Luxor ATTRACTIONS See all

Dendera (Dandarah)

The main lure at Dendera is the Temple of Hathor, one of the least ancient of ancient Egypt’s glories, main construction being more or less contemporary with the life of Christ, although it was built on much older foundations. There are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Dendara is very special as the colours are still visible and intact. The local people were so warm and welcoming. I loved the Zodiac. Even the drive is amazing watching day to day life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Osiris Temple @ Abydos and Dendara temples are a hidden gem, not commonly visited the history and colors in both temples were fascinating. Make the effort you won't be disappointed!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A long journey but worth it,quite stunning

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a fantastic trip. We were picked up on time, and the guide and driver were excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this trip. South Sinai Travel were extremely good, and next time I go to Egypt I want them to take care of all my travel arrangements.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Outstanding! We were provided a personal driver and an English speaking tour guide for the all day excursion. They arrived promptly on time at our hotel and were very friendly and courteous. It is a long drive and they ensured we were comfortable. The guide's narrative about the sites as well as Egypt in general was very informative. The driver was very professional and safe. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A long day in the car from Cairo but worth seeing if it is your one and only trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This sites are amassing!!! But again you need a good tour guide that is proactive and shows you all the hiding treasures!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Worth doing, Dendara and Abydos. A good drive(distance) to and from. As the guide book says these two are in better shape than most temples and offer some fantastic viewing. only thing is you only have so much time at each one because of time constraints. One would like to take time and just look around at these. The guide was knowledgeable and offered good information. The trip to and from also allows one to see parts of rural Egypt you might not see otherwise. Some Egyptian driving at times on the part of the driver. Heads up on that.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The young gentleman who was my guide did an excellent job and I would like you to thank him again for me. Abdos and Dendara was a lifetime dream that he helped to fulfill.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This was a Birthday gift for our Daughter's 40th Birthday. She absolutely loved every minute and could not fault the trip. Food was amazing. Only disappointments were that the Temple itself was being re-built in places, which spoiled the overall atmosphere/photo opportunities. Otherwise, fan-tas-tic! Highly Rec to all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Well worth the trip excellent guide and driver

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

By boat was awesome as we accomplished a Nile Cruise at the same time. Don't forget to bring music, books, etc as most of the day is spent on the boat it is a really nice one even a small pool. Please pass along to the tour operator that the broken down bus on June 1 on the way back to the boat was handled totally inappropriately - this should not affect your decision to take this tour it was clearly a one-off however the bus driver and tour guide refused to allow the passengers to get to the boat terminal for over 1 hour while they tried to fix the bus. The driver didn't want to give his water to the elderly tourists in the 45C heat - the bus driver should be told this is completely unacceptable. The tourguide also didn't help the tourists know what was happening during this wait. The bus driver should have allowed us to take taxis the approx. 7 minute drive back to the boat within the first 15 minutes. The bus driver was very rude to some females who demanded he give the elderly people water. Unfortunate but ended up being a story I can tell people at home. The tour was excellent though and Dendara is fascinating!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This is a must do, was great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

Craig H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very well organized trip! We chose the boat option and it was great! We got picked up by the local agent at Luxor, taken down the road to the Iberotel where we boarded the boat. Took a 4 hour trip up to Dendara where a lovely guide met up with us and took us around the temple. What an amazing sight, you get to see the sunset too which is amazing! Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Superb service - highly professional.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great trip, floating on the Nile reading Agatha Christie's Murder on the Nile, and then this beautiful temple.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Transfers early morning and late evening by Viator highly recommended. Tourist information on board a bit improvised and meager, nice lunch on board and good local guide at Dendara.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

Gillian R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Fantastic tour. Both guide and driver made it a wonderful trip Abydos was a dream. Dendara was equally special but as it was a holiday for the local children, we were followed by large numbers of children - most of whom were lovely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Picked up early in the morning by our guide. Long drive, but beautiful countryside and easy to sleep along the way. Well worth the trip, however, since very different from other sites in Egypt. Abydos is incredibly preserved, great hypostyle columns, and wonderful reliefs. Dendara was being conserved as we arrived, shows great potential, with lots of great areas. Roof view was incredible. After Karnak, Luxor, Valley, Giza, and Sakkara, this helped to round our our understanding and conceptualization of Egypt. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara and Abydos

Deborah D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent and friendly service. Wonderful guide and it all exceeded expectations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

Alan R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fantastic day. Well organised, very good value for the money. Excellent guides and very good food on the boat. A very relaxing day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

William H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

I would beware, in this temple we got set up to be robbed by one of the tourist police who we reported. I would suggest taking your own toilet roll as they hand you one sheet! It was ok I suppose but a bit boring, you would have to like that kind of thing. We went by bus but now I wish we had taken the boat option as this would have added to the day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message