Luxor ATTRACTIONS See all

Valley of the Kings

The harsh, lunar landscape of the Valley of the Kings is the resting place of numerous New Kingdom pharaohs, whose remains were interred in tombs burrowed into rock. The 60-odd tombs which have been discovered (which may represent only half of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The boat was clean and the staff was very nice and attentive. The private guide was awesome, extremely knowledgeable of Egyptian history (he was a university professor). The extra money spent on a private tour guide was well worth it as you can move at your own pace. Ask for Ismail :-)

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide met us early and couldn't have been more helpful. She was so knowledgeable and made our whole experience totally unforgettable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting, great guide, recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall very good. I was not on the boat I booked and the schedule was a bit different from what I expected. Food on the boat was plentiful but bland and they seated me alone at a table for all meals. On the other hand, South Sinai Tours and my guide Mr. Ashraf Boshra were great. The historical sites were amazing. Overall I'm satisfied.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yulanda was terrific...friendly, professional, flexible. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a wonderful time in the cruise. Our guide: Michael Samy Shehata was exceptional courteous, professional. I highly recommend to have a private guide so you don't have to rush on the sites and you can learn more and take advantage of your time.
The boat was standard, the cabin could be better, but the food was excellent. Our boat was Mirage 1.
The trip from Aswan to Luxor made our trip to Egypt complete. Just Cairo wouldn't been enough to have a clear image of the Antique Civilization.
Now I want to visit Abu Simbel .

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful experience, no complaints at all. Just spectacular...

Our private guide Mustafa was incredibly knowledgable and very friendly. Really enjoyed our time with him.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My tour was about average. The guide was knowledgable, but it seemed like I had to ask the questions. She did do a good job of describing the interior of the tombs before I went in. And I never felt rushed at any time. I must say that I was put off by the hard-sell sales tactics of the alabaster shop that we visited. I know most tours have this sort of thing. But the last thing I want to do on vacation is walk into a showroom and be hammered like I'm buying a car or something. Overall, this is a good way to see the tombs without getting scammed too hard. Recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

the internet support before the tour was excelent, all the schudules about pick up and drop off workied really well. The rooms are in a really good size, no smell, great tours and great staff.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

From best to worst:
- GUIDE: The personal guide was amazing! Mohamed was very nice and truly an expert on Egypt. He explained everything to us and had the answers for all our questions. Also he was very nice and made us comfortable every time he had a chance.
- FOOD: The food on the boat was very delicious and gave us nothing to complain about it. Completely satisfied.
- BEVERAGES: The price was a little high, as it is in any other cruise, but they should at least offer free water during the meals, which was not the case. If you want to drink anything (during a meal or after a long tour), you have to buy it.
- ROOM: It was ok and comfortable, but they could give more attention on cleaning. The floor under the bed was a little dusty and even with some hair from previous passengers. Nothing really gross, but if you drop something under the bed, you're in for a surprise.
- MAINTENANCE: The boat itself is nice and big. A little run down in some parts (like the chairs of the upper deck) but those were just details. The service on the upper deck could be better, though. For most of the time there wasn't anyone from the crew there to clean the tables or to take orders for beverages and drinks.

And now, the worst and most concerning part for us:
The Itinerary was changed and the overall time span of the cruise was extended.
On day two, the departure from Aswan was delayed until after lunch. Leaving the itinerary as it follows:
Day 2 (B, L, D): Sail to Kom Ombo and visit of Kom Ombo Temple / Sail to Edfu/ Overnight in Edfu
Day 3 (B, L, D): Morning visit to the Temple of Horus, Sail to Luxor, Overnight in Luxor
Day 4 (B): Visit the West Bank

