• USD ($)
  • English
Lucerne is a picturesque city in the heart of Switzerland.  Founded in 1179, it sits across Lake Lucerne from the town of Altdorf, where legend has it that William Tell shot an apple off his son’s head. A center of Swiss history and culture, Lucerne ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely stunning! Lucerne is a gorgeous small town, and I would've loved to have spent a day or two there. We drove into the town centre which made seeing the main sights a lot easier. Engelberg was absolutely amazing as was the breathtaking drive up there. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very short tour of Lucerne but the city itself is so beautiful it was easy to spend the time walking around it and the lake. Drive to Lucerne was picture postcard perfect. Guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice every thing is good guide and driver soo friendly and very good manners

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything I wished for the day was amazing from start to finish. Coach driver was great informing us of all points of interest along the way. Will book with your company in the future. Many thanks. Petra Atwell

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour of a beautiful location. The views from the open air cable car and the peak of Stanserhorn are incredible. The trip to Stanserhorn is on back roads, showing you beautiful Swiss countryside and villages.Everything regard the tour itself worked smoothly, exactly as promised, and we had an excellent and information guide with us. The furnicular train is not impressively steep, but does take you through several small Swiss farms. The cable car is fantastic, particularly from the open air roof. At the top, the peak of Stanserhorn gives you fantastic views, both easy and difficult hiking options, and a revolving restaurant. The restaurant is really more of a cafeteria line, but the seating area does revolve and give you a nice view. A short train ride after Stanserhorn takes you back to Lucerne, where you have an hour or so to explore before rejoining the bus ride home. You should be aware that several tours share the same bus - tours visiting different peaks, tours going to Lucerne only, etc. - so there are several stops to let people on/off. This leaves you wondering what other people are seeing and why they chose the tours they chose, but we were quite happy with ours.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent,
My husband and I had a wonderful experience on the Cabrio. Also our tour guide Anna Lise was very nice and a real professional . Absoultely brilliant day tour, I will difinatly recomend this tour . Thank you Helen

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Trip included a scenic route to Lucerne, time to walk around the old section of town (there was more to see than you have time for but it gives you a chance to experience the town) and the railway plus cable car up near the top of Mt Stanserhorn. Enjoyed the outdoor experience of riding on top of the cable car up and down. Once up there is a nice restaurant with a view, time to eat lunch which was a little pricey but compared to Zurich prices it was about the same. There is a lookout area by the the restaurant. From there you are able to walk a path to get to the peak, that takes maybe 20 minutes, mostly uphill. Nice lookout on top. We had a lot of cloud cover on the late August day we went but patches of clear allowed some great views. Glad we went on this trip.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolutely brilliant. We loved the tour and the scenery was beautiful. We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip from Zurich to Lucerne and Stanserhorn Including Funicular Railway, Aerial Cable Car and Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

There was confusion over the booking of this trip so we ended up going on the chocolate cheese and mountain trip to Appenzell. This trip was excellent and the guide was brilliant. She knew so much about the local area which made it extremely interesting and enjoyable. I would highly reccommend this trip to anyone visiting Switzerland.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Beautiful places and excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a beautiful day trip with the most amazing scenery i have ever seen. It was a shame that it was spoilt by rude people that can't get back to the bus at the time that the guide had told us. A lot of the day was wasted sitting on the bus waiting for people that cant tell the time. The tour guide was really lovely but i think she could have been a little tougher on the people that continually got back to the bus late

Doing what: Day Trip to Lucerne and Engelberg from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Best Tour of our Trip! Mt.Rigi is the best mountain to visit out of Zurich. Your train actually takes you through the clouds literally. Plenty of free time of Rigi to explore and munch. The Guide was very sweet , knowledgeable and spoke good English. A sweet ride around Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very knowledgeable and nice tour guide. Gave us excellent guidance and suggestions of things to do during our six hours of free time in Lucerne.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Lucerne is a very beautiful city. We had six hours of free time to do as we chose, which was great. We were not being rush through the day. We enjoyed the day very much.

Doing what: Lucerne City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I learn so much from your tours! We had a great experience in France last year with your company and an awesome trip this summer in Switzerland. I was the coordinator for my relatives as we explored our roots in Switzerland and Viator helped me to make it a successful journey. Everyone wanted more trips planned and I was not successful in Interlaken to schedule them. Plan more for that part of Switzerland is my only suggestion. Guides are very knowledgeable and languages are not a problem. Keep up the great work and the reasonable prices.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message