Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous. Guide by van to Mt. Rigi articulated providing comprehensive info. Pacing of experience perfect.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect day trip that gives a true taste of Switzerland. The four different types of 'rides' (bus, cable car, cog-wheel train, and boat) along with hiking on foot make this a tremendous tour.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We enjoyed being out on the lake and seeing the sights from this point of view. I will agree with others that you are on your own in locating where to go, we had to rely heavily on others to confirm the right boarding for boat and train as well as when we needed to disembark. There was no commentary on the boat, it was just a water taxi service, with food and drink accommodations. The train has multiple stops as you travel up the hill, it is not an express trip. But once you get to the top, it was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this trip if you are an avid hiker, which was the majority of folks on the mountain.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I booked this tour because it had quite good reviews and seemed to be a long day with plenty to do. I was pretty disappointed with the money I spent, as it was definitely a let down. The bus wasn't even full, and the majority was on a tour to Mount Pilatus, while 6-8 of us were going to Mount Rigi. We were dropped off where the cable car took us up, and our guide explained everything we needed to know about where to meet back at the end of the day (I forgot her name, but she was nice).

The cable car ride was cool, but unfortunately it was foggy and had rained that morning, so the view was pretty much non existent. We got to the top and I wish I was able to go to the spa there because it looked and sounded amazing. We then found our way to the cog wheel train, which took us up even further. Once at our destination, of course there was still no view...just clouds and fog. It was quite steep of a walk and I actually felt there was too much time allotted for being up there. Perhaps it'd be ok if the view was there, but as it was not, my friend and I chose to leave earlier. There's a restaurant too if you're hungry, but we chose not to.

You have two different time slots that you can leave at, I believe at 2 or 3 pm. We realized that the train went once every hour so we left at 1 to have more time in Lucerne. We're glad we did! The boat ride there was fantastic (but cold) and walking around Lucerne was nice..just not much to do that caught our interest. We did go to Stadtkeller to eat and it was delicious! I would have rather just done the trip to Lucerne and skipped Mt Rigi altogether because it was a waste of time and money to see nothing.

Overall, I suppose it was nice...but for $140 it seemed way overpriced. Perhaps most is transportation, but next time I'd rather go to the Rhein Falls (went to recently, was amazing) and saved money to have a better time elsewhere. If you book, just hope you have good weather...if not you may be bored like I was.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We ended up really enjoying everything we saw on this tour, but it is truly an independent tour. I think I had a different idea of what the "independent" piece meant, thinking it would be a guided tour on a boat cruise, etc. You basically take a ferry/water taxi that stops in multiple places. The person who scans your tickets on the water taxi did not recognize our itinerary and gave us some trouble, but eventually went away. It would be nice if Viator could communicate with them to let them know about these tickets. I believe you get off at Vitznau and take the cogwheel train up the mountain - once you are to the top the views are absolutely amazing and you have plenty of time to enjoy at the top. You then take the cogwheel train back down the mountain to the point where you can relax a bit and then get on the cable car down the mountain. That also offered amazing views. You then find you way back to the water taxi after a 10 minute walk down the hill and get back to Lucerne. Overall I would recommend this tour, but it would be nice if Viator had a bit more information on what to actually expect. When we booked, there were no reviews but I now see there are several and they all indicate the same thing. If you read the reviews, you will have a better idea of what to expect.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic vacation ! Mt. Rigi Kaltbad Hotel and spa was magnificent !

I haven't seen a more beautiful location in my life. Views from top of the mountain are just anazing

Thank you Viator.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic way to spend the day. We started with a scenic drive and ended up at the base of Mt. Rigi. We then took a cable car part way up the summit and then boarded a Cog Wheel train to the summit. Spend some time on the mountain as it was a warm clear day. Our guide Monika, couldn't have been more helpful with our questions. You then take the train back down to board your boat for a scenic ride to Lucerne. We were able to spend a few ours in beautiful Lucerne before being bussed by to Zurich. THANKS to Monika who made our day and group feel special!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great trip, lots of variation.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a good tour but there needs to be more specific details - although we made it successfully the confusion wasn't fun.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip with the multiple transport opportunities of bus , cable car , train and boat. Worth the money and a good day.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Dinusha D
Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

it was a fantastic tour, we enjoyed allot. However, we were hoping to meet someone from viator to hand us over our schedules and passes as mentioned. Since no one was there, we had to go to the ticket counter and ask showing our paid voucher. we were then told that our voucher was our ticket and gave us additional information for the tour. So, my suggestion is either you mention this on the voucher or have someone there to give you all details. It was also a bit award to show a printed paper instead of a ticket to all the locations as most officers was not too familiar with it. Anyway, everything went smoothly and we would highly recommend to all who are interested.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Timing was just sufficient to get a tour of Mt Rigi. The guide was spot on when she suggested we head to the peak in the morning when the weather was clearest. After lunch it started to get hazy and it would have been a waste if we had only gone up to the peak then. Lucerne was very pretty as well

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great toe but was very self guided. We really just paid for transport to the site and then did it all ourselves

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message