Luxor ATTRACTIONS See all

Ramesseum (Mortuary Temple of Ramses II)

While not as well preserved as nearby Medinet Habu, this mortuary temple dedicated to Ramses II, dating to 1258 BC, still has more than enough to interest the visitor. In the inner sanctuary, for example, the majority of the columns in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a brilliant experience for me and my grandson aged 10. The pilot was skillful and executed a perfect takeoff and landing. Seeing the dawn rise over the Nile was a magical and unforgettable memory

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved it. It was spectacular watching the sun rise with the Nile River on one side and the Luxor Valley Temples on the other. All the personnel were kind and helpful, I have no complaints.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The flight was wonderful but very pricy honestly. Each balloon carried around 24 people so I feel overcharged. Really stunning views from the air after all.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Absolutely fantastic. A must see to view the Valley of the nobles from the air. Awesome

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

It is a lovely thing to do...

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

The representative was good but need to change the Hot Air Balloon company - they were a 2bit show, not professional. We were kept standing in the basket for 20mins after landing in some poor farmers ploughed field then another 30min as the pilot decided to throw a tantrum and stormed off into the cane/corn? field. Had to be called back to give out certificates. Have done Hot Air Ballooning in Turkey and know how a professional company acts.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The flight was great but after being picked up at 5am, we waited on the boat to cross the Nile for almost a hour while numerous other boats left and we could seen balloons taking off. So we missed the sunrise. The flight itself was great.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Fun but not as good as I thought it would be. I got the worst position, I was standing near the pilot and the heat from the gas was unbearable and a bit worrying. I felt like a chicken in an oven, if I had been I would have bee well done by the time we landed. Also even though there was a photographer following us we were not offered a photo of this flight which usually happens on balloon flights. Also did not appreciate being left with the dozen of children begging for money or the shirts given to us I had one child practicallly grab this shirt put of my hands. n .

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great hot air balloon - amazing to see Egypt from the air. Really liked how guests were picked up from their hotel and taken directly to the balloon and back. Confirming time of pick up was a nightmare though.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

my trip was very good. the pilot was excellent, he told us all about the surrounding countryside and the points of interest.. we were picked up on time.the only disappointment was that i expected to see the sunrise from the balloon but we were too late getting arbourne and so it rose whilst the balloon was being inflated. apart from that, it was an excellent trip

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

This was my first Balloon flight. Looked forward to it. Was Ok. A good opportunity for photo's. But to many people in the basket for comfort and good visibility. The trip could of covered more distance too.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The Hot Air Balloon ride was one of the best things I did on my trip to Egypt. Viator made if very easy to reserve a spot before leaving the US. If you are going in the off seasonsummer you can save yourself some money and make this reservation with your hotel or a private company and save a lot of money.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Oleg V
Russian Federation

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The flight itself was perfect and the pilot seemed to be very profesional. BUT - in Viator website, it is written that the flight is 1.5-2 hours, while the flight duration was actualy 40 minutes. Second, after the flight, the crew perform one-minute-chicken-dance in order to ask for tips. It is not neccesary, and it just perpetuates the feeling that everything in Egypt is done in order to ask for additional money.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Felicity F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

From pickup to return, it was excellent and good value - very much enjoyed by both of us elderly travellers.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A great experience with an excellent crew.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Philip T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It is a lovely thing to do, and was well organised.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

The staff was friendly and informative. We had an appointment directly after our flight and the staff drove us to our destination. I would recommend this experience to everyone!

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Laura I
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

It's a definite must do while in Luxor. The view is amazing from the balloon and you get a great insight to the contrast between green fields and the desert.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

What an amazing experience!! I had my doubts at first. Yet when everything from the pick-up to drop off at the hotel, to the safety aspects, to the balloon ride itself went so smoothly, well.... what can I say. It's a MUST for anybody visiting Luxor. Do not miss it!!!

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Wonderful experience and very nice and professional crew.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Jamie C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

I would strongly recommend this trip if going to Luxor! The guide picked us up on time at our hotel and the whole process was seamless. Good clear instructions of what is expected of you in terms of safety. I am usually a bit scared of heights but that all seemed to disappear when the balloon was in the air. The view is amazing and you can hear people talking on the ground as well as animals. I would take a hat as when the fire is blasting it can get really hot. We were in the air for just over an hour and its worth every penny!!! We were back in our hotel in time for breakfast. If you go to Luxor make sure you do 2 things - visit the Valley of the Kings and do the hot air balloon ride!!!!

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

This was one of the highlights of our Egyptian holiday, well worth the early morning start. The morning was so peaceful and quiet, all we could hear was the balloons firing and the animals on the ground waking up. Its much cooler than later in the day and probably the best photo op of Hatshepshut Temple before the crowds descend after breakfast. After the flight, people appeared from nowhere singing and dancing and banging on drums to celebrate. It stayed fairly low most of the time too which gave fantastic views of all the random temples and monuments scattered about the place. You MUST do this if you go to Luxor.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Luxor West Bank and Nile River

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message