Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

spl142

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice relaxing tour with beutiful views!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful! The weather made for a pretty foggy day. So try and pick a clear skies kinda day, and pack a light jacket, its chilly up there! I really like everything about sLOVEnia!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

PJ S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money. We got to see some amazing parts of Switzerland and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you can splurge a little on your trip to Zurich this is what you want to do! Highly recommended as a romantic getaway. There are three distinct parts of the trip. FIRST you drive through the Swiss country side which is beautiful then you head up Mt. Rigi which is a neat experience to see the alps and get a little hiking in. When there are no clouds the views are amazing! SECOND you go to the Rigi resort - Room had a breathtaking view, mineral baths were awesome and relaxing make sure you go downstairs to the crystal bath and the four course dinner is excellent and very romantic expect 2 - 3 hours for dinner because the courses are fairly spaced out The next day you get to wake up to an amazingly large breakfast buffet and enjoy the mineral baths all to yourself and then start the THIRD part of the excursion- Head back down the mountain, get on a boat cruise and head to the beautiful Lucerne! The city has beautiful water ways and we spent our day shopping and just walking along the water enjoying the views. Overall a fantastic way to enjoy Switzerland! Everything they say is included is and the guides provide you with excellent direction and a cheat sheet that is very helpful! Follow the times on the cheat sheet. They are on point. The cogwheel train runs on a specific time every hour so make sure you keep track of that. They give you the option to drop your luggage off at the hotel on day one before heading up to Mt. Rigi so if you take advantage of this be cognoscente of the time the cogwheel train leaves because if you miss it you have to wait a whole hour or start hiking! We got lucky and made it by one minute but that would have been a big bummer if we missed it because you can't check into your hotel until the afternoon. Food is pretty expensive in Switzerland but there was a grocery store right next to the hotel for snacks which was nice. I recommend packing lunch on Day 1 to eat at the top of Mt. Rigi bc lunch is 20/person. OVERALL 5 STARS!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Natasha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an incredible tour. The guide was very informative the whole trip up the mountain. Our room was upgraded to a balcony which was good, however that meant they switched us to twin beds instead of a double which was a little annoying. The views from the top were spectacular and if you are in reasonably good shape you can see how far down the mountain you can walk and catch the cogwheel further down or at the top if you prefer

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Jeffrey C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The scenery is magnificent. This tour gives you a little bit of everything; cable car, cog wheel train, beautiful Lake Lucerne. Even if it's cloudy,(which it was), it was worth taking.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Carrie G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The gondola ride and cog train ride was very nice going up to the mountain. Did not realize how many trails were up there and you needed good hiking boots to walk them. Loved being able to get up close to the cows with their bells. It got really foggy and went back down on the cog train to the boat to sail back to Lucerne. Mt Rigi was a very peaceful mountain that would be great for hikers or to just enjoy the ringing of the cow bells and meditate.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

hanadi m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent trip, 5 hours is more than enough. But more details about the trip is preferred, like the boat departure point and the time of all scheduled time for coming back.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a beautiful trip. We loved Lucerne and Mount Rigi had beautiful vistas from every direction

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Odd Arne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very nice trip.Both the boat trip and the cogwheel trip was nice.A beautiful view at the top of Rigi.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Gerald L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Trip was good with easy connections- however nobody recognises the voucher and theefore everytime it is shown there is a debate before they shrug their shoulders and let you travel. At the very least produce the voucher in the home countries language in order that the officials do not have to be bi-lingual

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Helen N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Well organised and good driver. Time on Mt Rigi was too long. Boat trip too short. Just going across the Lake was not what we expected. Very crowded too.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Rosemary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great day, weather not kind but did not spoil our fun!! Mt Rigi covered in cloud, extreme wind and rain!! Loved cable car and cog train. Well organised with clear directions for self guided part. Loved Lurcerne and boat ride on lake, plenty of time to shop and grab a coffee. We travelled from Basel to join this tour and it was easy to do by train, a very long day, thoroughly enjoyed!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Bhanu United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome. Everything went well as planned.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Wolfgang G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view was unbelievable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

zen

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very accommodating and no time restraints . You can do the whole tour at your own pace. Very beautiful sights. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Kathy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The boat left punctually and was full of visitors. Detailed timetables were not received, however, the boat crew were very helpful in clarifying where to disembark. Travellers should get off the boat at the fourth stop, not the third stop, Weggis where the cable car descends. The train station is located directly by the pier which was useful. At the top of the Mountain the views are fabulous. It is a very steep walk to the very top. Be aware that you will need to walk back along the train track for about 20 minutes to access the cable car station. It is not at the end of the train track at the top of the mountain as you may expect. However, this is a very pleasant, if unexpected walk. The cable car ride is brilliant and offers fantastic views down to the village of Weggis, where you embark the next available boat back to Lucerne.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. Efficient friendly staff. Everything went like clockwork. We were advised to take the tour by friends who went last year and loved it. We were certainly not disappointed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Gillian G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Was 90 self guided so really just tickets for transport. Enjoyed the trip and the variety of travel modes.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

sue

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Most people knew what I was showing them on my iPhone with the viator confirmation. Only the one man when we were wanting to go down the cable car had no idea what I was showing him. Definitely worth doing

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

zak5126

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is pretty much 'DIY' except the briefing and dropping you off and picking you up in downtown Lucerne.
Bus ride form Zurich to Lucerne is breathtaking. You will see history and outstanding natural beauty. Rigi itself has heavenly view from the top - cant express in words. Lake Lucerne boat ride is lovely.

Overall, its very good value for the money you pay and the experience is amazing.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

JS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide Urs was good and tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

marymish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This MT Rigi tour was absolutely outstanding!! Our first time using viator and were competely impressed!! Our tour guide ROBERT was fabulous and very approachable with questions! We highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Elizabeth W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a wonderful time up on the mountain and crossing the lake. Our guide Mr. Robert was very nice and helpful. He made our day very easy and enjoyable. All in all it was an awesome day.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message