The lakeside medieval town of Lucerne is a cozy base for trips to Switzerland’s snow-capped Alps and mountain landscapes of the Bernese Oberland. The picture-perfect, orderly town takes to the streets for the March Fasnacht carnival, with lantern ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1082 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic review!! We caught our bus only 3 blocks from our hotel in Lucerne. Boarded a luxury motorcoach that took us to Interlaken . We were given very detailed plans about the day and 3 options we could choose for the day. Peter was our guide and was enthusiastic, charming and friendly. He did not want us to feel forced to upgrade, but rather gave us information that we could not resist upgrading. And we did not regret our upgrade!!!! It cost us 115 more per person to go up to the top of Europe. Our booking was just to Interlaken and Grindelwald. The stop in Interlaken was 1/2 hour. We got real hot chocolate and croissant. Boarded the bus to go up further and catch two types of trains to the very top. The rides were enjoyable and informative and comfortable. Our group had 21 people. We had reservations on these trains just for us that Peter handled. At the top of Jungfrau we had two hours to go through a prearranged tour of the history and making of this amazing facility. We felt light headed and were instructed to take our time and walk slowly. We also had an amazing lunch at the top. Gorgeous scenery right outside our window. We were able to take an elevator to the top and go outside to take photos. It was -5. We also wandered into the Lindt chocolate factory/ store. After 2 hours, we boarded the train and went back down. Stopping a few times for photo opportunities like we did on the way up. Boarded our bus in Grindelwald and a bus ride back to Lucerene. Peter and Armando, thank you for out amazing adventure where we enjoyed EVERY single second! And we did!!! So good to have met you Peter! A charming representative of Switzerland!!! We love you!!!
David and Susan George and Amal

Doing what: Interlaken and Grindelwald Day Trip from Lucerne

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very long day but the trip was worth it. Amazing views from the terrace and the other outside spaces. Tour guide was informative. Spend as much time as you can outside.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip. Our guide was very friendly and helpful. Views from the ice flyer and suspension bridge were amazing. Be prepared for lots of people including skiers during the Christmas/New Year period.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

Hedda Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It is a very nicely organized day of tour, our Guide Peter is fabulous!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Jing B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great tour.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was excellent, a highlight of our 2-day stay in Lucerne following a Rhine River Cruise.
However, we weren't happy initially with the lady guide who met us at the Information Centre. We sat, along with others on the same tour, where she indicated, but we hadn't noticed that she went off to the coach without calling us. Had it not been for another young man tourist who ran after her, we might have missed the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour and guide. Beautiful tour for any age.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

Wanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, lots of snow and fun tour guide

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

JENNIFER A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow! What an amazing trip. It was one of our most favorite tours, and we did around 18 across Europe.
Loved the time to just explore, have lunch and take in the atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bernese Oberland Alps Day Trip from Lucerne: Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch Panorama

Trev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Don't miss out on doing this trip. Our guide was fabulous but the views and the scenery were out of this world. We still haven't gotten tired of talking about this part of our trip to our friends. This is a must do trip.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

febry_genio Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was exciting. The guide i believe her name is Minu was good in explaining scenery while we are going to Mt. Titlis.
Unfortunately some of attractions we cannot try due to heavy snow.
Overall, it is good time on Mt. Titlis

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

Jamali B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Well organised, worth paid for.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

liethuang

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Highly recommended because the mountains are gorgeous to look at. The price is slightly steep for something you can easily travel to get there yourself by bus, but i suppose the coach and the tickets factor in for the bulk of the price. my blog tells you more.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

margyd13 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Guide was excellent. Unfortunately, altitude sickness made the very top extremely unpleasant. Dizzy, headache, hard to breath, chest pain and very frightening experience as there had been no notice this may occur. My daughter also suffered and her lips turned blue. Some warning and explanation would have been appreciated so we understood what was happening. I do appreciate however that our reaction was not the norm.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Luna C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The group was too big and too many people doing different itineraries that caused the guide to lose track. We were the only ones stopping at the first point and she forgot to buy us our tickets which she realized as she was getting on the next train. The bus driver had to try to fix the problem, but it was a good thing we spoke Spanish as he didn't speak English or German which were the languages of the train station attendants. The description stated that we would be provided information on things to do around the town during our independent visit, however, no information was given. I feel like I could have planned this trip on my own and had the same expectations rather than spending the money on a non-helpful 'tour'.

Doing what: Independent Bernese Oberland and Jungfrau Region Day Trip from Lucerne

S M MIDDLEMASS M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow ! what a superb day out, fully recommend this day trip, it was just amazing.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, really enjoyed every aspect of the trip. It was expensive but well worth the money. Even though we went in October the weather was warm and visibility was good. The scenery from the top of the mountain was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Lynn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent! The pace of the trip was great, providing enought time at the Top of Europe Jungfraujoch. The secenary was breathtaking and the train rides like no other. It was like you could reach out and touch the sides of the mountains. The tour guide was very knowledgable and clear. Highly, highly recommend. A must see!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Lucerne: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The day may have been foggyu/hazy on the mountain but it was still fun. When we booked the tour, based on other reviews, I wasn't sure how many of the optional adventures we would be able to fit in. We had about 2 hours and 15 minutes on the mountain and wer able to do the ice flyer, suspension bridge and ice cave. I recommend asking the ice flyer attendants to leave the canopy open, even if the weather isn't terrific, because it fogs up quicly when down. I would caution anyne who is afraid of confined spaces to research when the new gondolas are going into operation, because currently the operators are jamming as many people as they can into each of the 2 gondolas necessary to reach the top of Mount Titlis. I am not afraid of confined spaces and thought it was unconfortable.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The tour guide was fantastic and a lot of fun to talk to. Unfortunately he could not do anything about the big cloud of rain that covered the mountain that day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Monica, our guide, was very informative! Beautiful day above the clouds on Mt. Pilatus via a cog railway! Nice restaurant with German style buffet! Good food, great chance to hike with beaut
I full camera shots of snow covered Alps! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Barbara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was fantastic, trip was amazing!

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Vivien T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

All went well. We were taken by bus to the gondola ride and our guide was very efficient in making sure we all knew what we had to do. Once up on the mountain we were given information about how to fill in our time and when to be back at the meeting point for the train trip down the mountain. Everything went smoothly. Our boat trip back to Lucerne was really enjoyable as well. Despite the weather not being kind to us, we had a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

kltan12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide kid went all out to assist us in taking pics while braving the cold. Well recommended tour to get to the TOP of Europe. Tiring day trip but worth every penny.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message