Lyon is France's gastronomic capital, with endless piggy-driven dishes and delicacies to savor, and a bounty of eateries in which to do so. Throw two mighty rivers, a couple of Roman amphitheaters and a generous dose of Renaissance architecture into ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The City Card was wonderful. It got us into a lot of places and allowed us on all public transportation (rail/buses) for free.

Doing what: Lyon City Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great purchase. maps and information helped a lot. access to attractions n free transport saved lots!

Doing what: Lyon City Card

Victor B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

City card was a great value for touring

Doing what: Lyon City Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An amazing tour through the Beaujolais region, crossing charming villages and learning a lot about the local wine. The guide, Marie-Claire, was very well-informed and pleasant, and the wine tasting a very interesting experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We never would have seen this wine area if we hadnt been on this tour. However, it definitely wasnt the best I've had. There are lots of windy roads, so I dont recommend this if you get easily car sick. Also, the guide, who was very nice and knowledgeable, talked a lot about the Beaujoloais wines (like we pay her to do of course), but it isnt worth much if you dont know what the wine tastes like. I think they should have provided a sample (at least a small one) BEFORE looking at all the pretty vineyards and hearing about the wines. Because I honestly forgot most of it by the time of the wine tasting. The wine tasting was good, but I dont think it was enough (along with the tour) to justify € 75. In Europe, wine is not that expensive.
Also, its hot in the summer. I thought they would provide a bottle of water in the van for us, at least.

Still, a nice guide who did a good job. But I dont know if the tour is worth the cost to me.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Having the card saved to,e and money. There was no waiting to get in places. Using the metro was streamlined tremendously. Everyone who goes to visit Lyon should get o e!

Doing what: Lyon City Card

chamlo
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our driver and tour guide were amazing! They were well versed in the Beaujolais region. However, we only visited one winery which I felt did not give us a true experience of the wine in Lyon. For the price, I would have expected a visit to a minimum of two wineries.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I can give only 3/5 but only because I'm passionate with wine regions.
As a wine lover, I could have imagined that Beaujolais region would have been a marvellous idea to visit. Despite rainy weather, driving through vineyards was fascinating and inspiring. However, unfortunately, I was very unlucky with the guide. As I was the only English-speaking tourist in our little mini-van, I noticed that our guide was talking mostly in French. Of course I told her that I didn't speak French a single word, so she had to translate everything into English personally for me. I didn't expect such attitude from her side, e. g. she could say a couple of words for me in English and then 5 sentences in French. It seemed to be very unfair that I paid the same amount of money to get unequal service. I could only guess what she was talking about because I have already had several wine tours before. I was very frustrated and disappointed: I tried to ask questions first but then gave up pulling out the information from the guide.
I wouldn't ever recommend this tour with this particular guide (I even don't remember her name, strange, isn't it?). A guide should be more enthusiastic and sociable. If he/she plays a role as an interpreter, she/he should give the same amount of information in both languages, so that tourists wouldn't feel any communicative gap. My previous travelling experience shows that our guide failed to demonstrate the abovementioned.

Thank you

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Anna, the guide, was very friendly and helpful. She eagerly answered all the questions. The trip itself was pleasant and interesting but a little bit long.

Sandra N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

This was great value, we used it on all public transport, all Museums, exhibitions walking tour and a Cruise up the river. Very user friendly and efficient.

Doing what: Lyon City Card

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The whole trip was wonderful except for a delayed start. You had over-booked and we had to wait 30 min to get a bigger bus. But it wasn't that bad. Just a little annoyance.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

A good trip spoiled by the tour agent trying not to honour our viator voucher. They had oversold the tour and despite our confirming with them the day before asked that we leave the bus and seek a refund from viator. We were insistant and eventually they got a bigger bus. As a result of the delay we didn't see the Roman ruins and the tour was shortened. There was no cheese tasting - sausage was provided instead. A good tour ruined by a poor provider. The guide did her best but this was not a good advertisement for Viator or Paris Tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We purchased the 3-day pass. Over the course of the three days we visited only half a dozen of the included attractions, but combined with the transport pass, we still got good value out of the Lyon City Card. What purchasing the card did for us was give us lots of information about Lyon and lots of options so that we could tailor our sightseeing to our interests. It also encouraged us to go to a couple of attractions that, if we had to pay specifically for that attraction, we may not have gone but as it was included in the price of the Card, we went along.
We would certainly recommend the Lyon City Card.

Doing what: Lyon City Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Was in some ways dissapointed with it as we had booked a 3-day pass for a 4-day stay and only found later that we could not use it on public transport on arrival as you have to travel to the tourist info centre to get it validated. This meant paying to get to the hotel and either taking all our luggage with us to the TIC en-route or going to the hotel and out again!!!!!! For the cost per day (£22) for 2 persons, you have to pull in a lot to make it worth it, especially as we did not spend any on day one. The only way we got some of it back was to travel on the bus on our 4th day to the station in the morning, saving around 3 euros each, so in actual fact it was nearer £30 per day over the 2 remaining full days left to spend. The big bonus was the freedom to just jump on and off the local transport and go on the river boat and into one of the museums. I am not certain I would have bothered with the museum though if I had not felt that I had to spend it on something! I do not think that it is worth what it costs do do that though, so would not buy one next time.

Doing what: Lyon City Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Tour was good but information provided pre tour about meetin point was insufficient, complaint has lodged.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message