Lucerne is a picturesque city in the heart of Switzerland.  Founded in 1179, it sits across Lake Lucerne from the town of Altdorf, where legend has it that William Tell shot an apple off his son’s head. A center of Swiss history and culture, Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful sights! Memorable experience! Enjoyed the various ways of transportation. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What an beautiful trip. A beautiful view around every corner. We had magnificent weather. A cloudless sky, with some haze. The cable car was under maintain so we took the cable car the whole way to the top. It is quite easy to be independent as timetable is very clear.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide, great service, good value for money.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The view was breathtaking! Our driver was more than helpful and very polite! worth every penny!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect day trip that gives a true taste of Switzerland. The four different types of 'rides' (bus, cable car, cog-wheel train, and boat) along with hiking on foot make this a tremendous tour.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous. Guide by van to Mt. Rigi articulated providing comprehensive info. Pacing of experience perfect.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour. Very good commentary. Wonderful scenery. Aerial cable car amazing; the first time we've been on one with an open top. Incredible views. The map for rejoining the tour could have been a lot better.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic way to spend the day. We started with a scenic drive and ended up at the base of Mt. Rigi. We then took a cable car part way up the summit and then boarded a Cog Wheel train to the summit. Spend some time on the mountain as it was a warm clear day. Our guide Monika, couldn't have been more helpful with our questions. You then take the train back down to board your boat for a scenic ride to Lucerne. We were able to spend a few ours in beautiful Lucerne before being bussed by to Zurich. THANKS to Monika who made our day and group feel special!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time. Our kids had tons of fun and they enjoyed the Funiculur Railway and the CABRIO CABLE car up to Stanserhorn. Overall it was good trip. Good to have for a day.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Luzern trip was excellent, the tour lead was a teacher before and he was fluent in many languages, so explained the tour in great details. His photography was good as well, took nice photos of us on my camera for remberance. Boat trip was quite relaxing with photoscenic views of mountains, blue sky, lovely weather. Viator had organised it well.
Outdoor eating places were fantastic. I will recommend the trip to anyone, everywhere there were spring cool water on fountains where we filled our plastic bottles. Water was so tasty coming from top of mountains, we hated any soft drinks.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip with the multiple transport opportunities of bus , cable car , train and boat. Worth the money and a good day.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Both destinations are beautiful and amazing and among the best excursions from Zurich. The tour guide is fantastic. However, keep in mind that in Engelberg you gonna spend time alone (no guide). So it is better if you are accompanied by some1.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant day tour from zurich! Just right if you want to spend the day in luzern

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great Day! Some good climbing at the top, outstanding views. Glad we did this full day.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was well organised- we just turned up- they had all tickets and schedules organised. The bus and guide took us to a departure point and we were left to our own devices for the day but provided with all the tickets and timetables. Was a really good mountain to see because no clouds

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was one of the highlights of our vacation. We ended our Rhine cruise with 2 additional nights in Zurich and opted to take this day trip to Lucerne and Stanserhorn. As it turned out, there were only 10 people on this tour this date and it was more like a private your. The guide was great, and because we weren't in a big bus, she spent extra time in Lucerne, which we all enjoyed and appreciated. The highlight of this tour, however, was the Cabrio. The view of the mountains, lakes and towns from on top of the cable car were outstanding, and there was ample time at the top of the mountain to appreciate it.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were only 4 persons going on this tour and Robert (our guide) explained how the trip would be (In the same bus there was another group doing the Titlis tour) . He explained that a portion of the tour would be without him and for the Cabrio portion he gave us a paper with all the instructions including where to meet him in Lucerne after the ride down from the Cabrio Cable car. The tour started with some explanation about Zurich then we did a first stop to take pictures of the mountain. After that we headed to the Lion monument and did a picture pose there , of course along the trip we got information related to Lucerne. 3rd stop was in Lucerne where we had about 1 hour and 1/2 of free time - so we went to visit the Chapel bridge and had a bite. Next the Bus dropped us at the Stanserhorn Station where we took the funiclar to the Cabrio cable car . The whole thing from bottom to top takes around 40 minutes. Once we reached the summit the view was even more amazing and breathtaking . The paper we had indicated to 2 different times to go down and which train to take back to Lucerne (tickets included) . All the tour was very nice and Robert the tour guide was amazing; he even gave us his personal phone number just in case we had an emergency. Highly recommended !

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable time going up Stanserhorn. The view is great as well as the Funicular Railway and Cable car were fun to ride. The tour of Lucerne allowed you to see all of the high points of Lucerne and some free time to explore on your own. We recommend this tour

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent day and our tour guide Franz was very knowledgeable and informative. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get out of the city and see so much in one day!

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day trip to Lucerne and Engelberg was the best day tour that I ever had. the Tour Guide Robert was very professional and had complete knowledge of the sites that we visited. The views are spectacular, the Swiss landscape has no equal. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We love Mt Rigi and got the opportunity to experience the snow. Unfortunately we went on 1st May so most of the shops in Lucerne were closed.

However, we do enjoy this trip and the scenery is breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely stunning! Lucerne is a gorgeous small town, and I would've loved to have spent a day or two there. We drove into the town centre which made seeing the main sights a lot easier. Engelberg was absolutely amazing as was the breathtaking drive up there. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message