Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

RAY S S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GREAT EXPERIANCE ONLY NEG WAS GONDOLA NOT WORKING

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Wen Pein C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was very smooth as all of the officers were known to our printed Viator vouchers. The boat trip was excellent and we enjoyed the beautiful very much along the Luzern Lake. There was snowing heavily when we were going up to Rigi. The snowing view thru out the train window was absolutely enjoyable in another way! At the Rigi Kulm, there was still snowing and we could not view the stunning paronama view of the beautiful Luzern lake. But, we were still enjoying the snow flakes while doing the snow-hiking around the mountain peak! There was unfortunate that we could not make the cable car trip down due to the cable car service was under maintenance. Anyhow, we made the return train back and re-boarding the boat back to Lucerne jetty. Absolutely recommended and worthy to join!

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Nasranha D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Loved every bit
First time I have experienced snow
Boat ride was stunning
Lucerne was fabulous

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Kevin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Fog and snow greeted us at the top. Cruise was fun

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

MarbyDG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The meeting place was Sihlquai bus station which is quite a central area, just a few minutes walk from Zurich HB. As we were just a small group at the time, we went with the small coach which was also great because the tour felt more personalized and private. From Zurich, we travelled to Weggis, all the while, our driver and guide pointing and giving information to different views along the way. When we reached Weggis, it was where we were supposed to take the cogwheel train and cable car to reach Mount Rigi. Unfortunately, my son got ill and we didn't continue with the tour. But our guide didn't leave us just like that, he brought us to the port in Weggis where he still gave us the tickets for the Lucerne Lake Cruise which was included in the tour. So we just took the cruise of the lake which was amazing as it was and reached the city of Lucerne. This was the third tour I booked with Viator, all three in Switzerland. They were all great and I will definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

ozlemakkus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was really amazing!

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were the only two on board our coach who went to Mount Rigi and I do not know why! It's a popular destination for locals and we enjoyed watching them ski and sled. We took the aerial cable car up, which is about a 12-15 minute ride. We watched the lush green scenery turn into wintry beauty of snow capped mountains and newly fallen snow. The cable car stops near the Hotel Rigi Kaltbad which is just a couple minutes walk to the cogwheel train. The train is heated and takes you up to the top of the mountain where there's another hotel, places to eat and breathtaking views at an altitude of about 1,800 metres. We made our way up to the Rigi-Kulm-Hotel for a window-side table, with amazing views, and enjoyed lunch and a glass of wine while we warmed up and watched the show fall. We spent about three hours up at the summit before taking the train back down to the ski resort area where we went into the Hotel Alpina for a beer and a snack then again boarded the train to the bottom of the mountain There we took a Lucerne River cruise aboard the MS Europa. She's a gorgeous 70 foot boat and once again, the scenery was breathtaking. All the mountain-top snow was, unfortunately, rain once we got into Lucerne so we didn't get to see as much of the city as we had hoped. All in all, my husband and I agree this trip far exceeded our expectations. Our guide Annette, kept an interesting and informative commentary going while on the coach, and we enjoyed the un-accompanied time up on Rigi. Looking back, this day definitely ticks a box on our Bucket List and we would go again if given the opportunity. I highly recommend this day out.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

spl142

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice relaxing tour with beutiful views!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful! The weather made for a pretty foggy day. So try and pick a clear skies kinda day, and pack a light jacket, its chilly up there! I really like everything about sLOVEnia!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

