Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Engelberg Monastery

This Benedictine Monastery lies in the heart of Engelberg. It is dedicated to Our Lady of the Angels and, to this day, there are still roughly 30 monks living and working in the Engelberg monastery. Engelberg's culture dates back to the 12th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

very good tour guide and program

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

parvez_khalid

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Very small town. No place to enjoy except you opt to spend some money and go to brunii or other nearby places with play parks and other sporting clubs

Doing what: Engelberg - The Great Mountain Village

Kathi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this trip. The staff was welcoming and the motor coach was top of the line. Due to a snow storm we weren't able to go to Engelberg and where given choices for an alternative and a partial refund. I had read prior reviews and most stated they wished they could have spent more time in Lucerne, and that is what we chose to do and were not disappointed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

barbrasilva25

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide, Evelyn, was wonderful! Her energy was infectious. Evelyn was knowledgable and both she and the driver, Eliseo, were great. The tour was well worth it. Lucerne and Engelberg are stunning. I went on a Sunday so bear in mind that the majority of stores are closed.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Jonathan L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The trip did not accurately advertise this 'tour.' We were in Lucerne for about an hour only. The bus dropped us off in Engelberg for 3 hours because they combine this tour with a Mt. Titlus tour and it is convenient for them to leave us in Engelberg while everyone else in the tour goes up to the top of the mountain. Save your money and take a train or a bus to Lucerne if that is the part of this tour that interests you. Had we known we would only have an hour in Lucerne we would have never booked this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Kristina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

excellent experience and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

rahulada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great tour and our guide Antje was very good.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Israel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day tour, Engelberg was fantastic. Wish we had more time in lucerne, but it was not bad.
We did not go up The mountain, good choice, or else we would not have seen Elgelberg.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Dominic Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We were a small group, only 5 people, so Walter the tour guide was able to give us personal attention.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Rima D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Lucerne is nice. We had a couple of hours to walk around the city, see the bridge and do some shopping. However the Engelberg part was a total loss of time. We knew that it was supposed to be free time but the tour description mentioned that we could visit the monastery and cheese factory or have lunch. The bus was supposed to pick us up at 4:30 p.m.
It appeared that the monastery tour starts at 4:00 so it was risky to take it if we didnt want to miss the bus.
The cheese factory was just one man manipulating 2 buckets of milk, nothing to really see.
And all the restaurants were closed because it was already 2 p.m so kitchens were closed. We ended up in the tourist office, asked there where we could eat. They told us that the kitchen in the restaurant of hotel Banklialp would be open. We walked until there to discover that the kitchen was also closed too, but they accepted to serve us soup and salad.
So overall, Engelberg was a loss of time, nothing to do there. Either take a full day in Lucerne or take the tour to Mount titlis

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

MARIA EUNESE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

we really enjoyed our trip and it was a nice and memorable experience. We really had a good time! Thank you

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

David V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Nice to see Lucerne and Engelberg is a nice little town. 3 hours in Engelberg is a bit much unless, as we did, you do some hiking. More Lucerne would be a good change to the itinerary.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Desiree G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Our tour guide was very sweet, however, this tour is also a Mount Titlus tour. So you get an hour in Lucerne way too short and 3 hours in Engleberg way too long while everyone else goes up to Mt. Titlus. There is no direction in Engleberg, and although it's a very cute town there is not much to see or much to do. We walked around the entire village twice and ate. It was pretty expensive to take a train to Lucerne, almost the cost of this trip - so on that note it was a good choice to take this tour because you get two cities for the price of one. However, if you'd like to see Lucerne then perhaps try either another tour or bite the bullet and buy a train ticket from Zurich. If you're not going to do Mt. Titlus, this tour is a miss. Engleberg, in my opinion, isn't a must see village. Very cute but not cute enough to spend 3 hours there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

usha_chaudhary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We ended up upgrading this to include the Titlis mountain tour. Highly recommended. Had the best time ever!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lucerne is a beautiful town, very picturesque. The covered bridges were unlike any I'd seen before. Wish I could have spent more time there, but I added on the trip to Mt Titles at the last minute, and very happy with that excursion!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Donia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had so much fun up there. If there's snow don't ever miss it out

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Caroline C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour overall! Lucerne was of course beautiful and Engelberg was breathtaking! It was a bit unsettling when the guide got off the bus with the group at Mt. Titlis and I continued on with the bus driver to where he dropped me off in Engelberg. I understand I was the only person who had decided to visit Engelberg, but it was still weird for a guided tour. The materials given to me about Engelberg were the same materials I could have picked up at a Tourist Center. If I pay more for a tour I expect to have some guidance about what to do during my time there! I now understand why so many People give this tour a bad review since the three hours in Engelberg would be very boring unless you crafted your own itinerary. I managed to easily fill my time but I also was willing to explore further than most would without a guide. I will gladly submit a detailed Suggested Itinerary if you contact me.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

MARIA LOURDES T Philippines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We originally booked Lucerne and engelberg tour but the tour operator persuaded as to upgrade to my titlis tour so we paid an extra 168 chf - this tour we enjoyed - advise to others do t take the Lucerne / engelberg tour - they will bring you to Lucerne for one hour then drop you off at engelberg

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Margaret O R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Engelberg, while a cute little village nestled at the base of the Alps, was a huge disappointment.

It's our own mistake, but I think we should've gone to the top with the rest of the tour or stayed in Lucerne.- a much nicer little town with lots of authentic sights and shopping.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

GENI MAKI K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Beautiful! But too long time to stay in Engelberg by yourselves...

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Samit C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

In a word it was great...

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

fortunatoo

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was a very enjoyable trip, though 3 hours in Engelberg was a little too much. In addition to people taking this trip (I was the only one), the first stop is for people going to Mount Titlis. I would recommend doing the Lucerne Mount Titlis trip rather than Engleberg.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

ANDY C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Just ok, too much time wasted picking up ppl as there were lotsa stops before you were actually transferred to the designated place since they combined with the group for Pilatus and Titlist, and due to that, too short time at Lucerne. Not very well organized.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

jawadmandakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Both destinations are beautiful and amazing and among the best excursions from Zurich. The tour guide is fantastic. However, keep in mind that in Engelberg you gonna spend time alone (no guide). So it is better if you are accompanied by some1.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message