The lakeside medieval town of Lucerne is a cozy base for trips to Switzerland’s snow-capped Alps and mountain landscapes of the Bernese Oberland. The picture-perfect, orderly town takes to the streets for the March Fasnacht carnival, with lantern ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 776 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

THE TRIP WAS EXCELLENT, VERY GOOD GUIDE. THE SCENERY WAS BEAUTIFULL

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Lucerne: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

While we were in Switzerland we took the tour by cog train to the top of Jungfraujoch. Initially we thought that the tour was a little pricey at CAD$237.00, however after we reached the top, the price was soon a moot point. The whole experience, ( tour bus, cog train and tour guide),was worth every cent we paid for the trip up the mountain. Our guide was a young Thai gentleman named Kid, who was so knowledgeable and energetic and truly loved what he was doing. He took us to the best photo op sites and he spent a good deal of time taking photos of all the group members. On the way up the mountain he set our minds at ease and prepared us for what to expect when we reached the lighter air at the top. Kid made the whole experience that much more enjoyable and is an asset to the tour company that he represents. We would definately recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Switzerland and wants to see the Alps from this angle. The price was well worth the experience and in a word, our experience was awesome.Terry and Louise from Canada.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was very enjoyable with spectacular scenery and great guides. Although you could do this on your own, the logistics of the transfers necessary went great with Viator and made the long day much more enjoyable. I would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great! Despite less than ideal weather, the views were stunning. All connections were made; it was great to have the reservations on the trains to guarantee seating. We were not expecting the tour within Jungfraujoch which was surprising. Our tour guide, Peter, was terrific - so helpful. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very fun, beautiful landscapes, an unique experience.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was beyond perfect. God was with us that day; the weather was perfect. Our guide was funny and very attentive. He kept saying how lucky we were. Perfect tour! Hans Meier is the best

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

lyohannes
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Kid our tour guide picked us up from Lucerne around 9:30. He has a colourful unique personality and a great photographer to boot. Kid was always on hand to take some great pictures of us.We drove down to Interlaken and had a quick stop there before driving down to Lauterbrunnen and caught a train up.

We swapped to the cog wheel trains at Kleine Scheidegg which Kid said would be not so great for pictures so he took some good pictures for us. And he was right, on the way back the sky was cloudy and threatened rain.

The train stopped at Eigerwand and Eismeer for a 5 min beak and time for photos through to the glazier.
Then we reached the final destination and the highlight of the tour - we all followed Kid around as he has so much experience of the place and we had ample time to take pictures and have lunch. We visited the sphinx, alpine sensation, ice palaces, plateau and befghas.

The highlight was the plateau and we were lucky to have only some clouds. Definitely need to rug up as the wind is quite biting and were sturdy shoes.

We left Jungfraujoch around 3:15 and descended the mountain via Grindelwald Grund where the bus was waiting to take us back to Lucerne arriving back at 6:40. Overall this is a great tour made more entertaining by Kid. We have some great photos and memories of this stunning mountain. Highly recommend this tour.

Note: We took the tour from Lucerne, however, the tour originated from Zurich (which is about a 1 hr drive away from Lucerne).

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything is perfect and the view is spectacular. Our guide showed us all important points and we all had fun.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the view was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My absolute favourite tour ! Just amazing! Our guide Kip was soo much fun and entertaining! You can tell he loves his job and definitely made a long day enjoyable. The scenery is so beautiful and highly recommend to make time for this tour.

Doing what: Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An outstanding day, one we wont forget in a long while!
Prompt departure at 9am, a comfy coach, knowledgable and very informative Robert as our guide and breathtaking scenery, wow!
Beautiful Interlaken was our first stop, after an hour to explore we headed to Grindelwald where we boarded the cog wheel train heading up the Jungfrau. Scenery and views of the Alps, villages, snow covered mountains, glaciers, lakes all sensational....and so easy to take photos from our own train coach, with even stops en route for viewing.
And then the summit....wow, wow wow!! It was simply breathtaking! The Sphinx, Ice Palace, the terraces for the views, walking in the snow, the Lindt choc shop and even the restaurant's good hot chocolate was all enjoyed immensely.
After almost 3 hrs the return train trip took us to Lauterbrunnen again enjoying sensational views of snow capped mountains glaciers and lakes and through villages incl beautiful Wengen.
The comfy coach return to Lucerne took us via Lake Brienz, exquisite at sunset.
A sensational day and a superb tour, one of our best and very highly recommended.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Day Trip from Lucerne: Jungfraujoch and Bernese Oberland

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful tour, such a memorable day!
A short trip from Lucerne on a very comfy coach passing magnificent scenery, lakes, snow capped mountains, farms with cows grazing and picturesque villages took us to the cable car which we boarded heading to Mt Titlis. For the final leg of the trip to the summit we boarded the new revolving cable car...what an amazing experience, 360deg views and sensational vistas.
And then the summit......wow!!! Simply spectacular! The Ice Grotto/Glacier Cave, the Ice Flyer, walking on the new Suspension Bridge...the highest in the world, snow fun, tobogganing, the views from the terraces over the snow.....all just sensational, capped by a perfect hot chocolate!
The return trip was as beautiful and the comfy coach trip back to Lucerne taking in the last of the magnificent Swiss vistas, all so very enjoyable.
We are so happy we chose this tour ( there are many out of Lucerne) and we'd recommend it very highly. Its a visual treat and a memorable experience.

Doing what: Mount Titlis Eternal Snow Half-Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great half day trip. Unfortunately it had low cloud on the day we went but had glimpses of blue to see the far mountains. The kids enjoyed the cogwheel train and climbing the steps to see the views. The guide was very friendly and helpful running the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message