Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Lucerne Old Town

With its idyllic lakeside promenade lined with half-timbered buildings, old burghers' houses decorated with elaborate murals and maze of cobblestone lanes linking the main squares of Weinmarkt, Hischenplatz and Kornmarkt; the pedestrianized Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 494 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheetal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, money well spent! Our guide was great and had a wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Bob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wish the weather were more cooperative at the summit of Mount Rigi, but the trip up there via gondola and cog wheel train was fun. Lake Lucerne cruise was enjoyable. Didn't know Lake Lucerne was so large. Touring Lucerne was very interesting ... the lion sculpture was amazing as was the covered bridge with its roof rafter paintings. The entire trip wa well worth the price.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Liza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely day out, our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Would definitely recommend, especially if you only have a limited amount of time to spend in Switzerland and want to fit in the alps :

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Lindsay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth EVERY FREAKIN penny! Not only were we able to see the countryside on our comfortable bus ride to the mountain, but we enjoyed majestic views from the ride up via gondola to the ride down via world's steepest cog-wheel train. We enjoyed lunch at the top of the mountain while listening to alp-horns. Best experience of our European vacation!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

parvez_khalid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mount righi is best place to enjoy sceanic view. Also plenty of opportunity to enjoy playing with snow. Train, cable car and boat ride is fantactic. Best time I suggest is mid if march

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Trudy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day was amazing! We got to experience the cable ride up the mountain and then the train ride down the mountain and then the boat ride across the lake. We could not have asked for a better way to spend the day. Wonderful!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

cisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour and guide great weather not good would go with this firm again

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kristi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our day in Lucerne was great! The boat ride was informative and nice. The views and countryside going to Lucerne was spectacular.

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was amazing. I can highly recommend it. Perfect weather and a perfect day. The views from the top of Stanserhorn were breath taking.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cant spoil this amazing experience for you so im going to say explore this for yourself. One thing I can say, is you wont be disapointed. I loved my tours but this tour gives you the freedom you will need whilst feeling extremly safe.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent in every way.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

MarbyDG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The meeting place was Sihlquai bus station which is quite a central area, just a few minutes walk from Zurich HB. As we were just a small group at the time, we went with the small coach which was also great because the tour felt more personalized and private. From Zurich, we travelled to Weggis, all the while, our driver and guide pointing and giving information to different views along the way. When we reached Weggis, it was where we were supposed to take the cogwheel train and cable car to reach Mount Rigi. Unfortunately, my son got ill and we didn't continue with the tour. But our guide didn't leave us just like that, he brought us to the port in Weggis where he still gave us the tickets for the Lucerne Lake Cruise which was included in the tour. So we just took the cruise of the lake which was amazing as it was and reached the city of Lucerne. This was the third tour I booked with Viator, all three in Switzerland. They were all great and I will definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

ozlemakkus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was really amazing!

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were the only two on board our coach who went to Mount Rigi and I do not know why! It's a popular destination for locals and we enjoyed watching them ski and sled. We took the aerial cable car up, which is about a 12-15 minute ride. We watched the lush green scenery turn into wintry beauty of snow capped mountains and newly fallen snow. The cable car stops near the Hotel Rigi Kaltbad which is just a couple minutes walk to the cogwheel train. The train is heated and takes you up to the top of the mountain where there's another hotel, places to eat and breathtaking views at an altitude of about 1,800 metres. We made our way up to the Rigi-Kulm-Hotel for a window-side table, with amazing views, and enjoyed lunch and a glass of wine while we warmed up and watched the show fall. We spent about three hours up at the summit before taking the train back down to the ski resort area where we went into the Hotel Alpina for a beer and a snack then again boarded the train to the bottom of the mountain There we took a Lucerne River cruise aboard the MS Europa. She's a gorgeous 70 foot boat and once again, the scenery was breathtaking. All the mountain-top snow was, unfortunately, rain once we got into Lucerne so we didn't get to see as much of the city as we had hoped. All in all, my husband and I agree this trip far exceeded our expectations. Our guide Annette, kept an interesting and informative commentary going while on the coach, and we enjoyed the un-accompanied time up on Rigi. Looking back, this day definitely ticks a box on our Bucket List and we would go again if given the opportunity. I highly recommend this day out.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a stand out tour we had an amazing time the views from the top of Mt Pilatus are spectacular the ride up in the Gondola's are superb we had a great lunch and then went down in the steep decline train 50 degrees amazing then on to lake Lucerne what can you say highly recommended

