Encircled by towering peaks and glittering lakes, if you’re looking to take in Switzerland’s famous mountain vistas, Lucerne is ideally situated, with easy access to the Top of Europe at Jungfraujoch, the glacial wonderland of Mount Titlis and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vivien T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

All went well. We were taken by bus to the gondola ride and our guide was very efficient in making sure we all knew what we had to do. Once up on the mountain we were given information about how to fill in our time and when to be back at the meeting point for the train trip down the mountain. Everything went smoothly. Our boat trip back to Lucerne was really enjoyable as well. Despite the weather not being kind to us, we had a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, really enjoyed every aspect of the trip. It was expensive but well worth the money. Even though we went in October the weather was warm and visibility was good. The scenery from the top of the mountain was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Monica, our guide, was very informative! Beautiful day above the clouds on Mt. Pilatus via a cog railway! Nice restaurant with German style buffet! Good food, great chance to hike with beaut
I full camera shots of snow covered Alps! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The tour guide was fantastic and a lot of fun to talk to. Unfortunately he could not do anything about the big cloud of rain that covered the mountain that day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

MARY L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed this all day tour. Beautiful views from Mt. Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our only tour that we had booked when visiting Lucerne, we thought it would be great to see this attraction, having never been to Lucerne. We met our guide at the information center and I'm sorry to say, I cant remember her name, but she was very very good, very friendly and was full of knowledge on what we would be seeing today. On the bus we went to where we would be catching the cable car to most of the way to the top of Mt. Pilatus. We loved the cable car ride, seeing the lush green fields below and was fun hearing those cow bells which one associates with Switzerland. We arrived to where we would be getting onto the new 'Dragon car' this sounded so exciting to us, took some photos, always taking photos, this ride was amazing, loved it even though my partner was holding on to the pole with clenched hands. The view from the top of this Mt. Pilatus was something to behold, the stunning views of these high mountains this just made our day. The clouds were rolling in on one side but the other side was so clear, great for photo taking. My partner stayed behind to have a look through the shop, getting some souvenirs while i ventured out along the walkways up to the lookout area, We were there for a good 1 1/2 hours, there are pathways for the more adventureous to take, it was just great to sit back and to take in the magnificent view. We would highly recommend this tour to all who visit Lucerne. Our stay in Lucerne was something else, loved it all and yes, we would love to come back again one day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Christopher P N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was excellent, with the cable car rides to the top of Mt Pilatus, the cog train descent, and then the boat trip back to Lucerne. All good experiences, magnificent views, and a great day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This full day trip was spectacular and amazing. Definitely worth the money. Do this! You will not regret it. A bus ride to the gondola, up the mountain, lots of time to enjoy the views, a cog train down, and then a boat ride across the lake. I am so glad we did this and booked it ahead of time from home.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Travelling up to Mount Pilatus was a fun experience. LOVED the gondola ride. Unfortunately it was a foggy day so we didn't see much until the end of the tour when the fog lifted. The boat cruise of Lake Lucerne was a lovely ending to a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

the1stnowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My private tour of Mt. Pilatus was fantastic. Tour guide Mike was very knowledgeable and accommodating. I was travelling alone and he took the time to personally answer my questions prior to booking and immediately felt at ease upon meeting him.

Mike took me to all of the sites that I wanted to see and shared great information about the region. I would definitely recommend using Viator and requesting Mike as your tour guide. His coordination of all the entrance tickets and travel itinerary was well worth it.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide

Sdeso Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic ride up in Inthe cable cars to the top. The guide was great, unfortunately people didn't pay attention and missed the last cable car up. Additionally there were some girls on the tour that had wanted to do the toboggan ride, but didn't tell the guide until on the last cable car which was too late toboggan is on the second stop, and if you go back down you would have to pay another ticket to get back up to the top. The guide was able to ask a favour and got them to go back down and up at no extra cost which was nice. Lots of free time at the top to explore the mountain and get some great pictures. The boat cruise was nice and relaxing, interesting to watch as you could see the wheels from the inside! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Kerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was amazing--plenty of time for exploring at the top of the mountain--even on a cloudy day the views were spectacular. Then the lake cruise after coming down together with the gondola ride up and cogwheel train down, was well worth the expense!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding excursion. The views are spectacular. Although the train may appear to be scary, it really was a nice ride down the mountain.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to spend an afternoon. Great thrill to venture to the top of Mt Pilatus and experience the unbelievable views from 7000 feet.
You cannot go to Lucerne and not do this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

John Skylar M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Experience! There was no rush. The trip up was broken up by a stop at a half-way point for pictures and the view. We had plenty of time at the top to eat lunch and explore the Dragon Caves. There happened to be some paragliders jumping off the side of the mountain on the day we were there. The trip down was an opportunity to see Lake Lucerne and take pictures. Our boat ride back to Lucerne was a nice change from being on top of Mount Pilatus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Rumesh W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I absolutely loved this tour and it was worth every cent. We didn't have much time in Lucerne so we felt that it would be great to spend half a day experiencing the breathtaking views. Th entire process was smooth and painless. We met at the tourist centre in Lucerne station before catching a bus to the bottom of the mountain. We then got tickets for our cable cart given to us and once we were on, the views we incredible. It was breathtaking to leave the city views behind as you approach the top of the mountain. On the top of the mountain you are given some time to look around and take pictures before you meet at the meeting point. Hen you take the famous train back down the mountain all the way to the ferry. The views during the entire tour were incredible and we captured so many awesome photos and saw amazing views. I highly recommend it and it is definitely value for money.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Darlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing ride going up and down the mountain. Was able to spend ample time on top.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip to Mount Pilatus. Gondola, Cogwheel and boat ride were amazing. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Benjamin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, very much enjoyed it and was worth the price! Got to view Lucerne from the top of Pilatus and the lake by boat. Great way to spend a day with beautiful sights all around!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was probably the best day of our vacation which also included a Rhine River cruise. Very well organized by Viator...but the real treat was absolutely perfect weather, moderate winds, etc ,which made the mountain a truly exceptional experience. Others that we met chose to go to a larger mountain the following day not with Viator and were met with rain and fog which pretty much ruined their experience.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was Beautiful!!! We loved everything from the cable car to the cogwheel train to the boat trip across Lake Lucerne. Mt. Pilatus was breathtaking.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

raymondriggens United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fun tour by taxi our bus was stuck in traffic from Lucerne train station to get cable car up Mount Pilatus. We spent an hour and half on the top looking around, a bite to eat in the restaurant then headed down the other side on the venicular train which took 40 mins. From there we picked up a paddle steamer which took an hour to take us back to Lucerne and stopped just by the train station. We set off at 12.30 and were back in Lucerne by 6pm.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

August Raymond K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour gives you time to do and explore while on Mt Pilatus and see some incredible sites. We explored and mountain goats incredibly on high cliffs which you could actually touch . The experience of the cog rail way with the boat trip was also great. Make sure to take the boat to see the whole Lake Lucerne

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Tyler J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to a spend a day in Switzerland. Plenty of time to explore by yourself, have a beer on top of a mountain, etc.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

cmt8198

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour, worth the money, the mountain is amazing. Tour guide was very good. All in all we had a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message