Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

A-Ma Temple (Ma Kok Miu)

In a testament to the A-Ma Temple, it’s believed by many historians that the peninsula of Macau is in fact named after this very spot. An exquisite Taoist complex dating to 1488, the temple is dedicated to A-Ma, a Taoist Goddess of seafaring and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip is one of the priciest I have purchased on viator - a company which I have used in many different countries without issue. The tour itself was long - 12 hours in total, this was probably due to the extra traffic in Hong Kong during the protests, though. The tour guide - Sisco - made the trip amazing, he was funny and friendly and added in little tidbits here and there to give us extra value for money. Customer service at Viator is always good. Thank you.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. The tour guide, Cisco, was knowledgeable and very interesting. We enjoyed learning about the history and people and customs of Macau. Cisco was very clear that this was not going to be a "take you to places where you can buy stuff" tour, but a review of history and culture. We did see the Macau tower, but also the facade in the picture and the Ama shrine, had a taste of Portuguese egg tart, and a few minutes in the casino area. We had a problem returning to the hotel--we were there on September 28, the first night of the Chinese police reaction to the Umbrella protest. The driver told us that the protesters were blocking our hotel, so he had a young woman guide take us through the subway to the hotel. Along the way, the government shut down the subway, so this guide walked us back through the protesters until we were safely at our hotel. We were impressed with this tour owners care about our safety during this unusal time in Hong Kong history.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was excellent and everything ran to time. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I thought this tour was a little scattered... while the tour guide was full of info, there was a large (mixed) group of us and at times it felt like we were all just sitting around waiting for the rest of the group. The tour didn't cover a massive amount of sites but it was a good way to see the main sites if your time in Macau is limited.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The trip proceeded like clockwork the guide Cisco was very efficient the tour needs balance between the historical element and the fun /entertainment in Macau the lunch was a big disappointment insofar as the buffet menu

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Firstly... overall the tour was excellent. The guide (Cisco) was informative and very knowledgeable about Macau. The places we visited were interesting and enough time was permitted at each.

Now for a few negatives... (1) We were disappointed the bus did not collect us from our hotel. Other tours we did in Hong Kong had no problem whilst the HK protests were on. (2) The tour bus was quite small which made it a little difficult to see out the windows at site/places mentioned by Cisco. A larger coach should be considered when the tour is full. (3) One of our seats on the bus was broken. This made the day trip quite uncomfortable. (bigger bus = spare seats)

General comment.... If you are interested in casinos/gambling and shopping, this tour isn't for you. Practically no time is allowed for these activities. However you are permitted to leave the tour if you desire.

Regards,
DKM

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour guide Sysco LOVES TO TALK, but I just have one comment, why did he stop on the street to wait for extra time we had when we can use that time to go to the tower. The money we paid to go to the Tower is not worth it at all.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The problem was having to go through immigration when you left HK and then again at Macau and the same deal on the way back. Spent more time in immigration then on the ground at Macau. I know that this is not the tour provider problem but maybe a warning when booking that Chinese immigration WILL take time

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

It took too much time (over 1 hour) picking up the other guests at all the other hotels (big waste of your vacation time).

If you are going to Macau to see the casinos and the related WOWS, go on your own. We only spent less than 1 hour in ONE casino.

The guide (Mario) was excellent to give you the overview of the Macau. If that is what you want, then Mario was very good and friendly.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a value for money trip...The ferry trip from Hong Kong to Macau is really enjoyable...Cisco is the most entertaining guide you can get...who can fluently speak any language you name!...the lunch was a pan-Asian one with a variety of dishes from across the globe...check the ingredients before you taste the cookies at the local pastry shop...it may contain any creature on Earth and Sea!!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

very good guide

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Cisco was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable about all the local culture and history of the very beautiful Macau. We saw some fabulous sights, most notably the Ruins of St Paul and tasted the best Portugese tarts ever! Great way to spend a day in Macau

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great to get an overview of the island

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome! The whole tour was very well organised. Our tour guide, Cisco was very knowledgeable and provided us with lots of historical information about the place. I've been to Las Vegas last year and I'm amazed that this little place will one day surpass the great Nevada playground. The weather was just perfect on the day. Food was fabulous. I enjoyed the walk along those little alleys trudging on the ancient cobbled streets. We hope eto go back there again one day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message