Macau ATTRACTIONS See all

Historic Centre of Macau

Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2005, the Historic Centre of Macau comprises a zone of culturally significant buildings scattered in the southwestern corner of the Macau peninsula. Easily enjoyed as a half-day or full-day walking tour, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 506 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The "hotel" pickup certainly wasn't convenient for us. This had been the main reason we booked this particular trip. Hotel collection point was East at Causeway Bay and at least a 40 minute trip for us staying at an easy to reach hotel in Sheung Wan. The selection of pickup point was most definitely out of our way. I would suggest that you consider making your own way to Macau and meeting a tour there.
Once in Macau after 30 minute wait to go through immigration we were met by Cisco. We had a relaxing and informative tour with this gregarious knowledgeable man. Enjoyed the tour, the lunch and relatively smooth ferry trip.
Coming back we made our own way from the Kowloon ferry terminal back to our hotel. Took us less than 30 minutes using Star ferry and taxi compared to over 2 hours in the morning using the tour "hotel" pickup.
BUT we did have a good day and the tour itself was good.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was well worth the money and the tour guide Mario was very informative and funny, he showed us so much and told us heaps about the history etc. Great day out. Thank you Joy. Brisbane Australia

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was great. We were glad we took this tour. Mario did a great job.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a fabulous day. The only negative part was getting through the official process and onto the ferry. Everyone had a seat allocated to them but a large number of passengers decided that they had to be first on board anyway. They pushed and shoved all and sundry until a couple of rather burly non-local passengers but their bodies in the way.
Once we arrived in Macau and met our guide, everything changed for the best ever. Cisco made the day.
His quiet wit, engaging manner and polite discussion of others defects and his very good English language skills soon had us forgetting the little hassles that we had endured.
He and his support team, including the bakery where we purchased the Portuguese tarts, were terrific.
He arranged a later lunch time so that the dining area was less crowded was really appreciated.
He explained the time requirements so that no one missed the bus and made sure that every thing happened with a minimum of fuss.
The tour itself was great and we would be hard pressed to pick something that we missed not interested in casinos.
The incense at the temple was almost overpowering. Anyone with a pollen or similar allergy should take precautions.
Despite this the tour should not be missed. A great day. Cisco made sure that all of his guests embarked on the ferry before he took his leave and headed home.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very well organized trip, you get to see that Macau has a lot more to offer than just gambling. The guide was very informative and friendly, lunch was very good

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We loved the City tour. The knowledge and insights of the very seasoned tour guide, Mario, was excellent. We learned more about Macau much more than any history book can offer.
The places we visited truly represented the city.
This would have been excellent if not for poor feedback in the booking

Doing what: Macau City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a disappointment that this tour took so long to get going. Met at a hotel that wasn't my hotel and was actually quite far from mine - 4 stops away from Central MTR station. we went from one hotel to the next to the next and then to the ferry terminal. This took about an hour, would have been much better to meet at the ferry terminal. Anyway, the crossing was good and immigration was quick. then we met out tour guid Cisco. who was Brilliant. good english and other languages if you needed them. didnt go up the tower due to weather but did a walking tour through the crowed streets which was good. try and get your guide to do this if you have time. All is all a good tour, shame about the start.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

An interesting day out seeing the historical side of Macau - ruins of St Paul, temple, Macau Tower witnessing bungee jumping from 233m!, tasting Portuguese egg tarts. Guide Cisco is very knowledgable. We felt that visiting the highlights were a little rushed, presumably due to the large group 20 pers

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Tour was good but there were one issue. You advertise on your Web site the hotels that you would pick us up at is not true. When we called the tour company they only would only pick us up at a certain hotel. If you do care we have the info to share. We had to take a 20 minute taxi tide.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

stormco
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The Macau tour and tour guide was EXCELLENT. We are not into gambling, so this short time was just okay with us. It gave us a great overview of the Macau. It's history and progress was explained to us clearly by the tour guide Francisco. Our tour guide was really good.

But our experience is over shadowed by something else. I don't know where else to put this in...so here it goes. Our gripe is with the tour company itself, the one that is based in Hong Kong. Their staff has NO personality at all, very RUDE and inconsiderate. Not willing to help. Viator, you need to do something about this operator. When we booked the tour, it said "HOTEL PICK UP and DROP OFF " was included. When we got to our hotel in Hong Kong, we where given a voucher for the tour and was told to go to another hotel for pick up. Since the pick up was at 7:00 AM , we where required to be at the different hotel at 6:45 a.m. It was to be our first day in Asia from the United States. Time difference is an issue.
My husband called the operator and requested if we can be picked up from our hotel, named Cosmopolitan Hotel, to spare us from having to look for that pick up place..
They said they will look into it. We did not get a call back. We had to call again, and deal with non English speaking customer service people. When we finally talked to someone that can speak "understandable English" ,we where told that they can't do the pick up in all the hotels because it will not be efficient for them. So, we had to find our way.

So we went to the pick up hotel early morning. When we got picked up, it was just the 2 of us. Nobody else was in the tour. ONLY TWO of us. They could have easily just picked us up from our hotel. The driver that brought us to the pier was extremely anti -social.

Viator, please , check the companies you work with.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour was excellant. Guide Cisco is highly recommended. Vast knowledge , and very good sense of humour.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were a very small group of 8 and it was wonderful. Our guide Cisco was very knowledgeable. We saw a lot of historic Macau and even had a little time to go into a casino.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful day spent with our guide Mario, that was really special.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide Cisco should receive you highest esteem as he made this tour enjoyable and fair to the participants in giving options to those who interests (gambling for example versus non-gamblers) differed.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The best part of this tour was definitely our guide, Mario. His energy and humor may not be everybody's cup of tea but he was endlessly knowledgeable and entertaining. This tour was a good mix of modern and historical, and you really get to see a lot of Macau. Lunch wasn't anything spectacular but it was nice that it was a buffet so that we could try lots of things. The bakery with the Portugese egg tarts and cookies was phenomenal, do not hesitate to buy enough to take back home. Overall a really fun day that wasn't too physically demanding and got you back to Hong Kong with plenty of time to grab dinner and explore by night.

(Warning: if you get motion sickness you might want to take preventative measures for the ferry ride over and back. I had never gotten really sick in cars/boats before, just a little nauseous, but the waves were really choppy and unfortunately it happened)

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message