Lucerne ATTRACTIONS See all

Lucerne Old Town

With its idyllic lakeside promenade lined with half-timbered buildings, old burghers' houses decorated with elaborate murals and maze of cobblestone lanes linking the main squares of Weinmarkt, Hischenplatz and Kornmarkt; the pedestrianized Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 469 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MarbyDG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The meeting place was Sihlquai bus station which is quite a central area, just a few minutes walk from Zurich HB. As we were just a small group at the time, we went with the small coach which was also great because the tour felt more personalized and private. From Zurich, we travelled to Weggis, all the while, our driver and guide pointing and giving information to different views along the way. When we reached Weggis, it was where we were supposed to take the cogwheel train and cable car to reach Mount Rigi. Unfortunately, my son got ill and we didn't continue with the tour. But our guide didn't leave us just like that, he brought us to the port in Weggis where he still gave us the tickets for the Lucerne Lake Cruise which was included in the tour. So we just took the cruise of the lake which was amazing as it was and reached the city of Lucerne. This was the third tour I booked with Viator, all three in Switzerland. They were all great and I will definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

ozlemakkus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was really amazing!

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were the only two on board our coach who went to Mount Rigi and I do not know why! It's a popular destination for locals and we enjoyed watching them ski and sled. We took the aerial cable car up, which is about a 12-15 minute ride. We watched the lush green scenery turn into wintry beauty of snow capped mountains and newly fallen snow. The cable car stops near the Hotel Rigi Kaltbad which is just a couple minutes walk to the cogwheel train. The train is heated and takes you up to the top of the mountain where there's another hotel, places to eat and breathtaking views at an altitude of about 1,800 metres. We made our way up to the Rigi-Kulm-Hotel for a window-side table, with amazing views, and enjoyed lunch and a glass of wine while we warmed up and watched the show fall. We spent about three hours up at the summit before taking the train back down to the ski resort area where we went into the Hotel Alpina for a beer and a snack then again boarded the train to the bottom of the mountain There we took a Lucerne River cruise aboard the MS Europa. She's a gorgeous 70 foot boat and once again, the scenery was breathtaking. All the mountain-top snow was, unfortunately, rain once we got into Lucerne so we didn't get to see as much of the city as we had hoped. All in all, my husband and I agree this trip far exceeded our expectations. Our guide Annette, kept an interesting and informative commentary going while on the coach, and we enjoyed the un-accompanied time up on Rigi. Looking back, this day definitely ticks a box on our Bucket List and we would go again if given the opportunity. I highly recommend this day out.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a stand out tour we had an amazing time the views from the top of Mt Pilatus are spectacular the ride up in the Gondola's are superb we had a great lunch and then went down in the steep decline train 50 degrees amazing then on to lake Lucerne what can you say highly recommended

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

PJ S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money. We got to see some amazing parts of Switzerland and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful! The weather made for a pretty foggy day. So try and pick a clear skies kinda day, and pack a light jacket, its chilly up there! I really like everything about sLOVEnia!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carrie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very nice and well paced. When we were able to walk around Lucerne the tour guide was very helpful in explaining the points of interest and to walk around the old town section. I met a wonderful Indian couple on the trip and we enjoyed the gondola ride up the mountain. Mount Pilatus had a few trails to take that were very nice and some places to eat lunch or for a quick snack. The cog train ride down the mountain was exciting since it is the steepest cog railroad. The boat ride to Lucerne was wonderful as well.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Amado F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a short motor coach ride away from Zurich, Lucerne is a MUST SEE while in Switzerland. So much history, the town has a village atmosphere, with many small shops, restaurants, and historic places.
Go see the Lion of Lucerne monument, the Church of St Leodegar, and the covered wooden chapel bridge that crosses the Reuss River in the heart of Lucerne. Also, take a cruise on Lake Lucerne that lasts about an hour. All in all, a nice trip that only took about 6 hours from starting point in Zurich and back.