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

PJ S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money. We got to see some amazing parts of Switzerland and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful! The weather made for a pretty foggy day. So try and pick a clear skies kinda day, and pack a light jacket, its chilly up there! I really like everything about sLOVEnia!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carrie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very nice and well paced. When we were able to walk around Lucerne the tour guide was very helpful in explaining the points of interest and to walk around the old town section. I met a wonderful Indian couple on the trip and we enjoyed the gondola ride up the mountain. Mount Pilatus had a few trails to take that were very nice and some places to eat lunch or for a quick snack. The cog train ride down the mountain was exciting since it is the steepest cog railroad. The boat ride to Lucerne was wonderful as well.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Amado F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a short motor coach ride away from Zurich, Lucerne is a MUST SEE while in Switzerland. So much history, the town has a village atmosphere, with many small shops, restaurants, and historic places.
Go see the Lion of Lucerne monument, the Church of St Leodegar, and the covered wooden chapel bridge that crosses the Reuss River in the heart of Lucerne. Also, take a cruise on Lake Lucerne that lasts about an hour. All in all, a nice trip that only took about 6 hours from starting point in Zurich and back.

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an incredible tour. The guide was very informative the whole trip up the mountain. Our room was upgraded to a balcony which was good, however that meant they switched us to twin beds instead of a double which was a little annoying. The views from the top were spectacular and if you are in reasonably good shape you can see how far down the mountain you can walk and catch the cogwheel further down or at the top if you prefer

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you can splurge a little on your trip to Zurich this is what you want to do! Highly recommended as a romantic getaway. There are three distinct parts of the trip. FIRST you drive through the Swiss country side which is beautiful then you head up Mt. Rigi which is a neat experience to see the alps and get a little hiking in. When there are no clouds the views are amazing! SECOND you go to the Rigi resort - Room had a breathtaking view, mineral baths were awesome and relaxing make sure you go downstairs to the crystal bath and the four course dinner is excellent and very romantic expect 2 - 3 hours for dinner because the courses are fairly spaced out The next day you get to wake up to an amazingly large breakfast buffet and enjoy the mineral baths all to yourself and then start the THIRD part of the excursion- Head back down the mountain, get on a boat cruise and head to the beautiful Lucerne! The city has beautiful water ways and we spent our day shopping and just walking along the water enjoying the views. Overall a fantastic way to enjoy Switzerland! Everything they say is included is and the guides provide you with excellent direction and a cheat sheet that is very helpful! Follow the times on the cheat sheet. They are on point. The cogwheel train runs on a specific time every hour so make sure you keep track of that. They give you the option to drop your luggage off at the hotel on day one before heading up to Mt. Rigi so if you take advantage of this be cognoscente of the time the cogwheel train leaves because if you miss it you have to wait a whole hour or start hiking! We got lucky and made it by one minute but that would have been a big bummer if we missed it because you can't check into your hotel until the afternoon. Food is pretty expensive in Switzerland but there was a grocery store right next to the hotel for snacks which was nice. I recommend packing lunch on Day 1 to eat at the top of Mt. Rigi bc lunch is 20/person. OVERALL 5 STARS!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

dlvissat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area. He even went out of his way to make certain that we found the correct train to depart after the tour. We would certainly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is an excellent tour and Lucerne is a very beautiful old town not to be missed. The boat ride was amazing as well. The tour guide was very good. Highly recommended

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Jeffrey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice day out, guide was informative and helpful and overall a great experience.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message