Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

A-Ma Temple (Ma Kok Miu)

In a testament to the A-Ma Temple, it’s believed by many historians that the peninsula of Macau is in fact named after this very spot. An exquisite Taoist complex dating to 1488, the temple is dedicated to A-Ma, a Taoist Goddess of seafaring and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 444 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

From the very luxurious and quick hydrofoil to a most informative and professional guide, Mario, this tour was great. It was quite comprehensive and managed to show us all the sites that we wanted to see. Even though long, it was a most enjoyable day!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Guide was very good and informative. Arrived at the perfect time to see a gal bungee jumping off the off the high tower. A fun tour but don't plan on any gambling.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Good tour but terrible pick up and return organization

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Although the guide was quite personable, I would have liked less talk and more seeing the historical and architectural sites. In the tour we saw 1 temple and 3 churches! An inordinate about of time at the Tower, where if we paid another 120 HK$ we could go to the top to see the city and China. For those of us who didn't want to pay more, we just had to stand around for 40-45 minutes While the guide took a small group up. Lunch was at a mediocre hotel restaurant where besides the buffet (eatable) you got 1 glass of water no refill or paid 30-36 HK$ for a coke or ice tea. Next was a stop at a tourist souvenir shop -tacky cheap items. The guide said 10 minutes but 20 minutes later we were finally on the way to the remains of the famous church on Macau. After a 15 minute walk to another church, we finally started for a casino, where we had 5 minutes to gamble!!
Then it was back to the boat to Hong Kong. I personally wouldn't recommend the tour to my friends. Maybe because there were 29 people in the group, it took too long to explain everything and the walk to all the places. I suggest small groups 10-12 people, pay a little more for a better food experience.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip is one of the priciest I have purchased on viator - a company which I have used in many different countries without issue. The tour itself was long - 12 hours in total, this was probably due to the extra traffic in Hong Kong during the protests, though. The tour guide - Sisco - made the trip amazing, he was funny and friendly and added in little tidbits here and there to give us extra value for money. Customer service at Viator is always good. Thank you.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific tour. The tour guide, Cisco, was knowledgeable and very interesting. We enjoyed learning about the history and people and customs of Macau. Cisco was very clear that this was not going to be a "take you to places where you can buy stuff" tour, but a review of history and culture. We did see the Macau tower, but also the facade in the picture and the Ama shrine, had a taste of Portuguese egg tart, and a few minutes in the casino area. We had a problem returning to the hotel--we were there on September 28, the first night of the Chinese police reaction to the Umbrella protest. The driver told us that the protesters were blocking our hotel, so he had a young woman guide take us through the subway to the hotel. Along the way, the government shut down the subway, so this guide walked us back through the protesters until we were safely at our hotel. We were impressed with this tour owners care about our safety during this unusal time in Hong Kong history.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organised with a knowledgeable tour guide. Really enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. The guide was excellent and everything ran to time. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Trip in Macau was great - really enjoyed it. However, we had been expecting to be picked up from our hotel in Hong Kong and when confirming our booking the day before discovered that we had to get ourselves to another hotel for pick up. Unfortunately our advice on the length of time it would take us to get to this hotel was a bit out and we arrived 5 minutes late only to discover our guide had been and gone. Thankfully another tour company gave us a lift to the ferry so we could catch up with our group as we had no idea where the next stop was and there was no-one in the tour office to advise us.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour of Macau. Picked up on time from our hotel and taken to the ferry for the trip to Macau. Our guide was knowledgeable. The Portuguese tarts were delicious.
The loss of a star was due to the lunch which was boring as all of the dishes were similar

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I thought this tour was a little scattered... while the tour guide was full of info, there was a large (mixed) group of us and at times it felt like we were all just sitting around waiting for the rest of the group. The tour didn't cover a massive amount of sites but it was a good way to see the main sites if your time in Macau is limited.

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The trip proceeded like clockwork the guide Cisco was very efficient the tour needs balance between the historical element and the fun /entertainment in Macau the lunch was a big disappointment insofar as the buffet menu

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Firstly... overall the tour was excellent. The guide (Cisco) was informative and very knowledgeable about Macau. The places we visited were interesting and enough time was permitted at each.

Now for a few negatives... (1) We were disappointed the bus did not collect us from our hotel. Other tours we did in Hong Kong had no problem whilst the HK protests were on. (2) The tour bus was quite small which made it a little difficult to see out the windows at site/places mentioned by Cisco. A larger coach should be considered when the tour is full. (3) One of our seats on the bus was broken. This made the day trip quite uncomfortable. (bigger bus = spare seats)

General comment.... If you are interested in casinos/gambling and shopping, this tour isn't for you. Practically no time is allowed for these activities. However you are permitted to leave the tour if you desire.

Regards,
DKM

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The tour guide Sysco LOVES TO TALK, but I just have one comment, why did he stop on the street to wait for extra time we had when we can use that time to go to the tower. The money we paid to go to the Tower is not worth it at all.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message