PJ S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money. We got to see some amazing parts of Switzerland and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you can splurge a little on your trip to Zurich this is what you want to do! Highly recommended as a romantic getaway. There are three distinct parts of the trip. FIRST you drive through the Swiss country side which is beautiful then you head up Mt. Rigi which is a neat experience to see the alps and get a little hiking in. When there are no clouds the views are amazing! SECOND you go to the Rigi resort - Room had a breathtaking view, mineral baths were awesome and relaxing make sure you go downstairs to the crystal bath and the four course dinner is excellent and very romantic expect 2 - 3 hours for dinner because the courses are fairly spaced out The next day you get to wake up to an amazingly large breakfast buffet and enjoy the mineral baths all to yourself and then start the THIRD part of the excursion- Head back down the mountain, get on a boat cruise and head to the beautiful Lucerne! The city has beautiful water ways and we spent our day shopping and just walking along the water enjoying the views. Overall a fantastic way to enjoy Switzerland! Everything they say is included is and the guides provide you with excellent direction and a cheat sheet that is very helpful! Follow the times on the cheat sheet. They are on point. The cogwheel train runs on a specific time every hour so make sure you keep track of that. They give you the option to drop your luggage off at the hotel on day one before heading up to Mt. Rigi so if you take advantage of this be cognoscente of the time the cogwheel train leaves because if you miss it you have to wait a whole hour or start hiking! We got lucky and made it by one minute but that would have been a big bummer if we missed it because you can't check into your hotel until the afternoon. Food is pretty expensive in Switzerland but there was a grocery store right next to the hotel for snacks which was nice. I recommend packing lunch on Day 1 to eat at the top of Mt. Rigi bc lunch is 20/person. OVERALL 5 STARS!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an incredible tour. The guide was very informative the whole trip up the mountain. Our room was upgraded to a balcony which was good, however that meant they switched us to twin beds instead of a double which was a little annoying. The views from the top were spectacular and if you are in reasonably good shape you can see how far down the mountain you can walk and catch the cogwheel further down or at the top if you prefer

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Jeffrey C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The scenery is magnificent. This tour gives you a little bit of everything; cable car, cog wheel train, beautiful Lake Lucerne. Even if it's cloudy,(which it was), it was worth taking.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carrie G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The gondola ride and cog train ride was very nice going up to the mountain. Did not realize how many trails were up there and you needed good hiking boots to walk them. Loved being able to get up close to the cows with their bells. It got really foggy and went back down on the cog train to the boat to sail back to Lucerne. Mt Rigi was a very peaceful mountain that would be great for hikers or to just enjoy the ringing of the cow bells and meditate.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

hanadi m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent trip, 5 hours is more than enough. But more details about the trip is preferred, like the boat departure point and the time of all scheduled time for coming back.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a beautiful trip. We loved Lucerne and Mount Rigi had beautiful vistas from every direction

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Odd Arne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very nice trip.Both the boat trip and the cogwheel trip was nice.A beautiful view at the top of Rigi.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Gerald L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Trip was good with easy connections- however nobody recognises the voucher and theefore everytime it is shown there is a debate before they shrug their shoulders and let you travel. At the very least produce the voucher in the home countries language in order that the officials do not have to be bi-lingual

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Helen N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Well organised and good driver. Time on Mt Rigi was too long. Boat trip too short. Just going across the Lake was not what we expected. Very crowded too.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Rosemary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great day, weather not kind but did not spoil our fun!! Mt Rigi covered in cloud, extreme wind and rain!! Loved cable car and cog train. Well organised with clear directions for self guided part. Loved Lurcerne and boat ride on lake, plenty of time to shop and grab a coffee. We travelled from Basel to join this tour and it was easy to do by train, a very long day, thoroughly enjoyed!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Bhanu United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome. Everything went well as planned.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Wolfgang G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view was unbelievable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

zen

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very accommodating and no time restraints . You can do the whole tour at your own pace. Very beautiful sights. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Kathy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The boat left punctually and was full of visitors. Detailed timetables were not received, however, the boat crew were very helpful in clarifying where to disembark. Travellers should get off the boat at the fourth stop, not the third stop, Weggis where the cable car descends. The train station is located directly by the pier which was useful. At the top of the Mountain the views are fabulous. It is a very steep walk to the very top. Be aware that you will need to walk back along the train track for about 20 minutes to access the cable car station. It is not at the end of the train track at the top of the mountain as you may expect. However, this is a very pleasant, if unexpected walk. The cable car ride is brilliant and offers fantastic views down to the village of Weggis, where you embark the next available boat back to Lucerne.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. Efficient friendly staff. Everything went like clockwork. We were advised to take the tour by friends who went last year and loved it. We were certainly not disappointed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message