Lake Lucerne is the 4th largest lake in the country and has complicated shape that curves into the mountains and the city of Lucerne. The lake’s has a total area of 114 square kilometers (44 sqare miles). The lake and shoreline have many stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour - a little bit of everything: gondola ride to the top of Mt. Pilatus, a cogwheel train ride down the mountain, then a lovely boat ride across Lake Lucerne. Everyone in our group enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Weather was the real star as day was beautiful. Had to get local bus on own was only shortcoming.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Lovely trip around the upper part of the lake.

Doing what: Lake Lucerne Panoramic Sightseeing Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The trip from Zurich to Lucerne was very nice and the guide was knowledgeable. However, we were left in Lucerne at a watch shop which was suppossed to have restrooms and sitting area to be available during the 6 hours free time in Lucerne. The restrooms were dirty and on the second floor. Also there was no sitting area to use at the end of our free time. It appeared to be merely a way to get us into a store that gave kickbacks to the tour company.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Worth doing but only if it is a TOTALLY CLEAR DAY. Sun was shining in Old Town but by the time we got up to the top there was no view at all -- all we saw were clouds. Did enjoy the new Dragon Gondolar going up and the Cogwheel Train going down. Unfortunately the entire purpose of our visit was to the see the view ... what we got was NO view. I do realize that the tour company has absolutely no control over the weather.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Did Heidiland tour instead as realised that this would be a repeat of jungfraujoch scenery. Felt Heidiland trip had too much in it. Had litytle time in Heidiland which was a shame since this was the main attraction. Could do without Lindt factory stop. Also spent a long time looking at a ski slop with melting snow. Rushed Leichestein as well. Lunch stop was lovely

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide, great service, good value for money.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

You didn't tell us the gondola was broken down. That was disappointing.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

We were very disappointed. When we arrived at the train depot portion, we were told that there wasn't enough room for our group so we would have to wait an hour for the next train. We were part of the group that started in Lucerne and were to meet up with the group from Zurich. When we did finally arrive at the top, our tour guide pointed to a sign and told us to head that way and be back in time to catch the train down. That was not a guided tour. Then when we got to the boat, she didn't collect us or tell us to meet somewhere on the boat. It was a free-for-all to find a seat. She did come find us and tell us to move since we were sitting in the reserved section, but she didn't tell us to follow her for her portion of the "guided tour". So, we did not receive any of the guided tour portion on the boat either. We also were told that due to construction, the gondola portion was cancelled. When we made our reservation, we should have been made aware of this. We will book with a different tour operation next time. This one was not at all as advertised.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

We should have read the other reviews listed before booking this tour, as we had the same problems: The tour was combined with another tour, the guide spoke very poor English, the main town to see is Interlaken and they tried to give us only 25 minutes there! We complained and got a slightly longer period, however well short of what is needed to explore this lovely location. We then went onto Grindelwald (unguided) with just the bus driver. He was as helpful as he could be, and was very pleasant, however there is not a lot to do in the very small town, and 3 or 4 hours there (waiting for all the other passengers to return from the other tour) is way too much!

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I had an amazing time. The hotel was beautiful, and the people were great:) I wouldn't exactly call it a tour. I got the bus from Zurich to the cablecar and was pretty much on my own from there. But the scenery was worth the trip:)

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is the best way to explore the landscape just right below Alpine mountain. We have about 5 hours to do little hiking, enjoy the landscape, having a nice lunch in one of Indian Restaurant and take many beautiful picture. I also think that join this tour is the easiest way to get grindelwald rather than by train with reasonable price.

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was cancelled due to bad weather damaging the train tracks (and the gondola was closed), so we were upgraded to the Titlis tour at no extra charge. I highly recommend the Titlis tour, but was also sorry not to see Pilatus. Fortunately our hotel room overlooked Pilatus so we were not completely without the experience, but I would have liked to do the Golden Round Trip to and from Pilatus - perhaps another time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our initial tour was canceled due to an early snowfall and a fallen tree on the cog-rail tracks. They were open the following day and the weather was wonderful with beautiful snow scenery. Since we went in mid October, the aerial gondola and Lake Lucerne boat ride were not available. We did get a complimentary lunch instead. The bus was clean but our guide had a difficult time speaking over the loud children on board. We was very good, just wish the parents would have been more respectful. We had lots of free time on Mt. Pilatus to enjoy the breathtaking view and lots of picture taking. Overall a very good day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the view was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great half day trip. Unfortunately it had low cloud on the day we went but had glimpses of blue to see the far mountains. The kids enjoyed the cogwheel train and climbing the steps to see the views. The guide was very friendly and helpful running the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour tremendously. We were glad we booked this trip as everything was taken care of for us.
We will definitely use Viator again when booking. Our tour guide was wonderful and very informative
This was the best way to see Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was good. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We enjoyed being out on the lake and seeing the sights from this point of view. I will agree with others that you are on your own in locating where to go, we had to rely heavily on others to confirm the right boarding for boat and train as well as when we needed to disembark. There was no commentary on the boat, it was just a water taxi service, with food and drink accommodations. The train has multiple stops as you travel up the hill, it is not an express trip. But once you get to the top, it was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this trip if you are an avid hiker, which was the majority of folks on the mountain.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We ended up really enjoying everything we saw on this tour, but it is truly an independent tour. I think I had a different idea of what the "independent" piece meant, thinking it would be a guided tour on a boat cruise, etc. You basically take a ferry/water taxi that stops in multiple places. The person who scans your tickets on the water taxi did not recognize our itinerary and gave us some trouble, but eventually went away. It would be nice if Viator could communicate with them to let them know about these tickets. I believe you get off at Vitznau and take the cogwheel train up the mountain - once you are to the top the views are absolutely amazing and you have plenty of time to enjoy at the top. You then take the cogwheel train back down the mountain to the point where you can relax a bit and then get on the cable car down the mountain. That also offered amazing views. You then find you way back to the water taxi after a 10 minute walk down the hill and get back to Lucerne. Overall I would recommend this tour, but it would be nice if Viator had a bit more information on what to actually expect. When we booked, there were no reviews but I now see there are several and they all indicate the same thing. If you read the reviews, you will have a better idea of what to expect.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

felt a little rushed but overall was a good day, guide was bubbly and good she did her best to get as extra time but it didn't happen unfortunately

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Very disappointed that when we arrived at the base station for the railway, we had to waith 45minutes to go up as there was no pre booking of seats. I could have done this trip without being on a tour, especially as the guide did no more than drop us off and then bring us back.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message