Encircled by towering peaks and glittering lakes, if you’re looking to take in Switzerland’s famous mountain vistas, Lucerne is ideally situated, with easy access to the Top of Europe at Jungfraujoch, the glacial wonderland of Mount Titlis and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to spend an afternoon. Great thrill to venture to the top of Mt Pilatus and experience the unbelievable views from 7000 feet.
You cannot go to Lucerne and not do this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Experience! There was no rush. The trip up was broken up by a stop at a half-way point for pictures and the view. We had plenty of time at the top to eat lunch and explore the Dragon Caves. There happened to be some paragliders jumping off the side of the mountain on the day we were there. The trip down was an opportunity to see Lake Lucerne and take pictures. Our boat ride back to Lucerne was a nice change from being on top of Mount Pilatus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I absolutely loved this tour and it was worth every cent. We didn't have much time in Lucerne so we felt that it would be great to spend half a day experiencing the breathtaking views. Th entire process was smooth and painless. We met at the tourist centre in Lucerne station before catching a bus to the bottom of the mountain. We then got tickets for our cable cart given to us and once we were on, the views we incredible. It was breathtaking to leave the city views behind as you approach the top of the mountain. On the top of the mountain you are given some time to look around and take pictures before you meet at the meeting point. Hen you take the famous train back down the mountain all the way to the ferry. The views during the entire tour were incredible and we captured so many awesome photos and saw amazing views. I highly recommend it and it is definitely value for money.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing ride going up and down the mountain. Was able to spend ample time on top.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip to Mount Pilatus. Gondola, Cogwheel and boat ride were amazing. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, very much enjoyed it and was worth the price! Got to view Lucerne from the top of Pilatus and the lake by boat. Great way to spend a day with beautiful sights all around!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was probably the best day of our vacation which also included a Rhine River cruise. Very well organized by Viator...but the real treat was absolutely perfect weather, moderate winds, etc ,which made the mountain a truly exceptional experience. Others that we met chose to go to a larger mountain the following day not with Viator and were met with rain and fog which pretty much ruined their experience.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was Beautiful!!! We loved everything from the cable car to the cogwheel train to the boat trip across Lake Lucerne. Mt. Pilatus was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

raymondriggens
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fun tour by taxi our bus was stuck in traffic from Lucerne train station to get cable car up Mount Pilatus. We spent an hour and half on the top looking around, a bite to eat in the restaurant then headed down the other side on the venicular train which took 40 mins. From there we picked up a paddle steamer which took an hour to take us back to Lucerne and stopped just by the train station. We set off at 12.30 and were back in Lucerne by 6pm.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour gives you time to do and explore while on Mt Pilatus and see some incredible sites. We explored and mountain goats incredibly on high cliffs which you could actually touch . The experience of the cog rail way with the boat trip was also great. Make sure to take the boat to see the whole Lake Lucerne

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to a spend a day in Switzerland. Plenty of time to explore by yourself, have a beer on top of a mountain, etc.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour, worth the money, the mountain is amazing. Tour guide was very good. All in all we had a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow! This was an excellent tour that we will not forget. Rita was the guide and did an outstanding job. The trams taking us up the mountain were comfortable and the views magnificent. The cog rail taking us down the mountain was a unique experience. While atop the mountain we watched a hang-glider jump off the cliff and sail around for a long time. The tour was interesting and the scenery breath-taking. The boat ride back to our hotel was also an excellent experience and made very enjoyable by our very personable guide.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great tour. The views were amazing, the tour operator was great and we loved the various modes of transportation to Mount Pilatus and back to Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great tour. The views were amazing, the tour operator was great and we loved the various modes of transportation to Mount Pilatus and back to Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. The ride up, walking around the mountain, going thru the Dragon cave, the ride down, the boat ride at the end. All just lovely. Guide was informative

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day that offers everything. Any one of the four components would be great on its own. Put them all together and you have an amazing experience.

We had thick cloud cover at the top of the mountain which didn't spoil anything but does give us an excuse to go back and do it again.

Fernando, our guide, was a genuinely nice guy and looked after everyone, offering titbits of information and history, as well as getting round everyone individually, making it personal.

We could not ask for more from this trip. It's definitely in my top 3 best things. We are booking again for August.

If you are visiting Lucerne this is a must. Don't even thing about it, just do it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour and our guide, Millie, was very friendly, helpful and informative. Unfortunately, it was a white-out at the top of Mt. Pilatus, which affected how much we enjoyed the overall experience, but weather is beyond anyone's control, and everything else about the tour was efficient and on-time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour - a little bit of everything: gondola ride to the top of Mt. Pilatus, a cogwheel train ride down the mountain, then a lovely boat ride across Lake Lucerne. Everyone in our group enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was cancelled due to bad weather damaging the train tracks (and the gondola was closed), so we were upgraded to the Titlis tour at no extra charge. I highly recommend the Titlis tour, but was also sorry not to see Pilatus. Fortunately our hotel room overlooked Pilatus so we were not completely without the experience, but I would have liked to do the Golden Round Trip to and from Pilatus - perhaps another time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour tremendously. We were glad we booked this trip as everything was taken care of for us.
We will definitely use Viator again when booking. Our tour guide was wonderful and very informative
This was the best way to see Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great half day trip. Unfortunately it had low cloud on the day we went but had glimpses of blue to see the far mountains. The kids enjoyed the cogwheel train and climbing the steps to see the views. The guide was very friendly and helpful running the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour of Mount Pilatus was everything we hoped for. Guide was very good. Views were spectacular, as were the cable car and cog railway rides. Will recommend to our friends if they ever visit Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The day was sunny and warm. The views were great. Viator took care of us to the mountain and back. The only complaint was that the cable car wasn't working. Another group did the tour themselves and they missed the last boat. If you plan on going go early in the morning. Thank you Viator for a great day

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message