The Beaujolais wine region is comprised of about 4,000 vineyards stretching across a 50,000-acre strip that starts just north of Lyon in the Saône Valley. The land was first cultivated by the Romans, and the appellation d'origine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An amazing tour through the Beaujolais region, crossing charming villages and learning a lot about the local wine. The guide, Marie-Claire, was very well-informed and pleasant, and the wine tasting a very interesting experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Anna, the guide, was very friendly and helpful. She eagerly answered all the questions. The trip itself was pleasant and interesting but a little bit long.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The whole trip was wonderful except for a delayed start. You had over-booked and we had to wait 30 min to get a bigger bus. But it wasn't that bad. Just a little annoyance.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

I am only giving it 4 stars and not 2 or 3 stars because of the tour company and guide, they are truly professionals! The tour itself... well you decide, two stops at five minutes each doesn't give you much time to see. Some of these villages look amazing, but 10 minutes only leaves a lot to desire. Finally we arrive to the final place to enter a local store/bar to "wine taste" two local varieties and speak with a wine maker. The longest stop at almost 40 minutes. This Half day tour left a lot to desire. Not to mention the wine in this region nothing to write home about. You're better off going to Burgundy for wine.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We never would have seen this wine area if we hadnt been on this tour. However, it definitely wasnt the best I've had. There are lots of windy roads, so I dont recommend this if you get easily car sick. Also, the guide, who was very nice and knowledgeable, talked a lot about the Beaujoloais wines (like we pay her to do of course), but it isnt worth much if you dont know what the wine tastes like. I think they should have provided a sample (at least a small one) BEFORE looking at all the pretty vineyards and hearing about the wines. Because I honestly forgot most of it by the time of the wine tasting. The wine tasting was good, but I dont think it was enough (along with the tour) to justify € 75. In Europe, wine is not that expensive.
Also, its hot in the summer. I thought they would provide a bottle of water in the van for us, at least.

Still, a nice guide who did a good job. But I dont know if the tour is worth the cost to me.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I can give only 3/5 but only because I'm passionate with wine regions.
As a wine lover, I could have imagined that Beaujolais region would have been a marvellous idea to visit. Despite rainy weather, driving through vineyards was fascinating and inspiring. However, unfortunately, I was very unlucky with the guide. As I was the only English-speaking tourist in our little mini-van, I noticed that our guide was talking mostly in French. Of course I told her that I didn't speak French a single word, so she had to translate everything into English personally for me. I didn't expect such attitude from her side, e. g. she could say a couple of words for me in English and then 5 sentences in French. It seemed to be very unfair that I paid the same amount of money to get unequal service. I could only guess what she was talking about because I have already had several wine tours before. I was very frustrated and disappointed: I tried to ask questions first but then gave up pulling out the information from the guide.
I wouldn't ever recommend this tour with this particular guide (I even don't remember her name, strange, isn't it?). A guide should be more enthusiastic and sociable. If he/she plays a role as an interpreter, she/he should give the same amount of information in both languages, so that tourists wouldn't feel any communicative gap. My previous travelling experience shows that our guide failed to demonstrate the abovementioned.

Thank you

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Tour was good but information provided pre tour about meetin point was insufficient, complaint has lodged.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Only got 2 small samples of red wine at thelast stopI noticed another group at the stop before also got rose and white wine.It did cover all of the wine area so was worth doing

chamlo
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our driver and tour guide were amazing! They were well versed in the Beaujolais region. However, we only visited one winery which I felt did not give us a true experience of the wine in Lyon. For the price, I would have expected a visit to a minimum of two wineries.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

A good trip spoiled by the tour agent trying not to honour our viator voucher. They had oversold the tour and despite our confirming with them the day before asked that we leave the bus and seek a refund from viator. We were insistant and eventually they got a bigger bus. As a result of the delay we didn't see the Roman ruins and the tour was shortened. There was no cheese tasting - sausage was provided instead. A good tour ruined by a poor provider. The guide did her best but this was not a good advertisement for Viator or Paris Tours.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message