• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

excellent trip.host was very knowledgeable and happy and loved to make us laugh.trip up mt rigi and down was excellent,as was the boat cruise,Lucerne was beautiful.great day all round

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We paid for a boat trip on the Lake to Lucerne, but tour had wrong departure info so we had to go in the van. We paid for a ride up in lift to the train. That wasn't running either. The tour guide did her best to smooth all, but tour company needs to tighten ship or charge less. Mr and Mrs. LaGrange

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The pick up point at the end of the trip was quite a distance, and unclear on the itinerary.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wooow. It fantastic

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great way to see the mountain at your own pace, however those fond of a guide be warned that almost all the day is self guided. We were dropped at the bottom of the mountain in Weggis about 10.15am, and picked up at 6pm at Lucerne, another village a boat ride away. Spent the time in between on our own sledding and wandering around, this tour is highly recommended if you want to either enjoy a nice mountain walk/leisurely lunch or go sledding at your own pace. Definitely a great day trip, and easier and cheaper than organising transport ourselves! (The tour includes a cable car/all day train trip so you can sled down then train up again as much as you want, plus the boat ticket to Lucerne!)

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a great day touring around Switzerland, but a few things to be aware of: Besides the bus dropping you off in Wessig and picking you up in Lucerne (passes to the cable car, cogwheel train, and boat ride are provided), the entire day is left on your own. It would be worth it to research the activities and sights on Mount Rigi and in Lucerne since this will be completely unguided. Also, the bus was 45 minutes late picking us up from Lucerne. Overall, though, this tour definitely saves you the time of researching and planning how to tour the beautiful countryside on your own.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

For folks who want to explore on their own this is a perfect trip. We were provided all the instructions and meeting points and them basically spend the day exploring Rigi and Lucerne on our own

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This excursion was the best part of our holiday to zurich. The views from mount rigi are breath taking and looking at all the swiss houses on the way to it was magical. definitely worth the money. make sure you pick a day that is supposed to have clear weather for clear views

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We chose this tour partly based on positive reviews, the different modes of transportation offered and time given in each location. Transportation was well organised and the guided tour - given on the bus during pick up point to first drop off, covered abit of Zurich city and Swiss history. The rest of the time you're on your own until meetup point again in Lucerne.

That being said, we had a wonderful day and Richard - our guide and bus driver was helpful and accomodating. We were given tickets for the boat and train (cable car was not working) with no set time, allowing for flexibility so we could choose to stay longer on the mountain or in Lucerne. We stayed longer in beautiful Lucerne which was well worth it.

We loved this day trip, the views were breathtaking from the mountain to the valley below, as well as from the boat ride. You have enough time to just take it all in, explore and grab a bite to eat.

We recommend this tour for most people particularly couples and friends.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I've been extremely pleased with the tour right from the last minute booking I made on the phone. Viator accommodated me despite me booking the tour later than the online 48hr deadline. They also managed to arrange for a odd pick-up location along the route out of town despite my tight schedule that would have made me miss the bus. Most of it was a self tour, but with rather clear guidelines. Great touch from the tour guide to provide us with a little folder with all the necessary information. The folder fitted snugly into my travel clutch.

Mount Rigi was definitely worth the stay, the mineral baths were great - literally overlooking the alpines. You might want to check up on the weather, as you won't be able to see much if there's too much fog. I was lucky as the fog cleared up on my second day, so I got to dip in the baths with the amazing views before I left. The hotel staff were great and for those who don't own swimwear, you could well loan a bathing suit directly from the hotel. It's probably advisable to go as a couple or with company if you're doing an overnight stay as there is a candlelight dinner and was mighty awkward for me as I traveled solo. Neat collection of drinks at the hotel bar, so going with friends will be enjoyable too. my only gripe was that I was given a room without a view, turns out a couple that arrived half an hour before me was given dibs to my original room that had a view.

The Lake Lucerne Cruise is a great way to travel, as you're flanked by mountain ranges that are absolutely breathtaking. Trip back to the hotel was great, with a friendly guide whom I sadly forgot to tip in my sleepiness. She offered to drop me straight at my Youth Hostel as it wasn't a busy night. Fantastic experience and very helpful staff from Viator and all other partners!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed the tour. However, we did miss the cable car we'd been told to get as the queue was so long. As a result we also missed the connecting train to the summit. It would have been helpful to leave Zurich on time so our guide could have made sure this didn't happen.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Was scheduled to do this tour in mid Jan 2014, and when I got to the meeting point the tour officer recommended I change to the Mt Titlis tour instead, due to the weather at the time; apparently there wouldn't have been much to see with all the fog. So I took her advice and went on the Mt Titlis tour, which was fantastic and I had a great time (I would give it 5 stars). So unfortunately for this review section's sake, I'm not sure what this Mt Rigi tour would have been like...

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Beautiful scenery, relaxing minerals pools with glorious views of the Alps. Not really a tour, since the bus dropped us off at the tram station and we were on our own to get to the hotel and back to Luzerne the next day. We never found the bus which we were to take back to Zurich and ended up spending an additional $100 for train tickets home. The hotel tried to charge us for dinner and the room since they weren't informed that it was prepaid. Definitely a lack of communication on the tour company's part.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Rigi Tour from Zurich Including Mineral Baths and Lake Lucerne Cruise

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. While we never like to hear about customers having substandard experiences, your feedback helps us to ensure our local suppliers provide a quality experience and we are following up with them based on your comments. Thanks for alerting us to this issue, your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Was upset that there was no proper instructions on the hotel pick-up time. We didn't know and in the end, we had to take own taxi instead. The trip was so-so cos everything was non-guided! We thought would have a guide who will provide us info/history abt the place. Was very disappointed

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message