• USD ($)
  • English
Encircled by towering peaks and glittering lakes, if you’re looking to take in Switzerland’s famous mountain vistas, Lucerne is ideally situated, with easy access to the Top of Europe at Jungfraujoch, the glacial wonderland of Mount Titlis and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Easy to find the departure location which is right in the train station. Nice bus that takes you to the cable car to go up to Pilatus, and then you have time on the mountain. The train ride down is great and then you take a nice boat ride on the lake, which makes a few stops before you get back to Lucerne. I was a single traveler and it was great!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were in Europe for 2 weeks and did about 7 tours and this by far was my favorite. The first cable car ride was beautiful and relaxing and we got some amazing shots. The second, larger cable car ride was a bit too crammed full of people and was extremely high. If you have issues with heights or personal space this may be an issue for you. Once on the mountain I was just blown away with the view. Many trails to walk on and great scenic picture opportunities. The food in the self serve cafeteria was delicious. Cogwheel train was nice and the boat ride was relaxing and scenic as well. We are a young 30's couple and it was low key but super interesting for us. I highly recommend it. It seemed pricey when we booked it but I can understand know why, because we saw and did so much.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a great time on the COG train, on mountain top and on boat back to Lucerne. Nice to have different modes of transportation.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were so blessed to have perfect weather for our trip to Mount Pilatus! On the top it wasn't windy and it was relatively warm. The views were spectacular! A man in Swiss garb even yodeled upon request! The ski lift and cable car rides up were thrilling.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My family of 2 adult and 2 kids loved this day out in stunning weather conditions. It was hot on top of Mt Pilatus. You could have organised the day yourself by buying a "golden ticket", but the bus connect from central Lucerne to the first cable car station was convenient and easy. The tour guide was bright and chirpy and effectively connected the group to the different modes of transport (bus, cable car, gondola, cog wheel railway and boat), so did not provide her opportunities for commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We simply loved this excursion. The various cable and gondola rides up the mountain gave us wonderful, breathtaking views of the mountainside landscapes. Beautiful! The time that we spent on the mountain top was great -- panoramic views were also breathtaking. The alphorn players gave us authentic Swiss music that added to our enjoyment of the tour. Lunch was very good. Brats and fries. The cog railway was a cool trip down the mountain. This was followed by 1.5 hrs. cruising across Lake Lucerne, which also offered us wonderful views of the lake, countryside, and homes along the lake shore. All these aspects gave us an absolutely wonderful day in the Alps. We have already recommended this tour to our friends in our community.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best laid plans we saw on our trip. The guide, who's name I can not remember...sorry, was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable, her English was great! The Gondola starting point is just a few minutes by bud from the train station. Once at the base of the mountain, the line moved quickly in to gondola's for a wicked awesome panorama view up the side of this incredibly awesome mountain. Halfway up we swapped from little gondola's to one large unit, and the whole tour arrived at the top together. Free time at the top was great, My wife and I did a loop on a hiking trail, through caves and along cliffs! Some great photos were snapped, looking down through the broken cumulous cloud that enshrouded the mountain from time to time, leaving just enough sunny breaks for good pics!
We ate at the "take away" restaurant, as it is faster and left is more time to wander around the top of the mountain! I had a pork medallion and the wife had some of pork loaf... we both enjoyed our meals, and it was the best service and price we had a restaurant in in Lucerne, except one little side of the road convenience kiosk that served pretty good friend food.
It was chilly at the top, as to be expected. Being from Atlantic Canada, I didn't bring a sweater or jacket to Europe, I got some strange looks from other tourist and locals too, but it was not a big deal. A long sleeve shirt or light sweater would be enough for most people.
There is a small bar at the centre of the building, just outside the gift shop, where the beer is COLD! That was nice, as most places serve chilled beer!
You will NOT regret this tour. The only change I would make is to leave earlier from Lucerne, Returning time to Lucerne, via paddle boat was great.
Viator made our vacation planning quite easy, for 5 countries in 12 days!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Spectacular, well worth taking this tour. The views are fantastic going to the top of Mt Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was sooo complete. Not only did we have a very knowledgeable guide but the tour includes a wonderful mix of experiences. The ride on the lift was breathtaking, the cograil ride down the mountain a new and wonderful experience which allowed for great picture taking. The steamboat ride on the lake was lovely and serene. I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Mt Pilatus was an exhilarating experience, I have never experienced being on top of the mountain but it was so awesome. My son and I rode on cable car, cogwheel and boat and the view was spectacular. Highly recommended for nature lovers, I would like to come back to Switzerland!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Without doubt the highlight of all the tours we booked in Switzerland! Fantastic views along the way and on the top of Mt Pilatus, great 360 view all round. Plenty of time on our own to do what we wanted to do. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our trip to Mount Pilatus was exhilarating, a combination of gondola, cable car and a boat ride, of course there was the mountain. The lady who was our guide was very nice and highly professional. Absolutely hassle-free. SK Maulik, New Delhi, India

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This trip is worth every penny! A half day tour filled with full-day's worth of fun. 40 min cable ride to the top of the mountain, opportunity to hike up further, a 48 Deg inclined train ride down followed by a breathtaking cruise back to Lucerne main town. Thanks to Viator, the trip was well-organized and they have a great partnership with the the best tour operators. We booked 4 different tours through Viator in 2 different countries, and all the tours were well-organized.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is an outstanding trip which was a real hi light for us. We were pleasantly surprised at the awesome views and also the variety which included Cable Car, A cog train ride down the mountain and also a boat ride home on a steam driven paddle steamer.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Breathtaking views, stunning pictures, amazing experience. This tour had it all, from the many gondolas and cable cars to the cogwheel train and the cruise. The weather happened to be perfect on the day we went which made our trip even better. The only downside to this tour was the lack of organization on part of the tour guides at the beginning of the trip when we were organizing which people and tour guide would go to Titlis and which group would go to Pilatus. This didn't take away from the friendliness and knowledge of the tour guide, however. Overall this was an amazing experience that I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message