Lake Lucerne is the 4th largest lake in the country and has complicated shape that curves into the mountains and the city of Lucerne. The lake’s has a total area of 114 square kilometers (44 sqare miles). The lake and shoreline have many stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Did Heidiland tour instead as realised that this would be a repeat of jungfraujoch scenery. Felt Heidiland trip had too much in it. Had litytle time in Heidiland which was a shame since this was the main attraction. Could do without Lindt factory stop. Also spent a long time looking at a ski slop with melting snow. Rushed Leichestein as well. Lunch stop was lovely

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide, great service, good value for money.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

You didn't tell us the gondola was broken down. That was disappointing.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

We were very disappointed. When we arrived at the train depot portion, we were told that there wasn't enough room for our group so we would have to wait an hour for the next train. We were part of the group that started in Lucerne and were to meet up with the group from Zurich. When we did finally arrive at the top, our tour guide pointed to a sign and told us to head that way and be back in time to catch the train down. That was not a guided tour. Then when we got to the boat, she didn't collect us or tell us to meet somewhere on the boat. It was a free-for-all to find a seat. She did come find us and tell us to move since we were sitting in the reserved section, but she didn't tell us to follow her for her portion of the "guided tour". So, we did not receive any of the guided tour portion on the boat either. We also were told that due to construction, the gondola portion was cancelled. When we made our reservation, we should have been made aware of this. We will book with a different tour operation next time. This one was not at all as advertised.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

We should have read the other reviews listed before booking this tour, as we had the same problems: The tour was combined with another tour, the guide spoke very poor English, the main town to see is Interlaken and they tried to give us only 25 minutes there! We complained and got a slightly longer period, however well short of what is needed to explore this lovely location. We then went onto Grindelwald (unguided) with just the bus driver. He was as helpful as he could be, and was very pleasant, however there is not a lot to do in the very small town, and 3 or 4 hours there (waiting for all the other passengers to return from the other tour) is way too much!

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I had an amazing time. The hotel was beautiful, and the people were great:) I wouldn't exactly call it a tour. I got the bus from Zurich to the cablecar and was pretty much on my own from there. But the scenery was worth the trip:)

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is the best way to explore the landscape just right below Alpine mountain. We have about 5 hours to do little hiking, enjoy the landscape, having a nice lunch in one of Indian Restaurant and take many beautiful picture. I also think that join this tour is the easiest way to get grindelwald rather than by train with reasonable price.

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was cancelled due to bad weather damaging the train tracks (and the gondola was closed), so we were upgraded to the Titlis tour at no extra charge. I highly recommend the Titlis tour, but was also sorry not to see Pilatus. Fortunately our hotel room overlooked Pilatus so we were not completely without the experience, but I would have liked to do the Golden Round Trip to and from Pilatus - perhaps another time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our initial tour was canceled due to an early snowfall and a fallen tree on the cog-rail tracks. They were open the following day and the weather was wonderful with beautiful snow scenery. Since we went in mid October, the aerial gondola and Lake Lucerne boat ride were not available. We did get a complimentary lunch instead. The bus was clean but our guide had a difficult time speaking over the loud children on board. We was very good, just wish the parents would have been more respectful. We had lots of free time on Mt. Pilatus to enjoy the breathtaking view and lots of picture taking. Overall a very good day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the view was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great half day trip. Unfortunately it had low cloud on the day we went but had glimpses of blue to see the far mountains. The kids enjoyed the cogwheel train and climbing the steps to see the views. The guide was very friendly and helpful running the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour tremendously. We were glad we booked this trip as everything was taken care of for us.
We will definitely use Viator again when booking. Our tour guide was wonderful and very informative
This was the best way to see Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was good. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message