Mount Rigi is a mountain in central Switzerland, bordering Lucerne, and part of the Swiss Alps. It's also known as the "Queen of the Mountains.” Rigi offers stunning panoramic views and is famous for its beautiful sunrises. Nowadays, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent trip, 5 hours is more than enough. But more details about the trip is preferred, like the boat departure point and the time of all scheduled time for coming back.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great day, weather not kind but did not spoil our fun!! Mt Rigi covered in cloud, extreme wind and rain!! Loved cable car and cog train. Well organised with clear directions for self guided part. Loved Lurcerne and boat ride on lake, plenty of time to shop and grab a coffee. We travelled from Basel to join this tour and it was easy to do by train, a very long day, thoroughly enjoyed!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Bhanu
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome. Everything went well as planned.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The view was unbelievable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very accommodating and no time restraints . You can do the whole tour at your own pace. Very beautiful sights. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The boat left punctually and was full of visitors. Detailed timetables were not received, however, the boat crew were very helpful in clarifying where to disembark. Travellers should get off the boat at the fourth stop, not the third stop, Weggis where the cable car descends. The train station is located directly by the pier which was useful. At the top of the Mountain the views are fabulous. It is a very steep walk to the very top. Be aware that you will need to walk back along the train track for about 20 minutes to access the cable car station. It is not at the end of the train track at the top of the mountain as you may expect. However, this is a very pleasant, if unexpected walk. The cable car ride is brilliant and offers fantastic views down to the village of Weggis, where you embark the next available boat back to Lucerne.

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic. Efficient friendly staff. Everything went like clockwork. We were advised to take the tour by friends who went last year and loved it. We were certainly not disappointed.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Was 90 self guided so really just tickets for transport. Enjoyed the trip and the variety of travel modes.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Most people knew what I was showing them on my iPhone with the viator confirmation. Only the one man when we were wanting to go down the cable car had no idea what I was showing him. Definitely worth doing

Doing what: Independent Mount Rigi Tour from Lucerne Including Lake Lucerne Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is pretty much 'DIY' except the briefing and dropping you off and picking you up in downtown Lucerne.
Bus ride form Zurich to Lucerne is breathtaking. You will see history and outstanding natural beauty. Rigi itself has heavenly view from the top - cant express in words. Lake Lucerne boat ride is lovely.

Overall, its very good value for the money you pay and the experience is amazing.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide Urs was good and tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This MT Rigi tour was absolutely outstanding!! Our first time using viator and were competely impressed!! Our tour guide ROBERT was fabulous and very approachable with questions! We highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Elizabeth W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a wonderful time up on the mountain and crossing the lake. Our guide Mr. Robert was very nice and helpful. He made our day very easy and enjoyable. All in all it was an awesome day.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This day trip was amazing. Slight issue with the complimentary hotel pick up, however that did not ruin the rest of the trip. The top of Mount rigi was beautiful and definitely something not to miss.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best day, well organized day you get to see a lot and the views were stunning

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day very informative wonderful scenery and plenty of free time to look about at your own pace.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was fantastic. An incredible day. We had glorious weather and we loved the views. Also making our way back via boat to Lucerne was easy and great to be able to do in our timing. Loved Lucerne. Loved the tour and our guide for the short stretch was fantastic with great information.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour to Mount Rigi and Lucerne was fantastic. It far exceeded our expectations. The views from the top of Mount Rigi were truly breath taking. The weather was clear and we had exquisite views. It was hard to imagine that there was some snow on the top and yet you could wear a t-shirt. We took the cogwheel train all the way up from Goldau and travelled down to Vichnau. At Vichnau, we boarded a boat to Lucerne. This is the most picturesque place I have ever visited. This is one trip we won't soon forget.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful sights! Memorable experience! Enjoyed the various ways of transportation. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What an beautiful trip. A beautiful view around every corner. We had magnificent weather. A cloudless sky, with some haze. The cable car was under maintain so we took the cable car the whole way to the top. It is quite easy to be independent as timetable is very clear.

Doing what: Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very satisfactory, giving you the chance to enjoy beautiful Swiss nature, mountains and lakes. Nicely organized and leaves plenty of private time. Actually you are with the guide and other participants only when in the bus on the way from Zurich to the cable car, and on the way back from Lucerne to Zurich.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This is a semi-guided tour and tour guide really did not give us complete detailed information. This tour basically only provided the transportation and 80% of the journey is up to your own explore. The day we
joined this tour it was a big snow day, so we could not get out the cowwig train to view anything either.
a money wasted trip.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mind blowing, the most amazing pictures we have from the trip, were taken on this tour. This was a highly organised and adventurous trip. The entire tour lasted about 9 hours, just as it mentions in the description. The details of the trip are true to their description. It was a combination of bus, cable car, cogwheel train, boat and then bus back to Zurich again. My husband and I did not imagine Mt Rigi would be so breath-taking. Everything we did thereafter, we compared with this trip. Even in the winter there was so much sunshine once we reached the peak. Lovely restaurants and cafes for snacks as you climb up the mountain, and there was enough time to take a walk, get a bite and take lots of pictures before departing for the boat.

Doing what: Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message