But the worst part was the last day:
The West Bank that supposed to be on day 3, was actually after the check-out on day 4. So we lost a morning on a very tight schedule because accumulative changes on the itinerary forced to leave this great tour in a day that we already had other activities planned on our own.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We highly recommend this cruise and tour company to see the ancient Egyptian sites on the Nile. The crew was exceedingly helpful, from the administration to the doormen and room cleaners. The food was served buffet style and was delicious The room was very comfortable and clean and had an adjoining bathroom with a tub and shower. Every night we were surprised to return to the room and find an animal creation made from towels. Very imaginative and creative! The crew appeared to number as many as the passengers and we felt very well cared for. At the end a group tip was suggested which we were more than happy to fund because of the superior performance of everyone. Also booking was easy through the internet and with a NY phone number for questions. The touring was done by Adel Eldesouki who was excellent. He had a degree in Egyptology, spoke good English, and was knowledgeable about everything we asked about. He had a wonderful sense of humor and when we dragged behind, he gently told us, help me help you. At the beginning and the end, we were met by professional staff who escorted us from and to the airport. Everything went like clockwork. We highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was not exactly what I expected from a 5 star cruise.
Food was awful, personnel not nice.
The schedule was not respected and that is why we missed some of the temples and places we planned to see in Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Other than the obligatory stop at the souvenir store, this was a great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was very thorough and honest with the tour and was extremely friendly, would highly recommend to friends.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would guve this trip 10 stars not just 5. The boat and staff were so nice and went out of their ways to make us happy. Iour tour guide was amazing! Very polite and pleasant person. We enjoyed his company very much. I will try to add puctures to this review later! It was such an amazing trip.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour is really great. The room is perfect. However, if the door at the end of the hallway is left open, then the exhaust fumes comes into the boat and the room and it is nauseating. Make sure they keep that door shut. It is totally worth paying for the private tour. Aviator on-line support was amazing. However, I sent Aviator about 10 meals asking to clarify certain things. They promised to respond within 24-36 hours...they have not responded to a single one!!! Viator just abandoned us.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have booked more day trips, tours and transfers than I can remember with Viator and so far all have gone like clock work, this one included. The cruise is a must as you get to see much of the country side along with tours off the ship and at the end of the day thank god for the pool and bar, it can be hot here.The feel of the ship is classical and very clean, well serviced and good food. Had a great time.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Yolanda was an enthusiatic and very knowledgeable guide. My driver Tony was courteous, friendly and skilled. It was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exceptional cruise. Far more than expected. The staff is wonderful and the service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We originally booked on the M/Y Mirage but, as numbers were low, we ended up on the M/S Amarco, which we were told was an upgrade. We were very happy with the Amarco; the cabin was wood-panelled and very comfortable, the meals were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took the cruise from Aswan to Luxor, which matched our dates but which meant there was only one day actually cruising. Our main aim was to see the ancient sites, so this wasn't a problems for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed the cruising, so regretted only having one day of it. It was well worth paying a little extra to have a private guide for our party of four. Our guide did an excellent job, sharing a wealth of information with us as we visited the Aswan High Dam, the temples at Philae, Kom Ombo and Edfu, as well as the Valley of the Kings. He also ensured that all aspects of the trip went smoothly, including the various mini-buses, the felucca at Aswan, the caleche to get to the temple at Edfu. The whole experience was wonderful!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great cruise. We had a very knowledgable guide and his brilliance made our experience incredible. AWESOME!!!!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I really enjoyed this cruise. There is a lot of free time and you can choose what you would like to do on excursions. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. There were not many passengers onboard for our trip, and we had the same guide for our group of five the whole time. Food was great!

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Although we enjoyed the cruise very much (the ship, the food and the friendly staff), I was not satisfied with the assigned personal guide. I´m utterly disappointed with his guide, he took us to shops where they offered us drinks and made us believed that whatever they sold it was worth it at the price they asked, especially our guide. Little did we know that guides take commission on whatever we/tourists spend. This was evident in our last day when after a purchase the owner took a calculator and told him his commission!!. If I knew this was going to happen I will certainly wouldn’t hire a private guide that will rip us off. It is a shame because the places we visited were wonderful and as I say before the cruise was great.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Stunning locations! Excellent guide-Mr Tony knew a lot and was really helpful!

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very lovely tour,the guide was very knowledgeable with the information and had lots of clarity in her explanation..Had lots of fun and really enjoy the tour from start to the last moment of it.....Thanks a lot

Doing what: Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message