• USD ($)
  • English
Lake Lucerne is the 4th largest lake in the country and has complicated shape that curves into the mountains and the city of Lucerne. The lake’s has a total area of 114 square kilometers (44 sqare miles). The lake and shoreline have many stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A perfect weather day for the views from the summit
Not to be missed

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It's stunning, the best tour in Switzerland. The experience is very interesting because of the variety. The landscapes are beautiful.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice every thing is good guide and driver soo friendly and very good manners

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very short tour of Lucerne but the city itself is so beautiful it was easy to spend the time walking around it and the lake. Drive to Lucerne was picture postcard perfect. Guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I've been extremely pleased with the tour right from the last minute booking I made on the phone. Viator accommodated me despite me booking the tour later than the online 48hr deadline. They also managed to arrange for a odd pick-up location along the route out of town despite my tight schedule that would have made me miss the bus. Most of it was a self tour, but with rather clear guidelines. Great touch from the tour guide to provide us with a little folder with all the necessary information. The folder fitted snugly into my travel clutch.

Mount Rigi was definitely worth the stay, the mineral baths were great - literally overlooking the alpines. You might want to check up on the weather, as you won't be able to see much if there's too much fog. I was lucky as the fog cleared up on my second day, so I got to dip in the baths with the amazing views before I left. The hotel staff were great and for those who don't own swimwear, you could well loan a bathing suit directly from the hotel. It's probably advisable to go as a couple or with company if you're doing an overnight stay as there is a candlelight dinner and was mighty awkward for me as I traveled solo. Neat collection of drinks at the hotel bar, so going with friends will be enjoyable too. my only gripe was that I was given a room without a view, turns out a couple that arrived half an hour before me was given dibs to my original room that had a view.

The Lake Lucerne Cruise is a great way to travel, as you're flanked by mountain ranges that are absolutely breathtaking. Trip back to the hotel was great, with a friendly guide whom I sadly forgot to tip in my sleepiness. She offered to drop me straight at my Youth Hostel as it wasn't a busy night. Fantastic experience and very helpful staff from Viator and all other partners!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best laid plans we saw on our trip. The guide, who's name I can not remember...sorry, was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable, her English was great! The Gondola starting point is just a few minutes by bud from the train station. Once at the base of the mountain, the line moved quickly in to gondola's for a wicked awesome panorama view up the side of this incredibly awesome mountain. Halfway up we swapped from little gondola's to one large unit, and the whole tour arrived at the top together. Free time at the top was great, My wife and I did a loop on a hiking trail, through caves and along cliffs! Some great photos were snapped, looking down through the broken cumulous cloud that enshrouded the mountain from time to time, leaving just enough sunny breaks for good pics!
We ate at the "take away" restaurant, as it is faster and left is more time to wander around the top of the mountain! I had a pork medallion and the wife had some of pork loaf... we both enjoyed our meals, and it was the best service and price we had a restaurant in in Lucerne, except one little side of the road convenience kiosk that served pretty good friend food.
It was chilly at the top, as to be expected. Being from Atlantic Canada, I didn't bring a sweater or jacket to Europe, I got some strange looks from other tourist and locals too, but it was not a big deal. A long sleeve shirt or light sweater would be enough for most people.
There is a small bar at the centre of the building, just outside the gift shop, where the beer is COLD! That was nice, as most places serve chilled beer!
You will NOT regret this tour. The only change I would make is to leave earlier from Lucerne, Returning time to Lucerne, via paddle boat was great.
Viator made our vacation planning quite easy, for 5 countries in 12 days!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything I wished for the day was amazing from start to finish. Coach driver was great informing us of all points of interest along the way. Will book with your company in the future. Many thanks. Petra Atwell

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour in a wonderful location.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We simply loved this excursion. The various cable and gondola rides up the mountain gave us wonderful, breathtaking views of the mountainside landscapes. Beautiful! The time that we spent on the mountain top was great -- panoramic views were also breathtaking. The alphorn players gave us authentic Swiss music that added to our enjoyment of the tour. Lunch was very good. Brats and fries. The cog railway was a cool trip down the mountain. This was followed by 1.5 hrs. cruising across Lake Lucerne, which also offered us wonderful views of the lake, countryside, and homes along the lake shore. All these aspects gave us an absolutely wonderful day in the Alps. We have already recommended this tour to our friends in our community.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My family of 2 adult and 2 kids loved this day out in stunning weather conditions. It was hot on top of Mt Pilatus. You could have organised the day yourself by buying a "golden ticket", but the bus connect from central Lucerne to the first cable car station was convenient and easy. The tour guide was bright and chirpy and effectively connected the group to the different modes of transport (bus, cable car, gondola, cog wheel railway and boat), so did not provide her opportunities for commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The weather was misty and foggy the day we climbed Mt. Pilatus. Nevertheless, it was great fun taking a gondola up the mountain, a cogwheel train down the mountain and a steamer boat on Lake Lucerne to return to the city. Adult Disneyland!!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The best tour ever! You must pay the extra 160 Euro to go to the top to get the best view in the world.
The tour guide will direct you to an ATM in Interlaken. My tour guide named Kid was outstanding in his knowledge and HUMOR.

Doing what: Eiger and Jungfrau Panorama Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Beautiful scenery, relaxing minerals pools with glorious views of the Alps. Not really a tour, since the bus dropped us off at the tram station and we were on our own to get to the hotel and back to Luzerne the next day. We never found the bus which we were to take back to Zurich and ended up spending an additional $100 for train tickets home. The hotel tried to charge us for dinner and the room since they weren't informed that it was prepaid. Definitely a lack of communication on the tour company's part.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. While we never like to hear about customers having substandard experiences, your feedback helps us to ensure our local suppliers provide a quality experience and we are following up with them based on your comments. Thanks for alerting us to this issue, your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Breathtaking tour, very well organized. We will recommend this tour to everybody who likes mother nature.
Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour is all about the beautiful scenery. We were only in Switzerland for two nights and this was a great tour for that timeframe. The views from the cable car will take you're breath away.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message