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an incredible tour. The guide was very informative the whole trip up the mountain. Our room was upgraded to a balcony which was good, however that meant they switched us to twin beds instead of a double which was a little annoying. The views from the top were spectacular and if you are in reasonably good shape you can see how far down the mountain you can walk and catch the cogwheel further down or at the top if you prefer

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you can splurge a little on your trip to Zurich this is what you want to do! Highly recommended as a romantic getaway. There are three distinct parts of the trip. FIRST you drive through the Swiss country side which is beautiful then you head up Mt. Rigi which is a neat experience to see the alps and get a little hiking in. When there are no clouds the views are amazing! SECOND you go to the Rigi resort - Room had a breathtaking view, mineral baths were awesome and relaxing make sure you go downstairs to the crystal bath and the four course dinner is excellent and very romantic expect 2 - 3 hours for dinner because the courses are fairly spaced out The next day you get to wake up to an amazingly large breakfast buffet and enjoy the mineral baths all to yourself and then start the THIRD part of the excursion- Head back down the mountain, get on a boat cruise and head to the beautiful Lucerne! The city has beautiful water ways and we spent our day shopping and just walking along the water enjoying the views. Overall a fantastic way to enjoy Switzerland! Everything they say is included is and the guides provide you with excellent direction and a cheat sheet that is very helpful! Follow the times on the cheat sheet. They are on point. The cogwheel train runs on a specific time every hour so make sure you keep track of that. They give you the option to drop your luggage off at the hotel on day one before heading up to Mt. Rigi so if you take advantage of this be cognoscente of the time the cogwheel train leaves because if you miss it you have to wait a whole hour or start hiking! We got lucky and made it by one minute but that would have been a big bummer if we missed it because you can't check into your hotel until the afternoon. Food is pretty expensive in Switzerland but there was a grocery store right next to the hotel for snacks which was nice. I recommend packing lunch on Day 1 to eat at the top of Mt. Rigi bc lunch is 20/person. OVERALL 5 STARS!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

dlvissat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area. He even went out of his way to make certain that we found the correct train to depart after the tour. We would certainly recommend this tour !!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is an excellent tour and Lucerne is a very beautiful old town not to be missed. The boat ride was amazing as well. The tour guide was very good. Highly recommended

Doing what: Lucerne Day Trip from Zurich Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Jeffrey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice day out, guide was informative and helpful and overall a great experience.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Oscar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great experience on this tour. Our guide was very energetic and managed the tour very capably.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

ASHOK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The weather was kind to us so the trip was too good, should be a must for every tourist to Swittzerland, guide was good. The climb is great, the scene from top is great, the descent too is good. The boat ride back to Lucerne was again something great.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a beautiful trip. We loved Lucerne and Mount Rigi had beautiful vistas from every direction

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Wolfgang G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view was unbelievable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Rich S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great experience! If you have a day to spare, this is a great way to see some great sights. The bus got off the main highway for the trip down to see some of the countryside, we had a short stay in Lucerne but enough time to walk around the old town and the trip to Pilatus was just stunning. Got lucky with a fairly clear day. You have a lot of time to see the sights and get some lunch on the mountaintop. You'll never forget the gondola ride up nor the cogwheel train ride down. An hour on the boat back to Lucerne was a pleasant end to the day. The highlight of the trip, though, was our tour guide Daniel. He was the perfect guide -- knowledgeable, friendly and had the perfect touch to keep us together and on time. Thanks for a memory of a lifetime!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Bhanu United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome. Everything went well as planned.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Rosemary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great day, weather not kind but did not spoil our fun!! Mt Rigi covered in cloud, extreme wind and rain!! Loved cable car and cog train. Well organised with clear directions for self guided part. Loved Lurcerne and boat ride on lake, plenty of time to shop and grab a coffee. We travelled from Basel to join this tour and it was easy to do by train, a very long day, thoroughly enjoyed!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

gabi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very nice

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The views from Mount Pilatus were extraordinary!!! This tour is very worth while.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Guma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience to see the country sides with good guide

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message