average it would have been better if we had some more time. Engelberg was an extremely beautiful village with nice food. Although the weather was terrible but the overall experience was very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Don't take this tour. They combined a few different tours in the same bus.
We got only 30 min in Lucerne and then we were dumped in Engelberg for three hours and our tour guide left with the bus and other people to mount Pilatus.
There is nothing in Engelberg to do for three hours. It is a dead season in May. Almost everything is closed except some monastery. We managed to fine some pizza place and then we bought train tickets back to Lucerne and then to Zurich. A lot of money wasted.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message